NRG Clean Power

Verified profile
Updated: 10 March 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 1987

NRG Clean Power logo

4.58 from 155 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Excellent

Rating breakdown

Featured media


NRG Clean Power reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.7

Price as quoted

4.8

On schedule

4.6

Installation quality

4.7

After sales support

4.6

Latest good review thumbs up

Peter | Walnut Creek, California | 06/03/2022

Smooth process, friendly and professional installers

I quoted 10 different companies to get the best price. NRG Clean Power gave one of the best price (it was a tie between two companies). Throughout the process Kasey took care of my asks / needs - there were many rounds as I wanted to maximize the coverage of our upper roof. Unlike sales people at other companies, she listened to my needs and provided me very detailed information about anything I asked. Response times from county and fire dept was really long, and made the whole process running long. Most people I worked with from NRG was for pretty short time, as they had specific function (consultant, coordinator, project manager, etc) but Kasey was always present and responsive. Two things to call out: the initial plans were rejected by the Fire Dept - the designers did not include the needed setbacks. And during installation, a few panels had to be installed landscape instead of portrait as the roof measurements were not accurate. However, all these were solved without problems during the process. As the installation was just finished, I cannot speak about after sales support. Bottom line I am happy with how it went, and I do recommend NRG Clean Power and Kasey Decker.

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

Mike Parker | Walnut Grove, California | 03/16/2022

Bad subcontractors, bad communication. Would not recommend.

errible experience with this company. Signed contract in April 2021 for straightforward solar install and panel replacement. Beginning of August they show up to install the panels - whoops, the install crew didn't know that there was a panel replacement so they didn't have the power disconnected by the utility. Another month goes by, they partially install the solar but don't start the panel replacement. Another month goes by, and they do the panel replacement but don't bother to schedule the inspection and the utility to reconnect the meter. No worries, they reconnected it themselves without inspection or permission of the utility. They schedule and either no show, or fail the inspection for not having plans on site, or various other reasons, NINE times. No exaggeration. All while lying to me and trying to blame the inspector. "The county won't do two inspections in the same address on the same day." Nonsense. Finally passed all the inspections in December 2021. It's now March 2022 and they still haven't fixed the holes in my living room and dining room ceiling from the installers drilling all the way through my roof and my ceiling.

read more
1 comment >
Reply from NRG Clean Power: Hi Mike! I'm DeAnna with NRG Clean Power. I want to start off by thanking you for sharing your experience here. Secondly, I would like to apologize for the experience not going as smoothly as we both would like. I would like the opportunity to make it right, and make you feel good for choosing us. Please reach me at my desk 800-698-6627 ext 117. I look forward to hearing from you soon!

All reviews

>
>

P N | San Jose, California | 03/10/2022

NRG was good to do business with.

We got three estimates from three companies about a solar install for our home. NRG had the best service, the clearest communication, and best price, so we went with them. While it took quite some time to finish the project - we got all signatures at the end of September, install was finished mid-January, and our power company approved and brought it online at the start of February - NRG was always available to answer questions. One of the bigger delays is permits, of course, but NRG clearly had an expedited process for that, as I am still working on permits for another project that I began before the solar project!! I do think that there could be a bit more regular communication at some points in the process. Because it does take a long time, there are times where it seems kind of dead, so it would be nice if there was a "yes, this is still in progress" email. However, whenever I inquired, I got a quick response, and some information about where things were in the process. No regrets, would recommend.

read more

Jim | Galt, California | 01/05/2022

After the install

NRG Clean Power has been great to work with. The install went exactly as planned and finished ahead of schedule. Now keep in mind these system are are small power plants. Sometimes there are issue’s. Things happen. How NRG handles these things is amazing. Aracely answers emails and coordinate’s repairs to minimize down time and follows up making sure things are done right and you are satisfied. Customer service after the install is more important than the install in my opinion. I would use NRG again without question.

read more

Tyfighter | Burbank, California | 01/04/2022

Took some time but worth it in the end

We read reviews and got quotes from a few places before deciding to go with NRG Clean Power. Our salesman Eric Cole gave a very through presentation and answered all the questions we had. He was the primary reason we decided to go with NRG. We were presented with a few financial options but ended up paying for the system outright. While the presale went well, there were some delays in getting our system installed, permitted, etc... There was an issue with our city's permit office and delays due to covid. We also ended up going with a different panel because of supply/delivery issues from the manufacturer which would have delayed our install. To NRG's credit, we were contacted by Ryan Kidder who explained to us what was going on and offered us upgraded panels and a gift card which we happily accepted. Our major issue was with our project manager who had poor communication and did not seem to prioritize our project. We ended up contacting Eric about the issue because we were frustrated with the delay. To make a long story short we found out our project manager was no longer with NRG. We were assigned a new project manager, Andrew Cohen, who got things back on track. Our experience with him as been like night and day compared to our previous project manager. He was always quick to respond to our questions and keep us informed through the different phases of the project. Soon after, we were given an install date. Installation of the system was completed in one day. The crew was very courteous and cleaned up after themselves which can't always be said about contractors. We are very pleased with the performance which has exceeded our expectations even during the fall/winter. Despite the delays we are pleased with the end result and would recommend NRG if you are looking into getting solar.

read more

M | Los Angeles, California | 12/22/2021

Literally the worst company ever.

I can't explain the frustration we've had with this company from installing panels in the Shadows to clogging my drain with used cement, to causing a leak in my roof, to sending out the construction crew without scheduling with us first. I've been reaching out for a bit but when you dial #2 for customer support it just hangs up.... I just spoke with a tech support person and they were on the attack from the beginning of our one sided conversation. They really need to have some sort of training to help with customer service and not make the customer feel like everything we did was wrong..

read more

2 comments >
Reply from M: Hi Matt, Aracely from our customer service department is reaching out to you today to handle the situation.
Reply from NRG Clean Power: Hi there! This is DeAnna with NRG Clean power. I would really like to earn the opportunity to make this a better experience for you. Please reach me at my desk 800-698-6627 ext 117 so you can tell me what would make this better for you. I look forward to hearing from you soon!

Andre | San Jose, California | 12/20/2021

Good price and clean system

Due to pandemic woes NRG installation took slightly longer than expected but the company worked with me to make sure everything went according to plan eventually.<br />The system performs well and the monitoring works great. Communication could be improved and can sometimes test your patience but with most of their office affected by covid they pulled through nicely and made sure I got all my needs taken care of. Not much else to say except that I am happy I got solar at a very good price with this company.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Andre: Hi Andre, This is Sean Molloy, a Senior Manager here at NRG, is it possible for us to have a call and discuss your issues. I would like to rectify the problems. I am at sean@nrgcleanpower.com

Aaron & Amy Barak | Saint Helena, California | 12/16/2021

Amazing 2nd Experience

This is my second NRG install (two homes) this year. The first was complex and challenging. The most recent install was amazing from start to finish--Sherry Anvi was assigned to oversee the job and had everything nipped and tucked, no surprises. When we did run into various challenges, she communicated and resolved the issues. The install itself was top notch. Highly recommend NRG and hopefully you get fortunate enough to have Sherry assigned to your account.

read more

RW | Palm Desert, CA | 12/06/2021

awesome service

Sherry Avni was my contact person and always returned my calls and answered all my questions promptly. She has a deep understanding of all aspects of the process and guided me through the project with the utmost professionalism. She is a credit to the company and i have sung her praises to many who have inquired about our solar project.

read more

Sunshine | Menifee, CA | 11/25/2021

Top Notch Start to finish

I started reviewing and contacting solar companies at the beginning of August and got nothing but high pressure sales people trying to rush me into signing a contract without providing much information about the system, the delivery timeframe, or potential hidden costs. Finally I contacted NRG around mid August and talked to Branden Kelly in the Sales team. Branden was very knowledgeable and focused on answering all of my questions about solar systems, installation timeframes, and loan options. No high pressure sales pitch. I learned more in a 30 minute conversation with Branden than I had learned in my previous month trying to work with other companies. I was impressed by the professionalism, responsiveness, and commitment shown by NRG right off the bat. Branden sent me a copy of their solar agreement which was much more simple than previous agreements I had received and less laden with disclaimers. Working with NRG was night and day from working with the other companies. I stressed with Branden that I absolutely had to have this system installed by the end of 2021, and he told me the average project took about 10-12 weeks to complete, so about mid Nov. estimated completion. Right from the start things were expedited. The contract was finalized 1 day after my initial contact with Branden and 2 days later my solar loan was approved and I was assigned to a Project coordinator named Andrew Cohen within a week who has been awesome. Andrew got a site inspection scheduled within a week, and got the project off to a fast start the first week in September. Andrew was very supportive throughout the whole installation process, and responded to any question or concern almost immediately. He was always polite, considerate and addressed every concern in a timely fashion. He even helped and guided me through my HOA approval process. He was totally committed to have the system operational in 2021 and made any needed adjustments to keep things on track. The system was installed and inspection completed on Nov 15th. The permission to operate was granted by SCE on Nov 24th. The whole process was painless and went smoothly from start to finish.

read more

Paul | Aromas, CA | 11/20/2021

Went very well

I am very happy and satisfied with my solar purchase from NRG and particularly the way the process has proceeded smoothly with Sherry as my project coordinator. She’s been very present and quickly responsive with all of our interactions. She’s also handled two administrative setbacks with poise and efficiency so that we’re still on track (even slightly ahead) with our original timeline in spite of them. It was always reassuring to feel like she knew what she was doing even if I felt like I didn’t

read more

Q. Lam | Los Angeles, CA | 11/19/2021

Stay Away - Use a More Professional Installer

Detailed review of my experience below, but the main points: - Deceptive sales tactics - Poor design - Unprofessional installer - Poor coordination and communication throughout Sales Process - The initial bid NRG provided was a low ball bid intended to win the work, but did not reflect the actual cost. The initial quote was priced at $2.76/watt, but the revised bid was $3.39/watt (+23%). - The quote included solar panels that conveniently were no longer available during the follow up conversation - During the negotiation process, there was a sneaky attempt to switch materials. When I requested the installation of the NEMA 14-50 outlet be included for free, this was added, but there was another change to materials that was not called out (from Enphase microinverters to a SolarEdge inverter). Luckily I read the details carefully Handoff from Sales to Project Manager - Project manager had no details about the NEMA 14-50 outlet installation so I had to connect the dots Site Assessment and Plan Designs - Even though a site assessment was conducted, it seemed to be ineffective - The initial plans suggested that the inverter be installed as an obstruction to my front door. The installer had to look at my neighbor's solar setup to identify a new approach - The installer had difficulty locating the J-Box in the attic, which resulted in more time wasted. Shouldn't this have been covered during the site assessment and communicated to the installer? Materials Logistics - No details were provided about the fact that materials were going to be dropped when two different deliveries were made - The solar panels were dropped off in front of my neighbor's garage and the community trash/recycling area, which restricted access to these areas for a day and a half, which not only inconvenienced me, but also my neighbors Installation Process: I was told this should take 1-2 days to complete, but it took more than 5 weeks in total Visit 1 (October 1) - I was told that the installer would arrive in the morning, but they didn't get here until the afternoon (4pm) - The wrong lift was delivered so the install was delayed further - The installers were only able to work for a couple of hours before they had to stop when it got dark - The solar panels were left where they were dropped off, leaving the obstructions in place and inconveniencing my neighbors. Not to mention they were exposed to the risk of theft, just sitting in the driveway Visit 2 (October 2) - The installers came back the day after, at least they were on time on this occasion - However, they were only able to complete a couple of hours of work due to the heat - At least they were able to move the solar panels to remove the obstruction and install the NEMA 14-50 outlet Visit 3 (October 22) - In all transparency, this visit had to be re-scheduled because my wife went into labor. Although, this would not have mattered if the install was done in the 1-2 days originally quoted - For the 3rd visit, the installers were late again. Quoted arrival time of 2:30pm, actual arrival of 5pm - The job still wasn't completed Visit 4 (October 23) - The installers had difficulty locating the J-Box (as described above), which made the process take longer - Installers needed access to the home to get into the attic. They did not take much care as they came into the house (i.e., did not use coverings for shoes; were not careful in carrying the ladder in the house - I heard it hit my walls a few times) - Installers left without providing any sort of update regarding whether the work was done or next steps - Was later told that the final touches were to: paint the conduit by the main panel, turn on the system and provide instructions on the monitoring app - I later learned that the installers left the light in my attic/crawl space on and only found out about this a month later due to a different inspection Visit 5 (11/6) - Originally scheduled for 11/5, but it did not happen. No communication from the installer just no showed - Installer showed up unannounced on 11/6 to finally complete the install process, but I wasn't given access to the monitoring app as had been previously communicated until 11/8 Inspection - A couple of NRG employees came on-site to support the inspection. They parked in an inappropriate location blocking the driveway and garages. They were also rude to one of my neighbors when she asked them to move. - The NRG employees asked if I had any paperwork for the inspection. However, I had already given everything to the installer. Another example of poor coordination and communication - I did not participate in the inspection, but I did overhear the inspector say one of the stickers was incorrectly labeled. The inspector also expressed his frustration that they had to send inspectors to our home 4 times because nobody bothered to call them to cancel the prior scheduled inspections when the work was not completed on time - At least we did pass inspection

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Q. Lam: Hi Q, This is Sean from the Senior Management at NRG. I would like to check in with you, is there a number I can reach you at? Or send me an email sean@nrgcleanpower.com

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

EPC installation - Other solar sales companies

Tesla Powerwall sales and installations

LG Chem solar batteries

SolarEdge - StorEdge

Roof replacement - Shingles

Roof replacement - Tile roofs

Enphase Storage

About NRG Clean Power


NRG Clean Power is the leading clean power provider in California and Texas. We leverage over 30 years of superior customer service installing solar across both states. Not only do we offer top-tier solar services, we are also a total home performance company, devoted to sustainability and energy efficiency.

We offer fully customized home and business solar installations with battery backup capabilities. We are on a mission to change the way energy is produced, consumed and stored. We believe that energy production should be decentralized, deregulated, affordable and most importantly, renewable. We envision a future with zero fossil fuels and plan on reaching this through cutting edge solar and storage technologies. Customer satisfaction is a crucial aspect and the cornerstone of our business.

As a result, we have earned the prestigious Diamond Certification 4 years in a row, along with the 2019 Angie’s List Super Service Award.

NRG Clean Power offers the finest solar products at the best rates with finance options for everyone. We will be with you every step of the way and for years to come.

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

California - Canoga Park

7012 Owensmouth Avenue, Canoga Park CA, 91303

California - San Jose

111 N. Market Street, San Jose CA, 95113

Loading...

Texas - Austin

600 Congress Avenue, Austin TX, 78701

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association American Solar Energy Society Solar Electric Power Association Solar Power World UL Certification

Licenses


CLSB - 1026168

Contact NRG Clean Power


Location pin
Head Office
111 N. Market Street, San Jose CA, 95113