American Sentry Solar

Verified profile
Updated: 20 November 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2008

American Sentry Solar logo

4.84 from 178 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Elite

Rating breakdown

American Sentry Solar reviews


3 stars

0

2 stars

0

1 star

0

4.84

Avg. rating

Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.8

Price as quoted

4.8

On schedule

4.8

Installation quality

4.7

After sales support

4.7

Latest good review thumbs up

Mitchell Bennett | Joppa, Maryland | 12/31/2022

Customer Service

The team that came in to do my install was very kind and worked efficiently throughout the day. There was one electrical mishap that was not caught during the install. A neutral wire was cut to a lighting circuit. I called the project manager and they came right over the next day and fixed it. I am confident that if I ever need them for anything in the future, they will be there for us.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Chuck S. | Middletown, Delaware | 11/20/2022

Going solar has been easier than we had imagined!

Our experience with American Sentry Solar were surprisingly stress free! Honestly, when it comes to solar installations, I was skeptical solely due to hearing about a co-worker’s horror story about how an installation caused water leaks due to roof damage. Then there were the legal actions to hold the solar company responsible for damages. However, we are pleased to state this was by far NOT our experience. American Sentry Solar staff and technicians took care of all documentation to include completing the state grant paperwork, initiating the process for us to receive our Solar Renewable Energy Tax Credits (SERC), providing supporting documents for our HoA application, and requesting a new electrical interconnect meter from Delmarva Power. We had our consultation with a sales consultant, Jonathan, within a few weeks of scheduling the appointment. He was very polite and gave a good introduction about American Sentry Solar and the steps involved in their solar installation. The process began with a review of our electrical consumption to determine the panel configuration suitable to our situation. Next, we talked about cost, and quite surprisingly solar ownership is very doable once federal SERC tax credit and state grant funding are factored into the purchase. Completing an on-the-spot financial application was fast and easy. Even though we decided to pursue the solar installation, we were offered several days to review the provided documents about cost, materials, and the overall investment. A site inspection was performed by Gailan who explained what our installation would entail and answered all our questions. On the day of the installation, I had to work, but the solar foreman, Casey, explained what he and his team were to do, which took less than 4 hours to install 14 panels then run conduit and wiring through the attic into a junction box on the opposite outside wall from the house circuit pane. Throughout the installation they were very polite and respectfully. In fact, Casey took time to speak with me on the phone to answer any questions I had, particularly about how the panels were mounted to roof. I was surprised to hear they didn’t drill holes in the roof. Casey explained the mounting system and even provided a sample of a mounting bracket. The installation is finished and we are very pleased with the outcome. The panels blend in nicely with our roof shingles. The interesting part is we can monitor our electricity production via a phone application as well as what we are drawing in from the power company. Going solar has been easier than we had imagined! Chuck & Yvonne S.

read more

Stephanie | Catonsville, Maryland | 10/28/2022

Professional and Friendly

The company is very easy to work with. The salesperson, Brad, was very knowledgeable and able to answer all my questions before I made the decision to purchase. All of my interactions over the phone have been friendly. They even made the extra effort to make sure the subpanel in my garage was able to be used since I wanted the panels installed on the detached garage roof. The installation was done after only a few weeks from contract signing and was done very quickly and efficiently. Still waiting for BGE to do their inspection and switch the meter but I can't wait to start saving on my electric bill.

read more

Craig Moore | Chestertown, Maryland | 10/04/2022

Couldn't be happier. Brad, the salesman was very knowlegable and answered all of our questions. The installation was very professional. Their customer service is second to none. Highly recommend

read more

Kendra Raab | Aberdeen, Maryland | 09/23/2022

Solar Panel Installed

I am very thankful American Design and Build and especially to Adam for answering my questions, to Brad and his team for the installation of my solar panels onto my roof. I was hesitate to install solar panels until an American Design and Build representative came to my home and showed me all aspects of solar panels, the incentives, costs, installation, etc. They did any outstanding job with the installation, they were thoughtful, courtesy and told me everything they were doing. In addition, they arrived at my home right on time and I was shocked they were done so quick. Thank You again to Brad and his teams.

read more

McNutt | Conowingo, Maryland | 09/13/2022

Excellent Service

Excellent company to work with. Employees professional and friendly. Once started, system was completed quickly. Inspector was impressed that they went beyond what was required. Would recommend to family and friends.

read more

Will Hahn | Newark, Delaware | 08/25/2022

Huge Step, No Hassle!

We were of course nervous at this big idea, but my wife and I figured the savings and sustainability made it worth the uncertainty. Jerry Hopp did a splendid job explaining all aspects of this important move, and we felt very sure that we were doing the right thing. He made a lot of assurances, and we were prepared to have some of them not come true. But it all turned out just as he said. The audit inspection was smooth and flawless. The work crew was prompt, polite and quickly about their work. Each team member knew exactly what he needed to do and even our most skittish cats had no trouble when they came through! The job was done in only a few hours, and we can already see our roof panels are producing much of the power we used just yesterday. What a feeling! And as soon as the power company can attach a smart meter, that proportion is only going to rise. Nothing can completely take away the nervous tickles at doing something so important. But we are thrilled with the service, efficiency and friendliness of the staff at American Sentry.

read more

Mike D | Glen Arm, Maryland | 08/09/2022

American Sentry Solar 5 STARS

Our search for solar began in January. We compared about a dozen companies from the internet and contacts made at the Maryland Home and Garden Show held in March. American Sentry Solar was our clearcut choice. There were a variety of reasons. Brad, our sales representative, was outstanding. Other major factors were the price, the complete warranty on all aspects of the equipment and maintenance, and the attention to details by them. American Sentry Solar is a local Maryland company, which became increasingly important after dealing with out of state companies. Most of them didn't have their own installers, nor local representatives, nor in some cases, people who could speak clear English. One Pennsylvania company would not present a written contract (only verbal). One company was charging extra for trenching for our field mount. Several companies did not have good ratings on consumer review sites (that was also really important for us). During the installation workers talked with great respect about the company president, Joe. Other impressive comments were about the quality of the company and working conditions. All conversations were positive. There were no negative comments made about coworkers nor the company – none. Galen and Casey kept us informed about their work schedule for us. Twice I asked questions about “could they”. On both occasions my concern was addressed respectfully…whatever the customer wanted. Casey actually went above and beyond to check out safety caps for the end of girders when I asked.

read more

Ashley L | Joppa, Maryland | 07/26/2022

Live as of Today!

The process was made extremely smooth when working with American Sentry Solar. My panels are up and running as of today, and it is so exciting to literally see my solar energy accumulate with the app! Very excited to see my savings in the months and years to come!

read more

John Wharton | Middletown, Delaware | 07/21/2022

We found the right contractor!!

The process was seamless, we met with Brad at our home. He walked us through the whole process. He answered any questions we had and explained the solar systems they install. We decided on a ground base system. We couldn’t be happier with the system. From Heather in Financing to Gailan and his install crew. All professional folks, in my opinion American sentry solar is the best out there. I’m looking forward to our many years ahead.

read more

Kate B. | Wilmington, Delaware | 07/18/2022

Excellent & Smooth Service from Start to FInish

After reviewing multiple quotes, we decided on American Sentry Solar. Excellent choice! The service was top notch from start to finish. We were walked through the whole process as well as financing without the pressure of needing to sign on the dotted line right than and there. We were given the time to consider the information which was very much appreciated. Decided the next day to sign after 'sleeping on it'. No regrets. The whole process was smooth and the entire team was excellent. No questions were left unanswered. If friends or family consider going solar, we will definitely recommend American Sentry Solar.

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Roof replacement - Shingles

Enphase Storage

About American Sentry Solar


American Sentry Solar, a division of American Design and Build, has been helping Maryland, Delaware, Pennsylvania and Texas homeowners save with solar since 2009. Our team of solar experts are paired with the top roofing specialists in the business to offer homeowners a solar solution with the highest quality. American Sentry Solar/American Design & Build Quick Facts:

Founded in 1993 by current President Joe Tunney in Bel Air, Maryland Licensed by the Maryland Home Improvement Commission (#46549) A+ Member of the Better Business Bureau of Maryland – Torch Award Winner 2001 & 2021 Top 500 Remodelers in the Country by Qualified Remodeler Magazine (#83 in 2007) 2004 Contractor of the Year – NARI Certified Master Remodeler – The Home Builders Association of Maryland CotY Showcase Award Winner

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

Maryland - Bel Air

221 Gateway Drive Suite G, Bel Air MD, 21014

Loading...

Texas - San Antonio

10873 Hillpoint, San Antonio TX, 78217

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association Solar Power World

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Gailan Wensil-Strow
PV-041214-003120

Licenses


#46549

Contact American Sentry Solar


Location pin
Head Office
221 Gateway Drive Suite G, Bel Air MD, 21014