Rooftop Solar

Verified profile
Updated: 17 May 2021
Installer

Installing solar since 2008

Rooftop Solar logo
Pre-Screened Solar Pro

Since 2018

4.65 from 67 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

Featured media


Rooftop Solar reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.8

Price as quoted

4.8

On schedule

4.7

Installation quality

4.6

After sales support

4.6

Latest good review thumbs up

kknudsen | Coronado, California | 06/21/2021

1 year of solar

hello it has been one year of Rooftop solar - and i am pleased. still learning- how it all works. but from what i have been able to pull together our electric bill averaged out to $16/mo- this is very good when you consider we added AC and used it heavily for 5-6 months we thank the whole Team Julian in Sales - Jason and Kevin who made sure solar and new roof were done properly- polite , informative.. excellent employees all around. i was so touched by the beautiful sunflower arrangement sent to me on the 1 year anniversary! that was such a special touch ( and the SUN flowers sooo noted!) read about the power packs- the prices surprised me. gulp {and Elon certainly creates "excitement' where ever he goes. ) so not going there . wish you all the very best and thank you kknudsen

read more
1 comment >
Reply from Rooftop Solar: We appreciate the great review and we're so happy that you love the flowers!

Latest bad review thumbs down

tdc | Goodyear, Arizona | 05/08/2020

Reasonably satisfied

I am writing this review after being reminded in an email follow-up from Derek Turner who is the VP of Sales/Marketing (I think). I probably would give 2 1/2 stars if I could. My system was installed Sep 2019 and turned on a month later. The positives: 1) From signed contract to turn on was 3 months (this is actually pretty fast, although doesn't feel like it after paying cash and want to start saving immediately); 2) Status updates and information flow was pretty good from the project manager; and 3) I received a great price after a lot of negotiating. The negatives: I was already under contract with a competitor and submitted to APS. I received a call a day later from the sales person who of course wanted my business. It ended up going going back and forth between the two companies (with me in the middle). I ended up cancelling the contract and going with rooftop even though the competitor would price match. I do sometimes regret this. Not long after this, I received a call from Derek Turner. After a lengthy conversation, he offered to to split the cost with me (about $500 each) on an extended warranty. That language never made it into the contract. I have followed up with him about this, but all I get are crickets.... Another thing that I am somewhat dissatisfied about is the install itself. The installers deviated sharply from the design that I naively approved as I knew nothing about optimizing installation which was a good thing. Despite my roof having a number of peaks and valleys making for a challenging installation, the installers were able to pull 9 panels that were on the north side in the design and place on the south. The problem is many of the south panels start receiving shade from the roof as the sun moves from east to west and therefore produce nothing in the afternoon which reduces overall production. No panels were placed on part of a west facing spot where production would have far exceeded the south facing ones that are getting shade. After paying this much money in cash, I guess one kind of relies on the company to set panels to get maximum production for the owner, but maybe I expect too much. Consequently, I am losing about 4% production. This may not seem like a lot, but equates to about a 1000 kW/hr loss per year simply due to sub-optimal panel placement. So my overall recommendation is that if you do go with Rooftop Solar, then ensure everything is in writing. Second, observe your roof prior to install during different times of the day to check for obstruction of the sun from other parts of the roof so that you yourself can ensure optimal placement of panels. If this doesn't get right, then don't expect Rooftop Solar to come back and fix it. There are numerous solar panel companies to choose from. My experience wasn't terrible, but could have been more satisfying. You could probably have a better experience with someone else, but you could have worse too.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Ebert's | Peoria, Arizona | 05/17/2021

Professional and stands by what they say

From the beginning to the end of our quest for cleaner energy this company has been communicative, thorough and most of all did all they said they would. I would recommend solar from this company to any of my friends or anyone asking about solar companies. As we learned the hard way NOT all solar companies are alike.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Rooftop Solar: Thanks so much for the great review! We really strive to be unique and always put the customer first!

Graham | Glendale, Arizona | 04/07/2021

Rooftop solar did two installs for us

Rooftop solar did two installs for us. We were impressed by their professionalism and care about getting things right. A delay occurred and we were given our APS bill payment from rooftop solar to cover the time that we did not have Solar available. How many companies would do that? Also since the two installs, rooftop solar has stayed on top of our account and provided explanations and understanding of oh well the system is operating. We highly recommend this company, and as mentioned, We had them do the second installation also on our vacation rental home. Good folks!

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Rooftop Solar: Hey Graham! Thank you so much for thinking about us when getting solar on your second home; that is so cool! We appreciate the great review, be sure to check out our great referral program and tell all of your friends!

Lava5842 | Lakeside, California | 04/06/2021

Good experience

They had a better system for a competitive price

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Rooftop Solar: Glad we were able to offer great products at a more affordable price! Please feel free to check out our referral program :) -Amber

Robert Monahan | Buckeye, Arizona | 03/31/2021

I wold recommend Rooftop. Excellent all the way around.

Got several bids and they were very competitive and efficient. Felt like they really cared about our project. Michelle Davis was excellent - answered all my questions and explained everything thoroughly. She made it easy for me to choose Rooftop. Danielle Treible and Stephanie Kramer were also great. The entire process was very smooth.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Rooftop Solar: Thanks so much for the great review, Robert! We love to hear feedback on our amazing team! Please feel free to check out our referral program :) -Amber

Bourgery | Blackstone, Massachusetts | 10/14/2020

Great company to deal with.

Great company to deal with. Worked with us on the cost. Installation was quick and the crew did an awesome job. Didn't even know they were here. Product looks great on our roof.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Rooftop Solar: We're so glad we were able to help make solar more affordable for you! Please feel free to check out our referral program :) -Amber

Jill Bartlett | Peoria, Arizona | 09/23/2020

Wonderful and honest!

Out of the 5 companies we met with, Rooftop Solar-specifically Michelle Davis and Vanessa Nefflen- were exceptional. Michelle never tried to pressure me, never talked ill of other companies, she was extremely knowledgeable of all the components and was able to confidently answer every single question I had. Small business that goes above and beyond to provide quality and fair solar systems. I would and have recommended them to friends and family. The process took about 4 months due to permits but Vanessa kept me in the loop as much as possible. I love our solar system and would absolutely use them again.

read more

Jeffrey Bush | Sedona, Arizona | 09/04/2020

Excellent experience from beginning to end!

A great and positive experience from beginning to end. John, the salesperson, was available at MY convenience and never pushy: he explained as much as I could absorb and then answered questions several times after. The positive communication continued throughout the project, even when we were waiting for permits (Angela would call to say "no news, but we're monitoring and will let you know!). The onsite work was done by polite, well-mannered (no debris left, very friendly, willing to answer questions and made sure we weren't inconvenienced). System has been up for about a month and, because of the monitoring system, I can see what is being generated by our system. VERY GLAD we went with Rooftop and I would HAPPILY recommend them to anyone!

read more

Ashley | Goodyear, Arizona | 08/21/2020

Excellent value

We interviewed 5-6 companies about solar for the purposes of education. We wanted to know all the in's and out's of solar (how it works, makers of panels, expected output, service/warranty, monitoring, power company guidelines, etc). We found Rooftop Solar to meet all our expectations and provide the best in all listed categories. Once we selected our solar provider, the rest was easy from their help in working with our HOA, to the power company to installation. They communicated with me for the entire process and long after installation. We had been in our new home for less than a year before our panels were installed and operating. We have not had an electric bill for 10 months! Highly recommend this company!

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Rooftop Solar: Thank you for choosing Rooftop Solar, Ashley! We love to see those low electricity bills. Please feel free to check out our referral program :) -Amber

Debra M | Wyoming, Rhode Island | 08/14/2020

Great Experience

We had a great experience with Rooftop Solar and Scott. The process went very smoothly and the panels are paying for themselves. I would highly recommend Rooftop Solar

read more

Dimi | Phoenix, Arizona | 04/15/2020

Great experience

I was very hesitant to install solar. I wanted to do it for the environmental impact, but I typically don't trust salesmen. I looked at Rooftop initially because they were able to offer Tesla products. They went through several options with me and and thoroughly explained the pros and cons of each. In the end I ended up purchasing a high efficiency panel that looks great (black and low profile, not like some of the mirrors you see). I was impressed by how committed the employees were to the company; that says a lot. They were honest, friendly, and low pressure. I never had to guess what the next step was because my project manager was always sending me an update. I also didn't have to do any work, not even file the plans with the HOA. It was all handled, and all on schedule.

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Small commercial solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

Energy monitoring

About Rooftop Solar


Save the world. Save the environment. Save money.

Alright maybe that's a little ambitious, but we really can make a difference. Every time a house or business installs solar they are making a true difference and Rooftop Solar is excited to be a part of it.

You could say the vision of Rooftop Solar is as old as the sun, but the passion for solar energy started in the 2002 when the Grandfather of founding partners Hadassah, Seth, and Jason first installed solar on his house. Grandpa Holland was a longtime believer in clean energy, well before there were government incentives and tax benefits. That passion stayed in the family. Finally, in 2008 after years of discussing the idea, Seth and Hadassah decided to combine forces, passion and vision to create Rooftop Solar.

Today Rooftop Solar services Arizona and California by providing clean energy at an affordable price to private residents and commercial businesses. Grampa Holland would be proud.

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

Arizona - Flagstaff

515 N. Beaver Street, Flagstaff AZ, 86001

Arizona - Phoenix

1 N 1st St Suite 600, Phoenix AZ, 85004

Loading...

California - San Diego

4796 Niagara Ave,, San Diego CA, 92107

Service areas


Select state:

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association Solar Power World

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified PV Technical Sales
Steven Scott Hollis
TS-012220-020367

Contact Rooftop Solar


Location pin
Head Office
515 N. Beaver Street, Flagstaff AZ, 86001
Website