American Sentry Solar

Verified profile
Updated: 18 March 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2008

American Sentry Solar logo

4.82 from 167 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 0 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Unrated

American Sentry Solar reviews


3 stars

0

2 stars

0

1 star

0

4.82

Avg. rating

Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.7

Price as quoted

4.8

On schedule

4.8

Installation quality

4.7

After sales support

4.6

Latest good review thumbs up

James and Myrtle Willis | Newark, Delaware | 04/12/2022

Happy, Happy, Happy

My husband and I have debated over Solar for a while. When I saw an add for American Sentry Solar. Brad came to the house armed with all the answers to our questions. We did not want to rent panels, we wanted to purchase them. Brad was able to help us out with a new roof and critter guards as we have a ton of squirrels. The crews that came out to install the roof and solar panels were fantastic! They were respectful of my property and the clean up was beyond compare.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Dave | East Berlin, Pennsylvania | 03/18/2022

Excellent to work with - Not pushy like the others

We really wanted to go solar in our new home. We were very apprehensive after hearing from people how pushy some of the providers can be. However, Brad with American Sentry Solar was anything but. He arrived with data that he and his support team developed that offered a recommendation. He spent most of the time asking about our needs, different options, the weather, etc etc. It was only toward the end of our discussion that he went through the ownership model, cost, etc. He emphasized that although he would like a decision then, it was not required. He spent time discussing various financing options as well - a very complete package. We ended up asking for more panels than originally recommended to completely fill the back roof. The company kept us informed throughout the process. Now, just waiting for the electric company to show up with the meter !

read more

Michael | Clarksville, Maryland | 01/01/2022

Great Solar Company

I am extremely pleased with American Sentry Solar. So far, the whole process of going solar has been great. I did shop around to check prices and reviews and found American Sentry Solar to be the one for us. They are local, do their own work and use top quality panels. Those qualities were all high on my list. Brad was great. He has been with us every step of the way. He has made the process straight forward and manageable. He answered all my questions and if he did not know the answer, he would find it and get back to me in a timely manner. He has made it a stress-free process and I hope he can do so until we are 100%. Casey and his roofing team and electricians did a great job as well. They came on time and worked in a professional manner. They all introduced themselves which was nice (unfortunately I am terrible at remembering names). They were courteous and took care of my property. Just a really great group. So, as you can see, I am pleased, and I hope this will continue for the life of my panels. I do plan on getting more panels in the future and I know American Sentry Solar will be there for me when the time comes.

read more

Lantern | Silver Spring, MD | 11/26/2021

Streamlined Expertise

From start to finish, my experience as a residential customer with American Sentry Solar was first class. During the sales presentation, I was informed why ownership is preferred to lease options for a solar array. Additionally, the company presented themselves as the custodians of top-of-the-line product, installing LG panels with Enphase microinverters. The initial quoted price was above what I was willing to pay, when I was contacted a few months later with a significantly lowered "seasonal discount", I was compelled to purchase. From decision to installation, the experience has been amazing. I'd like to thank my installation team: Brian, Jake, David, and Josh who were in and out within 4 hours. The install was professional and the guys were well informed. Overall - 5/5!

read more

Kristina Goedeke | Pylesville, MD | 11/24/2021

Definitely using again!

We just had our 30 panel ground mount solar system installed. Brad, Gallon, Phil, Larry, Todd, Jake, and everyone else who helped get this installed was amazing. Everyone was professional, friendly, and respectful. As with any job there were hiccups along the way and this team of guys handled it swiftly! Thanks for putting up with all my calls and last minute changes! I look forward to using them again in the future!

read more

Strong Family | Edgewater, MD | 11/24/2021

Outstanding Quality

We have looked around for years for "the" solar company to use once we purchased a home and we found it. American Sentry Solar was far and beyond the best service, price and quality work we were looking for. We dealt with many others before and nothing came close. The moment we met spoke with Kelly on the phone we new this was looking good. Then we met Brad at our home appointment and he showed us everything with an outstanding presentation. Brad's customer service and approach was warm and inviting. Made it feel like we were just friends or family. My family and I recommend American Sentry Solar to anyone in the market or even curious. Just give them a hassle free appointment and you will be amazed. Thanks again, The Strong Family

read more

Carol Schwartz | Fallston, MD | 11/23/2021

Awesome experience

I thought that the process from sign up (with Brad Klipner) to 'power up' went well overall. Of course, there were some glitches to be ironed out but the staff kept me in the loop as to the how, what & why of it all. Everyone was professional & courteous. The company was able to work within my work schedule.

read more

Robert Dantzler | New Castle, DE | 11/08/2021

WONDERFUL TO WORK WITH!

American Sentry Solar installed 15 roof panels in Oct., 2021. We were very impressed with everyone we spoke to. Our salesman, Will Randow, explained clearly and completely all we needed to know about the process in order for us to make an informed decision. We never once felt like Will was trying to 'sell' us these panels. It was just the three of us sitting around the table and talking to each other. The price was very reasonable and budget-friendly. He spoke honestly with no B.S. That really stood out for us. The panels are also made in the USA, which we liked. We spoke to Adam (scheduler) to pick a day for installation. Installation day arrives and so do Casey (foreman) and his team of Matt, Jake and Josh. They were on time as promised. They worked well as a team and were very polite and respectful of our property and cleaned up after they were finished. We are already seeing some savings with the installation of the panels. We anticipate bigger savings during the Summer months when it will be sunnier.

read more

Dee Kauffman | Newark, Delaware | 10/04/2021

Easy solar install

American Solar Sentry is a reliable company I can trust. They have been in business many years, have top ratings in the solar industry, and use quality materials. On average the cost of going solar is no different than the cost of my electric bill. Once the panels are paid off the return on investment will be fantastic. What I appreciate most is that American Sentry Solar handles all the details including permits, financing, and installation. Aside from the initial consultation, all I had to do was schedule the surveying/planning, installation, and final inspection. All went off without a hitch and in just over a month I had solar and an app on my phone where I could track how much energy my panels were producing compared to how much I was consuming. It's a very cool app and I feel good about using a clean, renewable energy source which is friendly to our increasingly precious environment.

read more

New Lady | Dover, Delaware | 08/21/2021

Nice and courteous.

Not able to see any difference yet. Looking forward to their promise.

read more

SHRC | Converse, Texas | 08/13/2021

Good Solar Company

We chose them due to price and customer service. Very responsive by email. Upfront with what the process will look like and details.

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Roof replacement - Shingles

Enphase Storage

About American Sentry Solar


American Sentry Solar, a division of American Design and Build, has been helping Maryland, Delaware, Pennsylvania and Texas homeowners save with solar since 2009. Our team of solar experts are paired with the top roofing specialists in the business to offer homeowners a solar solution with the highest quality. American Sentry Solar/American Design & Build Quick Facts:

Founded in 1993 by current President Joe Tunney in Bel Air, Maryland Licensed by the Maryland Home Improvement Commission (#46549) A+ Member of the Better Business Bureau of Maryland – Torch Award Winner 2000 Top 500 Remodelers in the Country by Qualified Remodeler Magazine (#83 in 2007) 2004 Contractor of the Year – NARI Certified Master Remodeler – The Home Builders Association of Maryland CotY Showcase Award Winner

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

Maryland - Bel Air

221 Gateway Drive Suite G, Bel Air MD, 21014

Loading...

Texas - San Antonio

10873 Hillpoint, San Antonio TX, 78217

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association Solar Power World

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Gailan Wensil-Strow
PV-041214-003120

Licenses


#46549

Contact American Sentry Solar


Location pin
Head Office
221 Gateway Drive Suite G, Bel Air MD, 21014