Barnes Solar

Claim my profile
Updated: 19 March 2020
Installer

Installing solar since 2009

Barnes Solar logo

4.53 from 24 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

Barnes Solar reviews


4 stars

0

3 stars

0

2 stars

0

1 star

0

4.53

Avg. rating

Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

5.0

Price as quoted

5.0

On schedule

5.0

Installation quality

4.8

After sales support

4.5

Latest good review thumbs up

Joseph B | Ladera Ranch, California | 08/31/2020

Solaria Excellence!

After shopping for a solar system for four months, I finally settled on Solaria panels for my home. I did some research & located a local installer. But their quote didn't make sense and I decided not to use them. I wrote to Solaria corporate office and indicated I really liked their panels but needed to locate a honest reputable company in my area. They provided three recommendations (none were the company I had already engaged) & one was Barnes Solar. I spoke to Mike at Barnes and I knew I had a winner. Truth be told, I am a tough consumer and I do my homework. I don't like the "used car salesmen" approach used by so many solar companies. Mike was none of it. Anyhow, I received an acceptable quote & did the deal. Barnes did everything they said they would do. Signed a contract on June 11. My association provided the green light on July 8. Barnes scheduled installation on July 15-16. The county inspection completed on July 16. PTO was granted by SDG&E on July 20. Doesn't get much better. I highly recommend Barnes Solar & you will see why the have a perfect 5 star reputation.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Ladera Ranch | Ladera Ranch, California | 03/19/2020

Extremely happy with Barnes Solar

I waited to write this review because I wanted to have enough time with the system to write a fair review. We have now been installed about 9 months and we are extremely happy with our choice to go with Barnes Solar. They were professional, responsive and fair. Initially, we were leaning toward another vendor, but after talking to neighbors we researched Barnes and decided to go with them. It was a great decision. Throughout the process, our project manager worked hand-in-hand with us. Even several months after installation, when I contacted him for copies of paperwork, he immediately replied and provided the materials. I would highly recommend Barnes Solar.

read more

Bob | Long Beach, California | 09/14/2019

A Great Choice

We contacted a few Solar installers, gave them a spreadsheet of the last few years of our electrical consumption by month and had them over to give us their thoughts and cost proposal. Prices were close, but Jake from Barnes was especially clear, patient and even offered to take a quick look at the roof. Jake's pricing was good and he came prepared with 2 proposals, 1 based on our recent use including a new EV and 1 that would be enough for a future 2nd electric car. We agreed to move forward with Barnes, including a new 125A subpanel. The Barnes crew was friendly and clean. Jake was very interactive with e-mail and a couple phone calls. The only negative was the time it took for our city to issue the permit, and as a city employee I know that was true. Bottom line - We had a great experience and recommend Barnes (and Jake) without reservation.

read more

Trish Scott | Auburn, New York | 07/19/2019

No ones perfect?! I beg to differ!

Ever hear the oft-used phrase, " No one's perfect"? Well, count that as a myth now. Following much research, and several bids, ( AND one scorching summer/fall with electric bills soaring into the $500's even with thermostat at 80), we settled with the company who not only used aerial google photos, but "old school style", actually put a guy on the roof to check the way the sun hit the roof in consideration of our giant shade trees; human sundial fashion; Ricky reset the " typical" position to an array that would bring the best benefit specific for our site. Ricky also advised not over buying panels and his calculations have proven near exact. (This guy's good!) We had a bit extra produced energy, received a small check from Edison, so easily added a Tesla. Still covered. Yep, Barnes Solar sent the best, most professional squad to install the new system, electric panel, as well as the most recent addition, a Tesla charger much thanks to Jose who set that up, with exceptional skill, cleanup and professionalism. Jake, was great to work with, in keeping us on the schedule. This company IS perfect! You can take THAT to the bank.... unless you haven't gotten your solar from Barnes Solar that is!”

read more

Cari Stone | Ladera Ranch, California | 07/17/2019

Extreemely Pleased with Barnes Solar Experience

After 9 months of exploring solar options with larger, nationwide solar companies with terrible customer service, non-transparent pricing, and a complete lack or urgency, we found Barnes through a neighborhood referral. I am so lucky we did. The entire process start to finish took one month, everyone we interacted with at the company was honest, the pricing was fair, and the installation crew was courteous and quick

read more

Haresh P | RSM, CA | 04/03/2019

Five star- very happy

I had 3 quotes (Tesla, Sunpower and Barnes Solar). Finally, I selected local company Barnes solar due to their response time, transparency, 25yr warranty on equipment+ service , quote and guarantee to finish work on given quote (if extra , they will pay as my budget is fixed) . Their Service and my experience from start to end was great. I worked with Jack at Barnes Solar. They took care my HOA, city ,SCE form and approvals OR in other word, they took care everything. Workmanship of crew and electrical personnel was better than I expected. Very friendly , professional and honest in communication. They made suggestions from experience for all equipment location/ plan and where to run electric pipes which I changed a bit and approved. Due to my electric panel didn’t had enough space for wiring, they added one more medium size electrical panel (took 5-6hr to install + equipment cost) (which was not planned or was not included in quote), They installed it at no cost due to prior agreement. I will definitely recommend them to all my friends and family.

read more

Kamron | 03/22/2019

Easy to work with

This was one of the best encounters with residential contractors that I have experienced. Mike was super courteous and timely and follow up was professional. Installation went smooth and my electrical bills are almost nothing. Great service, great product, and great people.

read more

SLLM | 03/22/2019

Laguna Niguel Install

Great Service, Pricing, and Install. Did a great job with everything. Would recommend Mike and Ricky without question. Actually recommended to friends already and they signed contracts already.

read more

Happy in ladera | Ladera Ranch , CA | 08/05/2018

Ladera Ranch install

Jake was a great . The company is full of engineers first and not sales guys. That's what I loved they just tell you everything and answer all your questions. Perfect sizing. We have been up for a year and we had a 25 dollar balance for the year.

read more

Coldfrankie3 | Twentynine Palms, California | 05/18/2018

Excellent Experience

I was in the market for solar panels and Barnes Solar was recommended to me from a friend. Pete was highly professional and took the time to answer any and all questions I had and even presented me with answers to questions I didn't know to ask. Other companies sent salesmen to sell me solar with continuous follow-ups, but working with Pete there was no pressure. Would highly recommend them for future projects and other home owning coworkers.

read more

Jenna P | Ladera Ranch, California | 05/16/2018

Great company and highly recommend them

Jake was great to work with. Barnes Solar has done 2 of our homes and did a great job. They are clean, efficient, professional and fast. They communicate the entire time and do just about 100% of the work. All we had to do was turn the switch on. There's even an app where you can track your energy usage. Great company and highly recommend them.

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

About Barnes Solar


Barnes Solar is a local, family owned business that has been installing solar throughout Southern California since 2009. The company has found success thanks to its commitment to high-quality installations, efficient installation timelines, hands-on customer service and fair pricing. Barnes is dedicated to making sure the job is done quickly and correctly and that the homeowner feels they are receiving the benefits they were promised.

Office locations


Loading...

California - Lake Forest

23201 Orange Avenue, Lake Forest CA, 92630

Service areas


Select state:

License


CSLB License #943909

Contact Barnes Solar


Location pin
Head Office
23201 Orange Avenue, Lake Forest CA, 92630
Website