Solar Energy World

Verified profile
Updated: 03 July 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2009

Solar Energy World logo

4.86 from 356 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Elite

Rating breakdown

Featured media


Solar Energy World reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.8

Price as quoted

4.9

On schedule

4.7

Installation quality

4.8

After sales support

4.7

Latest good review thumbs up

David Hauck | Takoma Park, Maryland | 07/05/2022

Excellent service and impressive problem solving

Solar Energy World installed a 17-panel array on our roof in June 2022. Since our house is a contributing resource in a local historic district, we needed to get approval from the historic district commission. It was a little tricky since the optimal place for the panels was on the front of our house and, in the past, the commission seldom approved solar panels that could be seen from the street. Solar Energy World prepared a very complete application and submitted it to the commission which approved the installation. Shortly after receiving this approval, our local utility surprised us by saying we would have to pay a $10,000 interconnect fee--a new fee that had not been required in the past. Solar Energy World met with the utility and successfully got this interconnect fee waived. The installation was perfect; the installation crew came on time and thoroughly cleaned up the site at the end of the day. They were a pleasure to work with and were happy to answer all of my questions.

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

Seandrethegiant | Germantown, Maryland | 06/30/2022

Great install, terrible customer service

The installation process with these folks was terrific. There was one hiccup where they destroyed part of my bedroom ceiling but they were able to fix that before they completed the work. In the four years I have had the array, though, I have had many equipment failures. i am on my second inverter and it broke almost a month ago. It has taken nearly a month so far for Solar Energy World to not fix it, make excuses, reschedule appointments and in the end do nothing. If I had to choose again, I would have selected a different solar company.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Coslett | Betterton, Maryland | 07/03/2022

Wonderful experience

I have been extremely happy with my experience with Solar Energy World. Paul Antoshak is the solar analyst that I have been working with and he has been enormously helpful answering questions and walking me through the entire process.

read more

Javier | Woodbridge, Virginia | 06/21/2022

Great Team ensuring Great Customer Service

I just wanted to say 'THANK You' for sending such a great crew to my house. I must highlight that their timeliness, attention to detail, disposition, and care for the property were outstanding. The installation crew made sure to answer my questions and did not hesitate to explain what they were doing at different stages of the process. When finished, they did an amazing job making sure the house premises were clean and in order! They went far and beyond explaining the next steps of the process. Dealing with the installation crew validated that I made a great decision when choosing your team to do business with.

read more

Steve W | Vienna, Virginia | 06/15/2022

Perfect Customer Service from Start to Finish!

When we visited the Solar Energy World at the Dulles Expo Home Show all we knew was that we were interested in reducing our carbon footprint but had no idea how to go about it. That was cleared up a few days later in a Zoom meeting with Daren Weatherby, who demystified the whole process, explaining the system, costs, financing options, necessary steps and approvals, design considerations and home orientation to the sun and optimal solar panel configuration. He also went into detail about SEW’s in-house capabilities and experience vis-a-vis competing entities. We were sold! Solar Energy World literally took charge of every aspect of the installation, from submitting detailed plans and specs to the county for necessary permits, to our Homeowner’s Association for required approvals, to Dominion Energy for electrical panel inspection and electricity meter switchout, and all liaison with our solar loan bank. It was seamless. The actual installation was done in one day and was highly professional. We now have 18 solar panels on our garage roof generating clean continuous power every day. On many days we are net exporters of power to Dominion! It’s a wonderful feeling. We cannot recommend Solar Energy World highly enough. Their entire team is dedicated to transitioning our energy future to solar and making the process painless for its customers.

read more

Jason | Annandale, Virginia | 06/12/2022

Outstanding Installers

I cannot say enough about how impressed I am with the install process. Despite scorching heat on the roof and in tiny attic spaces, these professionals appeared to truly enjoy their work. They kept me up to speed at every point of the install and cleaned up completely after themselves. They were able to use the unique spaces in my house to completely hide all wiring without any drywall work. Additionally, the job is more than a month ahead of schedule. My system hasn't been turned on yet, but if the product is half as good as the people, I'm going to be a very satisfied customer. Thank you, Jesse (and your team), for treating my house like it was your own.

read more

Marilyn | Washington, District of Columbia | 06/06/2022

Jeff Nachman was a pleasure to deal with. He was helpful, informative and responsive. The work went smoothly. The solar array is working well. There was a small glitch with one panel. SEW fixed it quickly. I've been pleased with the entire experience.

read more

Brian F | Apopka, Florida | 06/01/2022

Solar Energy World and Chris Pollard- Outstanding

I met with Chris Pollard, a representative for Solar Energy World, as I was interested in a solar system. Chris explained everything clearly and with appropriate documentation and material to answer all my questions. We flipped the system on in December 2021 and my power fell through the floor. I am very happy, as my average bill now from Duke is $12.00 connection fee, which is required by law, plus about $10.00 or $20.00 after that. I financed and even with the loan being paid, I am saving anywhere from $125.00 to $225.00 a month. The savings will be even much higher with power rate increases that are undoubtedly coming. Brian F.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Solar Energy World: Brian F, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this! We are so proud you made the switch ! Kudos to Chris for helping you out through the process! You're absolutely right your on the right track!! Thanks again!

Dan T | Owings, Maryland | 05/31/2022

Awesome employees

I first met with Ari in February for our initial sales call and he could not have been more nice and honest. It is hard to find a job that you like, but it seems Ari really enjoys his job and he is very knowledgeable about solar power. Ari explained the whole process to me and gave me his phone number in case I had any additional questions (Which I had many). He never seemed to get tired of taking my many calls. Anyway, The next step wad the site assessment and that went smoothly. My solar generation estimate was actually higher than what was first proposed. So, good news there. After the design phase, we moved to the permit phase. The permits were approved pretty quickly and once they were approved, my installation was set up. The crew showed up on time, which is something a lot of companies don't care about. Well, I care about being on time and so does the crew that installed my system. They showed up early all three days and worked late into the day. I wish I could remember the names of the crew, but I'm getting old and was never good at names anyway. I have to say, the install crew and the two electricians were smart, safety conscious, and professional. They kept me informed of everything they were doing and the senior electrician went into great detail of what he was doing and how he was doing it. I am extremely happy with the way the electric was run and how it looks. The support staff at Solar Energy World were awesome too. The woman (Emily) who set up the appointments was great. She called to set up each appointment and then sent a confirmation email. Again, something a lot of companies don't do anymore. So, today is May 31st, and I was given the go-ahead to turn my solar system on. A total of three months is very good for a major addition to my home. Once I turned the system on, I was so happy to see that I am now between 80-100% energy independent. In just 7.5 hours, I put 39.5 kWh back into the grid. I am expecting a very, very small bill from Smeco next month. And THAT is the reason I went with solar. Not so much to be green, but because Smeco has raised their rates two or three times in that past 6 months and they will continue to go up where as for my bill will not go up again due to solar. Thank you everyone from Solar Energy world for a job well done.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Solar Energy World: Dan T, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review! We will give kudos to Emily, our field crew & Aris for the contributions to your successful outcome!! Thank you again for this review, have a great day!!!

Zip & Nae | Nottingham, Maryland | 05/28/2022

Smooth and Efficient Service from start to finish

The moment we started communicating with Solar Energy World we knew we made the right choice to have them be our solar provider. Nick was our Solar Analyst, and he introduced us to their company, he was very thorough, and answered all of our questions in a timely manner. Nick told us about multiple ways we could save money starting from the design, to panel selection, to the federal and state tax incentives. He walked us through the entire process and made us feel confident when we decided to sign the contract with SEW. We were kept in the loop every step of the way, and every person on their team, from the inspector, to the installation team, and even the representative who was here for the net meter installation was courteous and helpful. They always explained the next steps and made the whole journey seamless. We couldn’t be happier with choosing Solar Energy World and look forward to contributing to the green energy future!

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Solar Energy World: Zip & Nae, We are so thankful for your review!! It is our pleasure, Nick is a great Solar Analyst - we will be giving him kudos for all of this hard work!! Thank you again!

JClav | Hawthorne, New Jersey | 05/28/2022

Easiest home improvement yet!

Tom, our solar guy, and his team were fantastic from start to finish! He explained all our questions and kept us up to date throughout the whole process. There was very little we had to do on our end, as Solar Energy World took care of scheduling all appointments and obtaining all permits.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Solar Energy World: JClav, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review!! We are so proud of Tom for helping you through the process.

John | Mc Lean, Virginia | 05/25/2022

Excellent Service

I purchased a system from SolarEnergy World more than two and a half years ago. SolarEnergy World was the third company I called. Their sales rep, Paul, came out to visit me and explained my options. By the end of the first sales cycle, I purchased a 31 solar panel array. In some months, my electric bill is zero. In addition, I have an electric car and I am able utilize the sun to be the driver of my energy needs.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Solar Energy World: John, We are beyond proud that Paul helped you have made the switch to Solar! Together we are working towards a brighter future!! Thank you so much for your review!

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Tesla Powerwall sales and installations

LG Chem solar batteries

SolarEdge - StorEdge

Roof replacement - Shingles

Enphase Storage

About Solar Energy World


Solar Energy World is the fastest-growing, independently-owned and operated solar company serving Delaware, Florida, Maryland, New Jersey, Northern Virginia, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, and Washington, DC. With thousands of solar panel system installations since our founding in 2009, we are also one of the most experienced and stable solar companies in the region.

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

Maryland - Elkridge

5681 Main Street, Elkridge MD, 21075

Loading...

New Jersey - Pennsauken

100 Twinbridge Drive, Pennsauken NJ, 08110

Loading...

Florida - Tampa

201 Kelsey Lane, Tampa FL, 33619

Loading...

North Carolina - Charlotte

3029 Horseshoe Lane, B, Charlotte NC, 28208

Loading...

Virginia - Alexandria

950 S Pickett, Alexandria VA, 22304

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association American Solar Energy Society Contractor Check Solar Power World

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified PV Technical Sales
Bryan Hacker
PVTS012911-36
NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
David Ely
PV-102021-013604

Licenses


MHICMaster Electrical License

EC13009329

Contact Solar Energy World


Location pin
Head Office
5681 Main Street, Elkridge MD, 21075