Vivint Solar

Claim my profile
Updated: 31 December 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2011

Vivint Solar logo

2.72 from 723 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 0 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Unrated

Vivint Solar reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

3.3

Price as quoted

3.1

On schedule

2.9

Installation quality

3.1

After sales support

2.5

Latest good review thumbs up

Alice | Santa Ana, California | 09/23/2021

Amazing!

Everything from start to finish was well organized and went smoothly. I was particularly impressed by the installation crew. They were very informative and polite and cleaned up after themselves. I would highly recommend SunRun for solar!

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

Vivint Sunrun SUCK | Abingdon, Maryland | 02/03/2023

The WORST

Trying to save money and be a eco friendly family we decided to use Vivint for solar. The only thing we were paying for was our electricity usage that solar didn't cover. At first I was just a little disappointed that the panels were not providing nearly enough electricity. A few years in, we discovered we had roof damage from a hail storm and there was a leak. We had to have to roof replaced so we contacted Vivint and paid our $500.00 charge to have them remove/return the panels. I tried to get in touch with them to have the panels removed for over a month and I was getting no where so I got on Facebook and trashed the company. Seems that was the golden ticket to get on the schedule. Finally the panels were down and the roofers immediately replaced the roof. It took over a year to get Vivint/Sunrun to schedule the return of the panels. During that time they were charging me for usage every month... THERE WERE NO PANELS ON MY HOUSE! I called several times about this and was told it would all clear up once the panels were put back. That was a lie. If they are charging me for usage when the panels aren't on then were the panels actually doing anything when they were on the house. How did they come up with these numbers? I don't think the panels were actually solar. I told them not to put the panels back on the house. After all this I don't trust them and they weren't saving me any money. It was actually more expensive. They said they had to because I signed a contract. I told them that they didn't honor their part of the contract so I didn't have to honor mine. They finally forced me to let them put the panels back on house but apparently they didn't turn them on. Recently I started getting calls and emails to set up an appointment to do that I have refused. I told them I wasn't authorizing them to come to my property. Yesterday I noticed a van from Paradise Energy Solutions. It was parked across the street in front of my neighbors house. I thought maybe they were getting solar panels on their house until my Ring alarm went off and I saw the guy coming from the side of my house and walking through my front yard. He must have done something to the solar box. I called the company to tell them they were trespassing on my yard and found out that they were a third party company that Sunrun hired to update the system AFTER I specifically said they weren't authorized to come on my property. I'm in the process of getting an attorney. I don't want the panels and I'm not paying for any fake usage.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Andrew | Moreno Valley, California | 12/31/2022

Deplorable service!

After paying 26k for our solar to be installed back in Summer 2022. Our solar panels are still NOT operational and it is now December 2022 going to 2023. Called customer service which takes an hour just to talk to someone, we were told that we would case manager assigned to our case and someone to come check until NOTHING! We’re so sick and tired with dealing with these people because for the amount of money that we’ve paid we’re getting pittance in service! DONT GO TO THIS COMPANY AND TAKE YOUR SOLAR NEEDS ELSEWHERE! I would give 0 stars if we could but no such luck!!!

read more

Patricia Catanzaro | Stoneham, Massachusetts | 08/03/2022

vivint solar was fine. Not so much for sun run.

Not a happy customer. I changed emails over 2 years ago but you didn’t change it. No phone calls my telephone. Number never changed. You let this go for 6 months. Not acceptable. If I could at this point give you all my Edison bills including the 400 bill I just received. Where did solar help me?

read more

Vincent Sapochetti | Watertown, Massachusetts | 06/23/2022

This is why you should absolutely avoid VinScam!

So when I got my first set of panels I was totally impressed. How quick and honest they were. So when I got my second set of panels. I was like why so long? They said unfortunately we didn’t do these. So many lies to me. When I thought that it was as S.R. I was told since my tenants don’t have C.A. That theirs would be free! Lie number 1. And I was relieved that S.R. Was taking over for VinScam! However because I thought they wouldn’t stand for this. But unfortunately because I sold my Soul to the DEVIL. I’m screwed. And because in Ma. It was hotter than Arizona. My May bill was just 248% higher than SunRun! $78.59 versus $194.17. So now if you get the chance totally avoid this one. It doesn’t matter that SunRun has taken over. But because I got gouged. I got charged by my bank.$30 because of VinScam!

read more

Ted | Hyannis, Massachusetts | 04/29/2022

Roofers were Great and Management/Coordination Horrible

So I just want to say not all what I expected from the number 1 solar Co. Out there. Started off great with Adrian our solar expert. He got me a great design, got my roof able to have solar, and started the coordination process. Then construction team after about a month came through quickly with the complete install. Then the building inspection came 2 weeks later. Then the electrical inspection came 2 weeks after that. Now nothing. So far from the knock on the door with Adrian, to a paperwork mishap with Tiara Monterio, has been 6 months, and no solar. The problem with sun run is they don't have enough people with experience managing projects, then filling out the proper forms/paper work for inter connections with utility Co.s, and then to communicate to the customer that have been dropping the ball the last 3 months with all the paperwork. Don't get solar from them. Don't waste your time trying to communicate ever.

read more

Regret SunRun | Mission Hills, California | 04/12/2022

Avoid SunRun/Vivint Solar - will avoid repairing damage

I've had a roof leak causing water damage to my ceiling since Dec 2021 (over 3 months now). Customer service reps are not able to get the Install team to take ownership and repair the leak. I'm sure mold is starting to form at this point. I've emailed to request tickets with no luck. You'll see a repeating theme across 1 star reviews where the company does not remedy issues/damages. New Mexico's Attorney General sued Vivint for Deceptive Practices and settled in 2021; California probably needs to do the same. https://www.abqjournal.com/2391289/settlement-could-curb-practices.html The Vivint (now SunRun) CEO's email is: david.bywater@vivint.com For California, you can file complaints with the Contractors Board: https://www2.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/ConstructionComplaint/ComplaintFormProcess.aspx

read more

destiny | Haverstraw, NY | 12/09/2021

dont do it find a different provider

Ive just about had enough of this company and their lack and compassion with customer service. I expressed my concern with a roof leak 2 months ago, solar panels are damaging my entire roof, ive called customer service over 20 times. Sent emails and no response. Bobby S. "In charge of my case" and he supposivly scheduled a tech to come to my house on 11/24 between 8am-11am a tech supposivly arrived at 7am did not knock did not call, and since then i havent heard shit from anyone. I literally want to climb up to my roof and personally hammer these solar panels off my house. This is a nightmare.

read more

Rich Mercado | Brookfield, CT | 12/02/2021

Terrible Customer Service

Have been billed for usage service since August 20. System was not turned on until end of October. Bank account was charged for usage while the system was not on and for the last month have been trying to get credits. Customer service horrible. They claim an investigation report is prepared to make the adjustments and I will hear from them. This was a month ago and still on December 2 my account shows no billing information. When I call up again no one knows anything. All I get from them are request for customer satisfaction survey which I complete as being poor!

read more

Raymond McCaslin | Bakersfield, CA | 11/04/2021

Want to remove panels

Installed solar panels April 2021. Quick install is the only thing that went well. End of June I am being told that PG&E is backed up. This is why we have not gone live just yet with the new panels. I reached out to PG knee and they said that at the beginning of June they reached back out via email to the contractor stating that the wrong forms were filed and Vivint has not responded. When we started this project we were 200 projected true-up and by the time we finished and we’re alive we were 900 projected true up. I called emailed requested management to reach back out to me to discuss and have never received any phone calls or email by any manager. Installed and April finally went live during August. 120 days to go live on solar miss the entire summer. And increased my true up almost $800. I requested to have the solar panels pulled off and no one would entertain my conversation or respond to emails.

read more

Kyle | West Hills, CA | 10/25/2021

Look Elsewhere

The communication with Vivint has been horrible. I’ve had my panels installed for over 17 weeks now and still NOT powered on. Our sales rep has ghosted us numerous times and no one seems to know what’s going on with our project…. Or care! Horrible follow up and extremely disappointing. NOT looking forward to being a customer once we’re powered on now that we’re stuck in this long term contract. The company needs to stop preying on new customers and focus on customer service for the accounts that you’ve already entered into contract with. I would NOT recommend Vivint to anyone and am disappointed that we were duped into thinking we’d be taken care of as customers.

read more

Frank B | Los Angeles, CA | 10/23/2021

If I could give it a Negative 30 I would

I'm simply appauld at the service with installations. I signed my contact March 17th 2021 and it is literally no Oct 22nd and my solar system is still not up!? I'm not blaming the sales people, they could only sell the service and products but the entire installation and service process! Complete BS and lack of communication. I have NO Idea how these yahoo's are still in business with the BS support they have. I know recently these two companies merged Vivint and Sunrun but Holy Crap what a sham! SUN RRRRRRRRUN away !!!

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

Utah - Lehi

1800 Ashton Blvd, Lehi UT, 84043

Utah - American Fork

584 E 1100 S, Suite #1, American Fork UT, 84003

Utah - Ogden

112 N 700 W, 4B Bay 1, Ogden UT, 84404

Utah - Lehi

3301 N Thanksgiving Way #500, Lehi UT, 84043

Loading...

Hawaii - Waipahu

94-496 Ukee St, Unit 101/201 Unit B, Waipahu HI, 96797

Loading...

Massachusetts - Chicopee

150 Padgette Street Unit A, Chicopee MA, 01022

Massachusetts - Taunton

695 Myles Standish Blvd, Taunton MA, 02780

Massachusetts - Marlborough

53 Brigham Street, Marlborough MA, 01752

Massachusetts - Woburn

29 Draper St #1, Woburn MA, 01801

Loading...

New Jersey - Mount Laurel

20 Roland Avenue, Mount Laurel NJ, 08054

New Jersey - Pine Brook

10 New Maple Avenue, Pine Brook NJ, 07058

New Jersey - Lakewood

687 Prospect St, unit 480, Lakewood NJ, 08701

New Jersey - Pleasantville

833 Mill Rd. Pleasantville, Pleasantville NJ, 08232

New Jersey - Sayreville

2400 Main Street, Sayreville NJ, 08872

New Jersey - Ewing Township

370 Sullivan Way, , NJ 08628, USA, Ewing Township NJ, 08628

Loading...

New York - Elmsford

3 Westchester Plaza, Elmsford NY, 10523

New York - Westbury

177 Cantiague Rock Rd, Westbury NY, 11590

New York - Albany

22 Kairnes Street, Albany NY, 12205

New York - Bohemia

1565 Ocean Avenue, Bohemia NY, 11716

New York - Westbury

177 Cantiague Rock Rd, Westbury NY, 11590

New York - Westbury

177 Cantiague Rock Rd, Westbury NY, 11590

Loading...

California - Santa Ana

1529 East McFadden Avenue, Santa Ana CA, 92705

California - Santa Fe Springs

9847 Pioneer Blvd, Santa Fe Springs CA, 90670

California - San Jose

1939 Hartog Dr, San Jose CA, 95131

California - Fresno

4704 North Sonora Lane #102, Fresno CA, 93722

California - Palmdale

38940 Trade Center Dr., Palmdale CA, 93551

California - Riverside

1111 E. Citrus St., unit 1, Riverside CA, 92507

California - Sacramento

920 Striker Avenue, Sacramento CA, 95834

California - Poway

12650 Brookprinter Way, Poway CA, 92064

California - Concord

5159 Commercial Circle, Concord CA, 94520

California - Chico

411 Otterson Dr., Ste 60, Chico CA, 95928

California - Camarillo

365 Camino Carillo, Camarillo CA, 93012

California - Bakersfield

2501 Union Ave, Suite D, Bakersfield CA, 93305

California - Stockton

614 Wilshire Ave, Ste A, Stockton CA, 95203

California - Redands

365 Iowa St, Redands CA, 92373

California - Chula Vista

2300 Boswell Rd, Chula Vista, CA 91914, USA, Chula Vista CA, 91914

California - Cathedral City

36605 Sunair Plaza, Cathedral City CA, 92234

California - Visalia

7249 W Goshen Ave, Visalia CA, 93291

California - San Jose

1939 Hartog Dr, San Jose CA, 95131

Loading...

New Hampshire - Londonderry

24 Orchardview Drive, Suite 3, Londonderry NH, 03053

Loading...

Rhode Island - Warwick

55 Jefferson Blvd Floor 2, Warwick RI, 02888

Loading...

Connecticut - North Haven

50 Devine St, Unit C, North Haven CT, 06473

Loading...

Virginia - Fairfax

10201 Fairfax Blvd Ste 490, Fairfax VA, 22030

Loading...

Maryland - Rosedale

8987 Yellow Brick Rd, Rosedale MD, 21237

Maryland - Delmar

503 S. Maryland Ave., Delmar MD, 21875

Maryland - Beltsville

12400 Kiln Court, Beltsville MD, 20705

Maryland - Waldorf

3455 Rockefeller Court, Waldorf MD, 20602

Loading...

Pennsylvania - Bristol

219 B Rittenhouse Circle, Bristol PA, 19007

Loading...

Florida - Tampa

14340 Carlson Cir Unit J5, Tampa FL, 33626

Florida - Orlando

515 Ferguson Dr, Ste C, Orlando FL, 32805

Florida - Orlando

515 Ferguson Dr Ste C, Orlando FL, 32805

Loading...

Illinois - Wheeling

70 Messner Dr, Wheeling IL, 60090

Loading...

Nevada - Las Vegas

7370 Dean Martin Dr Suite 405, Las Vegas NV, 89139

Loading...

New Mexico - Albuquerque

5600 Venice Ave NE, Albuquerque NM, 87113

Loading...

Arizona - Mesa

236 S Mulberry Ste 102, Mesa AZ, 85202

Service areas


Select state:

Contact Vivint Solar


Location pin
Head Office
3301 N Thanksgiving Way #500, Lehi UT, 84043
Website