Lumina Solar

Verified profile
Updated: 15 November 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2018

Lumina Solar logo
Pre-Screened Solar Pro

Since 2019

4.91 from 267 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Elite

Rating breakdown

Featured media


Lumina Solar reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

5.0

Price as quoted

4.9

On schedule

4.9

Installation quality

4.9

After sales support

4.9

Latest good review thumbs up

Flora | Round Hill, Virginia | 11/16/2022

An excellent solar company

When we decided to look for a solar company to build and install a solar array on our farm, Lumina was our choice. They were excellent to work with - professional, friendly, experienced, and scheduled everything in a timely manner for our project, from getting all the required county permits to scheduling the final county inspections when the project was complete. They handled everything from start to finish. It was wonderful to work with their staff, and to know their always friendly customer service continues even today when we have questions or need their help. I would absolutely recommend them to anyone who wants a quality solar install.

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

mustafa | Gaithersburg, Maryland | 08/15/2022

Before and after the installation

Until they install the panels everything seemed good. When we had the first problem everything went bad. First of all they have some confusion about whom to contact. Omnidia, them, and enphase? They say they check your system all the time. THEY DONT. You have to be checking your system all the time as we figured out there was not data uploading for the last 2 days. They do not respond to phones and emails on the weekends. You contact enphase, they give you different answers which conflict each other. You contact omnidia they let you schedule a call for trouble shooting. meanwhile it has been 5 days already. Then Lumina emails you to schedule a site visit 13 days later. No response, no responsibility, no customer care

read more

All reviews

>
>

Himes | York Springs, Pennsylvania | 11/15/2022

Lumina solar was very professional and was easy to work with.

Philip Jordan our salesman was excellent with communicating and adjusting the price for our needs. He was always quick to reply with answers to our questions and if he didn't have the answer right away, he responded to let us know he was looking into it. The installation crew worked very effectively and efficiently. They cleaned up their work area well.

read more

Joe Abe | Lutherville Timonium, Maryland | 11/10/2022

Outstanding Service

My wife and I had a great experience working with Lumina Solar through the whole project life cycle. We had been wanting to go solar for some time. When we realized it was finally time to replace our roof, we were ready. Starting with the initial presentation by Kurt explaining why solar made sense and the steps involved, the actual project pretty much followed the laid out plan. I was particularly impressed by the software used to evaluate and design the solar arrays. We went with the roofer American Home Contractor who partnered with Lumina. This decision saved us money and also provided us with the option of applying a thermal sheet on our roof to improve our insulation and waterproofing barrier. The $0 down financing with Dividend Finance was a no brainer, especially when you apply for the tax credit to reduce the overall principal. The installation went very well and any hiccups in the approval process (which can be expected) were quickly resolved. Overall - an outstanding experience. We highly recommend Lumina Solar!

read more

Mike | West Chester, Pennsylvania | 11/09/2022

Professional and personal

From the beginning, Peter Hayes was informative, helpful, and answered my questions. I liked having the “sales” person as the project manager. My system was installed 3 months ago, made operational by Peco 2 months ago, and I received a communication today from Peter to check on how the system was working. I appreciate the professional, personal approach Lumina utilizes to serve their customers.

read more

Lauer | Easton, Pennsylvania | 11/07/2022

All Quality

I spoke to many companies once I decided to go solar at my house. Lumina Solar and their rep, Christopher Richardson made the decision easy. Lumina does it different and their knowledge, passion and experience shine through at every turn. From Christopher, the install team, to the post install communication has made the experience seamless and enjoyable. I'd be happy to discuss Lumina with anyone interested in going solar.

read more

Ermon Vandy | Rockville, Maryland | 10/31/2022

Great experience with Lumina Solar

Lunina Solar has a great system of giving you a primary contact person who is always available and can explain any of the procedures and answer all of your questions. Everyone I encountered was very professional - pleasant and competent. Things happened when they said they would, kind of amazing considering the sequencing and coordination involved. I highly recommend Lumina Solar.

read more

Samir Bhargava | Odenton, Maryland | 10/31/2022

Great company to take you Solar

Lumina Solar offered great service and helped us with our 'Going Solar Journey'. They have a highly professional team which definitely made the entire process smooth. It was great to work with Andrew Cimino. He was very responsive, patient and always available to answer questions during and after the installation. Thank you!

read more

Jaron | Jessup, Maryland | 10/29/2022

Worth the Wait

Man, this review was a long time coming, but the experience was definitely worth it. I'm not sure where to begin....I guess, at the beginning! I met Brian Buzzfeed (Buzz) on TikTok. He's The Solar Slayer. We bought a new house in December of 2021 that has no gas line and two HVAC units with heat pumps. So when my BGE bill for January was almost $600, I immediately started researching solar. We have a lot of roof space and the sun path over our house was ideal. Back to Buzz. I started following him on TikTok when I was in my research phase. He's an electrician/solar installer and his work is super clean and detailed. When I realized he was here in Maryland, I reached out to him and told him I'm in the market for solar. He told me he was an installer for Lumina and suggested I reach out to them and schedule an estimate. I had an estimate with one of the big national companies on Wednesday while my Lumina estimate was scheduled for Friday. When it came to knowledge, professionalism, and my confidence in their competence, it wasn't even close. Lumina was head and shoulders above them. I knew right away that they were the company I wanted to work with. I didn't know, however, that it would take 8 months for the project to be completed. Now, it definitely wasn't Lumina's fault. Through the inspection process we found out the previous owner (who was a contractor) cut several corners when building the addition and the roof wasn't structurally sound. So, we ended up having to replace the entire roof along with the trusses in an entire section and a ton of the plywood. Throughout the entire process, Lumina was communicative. I worked with Kurt Bradshaw and he was phenomenal. We talked at least weekly for 8 months and became friends in the process. Once everything was finally done, I discovered that the wait was worth it. I own a small business myself and Lumina operates the way that I strive to. They're informative, communicative, and professional. I absolutely cannot recommend them enough.

read more

Sonia Agrawal | Jessup, Maryland | 10/18/2022

We researched multiple solar companies and received estimates on solar panel installations. We found that Lumina Solar is neither the cheapest nor the most expensive. Its cost estimate sits somewhere in the middle but with higher cost comes better quality. For example, Lumina Solar uses micro inverters instead of solaredge, and better equipment that attaches the solar panels to the roof. We spoke with several other well known solar installation companies beside Lumina Solar and chose it for a variety of reasons. We were highly impressed with Andrew Cimino's presentation and knowledge as compared to solar consultants from other companies. He was very transparent and upfront. Most importantly, at no point in our interactions did he come off as a "pushy" salesperson. He provided all the information and gave us plenty of time before following up with us about our decision. We had several technical questions about the panels, inverters and the installation process. If he didn't have all the answers, he made sure to find those out after consulting with his technical team and provided detailed documents for us to review. Unlike other solar companies, Lumina Solar has an in-house installation crew which makes it responsible for any install related issues even several years after the installation. We have read plenty of online reviews from people complaining about installations done by third party installation crews hired by solar companies. Elayna Birch-Smith was very professional and performed a thorough pre-installation survey of the roof and the attic space to ensure a proper design of the solar panel system. We found Lumina Solar's installation crew experienced and adept in completing the task. They completed our installation in under 4 hours. Andrew kept us well informed about the process and steps from signing the contract to installation. Everything happened as per the schedule and plan. Pre-installation, Lumina Solar took care of all the permits and scheduling appointments with the electric company and the county inspectors. Post installation, Lumina Solar's team took care of all the paperwork required to receive the incentives. We are very happy with the install and service provided by Lumina Solar. Our system performance is excellent.

read more

Shawn O’Neill | Cochranville, Pennsylvania | 10/07/2022

Excellent Company / Excellent People

My solar journey started in October 2021. After interviewing several solar companies, I chose Lumina. The biggest reason for my choice was Philip Jordan. While interviewing other companies, I had a lot of questions for Phil. He was always a phone call away and he would take the time to explain why there may be differences between Lumina and another company I was interviewng. While going through the process of walking door-to-door in my neighborhood to gather signatures to update our by-laws, Phil came out one cold Saturday in January and walked with me. He was able to answer questions some of the homeowners had about solar. He has been by my side through this entire process. It took me 3 months of walking door-to-door to gather enough signatures for updating my HOA bylaws. It was a lot of work...but it has paid off. In late July, the HOA officially updated our bylaws for solar. Phil moved qickly to get the install scheduled. The install was completed in late August. The team that came out to do the install was an amazing group ...extremely knowledgable about their product, courteous, and easy to talk with. They were very efficient, instaling my panels in a little over four hours. They made sure I was comfortable with the work they completed and answered all of my questions before leaving my house. I cannot say enough about Phil, the team that completed my install and Lumina. The experience for me has been awesome! Great people...great team! Would definitely recommend Lumina to anyone looking to make the move to solar energy!

read more

Ryan | Perkasie, Pennsylvania | 10/05/2022

Wonderful Experience - Great Service

We were referred to Lumina by a neighbor who was very happy with their experience having solar panels installed and we can echo their sentiments. Philip was our first contact person with Lumina and he was incredibly helpful and super responsive throughout the whole process. He answered every question we had and offered info in a way that was very genuine and caring… often times responding within seconds! The install day was also extremely pleasant with the 5 workers who were here to install the system. They were all very friendly and we were able to chat and ask any questions we had throughout the day. I highly recommend Lumina if you’re looking for a trustworthy partner for installing solar!!

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

Energy monitoring

Tesla Powerwall sales and installations

Roofing - Minor repairs

Roof replacement - Shingles

Roof replacement - Metal roofs

Roof replacement - Tile roofs

Slate roofing - Repairs and roof replacement

Enphase Storage

About Lumina Solar


We believe there is an opportunity to build a new kind of solar company from the ground up, utilizing the lessons of the previous decade with the tools of today to build a premier solar installation business that will propel into the 2020’s and beyond. Our team of industry veterans are looking to create a new and better customer experience, that fully integrates technology and your energy reducing lifestyle. Lumina believes that solar is always the better choice, and we have the tools to help get you there.

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

Maryland - Baltimore

3600 Commerce Drive Suite 601, Baltimore MD, 21227

Loading...

Pennsylvania - Palm

1004 Gravel Pike, Palm PA, 18070

Loading...

Virginia - Fairfax

8280 Willow Oaks Corporate Drive Suite 600, Fairfax VA, 22031

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
David Brook
PV-110919-017449
NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Jeremiah Geib
032611-121
NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Steven Stahl
PV-031220-031341

Licenses


MHIC 107527-01

Contact Lumina Solar


Location pin
Head Office
3600 Commerce Drive Suite 601, Baltimore MD, 21227
Website