Green Day Power

Verified profile
Updated: 24 May 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2015

Green Day Power logo

3.24 from 4 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Good

Rating breakdown

Green Day Power reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

3.5

Price as quoted

3.0

On schedule

2.0

Installation quality

3.3

After sales support

2.0

Latest good review thumbs up

RSB | Moraga, California | 09/29/2022

Battery Back-Up to Existing LG Solar system

The process began end-Oct 2020 & installation was complete mid-Feb 2021; official inspection was completed end May 2021! I was given the assurance that the installation would be completed right after Thanksgiving...understandably Covid & the permitting process was an appropriate excuse for the delay...however, it was threats from my end, including reporting to the BBB & CA Dept of Consumer Affairs, that elicited an immediate response. The workmanship, wiring & product quality is good & so far no issues with the system turning on when PG&E decides to curtail power. However, I was promised an application for defining power draw, conversion efficiency etc off the inverters...despite multiple reminders and as of Sep 2022, I have yet to receive the same. Maybe these are the times & customer satisfaction is at an all time low...like I said, they did a good job with the product...and I'd rate them 4.5 out of 5; however, a rating of 1 out of 5 in terms of keeping the customer happy.

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

RSB | Moraga, California | 09/29/2022

Battery Back-Up to Existing LG Solar system

The process began end-Oct 2020 & installation was complete mid-Feb 2021; official inspection was completed end May 2021! I was given the assurance that the installation would be completed right after Thanksgiving...understandably Covid & the permitting process was an appropriate excuse for the delay...however, it was threats from my end, including reporting to the BBB & CA Dept of Consumer Affairs, that elicited an immediate response. The workmanship, wiring & product quality is good & so far no issues with the system turning on when PG&E decides to curtail power. However, I was promised an application for defining power draw, conversion efficiency etc off the inverters...despite multiple reminders and as of Sep 2022, I have yet to receive the same. Maybe these are the times & customer satisfaction is at an all time low...like I said, they did a good job with the product...and I'd rate them 4.5 out of 5; however, a rating of 1 out of 5 in terms of keeping the customer happy.

read more

All reviews

>
>

RM | Kelseyville, California | 05/24/2022

Horrible about sums it up

Where to begin. I went into this solar/battery backup agreement because I was going to get a reduction in my power bill, get a $18k rebate for the battery backup, and not have to be without power during the power shut offs. Well, communication has been overall horrible. The sales guy (Travis) decided to abandon GDP for a better paying job and neglected to tell me. I could not get in touch with anyone else. That took filing a BBB complaint, and like magic, I got calls that same day from GDP AND the old sales guy. As for the rebate, no one at GDP had any clue about it (although other solar companies did), but they said they would help me, which was before the BBB complaint. I continued to ask for the information that I needed, so that I could fill out this rebate and get it submitted ASAP. After months of asking, they discovered that they actually had an employee that filled these out. Well she quit or was fired, and the rebate went uncompleted and not submitted. The operations manager (Emily) said she would take care of it. So after still waiting and waiting and waiting, the rebate form was not submitted. Then someone else emailed and called asking for information because she was going to submit the rebate form. Well she filled it out wrong. After informing Emily, she said that she'll oversee it and make it right. PG&E kept sending responses saying the application was incorrect and or needed the same information that was submitted I don't know how many times. Emily came back saying that PG&E retroactively changed the deadline for the rebate application to October 2021. I have been hounding GDP since July 2020 about this rebate that they failed to get done, which was the sole documented reason for me agreeing to this overpriced setup, so they cost me $18k. Installation was not without problems either. It was first delayed, then the poor install guy had to come out multiple times due to breakers flipping off randomly and arcing inside the box. Not to mention the internet connection was a problem, so that required being fixed, so that they could remotely monitor my system for problems. Fast forward to the end of the year and the PG&E True-Up where they tell you how much you owe them. Well this 45-panel system, which was guaranteed to give me 1400 to 1500 kWh a month has now cost me $3700 with PG&E. The reason you wonder. Well, after emailing Emily, who said she would get back to me, which she did not, I discovered that the system was not completely on. At some point, probably when they were last out in the Spring, 2 sections of panels were disabled, which explains why after April, the system was severely under performing. So not only have they cost me $18K, they have also cost me an additional $3700 for what they guaranteed, but totally failed on their part. So much for remotely monitoring my system. Fast forward and Emily said she was working with Generac to reimburse part of the True-Up. For 5 months now I have been given the runaround with Emily saying "you'll get a check next week," more times than I want to count. When the amount owed to me was presented, I was told I would get paid, but I would also receive an email in a few days. A week went by, so I stated the obvious. I later received an email stating that I need to sign an agreement that basically says that GDP won't be held accountable for any further setbacks or problems. They are supposed to warranty this system for 25yrs and make sure it is running properly hence the existence of remote monitoring. So I replied back, more or less stating that and a good part of the above. Still no reply, no check, lack of communication as expected. Another thing to point out, which another review did was that I was setup to be financed through Sunnova. However, after they installed this system, I was still paying PG&E for months prior to them getting PG&E to approve it. Getting reimbursement for that took a long time as well. Then I started receiving phone calls that I needed to call back about financing through another bank. Well because of the high cost of the system, this had to go through 2 different banks. What they don't tell you is that these banks charge compound interest and your glamourous minimum payment (which is comparable to your monthly power bill) is about 90% interest every month. I didn't have much choice in the matter because I knew they would threaten a lien otherwise. But just a warning to you. This company is horrible, a scam, and at this point thieves. Find some place else that is reliable, actually communicates with the customers, costs less money, and doesn't screw you over.

read more

Marc Lyons | Folsom, California | 01/26/2022

Excellent customer service!!

Being a homeowner it's always a challenge finding reputable companies with great customer service when it comes to home improvement projects. We were very skeptical to pull the plug and go solar only because we had heard so many negative things about the customer service, especially with the bigger, national companies. So we ended up checking several locally owned companies and finally settled on Green Day Power because of their Solar Forever Warranty and the great customer service from the beginning. We couldn't be happier with our solar and in the first 2 months we've already saved a significant amount of money, and it's not even hot season yet. If you're looking to go solar we highly recommend going with Green Day Power because they will make sure the job gets done right. We've also got a couple of our neighbors going with them so we are excited to get their referral bonus of $500 on each of them which will cover several months of payments for our system!

read more

Jaime Martin | Fallbrook, California | 07/26/2021

Not satisfied

After day 1 of solar panel install, we no longer have use of lights in 3 rooms, same rooms panels are installed above. We have been left hanging, in the dark, literally, for over 3 weeks now. Greenday Solar is saying its not solar related. 2 stars

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Energy audits

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

Energy monitoring

Tesla Powerwall sales and installations

Pika / Generac Energy Storage

Roof replacement - Shingles

Enphase Storage

About Green Day Power


We are California's #1 Family-Owner Solar, Roofing & Generator Company.

Office locations


Loading...

California - Sacramento

9745 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA, 95827

California - Fresno

320 W Bedford Suite 101, Fresno CA, 93711

California - Corona

1100 Olympic Drive Suite 102, Corona CA, 92881

Certifications


Better Business Bureau

Licenses


CA Licenses C-10, C-39, CSLB # 1038673

Contact Green Day Power


Location pin
Head Office
9745 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA, 95827