A1A Solar Contracting, Inc

Verified profile
Updated: 03 May 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2007

A1A Solar Contracting, Inc logo
Pre-Screened Solar Pro

Since 2013

4.67 from 169 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Elite

Rating breakdown

Featured media


A1A Solar Contracting, Inc reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.7

Price as quoted

4.8

On schedule

4.7

Installation quality

4.8

After sales support

4.7

Latest good review thumbs up

Metty Januar | Saint Johns, Florida | 05/09/2022

Happy with the repair.

Mr. Bobby Sligh & Mr. Tim Stalnaker did a great job repairing my system. While Ms. Sierra Branch did a great job monitoring the production from the office. They are gems! Thank you.

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

A1A | Saint Augustine, Florida | 02/04/2022

Not very Happy

I am not very happy with the system.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Dave Frymier | Saint Augustine, Florida | 05/03/2022

Quick and accurate installation

It took 6 months to get going - something about permits - but once they started work 22 panels were installed on our tile roof, an inverter in the garage and all the wiring was done in a day and a half. The crew was great - Bobby Sligh, Warren Davis, Ben Best and Josh Clark. Bobby even set up our electric box for the coming induction range and electric vehicle.

read more

Doug | Fernandina Beach, Florida | 02/18/2022

Great

The installers were veery polite, worked hard, and very clean. They also worked very well with each other. They answered all my questions and were very helpful. Great job guys. Doug Clark

read more

1 comment >
Reply from A1A Solar Contracting, Inc: We love to hear that. Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate the kind words.

Jim Land | Saint Augustine, Florida | 02/09/2022

Awesome to work with

Bobby Sligh from A1A Solar showed up and put the solar project into gear first thing this morning. Warren Davis and Tim Stalnaker showed up soon after to work with Bobby on the install. I was working in the garage all day and they had to discuss and figure out several "hurdles" to complete the job properly. No shortcuts with these 3. They went the extra mile to make sure that the install was done correctly and had the main wiring done by 3pm. I worked building hotels back in Colorado and have had to deal with a lot of sub-contractors that would cut corners and slap things together as quick as possible. Bobby, Warren and Tim were fantastic. They answered every question I had and Warren climbed through parts of my attic that I would have never made it to. These guys are great.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from A1A Solar Contracting, Inc: We agree! We are very proud of the work Bobby, Warren and Tim do. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Thank you!

John & Shirley Q | Yulee, FL | 11/29/2021

Super job planning and installing our ideal system!

Chris G sized our system and explained everything to us, Sierra B kept us informed and scheduled our install, and the entire install team of Warren D, Tim S, Kareem B, Josh, C and John C all did a superb, professional job planning and installing our solar panel system. Even though our install spanned the Thanksgiving holiday, everything went smoothly and matched our expectations perfectly. The electricians fished the wiring through our attic areas and soffit to make the installation clean and attractive for our HOA. The system was sized just right for our usage history and the panels were positioned optimally for best results. We're on the waiting list now for power walls and can't wait to complete the system to become energy independent and no longer susceptible to local brownouts and power outages.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from A1A Solar Contracting, Inc: Thank you. We really appreciate your kind words. We strive to provide the best quality install and customer service.

Elaine Weistock | Orange Park, FL | 11/23/2021

Solar battery installation

Robert Sligh did an outstanding job explaining the operation of the solar system and, in particular, the solar battery, which he installed today.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from A1A Solar Contracting, Inc: Due to supply chain issues with batteries, there was a long delay before installation. Ms. Weistock had several technical questions about the system which we hoped have been answered.

Dave Huet | Fernandina Beach, FL | 11/01/2021

Solar 8kw install

Great install job by Warren Davis, Josh Clark, John Cory, Bryon Me, Kareem Brown and Carlos R. Fast professional and clean. Emphase and Hanwha Q panels not Hangzhou

read more

1 comment >
Reply from A1A Solar Contracting, Inc: Thank you very much for your review. We want to do quality installs with excellent customer service.

Al Toney | Orange Park, Florida | 09/25/2021

Can I give them 6 stars?

A1A’s Tesla battery install team was great. Ben, Bobby, Josh, and Warren are professional, knowledgeable, and very competent. They completed the job in a timely manner and provided a great tutorial on the entire system once complete. If I could give them 6 stars I would. Highly recommended for your solar project.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from A1A Solar Contracting, Inc: Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind words! We strive to provide the best service!

Steve Bradshaw | Fernandina Beach, Florida | 08/29/2021

Solar System Installation

A1A Solar is a fantastic company! Chris Gellentien was our sales rep and was extremely knowledgeable about solar systems and answered all of our questions. The owner of the company Pete Wilking even came to the house and explained parts of the system before we signed the contract. The system the company designed was perfect for our roof. Warren Davis and Josh Clark installed the system in just over one day. They also were very through and walked us through the controls and operation of the system. The installation was very neat and looks great. The cleaned everything up when they were finished with the install like they were never there. It was a real pleasure working with everyone from the A1A team. A quality, professional team from top to bottom and I highly recommend them. Steve Bradshaw

read more

1 comment >
Reply from A1A Solar Contracting, Inc: We really appreciate your lovely review. We strive to provide the best possible experience.

Mrs. Curtis | Fernandina Beach, Florida | 08/25/2021

Customer Service needs work!

We ordered a Tesla wall Battery in November. 2 weeks later we were told they didn't know when it would come in (back ordered), but if we paid in full we could get the tax benefit. We paid and didn't hear from them. I called and was told sorry but they hadn't heard anything. I asked for them to at least call me monthly so I know what's going on. Needless to say, they didn't call me back. I called the end of May and had to leave a message. 2 weeks later I still hadn't received a call back. So I called them. So, we're #15 for a wall. Around the end if June they called and said they would be out in a few days. July 6th they came out and started work. July 8 I got a call a that they didn't have all the required permits (something new that Nassau County requires). Okay, wait again. 7/18, no call so I called them - they're still waiting. 7/31, no call so I call. Still waiting. 8/4 they said the Permit was issued. 8/6 they said they were coming out. I asked them to please check the connection since my solar had NOT recorded and solar since July 6th. They said they'd check on it. 8/9 I texted that the Powerwall was working well but that my solar panels had still NOT recorded since 7/6. 8/10 that had an electrician out and the problem was fixed. That is 34 days if no solar collection. Not a by your leave or anything. I at least would've expected a sorry but that. Otherwise, the equipment works very well.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from A1A Solar Contracting, Inc: Agree. We could have communicated better with Mr. Curtis. This was right when all the batteries we orders stopped shipping thanks to COVID and we really had no news to report. Unfortunately, many, many customers have had to wait. We still have customers wait-listed Dec 2021. Ultimately, we got everything done to his satisfaction. Pete

Windflower Trail | Fernandina Beach, Florida | 08/05/2021

Honest, Reliable, Professional, Courteous and Prompt Service

We researched solar companies for six months and when it came time to choose a contractor, the choice was crystal clear that A1A Solar was the leader across the board. We really did our due diligence on this, contacted numerous references, fact checked their statements/literature, even met with the owner and sales rep multiple times before signing. They handled EVERYTHING from start to finish. Virginia in the office kept us updated on our permitting, HOA/ARB relations, timeline and always returned our calls promptly. The owner of the company was onsite for the install which was completed in record time by the crew who were professional, courteous and left the work area super clean. The solar panel installers, Kareem B, Tim S, and John C worked efficiently, were polite, soft spoken without expletives and took extra care not to disturb any of our beloved plants or landscaping. The electricians who commissioned the interface module and wireless communications, Warren D and Josh C did an outstanding job of running cable/ conduit while taking extra care in placing the metering equipment on the wall in perfect symmetry. They were extremely thorough in explaining everything including how to monitor the system. I cannot explain the satisfaction I felt when I saw our power meter run backwards for the first time! Knowing that we're actually doing something to reduce our dependency on fossil fuels and it's effect on our environment also gives us a feeling of pride that's not lost on our two young boys who are just as proud and fascinated with the system as we are. A big THANK YOU to the owner, install crew and everyone else at A1A Solar who helped make this project a wonderful experience and reality. All the best from our family...Chris, Marie, Noah and Aaron

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

Residential solar - Off-grid systems

Tesla Powerwall sales and installations

Sonnen battery sales and installations

Pika / Generac Energy Storage

Enphase Storage

About A1A Solar Contracting, Inc


From design to installation, our commitment to quality and customer satisfaction sets us apart, making us the solar contractor of choice for north Florida homes and southeastern businesses.

A1A Solar Contracting, Inc. provides residential and commercial solar electric (photovoltaic/PV) design and system installations in major Florida markets. All work done in-house by company employees (never outsourced).

A Florida-based, veteran-owned business headquartered in Jacksonville. President and founder J. Peter Wilking is proud to be the only solar contractor in the region with several NABCEP certified staff in addition to being a licensed Florida Solar Contractor and Electrical Contractor.

Office locations


Loading...

Florida - Jacksonville

10418 New Berlin Road Unit 223, Jacksonville FL, 32226

Service areas


Select state:

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association Solar Power World

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
J. Peter Wilking
032611-337

Licenses


State Licenses: CGC1513100, EC13001175, CVC56771, CFC037182

Contact A1A Solar Contracting, Inc


Location pin
Head Office
10418 New Berlin Road Unit 223, Jacksonville FL, 32226