NRG Clean Power

Verified profile
Updated: 13 February 2024
Installer

Installing solar since 1987

NRG Clean Power logo

4.39 from 211 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Elite

Rating breakdown

Featured media


NRG Clean Power reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.6

Price as quoted

4.7

On schedule

4.4

Installation quality

4.6

After sales support

4.4

Latest good review thumbs up

Sam | Antioch, California | 02/13/2024

Our Neighbor referred us to NRG Clean Power and we are so happy she did. Amy Sweet (Energy Advisor) at NRG Clean Power has been very helpful, professional and responsive. She has provided us an estimate with details on the solar design. She answered all our questions and put us at ease on how the process would take place. It has been a pleasure having Amy help us transition to Solar. We are eager to move forward with the project and look forward to the installation. We have been searching for the right company for solar installation and have had few different companies give us price quote. Compare to other leading solar companies NRG Clean Power was much affordable. We have found NRG Clean Power easy to work with and upfront about the whole process.

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

R.P. | Dublin, California | 02/03/2024

Slow and incompetent

NRG was only efficient at the sales portion. I had a cash purchase and i had to pay 90% upfront up to the stage of permitting. From that point onwards, that was when things syatt to get unpleasant. It took a few months to get an installation appointment. The installation representative lack responsiveness and I had to constantly be on their tail. The installation is fully outsourced to a contractor. The first day of the installation was a wash as the lift to the rooftop wasn't the right one. The hardware had to also be moved inside the garage as opposed to drawings which stated outside. That was resolved quickly and the installation went on. The nightmare started after the initial inspection process failed. The fix required was a simple smoke detector in the garage for the battery that linked with an auxiliary alarm inside the home. If the battery caught fire, the smoke alarm triggers and warns the people inside the house. This was apparently to complex for the NRG team sitting in the call center to understand. Things went back and forth between the NRG team, the contractor and the city inspector. It took probably 4 or 6 attempts to get things resolved. There were times when the city inspector showed up but the contractor wasn't present. On the last attempt, the NRG service rep came by instead, very pleasant gentleman and this time around, I intervened and provided specific instructions on what to do, and the inspection got through. It's been already more than 4 months into the installation process and I taught finally ita done. The service guy attempted to finally turn on the system, to my dismay, there was a problem in the hardware itself. So the usual back and forth a few times between the contractor and NRG. Then finally NRG decided to send over their best contractor and that gentlemen resolved it within 1 attempt. The Enphase hardware works well, I know I paid a lot for it but it's doing its job and I don't have any qualms on it. The outsourced contractors live on razor thin margins and they carry out the necessary work orders, I honestly didn't see any issue with any of the technicians who came by. I paid 90% cash upfront for the system, thats more than enough to cover NRG's cost and margin. The Enphae hardware works well. This leaves only NRG itself as the primary problem of this entire farce. Their remote team sitting in their comfortable offices gar away or maybe even working remotely from their bedroom was totally incompetent and unorganized. Turning back the clock, I could have found an independent contractor myself, saved tons of time in the process and money in the process as well. So either go with a provider who have their own installation team like Sunpower or Tesla; or find your own contractor. Don't waste time and money with big companies like NRG as you could well just be paying a lot more for incompetency.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Carlos Salazar | Los Angeles, California | 02/13/2024

Excellent Experience and Work

NRG was transparent and kept me updated throughout the solar installation process, from beginning to end. Aracely was knowledgeable, answering any questions I had. In a 2-day period I went from no solar to the solar system being installed completely, including configuring wireless access to view electricity generation now and over time (using the gateway). This was one of the company's recommended by LADWP when I went through their solar installation website. I appreciate the vetting of such a professional solar installation company.

read more

MattyJ2001 | Aguanga, California | 02/12/2024

Top-Notch Service

NRG was honest and communicative throughout this whole install process. It wasn't easy dealing with my county but they persevered and never left me wanting for information/status. Edward Rodriguez was a most excellent installation coordinator. He was very patient with my dumb questions and often updated me before the county's (allegedly) automated system did. The contractor they sent for the actual install was awesome, too. NRG is highly recommended from yours truly.

read more

Mariam Jilani | Torrance, California | 02/01/2024

Sales Director - Andrew Cohen is AMAZING

I had the pleasure of working with Sales Director Andrew Cohen, and I must say that my experience was absolutely fantastic. Andrew's expertise and dedication to helping customers are truly remarkable. From the moment I first contacted him about my interest in solar energy, he went above and beyond to ensure I had all the information I needed to make an informed decision. One of the things that stood out most about Andrew was his extensive knowledge of solar systems. He took the time to patiently explain the various options available, breaking down complex technical details into understandable terms. His willingness to answer all my questions, no matter how basic or intricate, made me feel confident in my decision-making process. Andrew's passion for renewable energy was infectious, and it was clear that he genuinely cared about helping me find the best solution for my needs. He provided me with insightful recommendations tailored to my specific circumstances, which I greatly appreciated. Thanks to Andrew's guidance and expertise, I proceeded with a solar system that not only meets my energy needs but also aligns with my commitment to sustainability. I couldn't be happier with my solar purchase, and it's all thanks to Andrew Cohen's exceptional professionalism and dedication to his customers. If you're in the market for solar energy solutions and want a truly positive and informative experience, I highly recommend reaching out to Andrew Cohen. His knowledge, patience, and genuine enthusiasm for what he does will undoubtedly leave you feeling excited and confident about your own solar journey. Thank you, Andrew, for making this process such a pleasure!

read more

Tee | El Sobrante, California | 01/31/2024

Done expediently and expertly

Pleased with the immediacy and care of the job from signing of the contract til the work was signed off by the county.

read more

Alexander Livitz | Walnut Creek, California | 01/26/2024

Great experience with NRG (Solar+Battery System)

NRG Clean Power provided an incredible sales consultation, and was able to give me the most affordable quote for the solar system I've purchased. They are the only solar installer I know with the Price Match Guarantee, and they've honored it even after I've signed the contract. I'd definitely recommend them! My project just started, but so far I've found NRG to be very honest and trustworthy. Sales team, that I've worked with, Sabrina and Andrew are top professionals, very responsive, highly knowledgeable and were helpful throughout the entire purchasing process. I am extremely happy to have chosen them as an installer and will update this review as my project progresses, or should there be anything outside of positive along the way.

read more

Lyn Nguyen | Oceanside, California | 01/19/2024

Residential solar system

Edward Rodriguez was our project manager for 2 solar systems. The solar crew was very professional. It went smoothly and passed the final inspection. Edward took his time to communicate, follow-up the project through emails, phones. 5 stars for Edward. Bill was helping us with set up our Enphase battery. He was very helpful on explaining how the battery worked. Thanks, Bill.

read more

TNH | Hayward, California | 01/15/2024

Exceptional Solar Experience with NRG Clean Power

I recently had the pleasure of working with NRG Clean Power for my solar installation, and I must say it was an outstanding experience from start to finish. From the initial consultation to the final installation, every step was handled with professionalism and expertise. Aracely Lopez, the Installation Coordinator at NRG Clean Power, played a crucial role in making the process seamless and efficient. Her attention to detail and dedication to ensuring everything went smoothly was truly commendable. Aracely kept me informed at every stage of the installation, answering all my queries promptly and providing valuable insights. The installation team was punctual, courteous, and efficient. They worked diligently to install the solar panels, and the end result exceeded my expectations. The quality of the workmanship was evident, and I am now enjoying the benefits of clean, renewable energy. NRG Clean Power's commitment to customer satisfaction is evident in every aspect of their service. From the initial assessment of my home's solar potential to the final activation of the system, the entire process was handled with professionalism and expertise. I highly recommend NRG Clean Power for anyone considering a solar installation. With a team as dedicated and capable as Aracely Lopez and the rest of the NRG Clean Power staff, you can trust that your solar journey will be a positive and rewarding experience. Thank you, NRG Clean Power, for making the transition to solar such a smooth and enjoyable process!

read more

Paul Amundson | Rancho Cucamonga, CA | 01/08/2024

N-R-G did N-O-T disappoint!

After several home visits from solar cold-callers, and several proposals reviewed through energysage, I contacted NRG based on their price, warranty, and equipment offered. They weren't the cheapest, nor the most expensive, and from the first call I felt like I was dealing with a straightforward-no-BS energy partner. No fluffy solar sales jargon or hard selling, just fair and honest statement of facts and what they could and could not do. It was a no brainer for me to go with them. From there on, the experience was exceptional due to the team that supported and handled me along the way: from Sabrina Steinman, Shahar Broitman, Nicole Corona, to my project manager Aracely Lopez and I'm sure a few more I'm missing... the people and communication were what made the difference. Any question big or small from me, as well as frequent project updates and expectations were all handled timely and to my satisfaction. 100% would recommend them again, and though it may not be the same for everyone, I was delighted that the project was completed before the expected date I was originally given. Thanks for helping make our solar and power goals a reality NRG. You have my respect.

read more

Andrew | Pacifica, California | 01/04/2024

Great value and overall experience with minor hiccups

As with most other solar companies, the sales team is amazing at explaining everything in hopes of getting your business. However, once I signed the contract, getting responses from NRG's sales team was very hit or miss. I had specifically ordered Panasonic all-black solar panels (EVPV370K) but instead, they delivered the black panels with white outlines (EVPV370). Contacting my original sales advisor was useless as there was no response. At this point, I decided to just move forward with it to not delay the installation since they were already bombarded with install requests to meet the NEM2.0 deadline. From there, everything was smooth sailing with the Project Manager, Rick, and the Permitting contact, Bill. No issues with getting my project correctly installed under NEM2.0 in California, which is a huge relief. The roof and solar contractors they hired were very professional and speedy. After the fact, speaking with their communications contact, Adrianna, was amazing. I had referred a few other friends to NRG and she made sure I was credited for it.

read more

PC A Lee | Los Gatos, California | 01/03/2024

Amazing communication/speed and workmanship

The entire project from design/permit/installation/online (still waiting for PTO from PGE) within 2 months …. My project manager Matt L provided me regular status and updates and answered all my questions from ordering materials and delivery permit installation and access to monitor the syatem. The installation crew was very professional and installation took 1 day and they left no mess around. This is an awesome experience, and I look forward to use the system to help offset my electric bill. Highly recommend anyone to work with NRG.

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

EPC installation - Other solar sales companies

Tesla Powerwall sales and installations

LG Chem solar batteries

SolarEdge - StorEdge

Roof replacement - Shingles

Roof replacement - Tile roofs

Enphase Storage

About NRG Clean Power


NRG Clean Power is the leading clean power provider in California and Texas. We leverage over 30 years of superior customer service installing solar across both states. Not only do we offer top-tier solar services, we are also a total home performance company, devoted to sustainability and energy efficiency.

We offer fully customized home and business solar installations with battery backup capabilities. We are on a mission to change the way energy is produced, consumed and stored. We believe that energy production should be decentralized, deregulated, affordable and most importantly, renewable. We envision a future with zero fossil fuels and plan on reaching this through cutting edge solar and storage technologies. Customer satisfaction is a crucial aspect and the cornerstone of our business.

As a result, we have earned the prestigious Diamond Certification 4 years in a row, along with the 2019 Angie’s List Super Service Award.

NRG Clean Power offers the finest solar products at the best rates with finance options for everyone. We will be with you every step of the way and for years to come.

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

California - Canoga Park

7012 Owensmouth Avenue, Canoga Park CA, 91303

California - San Jose

111 N. Market Street, San Jose CA, 95113

California - Los Angeles

7012 Owensmouth Ave, Los Angeles CA, 91303

California - San Jose

75 E Santa Clara St, San Jose CA, 95113

Loading...

Texas - Austin

600 Congress Avenue, Austin TX, 78701

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association American Solar Energy Society Solar Electric Power Association Solar Power World UL Certification

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
William Russell
PV-082222-013750

Licenses


CLSB - 1026168

1026168

Contact NRG Clean Power


Location pin
Head Office
7012 Owensmouth Avenue, Canoga Park CA, 91303
Website