New England Clean Energy

Verified profile
Updated: 25 September 2021
Installer

Installing solar since 2006

New England Clean Energy logo

4.73 from 292 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 0 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Unrated

Featured media


New England Clean Energy reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.8

Price as quoted

4.9

On schedule

4.6

Installation quality

4.8

After sales support

4.6

Latest good review thumbs up

Chris B | Holliston, Massachusetts | 09/08/2022

SOLAR PANELS installed and generating!

Had all my questions answered by Todd, and smoothly moved into the phases of installing and becoming operational. The wait between inspections and "turn-on" was longer than I had hoped, but NECE had warned me of the possible delay due to local inspections and Electric Co. delays. Finally turned on and very happy with the project. Thank you Todd and NECE for providing me with a great system for my home.

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

Jim Luckett | Waltham, Massachusetts | 07/19/2022

Nice People, But They Have Become Unrealiable

I just had NECE install a second system and battery. Nice people. Flexible enough to take on an unusual project. But not at all the customer-friendly, capable company they were when they did my first system. I can no longer recommend them. I contracted for the system in Feb of 2020. They forgot to apply for permits and so we lost many months until the oversight was discovered. It took until September of 2021 to get it physically installed and the bureaucratic approvals still have not come through (as of July 2022), so I am not getting Smart Credits and my battery is not earning any income. NECE's person for pushing through the paperwork is either completely overwhelmed or incompetent. She just is not getting it done. Worse, she does not return phone calls or emails promptly and is not always accurate when she finally does. I finally had to call Eversource and the city inspector myself to do her job for her. I did that today and we seem to be moving forward now. She has not communicated at all today, nor for the previous week plus. Backing up to the construction process, NECE arrived on site and started work without having the system fully designed and approved by their structural engineer. They discovered as they worked that they could not get their engineer to perform. I finally had to contract with another engineer for design and approval of the sloping panels that went along the south edge of my deck. Then NECE hit me with a change order because their pricing was based on false assumptions about what was structurally acceptable and the structually sound solution was more costly. They would not honor the price in their fixed-price contract with me. Moving back to the post-construction situation, it has been an endless process of emails and phone calls to NECE not being answered in a timely manner, and stuff they said they were doing not being done or not done correctly. For example, one big delay resulted because they submitted my system for approval as a wind system! In July, when I finally called the city inspector who they were blaming for the latest delay of many weeks, he said he had not known there was any problem and had received zero communication from NECE between February and July of this year (2022). So NECE was just BSing me about all the supposed interaction they were having with him. So disappointing to see a good company go bad.

read more
1 comment >
Reply from New England Clean Energy: We are sorry this project has been so frustrating. It has been frustrating for us as well. That said, we are happy to report that you now have Permission to Operate (PTO) your system and it is now operational. It was, from the start, an extremely unusual project – and so unusual in fact that it has changed how we take on the installation of anything “new and different”. It was a mistake on our part that we will not make again. Some of these “new and different” components were so foreign that our regular structural engineers would not approve them, so you had to get your own engineer to take on the task. So, we feel that change orders and delays were not overly surprising. Simply put, much of the work was unknowable from the start. That said, we do accept that your initial Project Lead made mistakes and omissions. He did it to multiple customers unfortunately. We can only confirm that the project lead in question was let go. Overall, however, we believe you became most upset with us after we asked you to call your town inspector. Specifically, after months of trying we could not reach him or get a response so we asked you – as a town resident to try. When you did reach him (it pays to be a town resident), he told you that no one had ever contacted him, and he would be happy to properly notify the utility. Unfortunately, that was not true. In truth, we contacted the inspector multiple times over multiple months, by phone as well as by email. This is all documented in our systems. And multiple people at our company tried to reach him; our project lead tried to reach him, and our Master Electrician tried to reach him. Even the utility, Eversource, tried to reach him (which Eversource has also documented). The inspector’s statement to the contrary would indeed be upsetting, but it also is not true. We do not know why the inspector didn’t respond to us, but we do know that many inspectors are confused by the strange process Eversource requires. Specifically, while any project an inspector must approve requires only the inspector’s signature, larger solar projects also require the inspector to call Eversource at a very specific number as well. If he didn’t know that perhaps he felt that we were in the wrong and needlessly bothering him. It is impossible for us to know for sure. In the end, as noted above, your system has been approved and is operational. We agree it has been a frustrating experience and we wish it would have gone a different way. If it is any solace, while it does not go back and eliminate your frustration, our processes have changed dramatically since then. And as always, thank you for going solar. We truly appreciate it.

All reviews

>
>

O. Benyo | Concord, Massachusetts | 09/25/2021

Great company, Great service!

NECE Installed our system on time and with no hassle. Managed the whole process (including rebates). The team was extremely helpful and kind. We enjoyed working with them and would recommend them to anyone looking to do solar panels!

read more

1 comment >
Reply from New England Clean Energy: This is so good to hear! Thank you for the review. We hope your system continues to shine and please let us know if anything changes!

Kamlesh Khushalani | Westborough, Massachusetts | 06/15/2021

Excellent Company for Installing Solar Panels

I spoke with Mark regarding my solar project at home and he was able to explain the system and how it will meet my current demand. He explained upfront costs and options. The master electrician Mike Richards was very professional and installed the system after consulation with me for the best location for the wiring. I would recommend it to others for your solar panel needs. Thanks.

read more

Alexander Gorski | Cumberland, Rhode Island | 04/23/2021

Do not choose New England Clean Energy for a RI installation!

I began my process with New England Clean energy in July of 2020, and was finally approved for electrical use in Feb 2021. The team came in October to do the initial install, which was done without measuring the roof, and could have fit an additional solar panel. After installation we had national grid come and look at the install in November, and the way they connected the meter was wrong. After changing the way the meter was connected national grid came out again to look and there was another problem with the way they had installed the meter again in December. Then in January when national grid came again to review they had incorrectly labeled the meters. They tried to then relabel them and send a review which failed, and needed to send someone out again. Finally in Feb I was fully approved. During the struggle with National Grid New England Clean Energy didn't seem knowledgeable about the issues that were going on and what was causing National Grid not to approve this install. Between the stickers mishap I turned on and the meter to track how much usage I was losing due New England Clean Energy mistakes. I calculated it at 150ish dollars and asked New England Clean Energy to pay me that sum. They agreed to pay that sum, but it's now been two months and they've stopped all communications with me. I wouldn't hire them again nor does it appear they know how to correctly perform an install in RI.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from New England Clean Energy: Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We are extremely sorry for how the final approval process ended for you and your system. Although we have installed many systems in RI, NationalGrid changes on a regular basis on how they want metters and signage set-up. That said, we completely dropped the ball on our agreed check out to you -- and ultimately, it’s our job to get your system done and approved. Unfortunately, because of a mix of factors we didn’t have a working process in place for such an issue. Please believe us when we say we’re making the changes to avoid this issue again. We trust you have received our promised payment and we hope all continues to be well with you and your family.

RJS | Barrington, Rhode Island | 01/19/2021

Easy Peasy

NE Solar made the install very easy. The installers were very courteous and very communicative about the whole process.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from New England Clean Energy: Thanks for this wonderful review! It was a pleasure working with you and we wish you and your system all the best!

Shame123 | Needham, Massachusetts | 10/26/2020

Buyer Beware - Get ready to for a terrible experience

Go anywhere else. In short, do your homework. This company over the last hear has become a hot mess. The people in charge of running the projects through to management have a lot to learn and are in over their head. I have spent hours and hundreds of emails chasing them down. Also I was told to pay before the project was completed and meters were set up, being told the project was completed, it was not and 2 months later I have missed the entire summer months for SMART Credits with no recourse. I used them 5 years ago, and they were great, today not even close up through to CEO. If you want to overpay, be treated like dirt, and be lied to throughout the process then yes, select these people. If you want to just work with someone who is honest, knows what they are doing and will see it through to the end, choose anyone else.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from New England Clean Energy: We are sorry that your project was delayed in the turbulent times of Spring 2020, but are happy that it is up and running since late Summer 2020.

Matt | Providence, Rhode Island | 05/07/2020

Took longer than they said it would

The process started with a great estimate in July. It took two months to get the panel installation scheduled. The installation took two days. The power was shut off by the contractors after the first day and wasn't turned back on as they should have (and we didn't know if it was safe to turn it back on). Then we waited... A building inspection was supposed to happen in November but some engineering documents were missing. There seemed to be a lack of promptness to get the process moving. The electrical inspection did not happen until late January. Turns out another time was needed to install the wi-fi communicator properly through the proper electrical box. There was another hold up with their engineering partner provide proper documents for the building inspection (which was supposed to take place early November). It took several weeks to get the final document from the city and I had to reach out to the city myself; I would I have expected them to handle it without me having to support. Then, the utility said the signage on the system was not adequate, so they had to order new signage and install them, which delayed the process. The contract we signed with them said the work would be done in 6 months and it wasn't. It took about 9 months. The COVID-19 situation probably extended the work but that was already 2 months after they promised to get the work done. With that said, I'm not sure if this was a one-off thing for this company but I wanted to share my experience. I plan to update this if any future work is required.

read more

3 comments >
Reply from New England Clean Energy: Thank you for leaving a review and we deeply regret the extra time this project took. To your point, yes some of it is on us, but also yes much of it was related to the town and the utility. Specifically, we do feel we did a poor job in follow through with the town inspection. It was a failure in our process that we hope has now been corrected going forward. But your project was also significantly delayed by the utility. Your home has two meters on site and this seemed to confuse the utility no end, as they kept asking us to label the meter we were not connected to as well as the one we were. And unfortunately the labels they wanted us to add really made no sense. But after a lengthy series of many back and forth calls with the utility we did ultimately reach a real person by phone to discuss the situation and the utility did proceed with the installation. We do regret it took as long as it did and truly understand and share your frustration, but also know that you will generate lots of clean green energy for decades to come. Thank you for going solar.
Reply from New England Clean Energy: Thank you for leaving a review and we deeply regret the extra time this project took. To your point, yes some of it is on us, but also yes much of it was related to the town and the utility. Specifically, we do feel we did a poor job in follow through with the town inspection. It was a failure in our process that we hope has now been corrected going forward. But your project was also significantly delayed by the utility. Your home has two meters on site and this seemed to confuse the utility no end, as they kept asking us to label the meter we were not connected to as well as the one we were. And unfortunately the labels they wanted us to add really made no sense. But after a lengthy series of many back and forth calls with the utility we did ultimately reach a real person by phone to discuss the situation and the utility did proceed with the installation. We do regret it took as long as it did and truly understand and share your frustration, but also know that you will generate lots of clean green energy for decades to come. Thank you for going solar.
Reply from New England Clean Energy: Thank you for leaving a review and we deeply regret the extra time this project took. To your point, yes some of it is on us, but also yes much of it was related to the town and the utility. Specifically, we do feel we did a poor job in follow through with the town inspection. It was a failure in our process that we hope has now been corrected going forward. But your project was also significantly delayed by the utility. Your home has two meters on site and this seemed to confuse the utility no end, as they kept asking us to label the meter we were not connected to as well as the one we were. And unfortunately the labels they wanted us to add really made no sense. But after a lengthy series of many back and forth calls with the utility we did ultimately reach a real person by phone to discuss the situation and the utility did proceed with the installation. We do regret it took as long as it did and truly understand and share your frustration, but also know that you will generate lots of clean green energy for decades to come. Thank you for going solar.

Sunny success! | Lincoln, Massachusetts | 02/26/2020

I am very satisfied with New England clean energy!

I dealt with two solar companies. New England clean energy was without a doubt the far superior company and better customer service to say the least.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from New England Clean Energy: Thank you for this kind review! We hope you solar system continues to work beautifully, and please let us know if anything changes!

Jonathan | Wayland, Massachusetts | 02/24/2020

100% Trustworthy.

I interviewed at least 5 solar companies. New England Clean Energy had the most straightforward sales process. They did everything they said on time. I live in a custom home; they were not the lowest price but I think they are clearly the best value!

read more

1 comment >
Reply from New England Clean Energy: Thank you so much for your review on the value of our products and process! We hope your system continues to run smoothly!

MAH | Hopkinton, Massachusetts | 02/20/2020

Clear and concise communication throughout

NECE was recommended by a friend who had used their services. After reviewing their competitors, I chose NECE as well. Roy provided clear and concise information and answered all of my questions. What I liked most is that he was not a typical pushy salesperson.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from New England Clean Energy: Thanks so much for this review! We pride ourselves on our no-pressure sales process and appreciate your commentary. We wish you and your system all the best!

Simon Graham | Bolton, Massachusetts | 02/19/2020

Fantastic job for both solar panels and battery installation

I can't praise the folks at NECN enough - right from the start, they were helpful, professional and clearly committed to the ideas of a cleaner source of electricity. I was also impressed that they were very clear about the cost and conservative about the likely time to recover the cost. Two years after installing the solar panels, we asked them to quote a battery install so that we can manage the fairly frequent outages we get here without using a noisy, dirty generator -- the installation was completed on time and the result looks fantastic and works amazingly well. In addition, Mark told us about the National Grid "Connected Solutions" program where they pay us to supply power from the battery to the grid when demand is high which is another great program. We chose to have solar installed because it's just the right thing to do - but it doesn't hurt that we've recouped 35% of the cost in just over three years! (which puts us in line to recover the complete cost 5 years faster than we originally thought).

read more

1 comment >
Reply from New England Clean Energy: Yes! The Connected Solutions program is a wonderful way to help pay for your system. We appreciate this review!

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

Pika / Generac Energy Storage

About New England Clean Energy


The company has installed more than 2,000 solar energy systems for homeowners, businesses, and nonprofit organizations in New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Maine, and Massachusetts. Having installed solar since its founding in 2006, New England Clean Energy has more positive reviews on SolarReviews.com than any installer in the northeast (and more than all but one company in the entire U.S.). Headquartered in Hudson, Massachusetts, the company also has an office in Providence, RI, and Bedford, NH.

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

Massachusetts - Hudson

577 Main Street Suite 430, Hudson MA, 01749

Loading...

New Hampshire - Bedford

264 South River Road Suite 538, Bedford NH, 03110

Loading...

Rhode Island - Providence

166 Valley St., Building 6M Suite 103, Providence RI, 02909

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Contractor Check

Licenses


Massachusetts Master Electrician License-#21000A.MA HIC 153629

Contact New England Clean Energy


Location pin
Head Office
577 Main Street Suite 430, Hudson MA, 01749