YSG Solar

Verified profile
Updated: 05 July 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2010

YSG Solar logo

4.31 from 125 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Good

Rating breakdown

Featured media


YSG Solar reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.7

Price as quoted

4.7

On schedule

4.5

Installation quality

4.6

After sales support

4.4

Latest good review thumbs up

ConEd-Pays-Me | Staten Island, New York | 07/15/2022

YSG Delivered a top knotch install

My wife and I went back and forth for probably a good 3 years before holding our breath and finally pulling the trigger on solar. We were inspired by the uncertainty of the pandemic, as well as getting very close (too close for comfort.....) to retirement age and wanting one less bill to worry about. We also wanted to take advantage of the Fed/State incentives before our tax liabilities disappear almost entirely. We ended up meeting Ken from YSG at a trade show last Spring and went back and forth with a few proposals before deciding on a system that gave us a little extra wiggle room if we add some appliances later on. Ken was able to have our roof measured remotely and give us the proposal via phone/email. This was important to my wife as she never wants to say no to anyone's face, lol. Luckily, we decided to say yes and signed a contract in Oct 2021. By the second week in November our 8.2kw system was installed, and connected to Con Ed by the second week in December. I wanted to wait until the summer production months to leave a review and am happy to report that my Con Ed bill has a substantial energy bank of KWH credits even this early into summer. We are extremely satisfied, the process was smooth/transparent and all I wish was that we did it sooner. I was also happy that we chose one of the smaller companies, although response time can be 12 hours longer than a company with a big call center, I also know I can speak directly with a human being who knows the details of my project. Would recommend YSG to friends.

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

SANDOR | Jamaica, New York | 07/14/2022

YSG SOLAR - NO LIVECONTACTS AVAILABLE BY TELEPHONE

YOU MAY LIVE A MESSAGE TODAY ... DONT HOLLD YOUR BREATH FOR THEIR ANSWER OR CALL BACK OUR SYSTEM IS DOWNN SINCE 07-14-2022 LEFT MRSSAGES.. GUES ... RIGHT - WE;LL RETURN CALL IN 24 HRS ...

read more

All reviews

>
>

Howard F | Tarrytown, New York | 07/05/2022

Poor Excuses for non performance

At first everything seemed to be going well and signed a contract on 12/15/22. I liked the proposal and the design it was of a better quality then others. The building permit was initially filed in March 2022. The Greenburgh building department asked for some more details in the drawing. I was told 1 month later that the permit was applied for again. After over a month, YSG did not know what the status of the permit was. I checked with the building department, and was told no permit was filed. I asked YSG what the was going on, and they said the business was acquired by Alpha Solar Group and the documents got lost in the shuffle and it would be taken care of right away. Two weeks later, I was told my installation date would be in 1 month on July 27th. The next day I checked again with the building department, and found that no permit was filed. I was told that they had an insurance issue, and would not bed able to file a permit for 30 to 45 days. On June 30th I spoke to the sales rep, Ken Decicco, and notified him that I am cancelling the contract for non performance, and requested a full refund. I also notified Chelsea at operations, requesting delivery notices and return receipts, neither of which were received. I paid YSG $11724 and have nothing for it.

read more

SolarJack | Brooklyn, New York | 06/23/2022

Poor Support After The Sale

The installation of my system went smoothly. The electrical inspection took a few tries, but it went through. The final sign-off by the Dept of Buildings took over 3 years of repeated calls and inquiries. Delay seemed to be due to an issue between YSG and their expediter. It was unclear to me why I had to be so involved. Big problem has been that my electric production has averaged only 55% of what YSG's proposal predicted. Before I signed on with them, YSG assured me they would be there to help resolve any issues after the sale. They told me their production estimates were conservative so as not to disappoint customers. But this customer has been disappointed. And YSG has completely ignored my repeated calls, emails, and letters asking for help in trying to figure out why the production is so low. I would not recommend YSG.

read more

DarylDavid | Mount Vernon, New York | 04/28/2022

Please with quality of work !

Worked with sales rep. Ken .Pleased with service and quality of installation .

read more

Leonn | Brooklyn, NY | 11/18/2021

YSG Solar

I’ve compared four different solar companies from the start, finally I decided to have YSG as my solar energy saving company. YSG have professional staffs that setting up everything for me from scratch to the completion! Everything thing was so smooth, I am waiting for the final inspection, even though it was a little bit long for the inspection! But their service is very good ! I would highly recommend!

read more

Gary | Staten Island, NY | 11/15/2021

Nice service throughout the process

We are very satisfied with the overall experience with YSG. Ken and team was very professional to walk us through the process every step of the way. Installation crew knows what they are doing and get everything installed within a day.

read more

Mahesh Shah | New Hyde Park, New York | 09/08/2021

Great experience & Professional

We had a great experience with YSG solar! Would highly recommend them to any friends/family that are looking for the same. Work for us was quick, effortless, and pain free as possible compared to other horror stories we have heard from other vendors.

read more

Brett | Farmingdale, New York | 09/03/2021

I have had my solar now 10 years and I have never had a problem

A referral from a close friend gave me Dave’s number

read more

jff | Flushing, New York | 09/03/2021

System is up and running with out problems.

System is up and running with out problems. In 8 months I'm about 800KwHs ahead. The cost was reasonable and they were willing to do a flat roof which many other companies were not. It took a while to get installed and get con-ed approval but I'm sure covid did not help with that. As to the bad reviews - Check everything out as much as you can just keep on top of everything/everyone and you should be OK.

read more

Robert Scotto | Glen Cove, New York | 09/02/2021

How a company should be!

Professional and courteous. Made the process easy. From permits to install and follow up this company knows what their doing. Was very happy with their sales, install and customer service staff! Highly reccomended!

read more

PeruVian | Staten Island, New York | 08/24/2021

DO NOT USE.

Find another solar company! I’ve had YSG panels for about 5 years. My electric bill went down approx $50 in the winter months. And INCREASES every summer. When I call (3 times a year) for an explanation, or to UNDERSTAND what is going wrong I’m spoken to like “a crazy lady”. But when my husband calls it’s all “yes sir, no sir, we will figure it out sir” Only then to have no one return calls. This company is run like a frat house.

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

Utility scale solar sales and installation

About YSG Solar


Highest quality equipment, Top rated customer service and best price. -Flexible payment options so you can own your solar panels. -25 year parts,labor and power production guarantee. -Quality equipment from manufactures with over 35 years of experience. -No paperwork required, our processing department makes solar simple. -A+ Rating with the BBB. -Over 1,000 Installations Completed. -No hidden fees or charges.

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

New York - Westbury

401 Railroad Avenue, Westbury NY, 11590

New York - New York

79 Madison Avenue 2nd Floor, New York NY, 10016

New York - Williamsville

300 International Drive Suite 100, Williamsville NY, 14221

Loading...

California - San Francisco

1161 Mission Street, San Francisco CA, 94102

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association American Solar Energy Society Contractor Check Solar Electric Power Association Solar Power World UL Certification

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Man Kit Wu
PV-102216-003703

Licenses


NY General Contractor - 606125 N

Contact YSG Solar


Location pin
Head Office
401 Railroad Avenue, Westbury NY, 11590
Website
Website
YSG Solar