AMECO Solar & Roofing

Verified profile
Updated: 25 July 2023
Installer

Installing solar since 1974

AMECO Solar & Roofing logo
Pre-Screened Solar Pro

Since 2013

4.56 from 118 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Elite

Rating breakdown

Featured media


AMECO Solar & Roofing reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.8

Price as quoted

4.8

On schedule

4.7

Installation quality

4.7

After sales support

4.6

Latest good review thumbs up

David Blaustein | Tarzana, California | 10/10/2023

Great company

Highly recommended. Easy to work with super professional and competitive price.

read more
1 comment >
Reply from AMECO Solar & Roofing: David, thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and appreciate your support.

Latest bad review thumbs down

R Gray | Mission Viejo, CA | 10/09/2023

Buyer beware - Don't buy from Ameco

We are seven weeks into our solar installation and we're tired of being told 'we're on schedule" when we never were told what the schedule was. Our roof had the tile removed on August 22nd and the Amerco representative said we'd be inspected in a day or two and then the electrical work would be done. Tomorrow will be seven weeks with tiles sitting on our roof. Communication is nearly impossible to reach the office or the so called "project manager" as no one is ever available when you call the home office. We had to have one project manager removed from the project after we got lied to. The inspector from Southern California Edison showed up one with paperwork showing the Ameco had requested that day for the electrical work to be inspected and the work hadn't even been started. It took several days of inspectors coming out from the City Building Department for the electrical work to finally be approved. A competitor started last Monday and finished the whole installation on Thursday with all of the inspections approved. We sadly picked the wrong company to do our installation.

read more

All reviews

>
>

John B | Altadena, California | 07/25/2023

Great company to work with

AMECO delivers on what they promised. Very satisfied from initial planning, design, installation and start up. They took care of all inspection issues, and tie in to SCE. Staff was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Would highly recommend them yo others.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from AMECO Solar & Roofing: Thank you for your fantastic feedback, John. Our dedicated staff always strives to deliver on our promises, providing friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable service. We truly appreciate your recommendation to others. If you have any future needs, don't hesitate to reach out. Thank you for choosing AMECO!

Victoria | Los Angeles, California | 05/04/2023

Job pretty much done but frustrating process

I'm in the home stretch of getting a full roof replacement and new solar system installed in a single family home in CA. AMECO has been ok. I was hoping for a better experience, but the communication side of the experience with AMECO has been very frustrating. Gus, who was my first contact, was great. Super easy to schedule with. Very clear and answered all my questions. Very patient as well as I had to put the project on hold for a few months. But he picked things up right where we left off a few months later when I was ready to move forward. He explained how they work and highlighted how efficient and communication is one of their strengths. Efficient is accurate. The roofing sub and solar install sub teams were fast and seem to have done solid work. My biggest frustration and reason for the 3 starts is communication. This is not their strong suit to say the least. My project manager for the roofing section has been incredibly frustrating to work with. While he would reach out when items or decisions were needed, he would frequently leave out important information or just not answer my question. Not a big deal until we found out that we need a full redecking of our room. The cost quoted was significantly higher than our original contract which include a price/plywood sheet. Our PM explained that this is because our contract was speaking only about a few sheets being replaced... not a complete redecking. I let him know this is a bit disappointing but I understood as the total price still remained fair. He later texted me and offered to upgrade our plywood to a higher quality, thicker type of plywood to "keep our customers happy". I didn't ask for this and definitely didn't expect it. But I was appreciated the gesture greatly. I really lost trust in his word and abilities the next morning when the supplies delivered where the minimum thickness plywood and OSB. Not only did we not get the upgraded plywood, more than half the roof was being redecked with OSB (not per contract or my expectations). I immediately reached out to my project manager and he said he would get back to me. It wasn't until later that afternoon after they had finished the redecking that he confirmed it was not in fact the plywood we had agreed upon. I guess I shouldn't have let them do the work, but I am not a contractor and was confident that I knew what plywood vs OSB meant (I only learned later when my husband explained it to me). Also impending rain scheduled for later that evening left me feeling like I had no choice. Solar install was fine and super fast--done in one day! The solar project manager has been better about communication. I really appreciate how she answers all my questions eventually and seems to quickly addresses next steps. For example, when we passes inspection for the solar, within a business day she notified and filed for PTO with LADWP. I was shocked LADWP came the next day and we got our PTO! But even with her, there is a struggle with communication that I suspect is related to either disorganization or lack of communication on the back end. We are done with all the actual work. I am very eagerly waiting to pay my final bill and turn my system on. But I'm waiting for AMECO to get me signed unconditional waivers which our sales person brought up himself as something they are good at doing. The one from the roofers took about 2 weeks, which is fine. Our solar PM got the one from our install within a day, which was surprisingly fast. Unfortunately she's getting a lot of push back from the solar panel parts supplier. And I still am a bit confused if I need just one waiver from AMECO that could encompass the whole project or two --one for roof and one for solar. I've asked everyone I could think of--our roof PM, my solar PM and some person who randomly emailed me one day saying they were from accounting. There is no clear answer. I know this will eventually all get settled. It's just been frustrating and reminds me why I hate working with contractors who use subs. The work seems solid. Price was good value. Communication is just horrible.

read more

Anny Pham | Paramount, California | 03/28/2023

Since covid I have been wanting to get solar panels for my house. Getting recommended by my friend, I chose Ameco Solar, and I could not be any happier. The customer service was phenomenal, along with the installation process. Since it was my first time, I was unsure of many things, but they explained to me the different system sizes and made sure I knew what i was purchasing. I would recommended choosing Ameco for their excellent communication and how they run the business.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from AMECO Solar & Roofing: Thank you for taking the time and giving us feedback, Anny. We're happy to hear we got your energy needs met properly and look forward to helping you make the best of your solar journey.

Shana Gorski | Studio City, California | 01/24/2023

Great Experience

I found out about AMECO through online research. I decided to go with them. Everyone I worked with was as thorough as they come and extremely knowledgeable. I had two crews for installation. The first crew reroofed a portion of my existing roof. From the get-go I would receive daily updates from the project manager. He always called to keep me posted about the progress after the crew left for the day. I am very knowledgeable about home construction and when they were finished with the installation I would never have known that they were there at all. They were very clean and I am very happy with the work that they did. The crew that installed my solar panels was also very professional. I asked them lots of questions and they patiently answered everything and took time to explain how everything works. I 100% recommend AMECO

read more

1 comment >
Reply from AMECO Solar & Roofing: Shana, thank you for sharing your AMECO experience. We're here to meet your needs in the most effective and professional way, and our team is happy to hear you're satisfied with the results.

linda khols | Paramount, California | 12/11/2022

They did an amazing job on my solar panels, the process was faster than I expected and I love my solar panels!! They were nice and very helpful and made the process super smooth.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from AMECO Solar & Roofing: Linda, thank you for sharing your AMECO experience. Fast, smooth, and effective service is what we aim for when meeting our customers' needs, and happy to hear you're satisfied with the outcome.

Dan H. | Long Beach, California | 11/04/2022

Ameco installed our 8kw system earlier this year. Great communication and they installed the system in a day. They used a sub contractor for the actua install, but all went well.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from AMECO Solar & Roofing: Thank you for your feedback, Dan. We're happy to hear your needs are properly met and always ready to assist you with any questions you may have.

JH | Morgan Hill, California | 11/01/2022

Completely Inept and unresponsive

Contracted 6/22/22. Took until 10/13/22 to pass inspection. Made 4 trips to site to install, each time the crew showed up without the necessary parts so they had to come back again. Destroyed the concrete tile on my roof. The installers were in fact subcontractors qualified to do electrical work but not roofing. Ameco did not advise that they were going to use a subcontractor. After inspection and final pmt. on 10/13/22 Ameco failed to get the Permission To Operate certificate from PGE leaving me with an inoperable system. Ameco also failed to set up the Enphase app leaving me unable to monitor my system and see if is working as specified. Ameco also has failed to repair the window broken during installation as of 10/31/22. My conclusion is that Ameco is unprofessional, unqualified and untrustworthy.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from AMECO Solar & Roofing: Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, JH. We're here to ensure your needs are properly met and tried to contact you several times to discuss your concerns. Please let us know what time best works for you so we can reach out to you.

Roy | Rancho Santa Margarita, California | 10/21/2022

Ameco Solar

I was connected with AMECO through the SoCal Edison Marketplace partner Electrum. The project manager, Angie, kept me informed with regular updates from start to finish. The installation did a great job and answered all my questions about the installation, they also did a great of clean-up afterwards, which was much appreciated, Very happy with results and would recommend them to anyone considering a solar installation.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from AMECO Solar & Roofing: Roy, we really appreciate your feedback. Our team is here to ensure you get the needed assistance from A to Z, and we're happy to hear you liked your AMECO experience.

Danny Coorsh | La Canada Flintridge, California | 10/12/2022

Smooth and on-time project!

I was connected with AMECO through the SoCal Edison Marketplace partner Electrum. Everyone I worked with at AMECO was reliable and friendly. The project manager, Angie, kept me informed with regular updates as my project worked its way through planning, city permitting, installation, and utility approval. We are very happy with results and would recommend them to anyone considering a solar installation.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from AMECO Solar & Roofing: Danny, thank you for trusting us and sharing your AMECO experience. We're here to make your solar journey smooth and stress-free, and our team is happy to hear you got your needs properly met.

K. Walsh | Wrightwood, California | 09/21/2022

Ameco Solar - I would recommend!

After interviewing six solar companies, we purchased our solar system (not a lease) from Ameco. From our initial sales call with Thomas, to the prompt & polite follow up emails with answers to our many questions, to the installers, and to the final emails, instructions and calls with Angie, everything went very well. Ameco matched the price of a competitor we were considering, and moved as quickly as they could to get everything handled. It can feel like a slow process as you wait for permits, inspections, and Edison to turn it on - but our system was complete within the estimated time frame. We've only been connected to Edison for about 2 weeks, but so far so good! I would recommend this company for Solar.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from AMECO Solar & Roofing: Thank you for your feedback, K. Walsh. The AMECO team is always there to ensure your needs are met properly, and we're happy to hear you liked your experience with us.

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Solar pool heating sales and installations

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

About AMECO Solar & Roofing


48 Years of Solar & Roofing Experience Matters: AMECO is the solar and roofing contractor you can trust when looking for high-quality and cost-effective solar energy solutions for your home or business. We partner with the industry's bests, so your system operates effectively, and you make the most of your solar journey. Being a family-owned business, our knowledgeable employees understand the importance of a relationship. AMECO team takes care of all the processes, from designing the solar array and installing the system to pulling permits, arranging the inspection, filing rebate and incentive paperwork, as well as continuously monitoring the system and ensuring it is up and running as expected.

 

In the end, we want to ensure that you are happy enough to recommend our services.

We are here so that your profits will no longer disappear by paying your energy bills. Instead, our innovative approach will help you increase your savings and, at the same time, reduce your ecological footprint. On top of that, AMECO prioritizes the long-lasting energy production of your system and has a list of comprehensive equipment, production, and labor warranties, which you can learn more about on our website.

To make quality solar affordable for everyone, AMECO Solar & Roofing offers the options to purchase, loan, or lease your solar installation, so you choose the one that fits your budget and needs. Contact us for a free consultation, and we will help you figure out what system solutions and financing options work best for you.

Office locations


Loading...

California - Paramount

7623 Somerset Blvd, Paramount CA, 90723

California - Valley Village

4705 Laurel Canyon Blvd. Suite 205, Valley Village CA, 91607

California - Los Angeles

4705 Laurel Canyon Blvd, Los Angeles CA, 91607

Service areas


Select state:

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association American Solar Energy Society Solar Electric Power Association Solar Power World

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
William Russell
PV-082222-013750

Licenses


1053172

Contact AMECO Solar & Roofing


Location pin
Head Office
4705 Laurel Canyon Blvd. Suite 205, Valley Village CA, 91607