A1A Solar Contracting, Inc

Verified profile
Updated: 03 October 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2010

A1A Solar Contracting, Inc logo

4.60 from 177 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Elite

Rating breakdown

Featured media


A1A Solar Contracting, Inc reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.6

Price as quoted

4.8

On schedule

4.7

Installation quality

4.8

After sales support

4.7

Latest good review thumbs up

Mike | White Oak, Georgia | 08/19/2022

Additional power and storage in S Georgia

First - A1A Solar did a great job! Project description: This was a rather complex project. It involved 3 phases: - Moving of 33 existing solar panels (originally from a different installer) from the garage roof to the roof of the main house, - Re-construction of major parts of the garage roof (not solar related), - Installation of 15 additional solar panels on the newly built garage roof, and 2 additional Tesla PowerWalls. This was not your every-day install. Still, they worked with me through the planning process and I was confident this will be a success. The planning started in February 2022, and after permitting and scheduling, the 1st phase started in May. The crew showed up with 3 trucks and a lift, and quickly went to work. It took them 3 1/2 days to move 33 existing panels from the garage roof to the roof of the main house. Even though the system was originally installed by someone else, they brought it back to live. Two inverters did not respond - but the crew came back and fixed a faulty connection. The garage roof reconstruction took place in June / July, by a 3rd party. The new install happened in August and took 3 days, plus a few hours re-work since some electrical parts were not immediately available. The system went live yesterday and is working perfectly. The crew came across as very competent and professional; and they really seem to be enthusiastic about Solar! The work was of top quality. I would recommend A1A Solar any time. Also, if something should go wrong, I'm confident A1A Solar will come out and fix things quickly. So I want to say thanks to Sean for planning and consulting, and especially to the install crew Bobby, Tim, Warren, Ben and Josh for a job well done. Also, last not lease I want to thank Angie from billing for prompt responses, and Sierra from planning and scheduling, for being patient with me. Thanks again, all the best, Mike

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

Zach | Ponte Vedra Beach, FL | 11/11/2022

Terrible Experience

Just got done with their "salesperson" "Jayson" who knew nothing about solar and wasted my time. Turns out he was in the Philippines. This "local" company could only provide a salesperson who they contract with on the other side of the plant. The presentation was copied from other solar proposals I had received. It was clear this company is not serious.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Unhappy Customer | Jacksonville, Florida | 10/03/2022

Great with sale, horrible with service!

Purchased a very expensive system that has not worked properly since it was installed. It took a couple of months after initial installation to get it working and then the system went down completely during hurricane Ian (Sep 22). If I had it to do over, I would chase these guys away. BUYER BEWARE

read more

1 comment >
Reply from A1A Solar Contracting, Inc: We have been to the customer's home several times and are working with the solar PV and energy storage system manufacturer to resolve the issues. We are also reviewing the customer's consumption, as that may be a contributing factor. We understand the customer's frustration. Once we have this situation resolved we will provide an update.

Jesse S | Jacksonville, Florida | 08/18/2022

A1A Customer Service is top notch

I got a request for some solar panel documents from my Home Owner's Insurance provider, and I reached out to A1A Solar Customer support for assistance with tracking down the documents. Virginia Jada was the permit specialist who helped me out, and she did a fantastic job. Virginia got me all of the documents that I needed, and even helped me to submit a transfer document that I didn't know about. With Customer Service as good as Virginia Jada's I would happily go to A1A Solar with all of my solar panel energy related needs. Thanks for all of your help Virginia, keep up the amazing work!!

read more

Joe F. | Middleburg, Florida | 08/18/2022

Great Solar Company that values customer service & quality

They sent over a crew(Warren Davis, Ben Best, Josh Clark, Nate & Tim S.) that were very knowledgeable & passionate about the work that they do. All throughout the install, they always took that extra step to make sure their work look clean. For example, when they had to run an electrical conduit from my 2nd story roof to my electrical box below, they made sure to run it right beside the rain gutter opposite the street to make sure people from the road do not see the conduit running down the wall to give a cleaner look. They did little things like this all throughout the installation always careful to take the aesthetics into consideration even if they had to go that extra step. I also cannot say enough about the team(Cliff Little, Ellen Castle, Sierra Branch, and Virginia Jada), that worked behind the desk, always keeping me updated and were quick to address any request I made or concerns I had. Last but not least, I would like to thank the owner himself (Mr. Pete Wilking; who I mistook for a solar salesman.....lol! Sorry about that) for coming out to my home to make sure the job was done correctly.

read more

Ellen Parker | Fernandina Beach, Florida | 07/22/2022

Yay, Ben

Shout out to Ben Best for his knowledge and willingness to show me how to do what he did. Thank you, Ben!

read more

PJ Ruiz | Orange Park, Florida | 07/07/2022

Best installers around

A1A has been amazing during this install process. Great communication through emails and calls when needed. They answered every question I had. Bobby Sligh and Ben Best have gone above and beyond. Everything was installed the way I wanted. Super clean, no roof penetrations just the tracks. Amazing work. Definitely coming back to them for any upgrades to the system. Thank you guys for making the process easy and affordable. A+. Highly recommended.

read more

Steve | Fernandina Beach, Florida | 05/27/2022

Warren Davis and Bobby Sligh did a great job on the setting up the system. They provided outstanding communication in explaining the both the installation process and how it functioned.

read more

Metty Januar | Saint Johns, Florida | 05/09/2022

Happy with the repair.

Mr. Bobby Sligh & Mr. Tim Stalnaker did a great job repairing my system. While Ms. Sierra Branch did a great job monitoring the production from the office. They are gems! Thank you.

read more

Dave Frymier | Saint Augustine, Florida | 05/03/2022

Quick and accurate installation

It took 6 months to get going - something about permits - but once they started work 22 panels were installed on our tile roof, an inverter in the garage and all the wiring was done in a day and a half. The crew was great - Bobby Sligh, Warren Davis, Ben Best and Josh Clark. Bobby even set up our electric box for the coming induction range and electric vehicle.

read more

Doug | Fernandina Beach, Florida | 02/18/2022

Great

The installers were veery polite, worked hard, and very clean. They also worked very well with each other. They answered all my questions and were very helpful. Great job guys. Doug Clark

read more

1 comment >
Reply from A1A Solar Contracting, Inc: We love to hear that. Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate the kind words.

Jim Land | Saint Augustine, Florida | 02/09/2022

Awesome to work with

Bobby Sligh from A1A Solar showed up and put the solar project into gear first thing this morning. Warren Davis and Tim Stalnaker showed up soon after to work with Bobby on the install. I was working in the garage all day and they had to discuss and figure out several "hurdles" to complete the job properly. No shortcuts with these 3. They went the extra mile to make sure that the install was done correctly and had the main wiring done by 3pm. I worked building hotels back in Colorado and have had to deal with a lot of sub-contractors that would cut corners and slap things together as quick as possible. Bobby, Warren and Tim were fantastic. They answered every question I had and Warren climbed through parts of my attic that I would have never made it to. These guys are great.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from A1A Solar Contracting, Inc: We agree! We are very proud of the work Bobby, Warren and Tim do. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Thank you!

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

Residential solar - Off-grid systems

Tesla Powerwall sales and installations

Sonnen battery sales and installations

Pika / Generac Energy Storage

Enphase Storage

About A1A Solar Contracting, Inc


From design to installation, our commitment to quality and customer satisfaction sets us apart, making us the solar contractor of choice for north Florida homes and southeastern businesses.

A1A Solar Contracting, Inc. provides residential and commercial solar electric (photovoltaic/PV) design and system installations in Northeast Florida and Southeast Georgia markets. All work is done in-house by company employees (never outsourced). We also provide service and repair to existing solar PV and energy storage systems (battery systems).

A Florida-based, veteran-owned business headquartered in Jacksonville. President and founder J. Peter Wilking is proud to be the only solar contractor in the region with several NABCEP certified staff in addition to being a licensed Florida Solar Contractor and Electrical Contractor.

Office locations


Loading...

Florida - Jacksonville

10418 New Berlin Road Unit 223, Jacksonville FL, 32226

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association Solar Power World

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
J. Peter Wilking
032611-337
NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Pietro Ignacio
PV-042217-013962
NABCEP Certified PV Technical Sales
Pietro Ignacio
TS-070121-013962

Licenses


State Licenses: CGC1513100, EC13001175, CVC56771, CFC037182

Contact A1A Solar Contracting, Inc


Location pin
Head Office
10418 New Berlin Road Unit 223, Jacksonville FL, 32226