Longhorn Solar, Inc.

Verified profile
Updated: 26 September 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2007

Longhorn Solar, Inc. logo

4.70 from 350 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Elite

Rating breakdown

Featured media


Longhorn Solar, Inc. reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.9

Price as quoted

4.9

On schedule

4.8

Installation quality

4.8

After sales support

4.7

Latest good review thumbs up

Leo | Plano, Texas | 05/19/2022

Do not honor warranty

Update: Installer corrected the problem by installing a new inverter, 26 days after reported.<br /><br />I paid a system in full with longhorn solar, the system did not last 1 year, a broken inverter.<br /><br />Longhorn keeps claiming chain supply issues while still getting new businesses, but not repairing mine.<br /><br />Their support system is basically none, one email contact that might or might not reply you in 3 days if you are lucky, and never gives a clear answer.<br /><br />I have a dead system, including a 16kw battery.<br /><br />Lesson learned, Look somewhere else, and force them to put a specific repair time window in your contracts.

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

Bruce Cardwell | Austin, Texas | 09/27/2022

10 percent won't buy you time of day

I signed my contract with Longhorn Solar at the end of August 2021. Here it is September 27, 2022 and my system is yet to be installed where it will pass even a simple test of turning off the Grid power and seeing how long we can live on our Sonnen EcoLynx20 battery. Test FAILED at one hour and it powered down the whole house with 86% battery charge showing remaining. Attempted to address this issue with Sonnen, whatever changes they made powered down the battery completely. I was told I could power the battery back up and all should be well. Not a chance, battery will not power up, we are dead in the water as far as battery backup goes. Sonnen said that given it would not power up I needed to talk with my installer to remedy the situation. I contacted them over 10 business days ago and copied in everyone I had an email address for and all I have heard is crickets. Today we heard reports that thousands of folks in Austin are without power, luckily not us, however my wife heard that story and she is not at all happy and called Longhorn today to receive a message that the tech support folks had forgotten that we were down. If you decide to go with this company demand a 40% 30% 30% payment schedule, holding 10% of their final payment is not enough to even get the time of day from them with their standard 20 40 30 10% schedule. So as it stands now they have 90% of my money and I have no battery backup, no solar feeding into the system when the Grid power is turned Off and a very unhappy wife. I'm not very happy either and today my patience has ended also.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Alexandra McLarty | Grapevine, Texas | 09/26/2022

Could have been worse, but that's the best I can say

I would love to leave Longhorn a good review, but unfortunately I just can’t. The sales process was clear and smooth, but installation was, frankly, a nightmare. I’ve had many companies work on my house, and Longhorn is by far the least responsive and least reliable company I’ve worked with. I regret selecting them, especially since I’ll need to rely on them to service the system in the future too. I should have canceled my contract at the first sign of trouble. Don’t make my mistake. My install date was pushed back multiple times over two and a half months with little to no communication. I didn’t even know our late May date was canceled until no one showed up on the day the project was scheduled to start, even though I’d called and emailed my project manager multiple times that week to confirm it (she never returned my calls or emails). When installation was finally set to begin, there were issues immediately. Despite claiming they only use in-house teams, a subcontracted company installed my panels. The battery team from Longhorn and the subcontracted panel team were not on the same page, and in fact didn’t even know about each other at first. It took over a month and a half from the panels and batteries beginning installation to finally being completed. During that time, my voicemails and emails were almost never returned. I learned that I had to catch someone in the office if I wanted a response, but that I had to call outside of their daily morning multi-hour all hands meeting, where no one in the office is accessible at all. Even when I was rarely able to catch my project manager on the phone, she was almost never able to tell me anything other than that she’d ask her manager at the next day’s all hands meeting and call me back. Which, of course, regularly didn’t actually happen. When someone would finally be scheduled to come finish installation, usually 1-2 weeks out if I was lucky, they often failed to show up at all or didn’t send enough people to complete the work, meaning things would be pushed out another week or more just to get another appointment scheduled. It took over 3 weeks (and multiple missed or canceled appointments) just to get someone to come back out to commission the batteries when the panels were finally done. When my system failed the QC inspection, I almost cried out of frustration knowing it would take weeks and dozens of calls to get things fixed (which it did). I spent hours every week just trying to reach someone and get on their schedule. Fortunately, Danny became involved in the project towards the end. While he wasn’t able to single-handedly fix all of the issues Longhorn has and things haven’t been smooth even with his help, it was refreshing to be able to reach someone reliably and to be in contact with someone with the ability to get things rolling. I appreciate his efforts. I can’t imagine how much longer my project would have taken to finish without his help. When installation was finally complete, I was told someone would walk me through my system and that I’d receive an owner’s manual. It’s now been over two months and despite several requests, I haven’t received either of these things. With all of these issues, I’ve received a few vague apologies but no other efforts to make things right. As a business owner myself, if a customer had experienced all the issues I had, they’d be looking at a hefty discount at a minimum. Unfortunately, one of my batteries is already broken. It took over a month from reporting the issue to get someone out to work on it, and now a new battery has to be ordered, which will take at least another month. I understand that Longhorn has staffing issues currently. I would hope that a responsible company would adjust their project schedule to only take on the work that they can handle, but it feels to me that Longhorn’s goal is profit first, customer satisfaction dead last. I hired Longhorn for my project despite them being one of the higher quotes I received due to their formerly excellent reputation. I wish I’d gotten what I paid for.

read more

TOO LONG INSTALLATION | San Antonio, Texas | 03/31/2022

7 month installation and still not complete

Longhorn Solar Inc., services San Antonio out of Austin. Signed contract in Aug 2021, panels installed Dec 31,2021 but not hooked up and today is March 31,2022. Lame excuses all over the place as to why the delay. My advice is use company with service people in your city, not serviced remotely. My probable guess is Longhorn has only have 1 certified electrician to service San Antonio, traveling out of Austin. They have missed promised appointments without a phone call . When I call to ask why not showing up? Admin girl says she does not know why and resets. Here is one example of miscue: The onsite certification inspection meeting, final step before solar meter is installed, with CPS, failed because paperwork did not have an stamp. Inspector stated he would lose his job if he approved install without the stamp on documents. Seems like Longhorn is cutting corners. Inspector found other issues and was kind enough to help new electrician know what was missing. I am now glad someone is reviewing Longhorns work because I do not know the codes; 3 weeks later and still no resolution only missed another scheduled meeting.

read more

Eric | Elgin, Texas | 03/11/2022

Professional and Thorough

I was hesitant about getting solar installed from the horror stories I’ve heard. Well I have to say there is a reason Longhorn Solar has been around for as long as they have. They didn’t try up sale me on a system I didn’t need were very thorough every step of the way. Even when through no fault of there own when weather conditions prevented them from installing my system on the scheduled date. They made up for it by coming out the next day with double the crew to install the system. Now I am looking forward to geeking out with monitoring system and watching my system safe me money. Also continued work with Longhorn Solar in the years to come.

read more

Wayne | Cedar Park, Texas | 03/11/2022

Forthright Solar Installer

Longhorn Solar is a local company committed to customer satisfaction rather than growing larger. The sales rep knew her stuff. The original proposal was scaled to our current electric consumption. After we checked out some reviews, people said they wished they had purchased a system to accommodate increased energy needs over time. The Longhorn rep put together a new proposal to cover 120% of our current usage. I am glad we went with the larger system and battery. Everyone we interacted with at Longhorn was trustworthy, professional and personable. It's a process. Things don't always go as planned, but Longhorn kept their promises. The service, expertise, quality and value are there. I would highly recommend Kathie Millen and her team to set you up with the right solar system.

read more

MB | Austin, Texas | 02/23/2022

Super helpful to new owners!

We purchased a home a year ago that had panels installed by Longhorn Solar - but we knew very little about whether they were working as they should or what maintenance they might need. We reached out to Longhorn and talked with Jameson, who responded really promptly to my inquiry. He was able to view our panel's performance remotely, and let us know that there were a few components that needed some repair/optimization. (It is an 8 year old system.) Then he informed us that the repairs would be covered under the warranty, which was a big surprise, as warranties don't always transfer to new owners. We are really happy to have panels installed by a company that stands by their equipment and installation no matter who owns the property - and were really grateful for Jameson's excellent customer service!

read more

Jack | Anna, Texas | 02/18/2022

Great Folks - Ethical and Dependable

Longhorn Solar is an ethical and dependable company and they provide results. They listen and do not over-sell their products. They truly have their customer's best interest in mind !

read more

Michael Bland | Round Rock, Texas | 02/09/2022

Overall very happy with Jameson and the installation crew

read more

Dorlisa | Jarrell, Texas | 08/07/2021

Easy process and amazing install crew!

I live in Jarrell and Longhorn solar just installed panels on my home. The process was quick and easy and the installation team was very proficient and friendly! Would highly recommend them!

read more

Martinez78261 | San Antonio, Texas | 07/05/2021

System down 6+ weeks

My system has been down for over 6 weeks. Whatever they tell you, they don't monitor your system for you. I left multiple messages on their service line, over a week, all were ignored. Finally got a hold of someone in person and scheduled a service date (no mention of the previous messages they failed to return). The first available service date they gave me was in three weeks. Three weeks! Three weeks longer to wait until someone can even come out and look at my system. I'm really disappointed in Longhorn solar for misleading me in terms of how they "monitor" my system as well as an utterly unresponsive service team.

read more

Our review of Longhorn Solar | Elgin, Texas | 05/28/2021

Update, 14 months of using our Solar Panel System

Longhorn Solar sized & installed our Solar System 14 months ago. The system is producing per original objective. It is really gratifying that we have not had to pay an electric utility bill over the last several months having accumulated so many credits with our electric provider. We suffered hail damage on our roof during the first quarter of this year. Our panels, all mounted on the carport, were not damaged and continue to produce. Bottom line, we are very happy with the system Longhorn Solar installed for us.

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

Energy monitoring

About Longhorn Solar, Inc.


Longhorn Solar Mission: To make solar accessible to anyone who desires it by providing the best products at the best prices and installation by the most qualified TEAM that exists.

We achieve this mission by:

1. Doing extensive research on the products that we provide to give you the peace of mind that you are only seeing products with a Tier 1 rating and have been vetted for bank-ability. Bank-ability is important because a warranty from a company that is out of business is worth nothing.

2. Using our buying power to get the best price for the best production. There are some panels out there that claim to be a better product because of higher efficiency. Higher efficiency does not equal better. It equals more expensive. In the end, higher efficiency means they produce more electricity in a smaller space for a higher price. To make solar more accessible we have chosen slightly lower efficiency for a lower price.

3. Employing the highest trained staff in Texas. Longhorn Solar invests in training at every level. Currently, we employ several team members who hold NABCEP Solar certification in Texas. We are also one of the only companies to provide a 12 week training class for all of our new Account Managers. When you speak to a Longhorn Solar Account Manager, then you can rest assured that we know what we are talking about. We would be honored with the opportunity to provide you with a Solar System quote and then installation.

Office locations


Loading...

Texas - Pflugerville

4717 Priem Ln #704, Pflugerville TX, 78660

Texas - Plano

701 E Plano Pkwy ste 305, Plano TX, 75041

Certifications


Solar Energy Industries Association American Solar Energy Society Contractor Check Solar Power World

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified PV Technical Sales
Michael Haas
TS-121819-026299
NABCEP Certified PV Technical Sales
James Knittel
TS-082520-032421
NABCEP Certified PV Technical Sales
Jameson Dillon
TS-092820-030533

Licenses


Texas Electrical Contractor License TECL 27514. ME – 456210

Contact Longhorn Solar, Inc.


Location pin
Head Office
4717 Priem Ln #704, Pflugerville TX, 78660