CMI Solar & Electric

Verified profile
Updated: 08 May 2020
Installer

Installing solar since 1998

CMI Solar & Electric logo
Pre-Screened Solar Pro

Since 2019

4.68 from 57 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

Featured media


CMI Solar & Electric reviews


3 stars

0

2 stars

0

1 star

0

4.68

Avg. rating

Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.8

Price as quoted

4.8

On schedule

4.8

Installation quality

4.5

After sales support

4.8

Latest good review thumbs up

Witman | Newark, Delaware | 05/09/2020

Very helpful and professional.

Made a good choice with this company. Felt very comfortable and trusting from the first phone call and meeting. Explained everything so we could understand. Did all the paper work for us when they could. Even after we were up and running helped with a problem on Delmarva's end. Truely a wonderful bunch of peope.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Nancy | Dover, Delaware | 05/08/2020

Very professional

I was looking for a way to save money on our electric bill and after talking with a friend decided on solar energy. My friend told me about CMI Solar and Electric. I was very impressed with their help and professionalism in making our dream come true.

read more

Bill Deely’s | Townsend, Delaware | 05/08/2020

Great communication from my first inquiry

Reputation Referral comments Follow up Communication Simplicity

read more

P. Pautler | Ellendale, Delaware | 06/30/2019

Friendly and fair

A friendly and fair in the price for installation of our ground base panel array. Took care of the approval process with the local electric company and all permits. Worker were helpful and the work area was left better then they started.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from CMI Solar & Electric: Thank you for the great review! We're happy you're so pleased with our work. -Lauren, CMI Solar & Electric

Byrds | North East, Maryland | 11/30/2018

Nancy Byrd

I cannot say enough good about this company. These people really care about what they are doing. They are respectful of your property, and your time. I do have a couple of issues with getting the batteries to perform as promised, but they are right there working on it. I am very pleased with everything.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from CMI Solar & Electric: Thank you for the wonderful feedback, Nancy. We love working with you!

SP & DP | Hockessin, Delaware | 11/30/2018

CMI Came To The Rescue

Our original inataller went out of business leaving our system and many other customers in a mess. CMI took over service for our system over six years ago. They have been wonderful to work with and have solved many problem for us. If you are considering Solar, please choose an honest, reliable company like CMI.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from CMI Solar & Electric: We're so happy to see reviews like this, and know our customers have great experiences no matter which stage of their solar projects. Thank you very much!

Solar Energy Enthusiast | Wilmington, Delaware | 11/29/2018

Excellence personified

CMI provided excellent service throughout the entire solar experience, from the initial assessment to on-going service well beyond system installation. They are true partners with their customers, and are always there with excellent professional and friendly advice. When I thought I had a problem, all it took was a call, and they responded rapidly. They quickly identified the problem, and even through it was not an issue with the work that they did, they provided me with the appropriate recommendations to correct the issue. They are a great organization, they provide excellent service, and I rate them highly.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from CMI Solar & Electric: Thank you so much for your great review!

McCauley Solar 1 | Newark, Delaware | 11/29/2018

McCauley Solar Installation Five Star +

CMI is a family run small business located in Newark, Delaware that openly displays its pride of ownership. <br /><br />The sales process was very comprehensive. CMI sent a tech to my residence to map out a design and produce an electrical production estimate. All questions were answered by an experienced electrician without delay and to my satisfaction. I had read many reviews and needed assurance that sloppy practices like exposed conduit and low end parts were notin my future.<br /><br />Pricing was very competitive, top of the line panels and inverter led to an excellent warranty which eliminated the need for costly extended warranties.<br /><br />Project manager Lauren is part of the family and provided great communication and follow thru. I added some additional out of scope work which they included with a smile. Lauren led me through the substantial paperwork required by Delmarva Power. All of which was accepted without error.<br /><br />Installation team was on time, neat, and installed my soul system in 2 days with not a single issue. Electrical inspector knew the lead electrian and promptly gave me a very positive review of his work. He noted not all work he reviewed at other sites compared.<br /><br />Project closedown: Owner of the company came to the home and instructed us on the system and left us with a binder filled with all necessary documentation. I was presently surprised that all I needed to remember was the on/off switch. He outlined why there was no need for ongoing maintenance and associated expense. He surprised us with a gift of specially made CMI coffee cups and baseball hats.<br /><br />Lauren stays in contact with us with continued help filing SREC documents and finalizing the Delmarva rebate check process. <br /><br />All in all, I could not be more pleased that I could do business with a local company that did excellent work. They have my highest recommendation.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from CMI Solar & Electric: Thank you so much for your kind words, Mr. and Mrs. McCauley. They are truly appreciated. -Lauren

Laidback Manor | Townsend, Delaware | 11/25/2017

Laidback Manor

CMI thoroughly explained the solar system operation, solar panel and inverter choices, the cost, the payment and installation schedule, power company billing and SREC sales. We had over 50 questions at our first meeting, and Mr. Davis answered all except one about SREC sales, which was answered the next day by a call from their SREC expert. Despite record breaking cold and some snow the installation was completed on time. When finished, an employee walked the site and picked up all the little pieces of wire that are always present during electrical installations, not to mention any other trash that was not caught up in the daily cleanups. I wouldn't have done that if I was doing the installation. They also did all the paperwork for our SREC sale at the power company SREC auction. This was for the state of Delaware, we cannot speak for other states. All this at a competitive price. The employees are friendly, competent and quiet. When we had a problem with the system reporting to our monitoring site, CMI returned several times until it was correct. This was not a problem recording or reporting our production to the power company, so we did not lose any production, it was just to the site that the owner uses to view system operation. They also have 24 hour emergency service. I have strongly recommended CMI to all who have asked about our system and have no qualms about recommending them to anyone who is looking for a solar installer. We also contracted with CMI for a whole house generator installation and a dedicated line for an electric clothes dryer and once again received outstanding service.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Laidback Manor: Quality service at a competitive price. Excellent service, friendly, competent employees, 24 hour service, a quality product and good experience all around.

Anonymous | Newark, Delaware | 11/17/2016

Eight years of excellent performance

CMI installed our rooftop PV system in 2007. They were very professional and did an excellent job in explaining estimate, doing the job right. Have not had any problems in 9 years except for an inverter that failed after 5 years and was replaced by them under warrantee for free. System output was exactly as they calculated.

read more

Anonymous | Hockessin, Delaware | 01/22/2011

<br />

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Small commercial solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

Energy monitoring

About CMI Solar & Electric


Here at CMI we strive to provide every customer with the same care and support, regardless of their project size. We take pride in our workmanship, and want all customers to be fully satisfied with their end result. All installers on staff are licensed electricians or apprentices in the journeyman’s program. CMI also holds two DE NABCEP certifications in Installation and Sales.

Office locations


Loading...

Delaware - Newark

83A Albe Drive, Newark DE, 19702

Service areas


Select state:

Certifications


Better Business Bureau

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Dale Davis
032407-17
NABCEP Certified PV Technical Sales
Dale Davis
PVTS012911-26

Licenses


License DE T1 4691. Maryland Statewide Master Electrician MD 8655 Cecil County CC 1326

Contact CMI Solar & Electric


Location pin
Head Office
83A Albe Drive, Newark DE, 19702