A1A Solar Contracting, Inc

Verified profile
Updated: 29 August 2021
Installer

Installing solar since 2007

A1A Solar Contracting, Inc logo

4.69 from 161 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

Featured media


A1A Solar Contracting, Inc reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.7

Price as quoted

4.8

On schedule

4.7

Installation quality

4.8

After sales support

4.7

Latest good review thumbs up

Al Toney | Orange Park, Florida | 09/25/2021

Can I give them 6 stars?

A1A’s Tesla battery install team was great. Ben, Bobby, Josh, and Warren are professional, knowledgeable, and very competent. They completed the job in a timely manner and provided a great tutorial on the entire system once complete. If I could give them 6 stars I would. Highly recommended for your solar project.

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

Mrs. Curtis | Fernandina Beach, Florida | 08/25/2021

Customer Service needs work!

We ordered a Tesla wall Battery in November. 2 weeks later we were told they didn't know when it would come in (back ordered), but if we paid in full we could get the tax benefit. We paid and didn't hear from them. I called and was told sorry but they hadn't heard anything. I asked for them to at least call me monthly so I know what's going on. Needless to say, they didn't call me back. I called the end of May and had to leave a message. 2 weeks later I still hadn't received a call back. So I called them. So, we're #15 for a wall. Around the end if June they called and said they would be out in a few days. July 6th they came out and started work. July 8 I got a call a that they didn't have all the required permits (something new that Nassau County requires). Okay, wait again. 7/18, no call so I called them - they're still waiting. 7/31, no call so I call. Still waiting. 8/4 they said the Permit was issued. 8/6 they said they were coming out. I asked them to please check the connection since my solar had NOT recorded and solar since July 6th. They said they'd check on it. 8/9 I texted that the Powerwall was working well but that my solar panels had still NOT recorded since 7/6. 8/10 that had an electrician out and the problem was fixed. That is 34 days if no solar collection. Not a by your leave or anything. I at least would've expected a sorry but that. Otherwise, the equipment works very well.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Steve Bradshaw | Fernandina Beach, Florida | 08/29/2021

Solar System Installation

A1A Solar is a fantastic company! Chris Gellentien was our sales rep and was extremely knowledgeable about solar systems and answered all of our questions. The owner of the company Pete Wilking even came to the house and explained parts of the system before we signed the contract. The system the company designed was perfect for our roof. Warren Davis and Josh Clark installed the system in just over one day. They also were very through and walked us through the controls and operation of the system. The installation was very neat and looks great. The cleaned everything up when they were finished with the install like they were never there. It was a real pleasure working with everyone from the A1A team. A quality, professional team from top to bottom and I highly recommend them. Steve Bradshaw

read more

Windflower Trail | Fernandina Beach, Florida | 08/05/2021

Honest, Reliable, Professional, Courteous and Prompt Service

We researched solar companies for six months and when it came time to choose a contractor, the choice was crystal clear that A1A Solar was the leader across the board. We really did our due diligence on this, contacted numerous references, fact checked their statements/literature, even met with the owner and sales rep multiple times before signing. They handled EVERYTHING from start to finish. Virginia in the office kept us updated on our permitting, HOA/ARB relations, timeline and always returned our calls promptly. The owner of the company was onsite for the install which was completed in record time by the crew who were professional, courteous and left the work area super clean. The solar panel installers, Kareem B, Tim S, and John C worked efficiently, were polite, soft spoken without expletives and took extra care not to disturb any of our beloved plants or landscaping. The electricians who commissioned the interface module and wireless communications, Warren D and Josh C did an outstanding job of running cable/ conduit while taking extra care in placing the metering equipment on the wall in perfect symmetry. They were extremely thorough in explaining everything including how to monitor the system. I cannot explain the satisfaction I felt when I saw our power meter run backwards for the first time! Knowing that we're actually doing something to reduce our dependency on fossil fuels and it's effect on our environment also gives us a feeling of pride that's not lost on our two young boys who are just as proud and fascinated with the system as we are. A big THANK YOU to the owner, install crew and everyone else at A1A Solar who helped make this project a wonderful experience and reality. All the best from our family...Chris, Marie, Noah and Aaron

read more

Randy T | Fernandina Beach, Florida | 05/26/2021

As Expected

After self educating and receiving quotes from several contractors, I decided to work with Pete & his team @ A1A to install a system in my home in Fernandina Beach, FL. The system went online in December 2020 and was pre wired to receive a pair of Tesla Powerwall batteries. The system has been performing as planned and expected generating a moderate surplus back to the power grid. The Powerwalls took a while due to supply constraints but were installed today in a couple of hours. I have been happily watching them charge and am expecting them to be fully charged by end of day. Couldn’t be happier with A1A Solar. Their communications were consistent, they set proper expectations throughout the process and the system is performing exactly as expected.

read more

Dan | Saint Augustine, Florida | 04/19/2021

Professional and Clean Solar Install

A1A dd a great job with planning and installation solar panels for my home. They made sure to understand the goals I had for solar before offering a quote, took the time to review and tweak it along the way. They have a "concierge" approach to the process, taking on the burden of working with the HOA, Power Company and the county to ensure everything is coordinated. Bobby, Warren, Ben and Josh showed up on time and were very professional during the installation. They hid all of the conduits in the attic so the overall appearance of the panels is very clean with no visible wires on the roof. Overall I would very much recommend A1A Solar for their professionalism and quality of their workmanship.

read more

Jonathan Gonzalez | Jacksonville, Florida | 03/27/2021

Save yourself some trouble (and a lot of money)

First reason is the cost. At the time I ordered Tesla was not servicing Jacksonville, Tesla is much cheaper, about 35% cheaper. Just so you have an idea, I was supposed to get about 21 panels and 2 powerwalls from A1A Solar and that was going to cost me $50,000. I ended up going with Tesla and got 24 panels and the same 2 powerwalls and that cost me $32,000. Second reason and the most important one is empty promises. I decided to get solar on August 2020, my first and only questions was “am I going to be able to get the system installed before the end of the year so that I can take advantage of the 26% federal tax credit?” I was promised that the system would be installed before December 31st 2020. Of course that didn’t happen, the government extended the 26% until December 2021, but that was recently, at the time that was scheduled to go down to 21%. The thing is, I made a deposit that was fully refundable only for the first 3 days (this was never told to me, not even once) the issue with that is that from the day I signed my contract until the end of the 3rd day nothing happened. By the time I had a reason to cancel it was too late. I got a text and a call from A1A Solar in mid November to tell me that they were not going to be able to install my system before December 31st 2020. Not long after that Tesla started servicing Jacksonville and I decided to cancel since A1A didn’t keep their side of the deal. Of course, when I asked for part of my deposit back (about $2,300) they refused and let me know that I only had 3 days to get the deposit back. I tried to legally fight that with no luck, because it was in the contract, but of course they never mention that, because they know not many people will cancel within 3 days because nothing happens in 3 days, so I had no reason to cancel. Tesla on the other hand, only asks for $100 deposit that is also non refundable, but they do let you know before you make the payment. Note that I only asked for part of my deposit back, because I am reasonable and I know they submitted paperwork to JEA to get permits, which is the only thing they did, because I had to submit the HOA permits myself. So I was willing to leave more than 50% of my deposit with A1A. But they refused. So do yourself a favor, save some money and some headaches and go with Tesla. I won’t be able to get my deposit back, but if I can at least send one person away from A1A, then we will be even. Have a good day!

read more

Maria King | Jacksonville, Florida | 03/24/2021

A1A Solar did an incredible & speedy installation at our house!

After researching for a while, we decided to go with A1A Solar. They gave us a wealth of information & kept us up to date throughout the whole process. I was especially impressed with the electricians, Nick & Carlos. Nick was incredibly knowledgeable & answered every single question I had. They did a AMAZING job.

read more

Jim | Jacksonville, Florida | 02/25/2021

46 Panel system install

Nick, Kareem, Byron, Tim and Carlos did a fantastic job installing and hooking up system in a record time. I would highly recommend. this crew and this company

read more

Joseph Revis | Atlantic Beach, Florida | 02/03/2021

New Residential Array Install

My wife and I contacted A1A for the installation of a new array on our home. A1A provided service our previous home and were excellent. The installation on our new home was flawless and the entire team was great to work with while the install took place. I would totally recommend Nick, Carlos, Kareem, Tim, Bryon and Josh. They worked very well together and certainly know their business. Installation could not have been smoother and I would highly recommend this team and A1A.

read more

Peter | Jacksonville, Florida | 01/27/2021

Great Installation

*** Update to a previous review*** So after talking with the owner (Pete). We were able to work out a better communication plan. They started to let me know where I was on the list and I could at least estimate when I would get my batteries. As of of today 1/27/2021 I have my batteries fully installed. And I couldn't be more happy about it. The 2 guys who installed my batteries were great. Both Robert Sligh and Warren Davis did a fantastic job. They were professional and completed the entire install in less than 2 days. After all this, I would say that I would definitely recommend using A1A Solar in the future.

read more

Patrick B | Jacksonville, Florida | 01/26/2021

Great Support!

Pietro Ignacio is a wonderful liaison between my solar panels running smoothly and m piece of mind! Being new to solar, I have sent many emails to Pietro with questions and concerns and he has been always supportive and insightful! A1A Solar has been great support and Pietro has been the best!!

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Small commercial solar - Grid tied

Solar pool heating sales and installations

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

About A1A Solar Contracting, Inc


From design to installation, our commitment to quality and customer satisfaction sets us apart, making us the solar contractor of choice for north Florida homes and southeastern businesses.

A1A Solar Contracting, Inc. provides residential and commercial solar electric (photovoltaic/PV) design and system installations in major Florida markets. All work done in-house by company employees (never outsourced).

A Florida-based, veteran-owned business headquartered in Jacksonville. President and founder J. Peter Wilking is proud to be the only solar contractor in the region with several NABCEP certified staff in addition to being a licensed Florida Solar Contractor and Electrical Contractor.

Office locations


Loading...

Florida - Jacksonville

10418 New Berlin Road Unit 223, Jacksonville FL, 32226

Service areas


Select state:

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Power World

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
J. Peter Wilking
032611-337

License


State Licenses: CGC1513100, EC13001175, CVC56771, CFC037182

Contact A1A Solar Contracting, Inc


Location pin
Head Office
10418 New Berlin Road Unit 223, Jacksonville FL, 32226