New England Clean Energy

Verified profile
Updated: 19 January 2021
Installer

Installing solar since 2006

New England Clean Energy logo

4.73 from 289 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

Featured media


New England Clean Energy reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.8

Price as quoted

4.9

On schedule

4.6

Installation quality

4.8

After sales support

4.6

Latest good review thumbs up

Kamlesh Khushalani | Westborough, Massachusetts | 06/15/2021

Excellent Company for Installing Solar Panels

I spoke with Mark regarding my solar project at home and he was able to explain the system and how it will meet my current demand. He explained upfront costs and options. The master electrician Mike Richards was very professional and installed the system after consulation with me for the best location for the wiring. I would recommend it to others for your solar panel needs. Thanks.

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

Alexander Gorski | Cumberland, Rhode Island | 04/23/2021

Do not choose New England Clean Energy for a RI installation!

I began my process with New England Clean energy in July of 2020, and was finally approved for electrical use in Feb 2021. The team came in October to do the initial install, which was done without measuring the roof, and could have fit an additional solar panel. After installation we had national grid come and look at the install in November, and the way they connected the meter was wrong. After changing the way the meter was connected national grid came out again to look and there was another problem with the way they had installed the meter again in December. Then in January when national grid came again to review they had incorrectly labeled the meters. They tried to then relabel them and send a review which failed, and needed to send someone out again. Finally in Feb I was fully approved. During the struggle with National Grid New England Clean Energy didn't seem knowledgeable about the issues that were going on and what was causing National Grid not to approve this install. Between the stickers mishap I turned on and the meter to track how much usage I was losing due New England Clean Energy mistakes. I calculated it at 150ish dollars and asked New England Clean Energy to pay me that sum. They agreed to pay that sum, but it's now been two months and they've stopped all communications with me. I wouldn't hire them again nor does it appear they know how to correctly perform an install in RI.

read more
1 comment >
Reply from New England Clean Energy: Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We are extremely sorry for how the final approval process ended for you and your system. Although we have installed many systems in RI, NationalGrid changes on a regular basis on how they want metters and signage set-up. That said, we completely dropped the ball on our agreed check out to you -- and ultimately, it’s our job to get your system done and approved. Unfortunately, because of a mix of factors we didn’t have a working process in place for such an issue. Please believe us when we say we’re making the changes to avoid this issue again. We trust you have received our promised payment and we hope all continues to be well with you and your family.

All reviews

>
>

RJS | Barrington, Rhode Island | 01/19/2021

Easy Peasy

NE Solar made the install very easy. The installers were very courteous and very communicative about the whole process.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from New England Clean Energy: Thanks for this wonderful review! It was a pleasure working with you and we wish you and your system all the best!

Shame123 | Needham, Massachusetts | 10/26/2020

Buyer Beware - Get ready to for a terrible experience

Go anywhere else. In short, do your homework. This company over the last hear has become a hot mess. The people in charge of running the projects through to management have a lot to learn and are in over their head. I have spent hours and hundreds of emails chasing them down. Also I was told to pay before the project was completed and meters were set up, being told the project was completed, it was not and 2 months later I have missed the entire summer months for SMART Credits with no recourse. I used them 5 years ago, and they were great, today not even close up through to CEO. If you want to overpay, be treated like dirt, and be lied to throughout the process then yes, select these people. If you want to just work with someone who is honest, knows what they are doing and will see it through to the end, choose anyone else.

read more

Matt | Providence, Rhode Island | 05/07/2020

Took longer than they said it would

The process started with a great estimate in July. It took two months to get the panel installation scheduled. The installation took two days. The power was shut off by the contractors after the first day and wasn't turned back on as they should have (and we didn't know if it was safe to turn it back on). Then we waited... A building inspection was supposed to happen in November but some engineering documents were missing. There seemed to be a lack of promptness to get the process moving. The electrical inspection did not happen until late January. Turns out another time was needed to install the wi-fi communicator properly through the proper electrical box. There was another hold up with their engineering partner provide proper documents for the building inspection (which was supposed to take place early November). It took several weeks to get the final document from the city and I had to reach out to the city myself; I would I have expected them to handle it without me having to support. Then, the utility said the signage on the system was not adequate, so they had to order new signage and install them, which delayed the process. The contract we signed with them said the work would be done in 6 months and it wasn't. It took about 9 months. The COVID-19 situation probably extended the work but that was already 2 months after they promised to get the work done. With that said, I'm not sure if this was a one-off thing for this company but I wanted to share my experience. I plan to update this if any future work is required.

read more

3 comments >
Reply from New England Clean Energy: Thank you for leaving a review and we deeply regret the extra time this project took. To your point, yes some of it is on us, but also yes much of it was related to the town and the utility. Specifically, we do feel we did a poor job in follow through with the town inspection. It was a failure in our process that we hope has now been corrected going forward. But your project was also significantly delayed by the utility. Your home has two meters on site and this seemed to confuse the utility no end, as they kept asking us to label the meter we were not connected to as well as the one we were. And unfortunately the labels they wanted us to add really made no sense. But after a lengthy series of many back and forth calls with the utility we did ultimately reach a real person by phone to discuss the situation and the utility did proceed with the installation. We do regret it took as long as it did and truly understand and share your frustration, but also know that you will generate lots of clean green energy for decades to come. Thank you for going solar.
Reply from New England Clean Energy: Thank you for leaving a review and we deeply regret the extra time this project took. To your point, yes some of it is on us, but also yes much of it was related to the town and the utility. Specifically, we do feel we did a poor job in follow through with the town inspection. It was a failure in our process that we hope has now been corrected going forward. But your project was also significantly delayed by the utility. Your home has two meters on site and this seemed to confuse the utility no end, as they kept asking us to label the meter we were not connected to as well as the one we were. And unfortunately the labels they wanted us to add really made no sense. But after a lengthy series of many back and forth calls with the utility we did ultimately reach a real person by phone to discuss the situation and the utility did proceed with the installation. We do regret it took as long as it did and truly understand and share your frustration, but also know that you will generate lots of clean green energy for decades to come. Thank you for going solar.
Reply from New England Clean Energy: Thank you for leaving a review and we deeply regret the extra time this project took. To your point, yes some of it is on us, but also yes much of it was related to the town and the utility. Specifically, we do feel we did a poor job in follow through with the town inspection. It was a failure in our process that we hope has now been corrected going forward. But your project was also significantly delayed by the utility. Your home has two meters on site and this seemed to confuse the utility no end, as they kept asking us to label the meter we were not connected to as well as the one we were. And unfortunately the labels they wanted us to add really made no sense. But after a lengthy series of many back and forth calls with the utility we did ultimately reach a real person by phone to discuss the situation and the utility did proceed with the installation. We do regret it took as long as it did and truly understand and share your frustration, but also know that you will generate lots of clean green energy for decades to come. Thank you for going solar.

Sunny success! | Lincoln, Massachusetts | 02/26/2020

I am very satisfied with New England clean energy!

I dealt with two solar companies. New England clean energy was without a doubt the far superior company and better customer service to say the least.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from New England Clean Energy: Thank you for this kind review! We hope you solar system continues to work beautifully, and please let us know if anything changes!

Jonathan | Wayland, Massachusetts | 02/24/2020

100% Trustworthy.

I interviewed at least 5 solar companies. New England Clean Energy had the most straightforward sales process. They did everything they said on time. I live in a custom home; they were not the lowest price but I think they are clearly the best value!

read more

1 comment >
Reply from New England Clean Energy: Thank you so much for your review on the value of our products and process! We hope your system continues to run smoothly!

MAH | Hopkinton, Massachusetts | 02/20/2020

Clear and concise communication throughout

NECE was recommended by a friend who had used their services. After reviewing their competitors, I chose NECE as well. Roy provided clear and concise information and answered all of my questions. What I liked most is that he was not a typical pushy salesperson.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from New England Clean Energy: Thanks so much for this review! We pride ourselves on our no-pressure sales process and appreciate your commentary. We wish you and your system all the best!

Simon Graham | Bolton, Massachusetts | 02/19/2020

Fantastic job for both solar panels and battery installation

I can't praise the folks at NECN enough - right from the start, they were helpful, professional and clearly committed to the ideas of a cleaner source of electricity. I was also impressed that they were very clear about the cost and conservative about the likely time to recover the cost. Two years after installing the solar panels, we asked them to quote a battery install so that we can manage the fairly frequent outages we get here without using a noisy, dirty generator -- the installation was completed on time and the result looks fantastic and works amazingly well. In addition, Mark told us about the National Grid "Connected Solutions" program where they pay us to supply power from the battery to the grid when demand is high which is another great program. We chose to have solar installed because it's just the right thing to do - but it doesn't hurt that we've recouped 35% of the cost in just over three years! (which puts us in line to recover the complete cost 5 years faster than we originally thought).

read more

1 comment >
Reply from New England Clean Energy: Yes! The Connected Solutions program is a wonderful way to help pay for your system. We appreciate this review!

Guillaume | Bridgewater, MA | 04/08/2019

It's the right thing to do.

First, with all we know about global warming, going solar is the right thing to do, regardless of the long term cost advantage; another reason to support the Green New Deal in the future, we have to... According to an Australian study, a solar panel on average pays for itself in 1.5 years, in terms of energy spent to manufacture it vs what it produces so it is an excellent positive ratio. I consulted with 5 different companies over the course of a little more than a year, two local and 2 national brands, NE Clean Energy was not the cheapest but they were all fairly close. I went with my guts feeling. They made everything easy, the installation crew was top notch and they are always responsive to answer my question and rework different options. I also feel we have much to gain by supporting local companies vs large national groups.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from New England Clean Energy: Thank you for all this wonderful information on how important it is to go solar now! We hope your system is everything you wanted! Thanks for the review!

Sharon | Sudbury, MA | 04/08/2019

Excellent at installation on a quirky older home!

New England Clean Energy installed our solar panels in July 2018. I appreciated their informative and no-pressure sales tactics (especially compared to a couple other companies we had contacted for estimates.) They were very good at keeping us informed about all the steps of the planning and permitting process. When the installation happened, I was incredibly impressed by how well they managed to customize the installation to fit all the quirks of our older home -- the inverter is hidden in a formerly-useless exterior cupboard, the panels are mounted on a rack system because of our widely-spaced metal roof trusses, and the electrical connections worked out beautifully in a very cramped space. New England Clean Energy was also so on-the-ball with the utility company that I was able to switch the system on within a few days of installation -- this was a full month ahead of my coworker whose own solar installation by a different company had happened at the same time. So far, I've been getting the amount of electricity produced that I expected, and am very happy with the system, and would highly recommend New England Clean Energy.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from New England Clean Energy: So glad to hear you had such a great experience working with us! We hope your solar array continues to work as usual and please let us know if anything changes!

Pat | Westford, MA | 04/07/2019

Very happy solar installation

I did a ton of research before going with NECE. While at times during the installation, the communication was lacking - in the end they did a fantastic job. 8 months post installation, I am loving the solar power and enjoying seeing $0 bills for electricity. On the communication issue - I would say I appreciated the fact that I was able to speak directly to the owner to express my complaint and he apologized and fixed the issue. This is one of the reasons I decided to go with a local company. They are here in the community and need a good reputation to survive. I would highly recommend them despite the small hiccups on communication.

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Small commercial solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

About New England Clean Energy


The company has installed more than 2,000 solar energy systems for homeowners, businesses, and nonprofit organizations in New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Maine, and Massachusetts. Having installed solar since its founding in 2006, New England Clean Energy has more positive reviews on SolarReviews.com than any installer in the northeast (and more than all but one company in the entire U.S.). Headquartered in Hudson, Massachusetts, the company also has an office in Providence, RI, and Bedford, NH.

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

Massachusetts - Hudson

577 Main Street Suite 430, Hudson MA, 01749

Loading...

New Hampshire - Bedford

264 South River Road Suite 538, Bedford NH, 03110

Loading...

Rhode Island - Providence

166 Valley St., Building 6M Suite 103, Providence RI, 02909

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Contractor Check

License


Massachusetts Master Electrician License-#21000A.MA HIC 153629

Contact New England Clean Energy


Location pin
Head Office
577 Main Street Suite 430, Hudson MA, 01749