Greene Tech Renewable Energy

Verified profile
Updated: 21 February 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2008

Greene Tech Renewable Energy logo

4.75 from 65 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Very Good

Rating breakdown

Featured media


Greene Tech Renewable Energy reviews


3 stars

0

2 stars

0

1 star

0

4.75

Avg. rating

Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.8

Price as quoted

4.9

On schedule

4.8

Installation quality

4.8

After sales support

4.5

Latest good review thumbs up

Douglas Lake | Dandridge, Tennessee | 03/19/2022

Exceed expectations

Ian was super responsive and patient with me as I sent him questions about the 10k Solar Edge and LG Chem battery system he recommended. So it wasn't a surprise when he and his crew did a super professional job on the install and testing. What I didn't expect, though, was that I'd actually enjoy having Ian and his crew around! Great sense of humor and, based on the way he ran his crew and the way they responded to him, a very effective leader. Also, when supply chain issues arose he went out of his way to search for and locate a battery for my system when the originally-ordered battery was hung-up in transit. There's a lot of other specifics I could provide, but this says it all: I once caught him on the roof re-adjusting a whole row of panels to insure that they were in perfect visual alignment with the last panel he'd installed in that row. It has only been off by a small fraction of an inch.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Edward | Unicoi, Tennessee | 02/21/2022

OUTSTANDING!

Ian and his crew were professional, knowledgeable, courteous and seem to genuinely enjoy what they do. He kept us well informed with scheduling, delays (due to supply issues) and other pertinent solar information through his newsletters. Concerned that all those panels would look like it was too much, we were pleasantly surprised after they were installed and realized this was the right move for us. Looking forward to lower electric bills and backup when the power goes out. Highly recommended, both GTRE and solar!

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Greene Tech Renewable Energy: Thank you Edward!

Mia Z | Kingsport, Tennessee | 07/14/2021

Experienced, very knowledgeable and customer focused

When I started looking for a solar company to add solar to my house, my top requirements were experience and they also had to be knowledgeable enough to answer all of my detailed questions. There are several companies out there, but for this region, no one is better than Ian at GTRE! Ian took a lot of time to develop a proposal and answer all of my questions (and I had a lot!). I followed Ian during the installation and he was extremely knowledgeable with every aspect of the system. We are so happy with our system and can report $0 for our electric bill! During the summer we are building credits with our electric provider that we can use in months with less sun. So if you are looking for experience, knowledge and someone dedicated to their customers - I would encourage you to call Ian at GTRE!

read more

Rebecca White | Johnson City, Tennessee | 07/10/2021

5 Stars. Couldn't have asked for better.

Professional, honest, timely and knowledgeable. Really enjoyed the entire process.

read more

Yorrick of Greeneville TN | Greeneville, Tennessee | 01/15/2021

Superior experience, quality equipment and installation

Had received bids elsewhere which were unsuitable, one out of Knoxville sent up red flags, with immediate distrust/slimy...gave high bid, premium prices for install and equipment not up to my standards/requirements, and sales person was arrogant and high-pressure. Ian Huddleston with Greene Tech Renewable Energy was the exact opposite. First contact/meeting was impressed with knowledge, experience, presentation and bid/equipment to be obtained high quality, with excellent and professional bid for complete install. Performed solar audit on rooftop with proper software to evaluate and verify site suitability. Our install situation NOT typical...two 200 amp services were first updated to single 400 amp service meter/drop with two disconnects/service panels. Installation completed with high attention to detail, and thought given to final appearance and outcome. Ian's team's work is absolutely up to the high standards I hoped for and expected. There have been issues, but each one has been investigated, with contact made with SolarEdge support to ensure all is correct and to figure out how to rectify situation, and Ian has been responsive and out on site to make sure system performs as expected, despite the issues encountered. Even typical installs may have issues, ours being unique had unique problems that needed attention, and we have been extremely pleased with GTRE's desire to be sure we are happy with system, and they are happy with system, and that it is performing as it should be.

read more

Gail Farzanegan | Dandridge, Tennessee | 12/24/2020

The Best Solar Energy Company in TN

We spent several weeks investigating and interviewing several solar energy companies across TN from Nashville to Johnson City. After receiving quotes and a comparison of installation cost, we decided on Green Tech. It was one of the best decisions we could have made. The only negative is that we had to wait a couple of months for the install because of Ian’s injury. Frankly, we were so impressed with the quality of his work that we have scheduled him to install solar air conditioning for our home this spring. I just hope he can move us up on his busy schedule. schedule.

read more

Trevor F. | Newport, Tennessee | 09/28/2020

One of the most professional companies in East TN

I had GTRE out to do a 9.3KWh system with LG Chem Storage. GTRE was just great from quote to site survey to project completion, everything first class and professional. The state inspector had nothing but great things to say about their workmanship. From a customers point of view the install was super clean and they worked hard to address all of my cosmetic concerns.

read more

Tusculum Solar | Greeneville, Tennessee | 08/25/2020

Wonderful Experience

Ian was great. He and his team worked tirelessly in completing our project. He is the ultimate professional. We are so happy with our system. I would totally recommend GTRE for anyone's solar project.

read more

Cantarroso Farm | Erwin, Tennessee | 07/21/2020

Great to work with

Ian responded to our initial inquiry and to every question and concern throughout the process, which was protracted and complicated by multiple sites, TVA Green Power Provider application and USDA REAP grant application. He was patient and helpful at every step.

read more

Don Oakley | Tazewell, Tennessee | 03/09/2020

Knowledgeable, efficient, good communication, reasonably priced

This was a relatively large system (30 KW) grid tied with no batteries. Ninety seven panels on the main house and detached garage (linked). Ian kept me informed as to his schedule and when he would be here to do the work. The work proceeded smoothly, with no extras during the work, and the system immediately worked and passed inspection upon completion. Ian is fair and good for his word, in my experience. (I am a former home builder and civil engineer and respect good work).

read more

David | Morristown, Tennessee | 02/20/2020

Totally professional with craftsmanship.

I have been in precision manufacturing for my career and tend to be quite fussy about others doing work in my home. Greene Tech were the first and only solar installers I met with as I was immediately impressed with Ian the owner of Greene Tech. The system was quickly sized up and quoted and has been running flawlessly for four months. While I was very impressed with Ian the real brains of the operation seems to be the SolarEdge inverter. It is just simply amazing.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Greene Tech Renewable Energy: Thanks David! You are an awesome customer.

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Solar hot water sales and installations

Wind turbines

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

Energy monitoring

Residential solar - Off-grid systems

Sonnen battery sales and installations

Pika / Generac Energy Storage

LG Chem solar batteries

SolarEdge - StorEdge

About Greene Tech Renewable Energy


Solar PV, Sun Bandit® Solar Hot Water, Bergey and Bornay Wind Power, Solar Air Conditioning and Heating with HotSpot Energy and PowerSpout Microhydro. On or off grid, residential or commercial.

Battery system specialist referred by Outback Power and LG Chem

We also offer system audits and array cleaning with our deionized water system. Will not damage panels and it's safe for the environment.

GTRE will give you a better top-tier, A-grade system at a better price- feel free to ask for references and read reviews from our very happy customers!

Info on the Sun Bandit solar PV water heating system- http://www.sunbandit.us/ The most innovative way to heat water since fire! We can also Retro-Fit your existing electric water with Sun Bandit technology and take your water heating off the grid!

Info on Solar Powered Air Conditioning/Heat Pump- https://www.hotspotenergy.com/ Heat or cool your home using the clean, renewable energy of the sun!

Licensed Electrician, OSHA and NABCEP Certified PV Installation Professional. Fully insured.

Office locations


Loading...

Tennessee - Johnson City

410 Princeton Road (Warehouse Location NO MAIL), Johnson City TN, 37601

Tennessee - Johnson City

530 East Main Street Unit 2226, Johnson City TN, 37601

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Ian Huddleston
PV-041115-010730

Contact Greene Tech Renewable Energy


Location pin
Head Office
530 East Main Street Unit 2226, Johnson City TN, 37601