Sunny Energy

Verified profile
Updated: 09 November 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2008

Sunny Energy logo

4.80 from 148 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Elite

Rating breakdown

Featured media


Sunny Energy reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.9

Price as quoted

4.8

On schedule

4.8

Installation quality

4.8

After sales support

4.7

Latest good review thumbs up

Gayle G | Sun City West, Arizona | 11/20/2022

Excellent Company - highly recommend them!

Sunny Energy has been an excellent company to work with right from the beginning. After talking to David, who was so kind to spend so much time answering my questions, definitely helped me make the decision to go with them. A big thank you to the designers, installers and technicians to the final walk through with Michael and follow up with Melanie Customer Service Manager. If I could give them more than a 5-star rating, I would do that. My only negative comment would be on the scheduling. While 99% of the time the schedule coincided with mine, there was an incident where the technicians came earlier than the scheduled time and I wasn’t ready for them. I was able to share my comments with Melanie for follow up. However, this would not stop me from still giving them a 5-star rating. Sunny Energy is an outstanding company. I liked the fact they hire their own employees rather than outsourcing. The website they have allows you to follow the progress of your project. This was very important for me to have as I was out of state for two months when this project started. It allowed me to stay on top of the progress that was being made. If there were any updates or issues, emails and texts were sent by them and if for some reason I needed to speak to someone, they were always available by phone. By the time I was back in the state they had everything ready for the install. They are also a very giving company in that they contribute to charitable organizations such as St. Jude Children’s Hospital. I am very happy I went this company and looking forward to many years of saving dollars on my electric bill. A big thank you to everyone who works with Sunny Energy!!!

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

LisaMarie Bates | Buckeye, Arizona | 09/16/2022

STAY AWAY

Mr. Rodgers (the rep that came to our home) from Modern City Solar along with Sunny Energy LLC (I have come to find out is a sub dealer) installed a system on my home in 2017. Mr. Rodgers from Modern city convinced us to go with their Sunrun option. Our system since then has not covered our energy cost as promised. The system was underbuilt by a lot. We had a solar technician friend look at the system and he let us know that it was severely underbuilt. WE ARE STUCK WITH A LEASE WITH A 2.9 rate increase and come to find out we were overcharged for it as well. We are paying $92.31 a month on top of us $179.97. Giving us an effective monthly payment of $272.28 a month. WITH THAT 2.9 ESCALATOR!! After running the numbers, I would've had an average of around $176 without solar!! Had multiple solar reps verify where we would've been. STAY AWAY FROM THIS GROUP AND THEIR PARTNERS. Will be reporting all 3 to the BBB

read more

All reviews

>
>

Greg K | Eloy, Arizona | 11/09/2022

Very happy with Sunny Energy

Sunny employees are very knowledge and friendly about solar installations. I had my system installed for 2 months and am very satisfied so far.

read more

Mary Ann H. | Tempe, Arizona | 11/06/2022

This Company is Great

These guys were great. Started the whole process in early July 2022 and everything was up and running by mid September. It took a village of people to text and e-mail me through the process and even more people to coordinate on-sight visits to connect with SRP. The installation was quick and easy, too. The last thing they did was spray paint the silver piping to match my house to please the HOA. Everyone I dealt with, throughout the process, were professional, efficient and fantastic. Highly recommend Sunny Energy.

read more

Miguel Arroyo | Goodyear, Arizona | 10/29/2022

Awesome experience!

It has been an amazing experience. I had solar panels with a different company before and comparing both, this time around we've felt more confident on our purchase with Sunny Energy. The price was doable, the installation went smoothly, and the after care program was phenomenal!

read more

Vicki Goings | Mesa, Arizona | 10/13/2022

Highly Recommend Sunny Energy as your Solar System Professional

Our electric company, SRP, referred us to three solar companies when we began our search for a solar system with battery backup. We knew we’d made the right decision when Sunny Energy responded to my call within five minutes and only one of the other referrals contacted us about five days later. We began collaborating with Rich Mason at once to define and build our solar package. The entire process consisted of respect, courtesy, and professionalism from our first sales meeting, throughout the installation and final walkthrough meeting with Michael McCaffery and the Genrac Engineer. No question or concern was too insignificant. Each time, we were contacted by the proper individual and resolution was . We followed the process throughout on the customer portal. We would highly recommend you include Sunny Energy in your search for the best solar system for you. It was well worth every penny of our investment.

read more

Kimberly | Coolidge, Arizona | 10/10/2022

I had such a great experience with Sunny Energy. From the initial meeting through the entire rest of the process, I knew exactly what was going on and when. I didn't feel pressured like with other companies. I actually felt really comfortable during my first interaction. I'm so glad I decided to go with this company!

read more

Richard | Tempe, Arizona | 10/06/2022

Sunny Energy was a delight to deal with. Everything went smoothly for the most part. The customer service went above and beyond to make everything correct as fast as possible. They show you step by step where you're at in the process. I would defiantly recommend them!!

read more

Bob Lipton | Eloy, Arizona | 09/17/2022

New system install

Sunny Energy was a pleasure to work with. They quoted a system and then explained everything they quoted. They did not try to over sell and when I asked about installing a larger system, they explained why it was not worth the money. They took care of all the permits and permissions that were needed and filled out all the paperwork. The install team showed up on time and was fast and efficient and cleaned up after themselves. Then Sunny Energy did a full follow up and once again explained how the whole system worked and operated. Great Job, very pleased.

read more

Larry Crosby | Surprise, Arizona | 09/14/2022

After meeting with 4 solar providers I had researched, I selected Sunny Energy. We financed through them and the whole process was flawless from approval through installation. The Installation subcontractor did break one roof tile but assured me that was the only damage. Our 15kW system is amazing and after the first six months I have only the loan payment for electricity cost. In Arizona, that is a budget saver! My system has had NO issues and puts out a minimum of 20kWs per day over our usage. We ran into one issue at the one year walkthrough on our house, finding out that the subcontractor they used had broken 23 tiles. It is my understanding that this subcontractor was fired shortly after our installation. I contacted Sunny Energy about the problem. They understood, that as a homeowner, I would not have known about the damage if it weren’t for the builder 1 year walkthrough. They worked with me and were pleasant from the start. They repaired all the broken or damaged tiles, and did it within two weeks of contacting them. The main reason I am writing this review is because it is so hard to find a company that does it right and stands behind the product when a problem occurs. If you are looking for a solar system for your house, you would do well to go with Sunny Energy.

read more

Peter O. | Phoenix, Arizona | 08/02/2022

Very pleased with the entire experience

I did a lot of research before going with Sunny Energy. They kept me well informed throughout the entire process. I never felt like I was being upsold. They listened to me when I suggested changes to the design and layout. It was stressful to pick a solar company, but in the end I decided to go with a local company that has been around for a long time. I got several bids that were lower but I didn't trust the salesperson or the company as much. I'm glad I picked Sunny Energy. My panels are up and cranking out power. I'd recommend to a friend or family member.

read more

Kmc | Eloy, Arizona | 07/08/2022

Great experience. Very smooth installation and start up.

They took care of everything!

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

Energy monitoring

LG Chem solar batteries

SolarEdge - StorEdge

About Sunny Energy


Homeowners turn to Sunny Energy, an award-winning, 5-star rated top solar installer, to break free from rising utility rate hikes and make their own clean energy. Sunny Energy was founded by industry veterans because you deserve a better way to power your life. We help homeowners harness the sun to create, manage, and store their own clean energy. That means you get to use the energy you make – when you want to use it. We have assembled the best team in the industry and we'll be with you every step of the way – offering a full-service experience. We treat your home like our own. We don't cut corners on materials or installation because we want you to get the most savings out of the lifetime of your solar system. This isn't just talk. The founders believe that a business should take care of its employees, in an ethical, respectful and nurturing environment, which in turn results in the growth of a truly connected and satisfied customer base. With these core values working out of their offices in Arizona and California, Sunny Energy provides solar installation, battery storage, energy management, and financing, to thousands of customers who have less dependence on their utility company, feel good about their environmental impact and who reap the benefits of energy cost savings every month. We're proud to be named one of the top solar contractors in the United States by Solar Power World magazine for four years in a row, have a 5-star rated business online, recognized as an A+ Better Business Bureau company, and a company that has been voted best solar company by the communities we serve. Contact us now for a FREE solar analysis.

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

Arizona - Tempe

2414 W. 14th Street Suite B, Tempe AZ, 85281

Loading...

South Carolina - Greenville

162 Kerns Ave Suite B, Greenville SC, 29609

Service areas


Select state:

Certifications


Better Business Bureau

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Joseph Cunningham
PV-042118-019232

Licenses


AZ ROC # 301018. CSLB # 1041321

Contact Sunny Energy


Location pin
Head Office
2414 W. 14th Street Suite B, Tempe AZ, 85281
Website