ReVision Energy

Verified profile
Updated: 08 September 2020
Installer

Installing solar since 2003

ReVision Energy logo

4.81 from 213 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

Featured media


ReVision Energy reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.8

Price as quoted

4.8

On schedule

4.7

Installation quality

4.8

After sales support

4.6

Latest good review thumbs up

Art | Belfast, Maine | 01/26/2021

Everything clicked

Installation was conducted back in April 2020 just as the COVID panic was rearing its ugly head. Crew worked efficiently and job was completed in one day. Schedule was mutually agreed on so that failing asphalt roof could replaced with standing seam prior to installation. A real plus was that all permitting and interface with the power company was taken care as was tax related paperwork. They did it all. Now it’s January and I’m enjoying electric heat in my workshop that was actually captured and banked last summer. Professional installation in every respect. Right down to being ready for code enforcement inspection. Highly recommended.

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

Coleman installation | Camden, Maine | 11/04/2020

Service for maintenance and repairs is lacking.

We had a solar hot water system installed in 2009 and heat pumps in 2014. The installations went well and we really like the systems we have. The problem is to get anyone to come for regular maintenance or repair. You call, leave a message and you don't hear back from anyone for over a week. Call back, talk to someone who says they will look into it - same thing, you don't hear back. They have one person to service heat pumps. This has nothing to do with Covid, as this is the same one person they've had for many years. Because they did not plug up the holes on the outside piping covers of the heat pumps, we had mice that chewed the insulation off the piping. We wanted to know if it was something we could fix ourselves. After talking with several different people who could not give us a clear answer, we were given three names of other companies to do the work. Since most other solar installers only want to work on systems they install, getting service done is a problem. After much frustration, we called Fujitsu and talked with a wonderful tech who answered all our questions in less than 15 minutes. We fixed it ourselves and it is now mice proof. Now we have another simple issue - heat pump inside cover needs to be replaced - and it's been weeks trying to get a service call scheduled. ReVision loves to install, but are terrible about servicing what they install. Would not recommend them for this reason. Their service department is beyond terrible.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Joe L | Wayland, Massachusetts | 09/08/2020

Professionals - Start to Finish

I am a retired construction executive, so when I decided to put solar on my house I did a fair amount of research on solar companies, and interviewed and got estimates from four. All four were good and the prices were all in the $32 to $34K range for the same system. I went with Revision Energy because their salesman was the most responsive and gave the most complete and detailed answers to my numerous questions. This indicated to me that this company was focused on customer service. The project went very well. I am a hard grader of construction companies, but Revisions Energy got an A. Clear communication, very responsive, took care of all permits and the paperwork with Eversource, showed up when they said they would, and did excellent work. The project manager, the solar installers, the electricians, and the business manager were all very good. Everyone followed Covid protocols. I had one minor problem with a section of the critter guard, and they came right out and fixed it. I feel very confident to highly recommend this company.

read more

Jason E | Arlington, MA | 04/03/2019

Well planned install that was fairly painless for me

We worked with Revision to install two arrays (20 panels & 15 panels) on the roof of our two unit condo. Each unit-owner paid for their respective array. Everything went pretty smooth. The pre-planning was well thought out, the technical site visit was informative and the plans submitted to my towns building department were very quickly approved. The actual install took about 3 days due to weather complications. Once the panels were wired and Eversource switched out the electric meter to a net-meter, we were off an running. Shortly afterwards, I noticed that our 5kw inverter was "clipping" at 4kw. I called Revision and they had a crew out the next day. What had happened was that our inverter was switched with our downstairs neighbor. Our 20 panels were going into her 4kw inverter and her 15 panels were going into our 5kw inverter. This was quickly corrected. A few weeks after install I had an optimizer on one of the panels fail so that only 19 of the 20 were producing power. Again, they had a crew out in a few days to fix it at no additional charge. I also called them after I had a water leak in our ceiling. I was concerned that it was due to the solar install, but upon further investigation I learned that our HVAC condensate drain had separated and was leaking condensate water onto our ceiling. Again, I was pleased that they responded so quickly to an issue that they weren't responsible for. My system went live at the end of October 2018 and we didn't produce enough power to meet all of our need through the winter. At it's peak, our electric meter showed a net of 450kwh used. However, we haven't had an electric bill since January 2019 and our meter is now showing a net of about 150kwh used. I expect that it will get back to zero (or lower) before we turn on the central air. Time will tell if it truly produces the 107% of the energy we designed for, but so far, I'm optimistic.

read more

FLGE | Exeter, New Hampshire | 02/18/2019

Smooth, and easy to work with every step of the way.

Everyone was straightforward from start to finish. Professional, courteous, and they had their act together you seldom see with companies these days. They were there to guide you and help you every step of the way. From scheduling installation, inspection, to signing and submitting paperwork to one's utility. Can't recommend Revision enough. <br /><br />We had a minor issue upon installation, and they were attentive and made sure the problem was resolved which it was.

read more

DocRoss | Concord, New Hampshire | 02/08/2019

Professional installation of Solar Panels and Heat Pump

From the initial evaluation by Revision Energy to the final walk-through following installation, I was very pleased with the personnel, both sales, installers and front-office. They communicated well, made sure we understood what was going to happen and when. The two crews were professional, respectful, and on-time, and the projects were completed in three days each, as expected.<br /><br />We are very happy with the solar panels, which are making electricity even now in February, and the heat pump, in the heating mode, works well.<br /><br />I am confident that if we encounter any service issues, Revision Energy will attend to them promptly.

read more

Andy in Maine | Readfield, Maine | 12/29/2018

great folks, great system

We have now had Revision place two systems on our roof. They have been very helpful in both the decision making process and effective in installation and connection. Genuinely nice folks, well-versed in solar options.

read more

HHHH | Contoocook, New Hampshire | 12/17/2018

Happy Sunshine

Everyone we worked with from ReVision was wonderful, and they have a very well thought out system that is adaptive and responsive. Our solar installation went really well given all the factors for site prep; they met the stated schedule, and their staff were very communicative and informative. We highly recommend ReVision.

read more

JR Southern Maine | Cape Neddick, Maine | 12/16/2018

LG Solar 10.4kwh install

My dad has worked with Revison for the last 20 years and highly recommended, so I went with them for my Solar install. I cannot say enough good things about them. Everything is working as designed and I could not be happier. Since my install, my electric bills have been $11 per month and I have banked almost 4 mwhs with the power company.

read more

Mike Summerer | Prospect Harbor, Maine | 12/01/2018

Excellent system installation

ReVision Energy was the only installer willing to work with me to minimize radio interference from their equipment (I am a ham radio operator). Their crew was courteous and competent, and the installation was neat and tidy. They also designed a more effective installation footprint compared with the initial plan.

read more

GrayOwl | Holden, Maine | 11/30/2018

Solar Install

Liberty staff were knowledgeable, friendly and professional, during the sales cycles, installation and follow-up fine-tuning of the system. Working with Jonathan to design our system was great. As was Jonathan the service tech who assisted us after the installation. The services folks were responsive and worked with us to remedy a few minor bumps.

read more

Michael S | Portland, Maine | 11/30/2018

Super Happy with My 24-Panel Residential Solar Install!

I could not be happier with my solar array that ReVision Energy installed on my roof! Chris, the sales rep, did a fantastic job of educating us on residential solar, doing our initial site survey, giving us an accurate performance estimation, and answering close to 1 million questions that we had throughout the process leading up to install. The installation went super smooth and was completed in 2 days. I could not be happier with the speed and quality of the install. The city inspector didn't even bother scrutinizing the install because he knows that they consistently do high quality work.<br /><br />Everyone at ReVision Energy was friendly and pleasant to work with. I am also happy to support such a great company in general that is employee owned, does community outreach, and even helps to lobby for more favorable litigation around renewable energy laws.<br /><br />The only downside of our install was that we found out part way into the process that we needed to re-shingle the portion of our roof that the solar panels would be mounted on. I think this is a dark spot that most solar installers don't like to discuss too much; that most people have to replace their roofs if it's not a new construction house. That being said, we now have 50yr shingles protected by solar panels that should outlive us. We shouldn't have to worry about our roof ever again.<br /><br />Overall I would definitely recommend ReVision Energy!!

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Small commercial solar - Grid tied

Solar hot water sales and installations

Solar pool heating sales and installations

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

About ReVision Energy


Since 2003, Maine-based ReVision Energy has installed more than 6,000 solar energy systems throughout northern New England. To ensure maximum performance and reliability in a relatively harsh climate, each solar energy system is designed by ReVision Energy's in-house engineers (Brown, Dartmouth, MIT, UMaine, UNH) and installed by the company's in-house team of licensed and certified solar technicians. The Company's mission is to dramatically reduce carbon emissions by executing the societal transition from a fossil fuel-based economy to a sustainable, renewable energy-based economy. In 2010, the Company designed and installed the first solar-powered electric vehicle charging station in the region, leading to the adoption of electric vehicles throughout the company fleet. In 2013, ReVision Energy introduced the solar industry's first carbon-based sales commission program whereby team members earn additional income by designing solar energy systems that achieve maximum reductions of fossil fuel consumption and carbon pollution. In 2014, ReVision Energy began using bio-diesel to fuel its installation truck fleet and in 2015 the Company converted 90% of its heating and cooling to solar-powered air source heat pumps. Today ReVision Energy operates out of four locations (Liberty & Portland, ME; Concord & Exeter, NH) with the long-term goal of converting each location into a "de-carbonization" facility that exemplifys the societal transition from fossil fuels to renewable energy. With 100 employees as of July 2015, ReVision Energy has become the leading solar company in northern New England by delivering legendary customer service and the highest quality, most cost-effective solar energy systems available in the marketplace. As part of their unremitting commitment to creating positive social change, the Company's three managing partners continue to re-invest annual profits into zero up-front cost solar energy systems for non-profits through its pioneering approach to power purchase agreements, thereby bringing long-term economic and environmental sustainability to schools, municipalities and 501 C 3 organizations that would not otherwise be able to acquire solar energy.

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

Maine - Liberty

91 West Main Street, Liberty ME, 04949

Maine - Portland

142 Presumpscot Street, Portland ME, 04103

Loading...

New Hampshire - Brentwood

7A Commercial Drive, Brentwood NH, 03833

New Hampshire - Concord

14 Dixon Ave #201, Concord NH, 03301

Loading...

Massachusetts - North Andover

1980 Turnpike Street Building #2, North Andover MA, 01845

Certifications


Solar Power World

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Hans Albee
PV-100414-010499
NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Christopher Lee
031310-137

Contact ReVision Energy


Location pin
Head Office
142 Presumpscot Street, Portland ME, 04103