Solar Energy World

Verified profile
Updated: 21 January 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2009

Solar Energy World logo
Pre-Screened Solar Pro

Since 2013

4.84 from 285 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

Featured media


Solar Energy World reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.8

Price as quoted

4.8

On schedule

4.7

Installation quality

4.8

After sales support

4.7

Latest good review thumbs up

Diana | Takoma Park, Maryland | 01/25/2022

Professional, Timely, Responsive

Solar Energy World installed solar panels on our roof in December. Every encounter was professional, curteous, knowledgeable, prompt. When we first met with John Crill, he walked us through our options and answered all our questions. Then once we initiated the contract process, he walked us through the contract, set up the financing options, the MEA grant, etc. When the day came for the installers to install the panels, they arrived on time and worked all day installing our panels and electrical setup for the 1 1/2 days of the job and returned later with the remaining critter guard left to be installed. Inspection, connection with the utility, all were handled by solar energy world and all has gone smoothly.

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

KT | St. Petersburg, FL | 11/06/2021

Worst experience of my life

All I can say is do not do business with this company! This company took over 6 months to install my solar. They lied to me the whole time about permitting and timelines, broke multiple electrical components of my brand new circuit breaker and then charged me to fix it, and worst of all took money from me to upgrade my electric panel and then refused to perform the service and have not refunded my money. They took nearly $1,000 from me and then refused to refund it all back after rejecting the service. The install took so long that now i am paying for my large energy bills on top of my loan bill since they did not complete the permitting and utility start on time. They have gaslighted and bullied me through the whole process and refused to take responsibility for their mistakes or refund me what I paid.

read more
1 comment >
Reply from Solar Energy World: Ms. Thomas, we take every complaint very seriously. I have reviewed your job notes and have a clear understanding of the situation. It is important to state, when we enter into a contract with a customer, we view it as a 25+ year relationship. Our pledge, our warranty, state we will be there for you to repair or replace any components that fail or repair any issues of workmanship. We have been successful at keeping this pledge, it is illustrated in our Better Business Bureau A+ rating, and thousands of 5-Star reviews across all of the most popular review sites. With respect to your job, I’d like to clear up some discrepancies in your review. We collected $850, not $1,000, to upgrade your electrical panel. When it was determined the upgrade was not needed, we agreed to refund the money in full. At final inspection, our solar installation passed, but the electrical inspector determined a permit was never pulled for the panel you installed prior to getting solar. A delay was caused when you decided to pull the permit for the panel installation and have another company install the parts needed to pass the inspection. You changed your mind and asked us to do the work. We completed the required repair and charged you $325. This amount was deducted from the refund amount of $850. A check was mailed for $525, which you received and cashed. The three main parties from Solar Energy World involved in this process, your solar analyst, Alex; the head of installation, Santos; and Brent, the VP of Sales, have a track record of happy customers because of very successful installations and communication. They have received many 5-star reviews from these customers. Alex, Santos and Brent explained how they worked diligently to resolve your issues. I reached out to you, to hear from you directly, but you never replied to my texts or took my calls. I wish you would have given me a few minutes so we could have had an informative conversation and agreed upon a solution to help your situation. I welcome a chance to talk if you change your mind. Finally, I’d like to report that your system to date, has produced 25% more electricity than the amount that we initially estimated. We are here for you if you ever need us.

All reviews

>
>

Patrick Earle | Silver Spring, Maryland | 01/21/2022

Smooth Process

Solar Energy World was very professional, with excellent communication throughout the whole process. From the initial Zoom meeting where Jay Randall explained all of our different options, to the installation, to the final inspection, we have felt confident that everything was professional and completed to the highest standards. Knowing that Solar Energy World is a local company gives us confidence that they will be there to support us for a long time. We initially reached out to a national solar company that was unaware of local building code changes that had occurred in our county that Solar Energy World already knew about and was able to incorporate into our design. I highly recommend Solar Energy World.

read more

John G | Silver Spring, Maryland | 01/20/2022

Great Service Start to Finish

I put Solar Energy World on my list of companies to contact because they are one of the larger and experienced installers in the area. I selected them for the project because of the quality of their proposal and straightforward approach by Jeff Nachman their representative. From the start, Jeff listened to my intentions and proposed two alternative systems, both at competitive prices. He was up front about scheduling and possible delays. In the end, the system was installed within a few weeks of the promised date. The installers seemed to enjoy their work and left the worksite clean at the end of each day. The panels are now producing electricity, and we are waiting for sunny days and low electric bills.

read more

Yul Shin | Germantown, Maryland | 01/19/2022

45 Panel Ground Mount System

Solar Energy World exceeded all my expectations and requirements. From the initial conversations and meetings with sales, through installation, and final inspections, SEW was there every step of the way. They ensures I had no questions or "what-ifs" and my questions were met with friendly and accommodating responses. Without a doubt, I recommend SEW to my friends, neighbors, and family.

read more

R.D. | Vienna, Virginia | 01/17/2022

Great experience with Solar Energy World

I found Solar Energy World through my county's solar program, and have already recommended them to my neighbors. The sales process was informative, and the warranty is very good. I felt confident in the design after engineers came out to look at my roof - because of my unusual roof they actually had to cut a hole in the ceiling (which they patched and painted) to check some things. Installation went very well: the crew was polite and kept the worksite clean, and were happy to explain to me what they were doing. I was also glad to see them consistently use safety gear on the roof. Now that the system is turned on, I enjoy using the website to monitor energy production.

read more

Tim | Derwood, Maryland | 01/13/2022

Great company to deal with. Made the process simple.

I looked at several companies before settling on Solar Energy World. Their price was very competitive and provided great service. They were very responsive and took time to answer all my questions. They are a great company and a real pleasure to deal with.

read more

DIce | Waldorf, Maryland | 01/12/2022

Solar Energy World review

Between the reps and the tech installation workers my experience was over all positive. Anytime I had questions I was assisted by Austin Altman who was very knowledgeable and honest about the entire process.

read more

HBK | Stevensville, Maryland | 01/12/2022

Excellent work done by Solar Energy World.

There were some issues related to the work to be done. Sales specialist and coordinator of the project, Pete Barnes, resolved the problems by consulting with specialists at Solar Energy World and effectively communicating with me. He is to be commended for keeping me informed throughout the planning and construction process and responding to my concerns and inquiries in a timely fashion. He certainly left the impression that he cared beyond the basic job requirements. The construction crew was outstanding, checking in with me every morning during the installation days and keeping me informed along every step of the way. They could not have been more helpful and accommodating and thoroughly cleaned up after themselves. I judge the quality of the work done to be nothing short of excellent.

read more

John P | Venice, Florida | 01/10/2022

Great experience all around

My solar panels were just installed before the new year. The process was so easy, from working with Alex Flax to go over the value of going solar, to scheduling and installing the panels with leaders Nick and Paul. I am very happy I chose Solar Energy World for my project and look forward to being GREEN in 2022. John

read more

Cagatay Aymergen | Rockville, Maryland | 01/05/2022

Friendly, step-by-step, detailed service

Our sales rep, Pete Barnes, clearly knew about the system and the process, was very friendly and attentive, and was available (at all times) whenever we had any questions. He articulated all of the details to us prior to us making a decision on getting the system. He then was with us every step of the way to ensure that everything went on without any issues and that we are on well informed of what is going to happen next. The system was installed in December of 2021. From day one (after inspections were complete and the system was turned on) we have started to generate power. Even in December we were around 30% energy independence. Given that we are heavily working/schooling from home - multiple rooms, multiple laptops, and entertainment devices on - I was pleasantly surprised to see that. It will be a while to see the impact on the bills, probably around summer, but perfectly happy with the purchase and the service from Solar Energy World.

read more

Jim M | Townsend, Delaware | 01/04/2022

Happy I Went Solar

I have been very pleased with Solar Energy World. I researched and got quotes from several solar companies. I went with Solar Energy World because of its 30 year triple platinum warranty that covers the panels, inverters, and all service related issues. Everyone that I have interacted with has been a pleasure to work with. Solar Energy World has a dedicated resource for each step in the process, and I was always notified and kept updated by the person handling each step. I always felt confident that everything was being handled quickly and efficiently. My sales rep Eric Winkler has been in constant communication through the entire process and has always made sure that my questions were quickly answered. I highly recommend reaching out to him if you are considering going solar and have any questions. He will take care of you.

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Tesla Powerwall sales and installations

LG Chem solar batteries

SolarEdge - StorEdge

Roof replacement - Shingles

Enphase Storage

About Solar Energy World


Solar Energy World is the fastest-growing, independently-owned and operated solar company serving Maryland, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Northern Virginia, Florida and Washington, DC. With thousands of solar panel system installations since our founding in 2009, we are also one of the most experienced and stable solar companies in the region.

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

Maryland - Elkridge

5681 Main Street, Elkridge MD, 21075

Loading...

New Jersey - Pennsauken

100 Twinbridge Drive, Pennsauken NJ, 08110

Loading...

Florida - Tampa

201 Kelsey Lane, Tampa FL, 33619

Loading...

Virginia - Alexandria

950 S Pickett Street, Alexandria VA, 22304

Loading...

North Carolina - Charlotte

3029 Horseshoe Lane, B, Charlotte NC, 28208

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association American Solar Energy Society Contractor Check Solar Power World

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Mark Beverungen
PV-041115-001462
NABCEP Certified PV Technical Sales
Bryan Hacker
PVTS012911-36
NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
David Ely
PV-102021-013604

Licenses


MHICMaster Electrical License

Contact Solar Energy World


Location pin
Head Office
5681 Main Street, Elkridge MD, 21075