American Sentry Solar

Verified profile
Updated: 13 September 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2008

American Sentry Solar logo

4.83 from 174 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Elite

Rating breakdown

American Sentry Solar reviews


3 stars

0

2 stars

0

1 star

0

4.83

Avg. rating

Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.8

Price as quoted

4.8

On schedule

4.8

Installation quality

4.7

After sales support

4.7

Latest good review thumbs up

Kendra Raab | Aberdeen, Maryland | 09/23/2022

Solar Panel Installed

I am very thankful American Design and Build and especially to Adam for answering my questions, to Brad and his team for the installation of my solar panels onto my roof. I was hesitate to install solar panels until an American Design and Build representative came to my home and showed me all aspects of solar panels, the incentives, costs, installation, etc. They did any outstanding job with the installation, they were thoughtful, courtesy and told me everything they were doing. In addition, they arrived at my home right on time and I was shocked they were done so quick. Thank You again to Brad and his teams.

read more

All reviews

>
>

McNutt | Conowingo, Maryland | 09/13/2022

Excellent Service

Excellent company to work with. Employees professional and friendly. Once started, system was completed quickly. Inspector was impressed that they went beyond what was required. Would recommend to family and friends.

read more

Will Hahn | Newark, Delaware | 08/25/2022

Huge Step, No Hassle!

We were of course nervous at this big idea, but my wife and I figured the savings and sustainability made it worth the uncertainty. Jerry Hopp did a splendid job explaining all aspects of this important move, and we felt very sure that we were doing the right thing. He made a lot of assurances, and we were prepared to have some of them not come true. But it all turned out just as he said. The audit inspection was smooth and flawless. The work crew was prompt, polite and quickly about their work. Each team member knew exactly what he needed to do and even our most skittish cats had no trouble when they came through! The job was done in only a few hours, and we can already see our roof panels are producing much of the power we used just yesterday. What a feeling! And as soon as the power company can attach a smart meter, that proportion is only going to rise. Nothing can completely take away the nervous tickles at doing something so important. But we are thrilled with the service, efficiency and friendliness of the staff at American Sentry.

read more

Mike D | Glen Arm, Maryland | 08/09/2022

American Sentry Solar 5 STARS

Our search for solar began in January. We compared about a dozen companies from the internet and contacts made at the Maryland Home and Garden Show held in March. American Sentry Solar was our clearcut choice. There were a variety of reasons. Brad, our sales representative, was outstanding. Other major factors were the price, the complete warranty on all aspects of the equipment and maintenance, and the attention to details by them. American Sentry Solar is a local Maryland company, which became increasingly important after dealing with out of state companies. Most of them didn't have their own installers, nor local representatives, nor in some cases, people who could speak clear English. One Pennsylvania company would not present a written contract (only verbal). One company was charging extra for trenching for our field mount. Several companies did not have good ratings on consumer review sites (that was also really important for us). During the installation workers talked with great respect about the company president, Joe. Other impressive comments were about the quality of the company and working conditions. All conversations were positive. There were no negative comments made about coworkers nor the company – none. Galen and Casey kept us informed about their work schedule for us. Twice I asked questions about “could they”. On both occasions my concern was addressed respectfully…whatever the customer wanted. Casey actually went above and beyond to check out safety caps for the end of girders when I asked.

read more

Ashley L | Joppa, Maryland | 07/26/2022

Live as of Today!

The process was made extremely smooth when working with American Sentry Solar. My panels are up and running as of today, and it is so exciting to literally see my solar energy accumulate with the app! Very excited to see my savings in the months and years to come!

read more

John Wharton | Middletown, Delaware | 07/21/2022

We found the right contractor!!

The process was seamless, we met with Brad at our home. He walked us through the whole process. He answered any questions we had and explained the solar systems they install. We decided on a ground base system. We couldn’t be happier with the system. From Heather in Financing to Gailan and his install crew. All professional folks, in my opinion American sentry solar is the best out there. I’m looking forward to our many years ahead.

read more

Kate B. | Wilmington, Delaware | 07/18/2022

Excellent & Smooth Service from Start to FInish

After reviewing multiple quotes, we decided on American Sentry Solar. Excellent choice! The service was top notch from start to finish. We were walked through the whole process as well as financing without the pressure of needing to sign on the dotted line right than and there. We were given the time to consider the information which was very much appreciated. Decided the next day to sign after 'sleeping on it'. No regrets. The whole process was smooth and the entire team was excellent. No questions were left unanswered. If friends or family consider going solar, we will definitely recommend American Sentry Solar.

read more

James and Myrtle Willis | Newark, Delaware | 04/12/2022

Happy, Happy, Happy

My husband and I have debated over Solar for a while. When I saw an add for American Sentry Solar. Brad came to the house armed with all the answers to our questions. We did not want to rent panels, we wanted to purchase them. Brad was able to help us out with a new roof and critter guards as we have a ton of squirrels. The crews that came out to install the roof and solar panels were fantastic! They were respectful of my property and the clean up was beyond compare.

read more

Dave | East Berlin, Pennsylvania | 03/18/2022

Excellent to work with - Not pushy like the others

We really wanted to go solar in our new home. We were very apprehensive after hearing from people how pushy some of the providers can be. However, Brad with American Sentry Solar was anything but. He arrived with data that he and his support team developed that offered a recommendation. He spent most of the time asking about our needs, different options, the weather, etc etc. It was only toward the end of our discussion that he went through the ownership model, cost, etc. He emphasized that although he would like a decision then, it was not required. He spent time discussing various financing options as well - a very complete package. We ended up asking for more panels than originally recommended to completely fill the back roof. The company kept us informed throughout the process. Now, just waiting for the electric company to show up with the meter !

read more

Michael | Clarksville, Maryland | 01/01/2022

Great Solar Company

I am extremely pleased with American Sentry Solar. So far, the whole process of going solar has been great. I did shop around to check prices and reviews and found American Sentry Solar to be the one for us. They are local, do their own work and use top quality panels. Those qualities were all high on my list. Brad was great. He has been with us every step of the way. He has made the process straight forward and manageable. He answered all my questions and if he did not know the answer, he would find it and get back to me in a timely manner. He has made it a stress-free process and I hope he can do so until we are 100%. Casey and his roofing team and electricians did a great job as well. They came on time and worked in a professional manner. They all introduced themselves which was nice (unfortunately I am terrible at remembering names). They were courteous and took care of my property. Just a really great group. So, as you can see, I am pleased, and I hope this will continue for the life of my panels. I do plan on getting more panels in the future and I know American Sentry Solar will be there for me when the time comes.

read more

Lantern | Silver Spring, MD | 11/26/2021

Streamlined Expertise

From start to finish, my experience as a residential customer with American Sentry Solar was first class. During the sales presentation, I was informed why ownership is preferred to lease options for a solar array. Additionally, the company presented themselves as the custodians of top-of-the-line product, installing LG panels with Enphase microinverters. The initial quoted price was above what I was willing to pay, when I was contacted a few months later with a significantly lowered "seasonal discount", I was compelled to purchase. From decision to installation, the experience has been amazing. I'd like to thank my installation team: Brian, Jake, David, and Josh who were in and out within 4 hours. The install was professional and the guys were well informed. Overall - 5/5!

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Roof replacement - Shingles

Enphase Storage

About American Sentry Solar


American Sentry Solar, a division of American Design and Build, has been helping Maryland, Delaware, Pennsylvania and Texas homeowners save with solar since 2009. Our team of solar experts are paired with the top roofing specialists in the business to offer homeowners a solar solution with the highest quality. American Sentry Solar/American Design & Build Quick Facts:

Founded in 1993 by current President Joe Tunney in Bel Air, Maryland Licensed by the Maryland Home Improvement Commission (#46549) A+ Member of the Better Business Bureau of Maryland – Torch Award Winner 2001 & 2021 Top 500 Remodelers in the Country by Qualified Remodeler Magazine (#83 in 2007) 2004 Contractor of the Year – NARI Certified Master Remodeler – The Home Builders Association of Maryland CotY Showcase Award Winner

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

Maryland - Bel Air

221 Gateway Drive Suite G, Bel Air MD, 21014

Loading...

Texas - San Antonio

10873 Hillpoint, San Antonio TX, 78217

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association Solar Power World

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Gailan Wensil-Strow
PV-041214-003120

Licenses


#46549

Contact American Sentry Solar


Location pin
Head Office
221 Gateway Drive Suite G, Bel Air MD, 21014