ADT Solar (formerly Sunpro Solar)

Verified profile
Updated: 11 August 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2008

ADT Solar (formerly Sunpro Solar) logo

3.46 from 502 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Very Good

Rating breakdown

Featured media


ADT Solar (formerly Sunpro Solar) reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.0

Price as quoted

4.1

On schedule

3.7

Installation quality

4.0

After sales support

3.6

Latest good review thumbs up

Shawn | Cumming, Georgia | 08/14/2022

Great salesperson, needs install improvement, great components

Torian, our salesperson is amazing. We felt as though he loved what he sold, gave us useful information and communicated with us during the entire experience and beyond. The installation could have gone smoother in terms of timing steps but no hitches in the hardware and installation was very clean. We have been enthusiastically recommending Torian and ADT Solar to all our neighbours.

read more
1 comment >
Reply from ADT Solar (formerly Sunpro Solar): Hi Shawn, we’re so happy to hear you had a great experience with Torian. Your review made our day! Our whole team works very hard to keep our customers happy, but we can only do it thanks to amazing customers like you.

Latest bad review thumbs down

Dustin | Harrah, Oklahoma | 08/13/2022

Promises That Haven’t Been Met

We were told we would get a $1000 credit to offset the cost in the beginning. Signed up in March and have been running since the May install. Still no $1000 credit to our energy company. Left messages, asked the sales rep. No response from anyone but the sales rep who keeps “checking on it.” Also was promised we would produce enough to be energy independent by the time it catches up and produces power fully; we are barely producing half of what my home needs to operate even on full sunlight days. Now I have an extra bill on top of my energy bill. I’m only 3 months in and am regretting the next 10 years especially in the economy today.

read more
1 comment >
Reply from ADT Solar (formerly Sunpro Solar): Hi Dustin, can you please send in your contact information to our team at customersuccess@theprocompanies, our team will look into your credit.

All reviews

>
>

PNK | Roswell, New Mexico | 08/11/2022

Not honest with process did not honor terms in contract

ADT Solar 233 General Patton Ave, Mandeville, LA 70471-8701 (985) 882-7200 Signed solar contract on Dec 23th 2021 to avoid high energy prices in NM summer months. Was promised most contracts up an running in three months. Contract stated under six months. It is now August and I still do not have a date as to when solar instillation will be complete. ADT solar has not kept a single appointment made to do work on the system, rescheduling at least once, causing me to use two weeks of vacation time. Would never have signed up with them had I known this was the process, now bound to the contract of an indefinite instillation process because work has been initiated on the home. Three complaints have been made in the last month and each time I have been told that the project manager or their supervisor would call me and they have yet to do so.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from ADT Solar (formerly Sunpro Solar): Thank you for expressing your concerns with ADT Solar. Your feedback is a valuable source of information in improving our service to our customers. Can you please send your contact information to customersuccess@theprocompanies.com.

Dissatisfaction guaranteed | Rusk, Texas | 08/11/2022

No customer support

Worst investment I have ever made, and that's bad when they made a movie called boiler room about my investments. ADT solar has zero customer service and no response to poor performance of their solar installation. My system doesn't make anywhere near the rated production rate and they don't care, because they already sold the loan off to a branch of their company. They got paid and I got ripped off. Don't use ADT solar, that's all I can say.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from ADT Solar (formerly Sunpro Solar): Thank you for expressing your concerns with ADT Solar. Your feedback is a valuable source of information in improving our service to our customers. We would like to look into your project and make sure it is working as sold if you could please send your contact information to customersuccess@theprocompanies.com.

M Wilson | Litchfield Park, Arizona | 08/09/2022

Day 22 & still not finished

The worst part is they don’t return calls. They don’t show up on days they say they will be here and then arrive on other days forcing us to scramble to have someone provide access. Tore up the back yard even through on design phase we agreed on a different routing for lines. Roof looks crappy and their answer was “we guarantee no leaks for 10 years”. What good is that if they don’t return calls and I have to take to small claims court. Avoid this company. Ask you neighbors for referrals, don’t believe the sales guys because the ADT solar salesmen don’t have anything to do with you once you sign the contract and the operations team doesn’t even visit the site. They only look at pictures the contractors send, which of course are always from clever angles

read more

1 comment >
Reply from ADT Solar (formerly Sunpro Solar): Thank you for expressing your concerns with ADT Solar. Your feedback is a valuable source of information in improving our service to our customers. We would like to look further into your project if you could please send us your contact information to customersuccess@theprocompanies.com.

Alex | Pompano Beach, Florida | 08/09/2022

Incomplete install

I signed up with sunpro who is now adt solar; after 3 months of waiting on install. I finally got my schedule date in June. Team came and started to work, did electrical work, took short cuts. Avoiding upgrading outdated panel, which they committed to replacing. They also installed mounts and then advised we have no panels in stock. Leaving an incomplete job, after several complaints the only response, i got was sorry we are working to resubmit permits. Because we have to give you different brand of solar panels and redo electrical box. I was so upset, i said cancel my order. What i later go as a response, was sorry after we start the job you can not cancel. So i realized what was done, they installed items in inventory, to lock in the contracts. To ensure customers dont cancel. Seems like a shady practice, happening to many people. I’ve looked at reviews all over and consensus, are most people experiencing the same services. Today is august 9th 2022 and i sent emails to customer care, managers etc. no one is responding, yet i received notice on my credit report. They are billing the equipment not yet installed. At this point i hope taking my review, to the internet will get this addressed. Because im hoping to avoid a legal and potentially costly route.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from ADT Solar (formerly Sunpro Solar): Thank you for expressing your concerns with ADT Solar. Your feedback is a valuable source of information in improving our service to our customers. Can you please send in your contact information to customersuccess@theprocompanies.com.

Jeremy H. | Defuniak Springs, Florida | 08/08/2022

Finally!!! Actual customer service!

From the get go with their sales rep Brandon to the exchange of emails, texts and phone calls with their other reps was nothing but a good experience. They worked with my schedule, treated me like a person and even an old friend. They weren’t pushy. If the electric companies weren’t trying to take advantage of customers then these guys would not be doing so well. Every time I spoke with them, they treated me like I was family and like they truly cared about me and not my money. Stand up service and support!!! I would definitely recommend. If you’re not sure, just meet with them and you can get $25 for your time and more for referrals. It’s worth it!

read more

1 comment >
Reply from ADT Solar (formerly Sunpro Solar): When you come to ADT Solar you are family. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience, thanks for sharing it with the community.

Erin Raup | Universal City, Texas | 08/08/2022

Go Solar! But with another company

I highly recommend getting solar, but do not do it with ADT Solar. We signed our contract with them November 2nd 2021 and did not have an operational system until June 28th 2022 (almost 8 months later). They are overpriced and have terrible project managing within their various teams as I will outline below. We were told when we signed that we would have a working system in either January or February (within 4 months, as the average is typically 3 months), ours took 8 almost solely due to the mismanagement of our project by various ADT Solar staff. As mentioned, we signed 10/2/21 and then the solar panels and most of the electrical system was installed on 1/10/22. We were very happy on this day and thought we were about to be close to the finish line, but boy were we wrong. The first red flag happened on this day when our electrical system failed to get completed in one day. I went out to talk to the electricians at 4:30 pm to see if they needed anything and they told me they were almost finished. I looked out the window a little after 5 pm and see them drive off. I thought it was odd they didn't say anything to me before leaving but just assumed everything went smoothly since they had told me shortly before they were almost complete. It was not until a few days later that my project manager told me that they in fact had not completed the electrical work and did not have availability to come out and finish it until the 21st (11 days later). I was annoyed by the lack of communication and management on their part for not scheduling better (if you know you can't complete it in one day why would you not schedule two days?) but I was still hopeful at that point that I was one step closer to getting solar on my home. This is where it really starts to go downhill. A new set of electricians came out on the morning of the 21st. They were there for less than 10 minutes before they came knocking on my door again. They take me to the electrical panel and tell me that our electrical panel needs to get updated because the solar circuit breaker does not fit. I was speechless. We had TWO set of electricians come out BEFORE our system was installed in order to make the permit drawings. Then we had another set of electricians install our electrical on install day and somehow all 3 set of electricians missed that our panel needed to be upgraded. HOW does that happen? So now ADT Solar needed to resubmit our permit drawings with the upgraded panel noted. After being told it was "expedited" they did not actually resubmit our drawings for 11 days after the day we were told we need an upgrade. (For reference, I'm an architect so I know it shouldn't take 11 days to update drawings especially if it's "expedited"). The drawings were resubmitted on 2/1/22 and approved by CPS on 3/15. Our local jurisdiction approved them on 3/23. ADT Solar did not come out to finish the electrical work and update the electrical panel until 4/15. (3 WEEKS after it was approved. That's their expedited time? It had been over 5 months since we signed by this point). It took them another two business days to request inspection by the local jurisdiction (4/19) which was scheduled and approved on 4/26. At this point we are FINALLY starting to see light at the end of the tunnel. But of course, completing the project in under 6 months would just be too good to be true. On 5/9, I am told by our project manager that our CPS (electrical utility supplier) agreement had expired on APRIL 17th (3 weeks prior). Again, I am speechless. All I could think was, again, HOW did this happen? I was told by my project manager in MARCH that my project was likely not going to be completed until June. So, that tells me that they knew (or should have known??) that our agreement was going to expire and they needed to ask for an extension. I was told in March but ADT Solar staff decided to wait until 4/11 (less than a week before it expired on 4/17) to request an extension to CPS, even though previously (twice) it had taken over a month for CPS to approve and my project manager had continuously told me that CPS was backed up and that's why our project was going so slow. But sure, giving them less than a week to approve an extension sounds like enough time, right? Besides ADT Solar mismanaging my project yet again, they failed to communicate it with me. They waited 3 WEEKS after it had expired to tell me. They said they were waiting to hear whether it was approved or denied, which they got denied on 5/4 (still 3 business days before telling me). This is when I escalated my concerns to the higher up manger (I believe regional manager, Leslie) of the San Antonio area. I voiced all of the concerns I have listed above and she took a day to gather information on my case. She was professional, and told me that my project would be expedited (not the first time I heard that) and said that it was not the first time some of these issues had been raised to her. I knew there was nothing ADT Solar could do to speed up my process at that point, but I was hoping my concerns would be addressed so that future customers would not have a horrible experience like me (I've read other reviews, doesn't seem like much has changed). I was pretty much done with dealing with ADT Solar at this point. My project manager would send me updates every so often and give me an estimation of when something would be complete, but it was always two to three more weeks more than their estimation. ADT Solar resubmitted our drawings on 5/4 (the day it was denied, very quick for them) and it was approved, again, on 6/8. Our system was finally operational when commissioning was done on 6/28 (about 8 months from the start of the process). Honestly, it's a real bummer for me to write this horrible review. I work in the architecture/construction industry and am a huge advocate for going solar. I could probably pay off my system in just a couple years with their referral system if I actually recommended them, but unfortunately I can't do that based on my awful experience. We'll be getting solar on another house and will be staying far away from ADT Solar, I recommend you do the same.

read more

ChipD-Tpa | Tampa, Florida | 08/08/2022

Trying to get set for Service, like pulling teeth...

Up front, my original installing provider for my Enphase equipment is no longer in business. I worked with Enphase to select an installer in my area to cover warranty issues on my system. ADT Solar (Previously SunPro Solar) was assigned. First, it was a nightmare to get the correct installer assigned by Enphase, but was resolved. Now I get to ADT, explain the issue. Got to technical, they see my system issue (not producing, and I believe I know what the issue is, it happened before, and was melted wire at the junction box panel at the roof), however I can smell burned wire smell in my attic. First, now that ADT has my system view, I need to pay $150 for them to come out (I expected some charges / cost for this). So two days to get the agreement / invoice setup and docusigned, THEN they can send me to customer service. So my payment was cleared last Wednesday now (this is the following Monday) and still no callback from Customer Service to get on the schedule. According to the agents, it's about two weeks to get your first callback, and then up to when they could fit someone in, which could be several additional weeks. What it appears to me is that they are so focused on installing new ones, that anything existing is falling on the wayside, and has the lowest priority. The largest complaint is lack of calling back and updating me (call or email), and frankly I have had to do all the reaching out. Whatever happened to customer service? I hope this gets better, or I may have to go take a class on these systems resolutions and troubleshooting... This is why people want to do it themselves, you can't get anyone to respond these days...

read more

1 comment >
Reply from ADT Solar (formerly Sunpro Solar): Thank you for expressing your concerns with ADT Solar. Your feedback is a valuable source of information in improving our service to our customers. Our team would like to look into your project if you could please send us your contact information at customersuccess@theprocompanies.com.

Bryan Cox | Oak Hill, Ohio | 08/07/2022

Not impressed and unorganized

I had a great salesman to begin with, Derrick. I have a southern-facing roof in Ohio with no obstructions. Had everything installed in June (left nuts and bolts everywhere). After a terrible thunderstorm, the power went out. About 12 hours later, I noticed all my neighbor's power back on. So I checked my outside breaker (that has never tripped in 10 years) and it was tripped. I also discovered that they changed out my 200 amp breaker for a 175. So I told my salesman what was going on and that the breaker kept tripping every half hour or so. This caused my refrigerator and a tall freezer to get fried along with all the food. After a few more days of this (and talking to a head manager) they sent a crew out on a Sunday to put back a 200 amp. This was after I made them feel how hot my breaker was and it tripped while they were standing there luckily because they were telling me it would not do that. ADT stated on July 5th that they would send me a check for 800 dollars for compensation for the lost food and it would take 30 days to be issued out. I still have not received a check. So a few weeks ago they said I would need a whole panel upgrade on them to make my system sufficient. They said someone was coming out and he did, but he did not do anything major. I asked about what all he did and they stated he changed the breaker. He did not, it is still the 200 amp that was bought and put in in June. I was told last Tuesday, 7/2/2022, that they notified a foreman and were waiting for a response. I still have not heard back. I texted my salesman on Friday and still no word. In every encounter, I am usually not believed or there has not been communication between anyone involved in this organization. The gentlemen that were sent out on a Sunday were told my system was turned on and did not know what the problem was when sent. My system has never been turned on. I do not have PTO. At this point, it has just been a giant disappointment that has inconvenienced my family several times. It is weird to explain to my family that we did not have power after getting solar panels installed. I honestly have no faith my panel will be upgraded let alone my system getting to be used. Also, my first payment is due on the 21st. It is sad to ask for help for something that was promised and contractually owed. Reach out to me if someone knows how to help correct this before a ask my attorney about it. Bryan Cox usmcbryan@msn.com

read more

Chris | Sierra Vista, Arizona | 08/05/2022

Low pressure Sales, great experience

So far it has been a very positive experience. The sales team has been very responsive but low pressure. The install guys did a great job. My install took two days due to size and they were prompt and courteous. Waiting for electricians now and the permission to operate.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from ADT Solar (formerly Sunpro Solar): Hi Chris, we are so excited to hear from our wonderful customer's thank you for such a great review!

Vince & Melody Servello | Peoria, Arizona | 08/04/2022

Don't use ADT Solar!

Our panels were installed in November, right after we signed the contract. We were initially very pleased....but there they sat, and continue to sit. It's now August, and they are still only collecting dust, nothing more. We have been lied to repetitively. First the delay was with the city, until I called the city who had ZERO backlog and told us that ADT hadn't submitted complete paperwork several times over. That gets taken care of (finally,) and then they schedule us for the breaker work (that should have happened a long time ago.) I received assurance that it was on the schedule for 8/1 (only to be rescheduled to 8/3) and that the panels would be turned on within a few days of that work being done. And sure enough, an ADT employee was here but said our electric company was a no show and they would have to reschedule. Well, wouldn't you know it, another LIE. I called our electric company and they never had us on the schedule because our account is missing paperwork from ADT that they requested from them in MID-APRIL! If I wasn't chasing any of this down, I would be just be sitting here dumb to the fact that this should NEVER be taking this long. So much for not having pay crazy electric bills again during another AZ summer. I want these panels off my roof because we all know that if this is the kind of service I am getting now, I will never find a resolution is the system malfunctions. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT choose ADT Solar.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from ADT Solar (formerly Sunpro Solar): We are sorry about your appointment on 8/3 not going as planned. We have reached out to the management team to get an answer and make sure we get this taken care of for you.

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Energy audits

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

Energy monitoring

Tesla Powerwall sales and installations

Roof replacement - Shingles

Roof replacement - Metal roofs

Enphase Storage

About ADT Solar (formerly Sunpro Solar)


ADT Solar has a proven history and reputation for providing quality service and was ranked #2 for 2021 Solar Power World Magazine's Top Solar Rooftop Contractors nationwide.

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

Louisiana - Mandeville

22171 MCH Road, Mandeville LA, 70471

Louisiana - Covington

128 Northpark Blvd, Covington LA, 70433

Loading...

Texas - Houston

7614 Bluff Point Dr., Houston TX, 77086

Texas - El Paso

11540 Pellicano Dr Suite A, El Paso TX, 79936

Texas - San Antonio

17245 Jones Maltsberger Rd, San Antonio TX, 78247

Texas - Dallas

2035 Royal Ln Suite 205, Dallas TX, 75229

Texas - Brownsville

1350 El Jardin Heights Rd., Brownsville TX, 78526

Texas - Corpus Christi

3649 Leopard Street Suite 304, Corpus Christi TX, 78408

Texas - Harlingen

4951 E Harrison Ave 78550, Harlingen TX, 78550

Texas - Lubbock

5614 126th Street Building A1, Lubbock TX, 79424

Texas - Austin

7600 Chevy Chase Dr. Suite 300, Austin TX, 78752

Loading...

Mississippi - Gulfport

12435 Plunkett Road, Gulfport MS, 39503

Loading...

Florida - Tampa

4492 Eagle Falls Place, Tampa FL, 33619

Florida - Orlando

1800 Pembrook Drive Suite 300, Orlando FL, 32810

Florida - Niceville

108 Kelly Rd, Niceville FL, 32578

Florida - Miramar

3350 SW 148th Avenue Suite 110, Miramar FL, 33027

Florida - Tallahassee

113 South Monroe Street Floor 1, Tallahassee FL, 32301

Florida - Jacksonville

6602 Executive Park Ct N Suite 207-208, Jacksonville FL, 32216

Florida - Cape Coral

1306 SE 46th Lane, Cape Coral FL, 33904

Loading...

Tennessee - Memphis

3975 Vantech Drive Suite 7, Memphis TN, 38115

Loading...

Arkansas - North Little Rock

8007 Counts Massie Rd. Building 2, North Little Rock AR, 72113

Arkansas - Springdale

1003 Century Street, Springdale AR, 72762

Loading...

New Mexico - Albuquerque

5811 Midway Park Blvd NE Suite A, Albuquerque NM, 87109

Loading...

Oklahoma - Oklahoma City

801 SE 59th Street, Oklahoma City OK, 73129

Oklahoma - Tulsa

8211 East Regal Place, Tulsa OK, 74133

Loading...

South Carolina - Columbia

630 Blue Ridge Terrace, Columbia SC, 29203

South Carolina - Greenville

297 Garlington Road Unit E, Greenville SC, 29615

Loading...

Arizona - Tempe

1258 W Southern Avenue Suite 101-102, Tempe AZ, 85282

Loading...

Georgia - Lawrenceville

295 Maltbie St, Lawrenceville GA, 30046

Georgia - Pooler

78 Columbia Drive Units F&G, Pooler GA, 31322

Georgia - Valdosta

1647 Clay Rd, Valdosta GA, 31601

Georgia - Atlanta

3916 Tradeport Blvd. Suite 1011, Atlanta GA, 30354

Loading...

Iowa - Urbandale

4415-4417 NW Urbandale Drive, Urbandale IA, 50322

Loading...

Illinois - Elk Grove Village

1872 Brummel Avenue, Elk Grove Village IL, 60007

Illinois - Springfield

920 South Spring St. Suite 2300, Springfield IL, 62704

Illinois - Caseyville

8124 Bunkum Road Building C, Caseyville IL, 62232

Loading...

Kansas - Wichita

1927 S West Street Suite A, Wichita KS, 67213

Loading...

Missouri - Lee's Summit

200 NE Missouri Rd Ste. 200, Lee's Summit MO, 64086

Missouri - St. Louis

4625 Lindell Blvd Ste. 200, St. Louis MO, 63108

Missouri - Riverside

4350 NW Belgium Blvd Building 2, Riverside MO, 64150

Loading...

North Carolina - Cornelius

19109 West Catawba Ave. Ste. 200, Cornelius NC, 28031

North Carolina - Raleigh

2101 Westinghouse Blvd Units 107 & 108, Raleigh NC, 27604

Loading...

Nebraska - Omaha

11710 Stonegate Circle, Omaha NE, 68164

Loading...

Nevada - Las Vegas

1650 E Helm Ave Suite 100 & 200, Las Vegas NV, 89119

Loading...

Ohio - Columbus

4777 Roberts Road, Columbus OH, 43228

Loading...

Virginia - Ashland

11106 Air Park Road, Ashland VA, 23005

Loading...

California - Murrieta

38340 Innovation Ct Bldg G Suite 704-706, Murrieta CA, 92563

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association American Solar Energy Society Solar Power World

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Karl Wiant
PV-040218-015221

Licenses


AL LIC #34822, AL LIC #26342, AL GC LIC#34822, AR LIC #M-9565, AR LIC #0366250719, AZ LIC #ROC323436, CA LIC #1080382, CO LIC #ME.3000415, CO LIC #EC.0101777, FL LIC #EC13001242, FL LIC #CVC57068, GA GC LIC #GCCO006378, GA LIC #EN218028, GA LIC #GCQA00637

Contact ADT Solar (formerly Sunpro Solar)


Location pin
Head Office
128 Northpark Blvd, Covington LA, 70433