EmPower Solar

Verified profile
Updated: 01 September 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2003

EmPower Solar logo

4.84 from 99 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Excellent

Rating breakdown

EmPower Solar reviews


3 stars

0

1 star

0

4.84

Avg. rating

Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.9

Price as quoted

4.8

On schedule

4.7

Installation quality

4.6

After sales support

4.5

Latest good review thumbs up

Isaac | Brooklyn, New York | 10/01/2022

Honest - a pleasure to do business with

These guys were great and I have no problem recommending them. They were very straightforward and direct during the sales process, walking me through several scenarios. The actual installation team was a pleasure to work with - the guys were courteous and, most important, careful. Three months in, the system is working as promised and seems to actually be producing a bit more power than expected.

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

Disappointed customer | Katonah, New York | 11/20/2019

Still incomplete, lengthy installation

9 months after signing the contract the installation is still not complete.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Anthony | Flushing, New York | 09/01/2022

Very professional and personable!

Everything went well with the installation. I really appreciate the communication, education, and support throughout the process. From deciding whether to go solar up to the installation process, I felt confident things were going to go well. As I am new to this, I hope I can continue to rely of Empower to assist me with questions and problems I have I have in the future. Matt, Alexandra, and Jared. Thank you guys! Anthony

read more

David R. | Levittown, New York | 08/10/2022

Great great experience

I really appreciate all the hard work by the entire Empower Team. It was a great smooth experience done by all. The install team was amazing, the electric team was phenomenal, Sales and Project management were outstanding.

read more

TR | Smithtown, New York | 07/08/2022

Extremely pleased with the whole process from start to finish. They were very thorough and professional. Made a number of visits to the house prior to install to make sure every thing was in order. All personnel we delt with were friendly and professional.

read more

J Clare | Bellmore, New York | 06/29/2022

Install in 2009, addon in 2022, using EMPOWER all the way

In 2009, I had 29 Sunpower panels installed by EmPower Solar in Island Park, NY - they have been overproducing for the last 13 years on the south side of the roof [I did this instead of buy a new car]. In 2022, I added 13 more panels to the north house roof, and the two systems are overproducing. I just love it. I was recently in New York City for a 4 day conference and used "mySunPower" app to monitor the system. All in all, still a great quality system and their service and support are great. I just had netting installed on my older 2009 system to stop birds from nesting underneath. When I chose EMPOWER in 2009 they were my 2nd choice of a company to do this work - BUT I AM so glad I bypassed my 1st choice and went with Empower - my 1st choice now forever!!!

read more

DebCan | Bellport, New York | 06/29/2022

117% Powered By The Sun! We Love This Company!!

We are so excited about our Empower Solar System. After years of prep work, investigating solar panel efficiency, and customer satisfaction reviews, we decided to go with Empower Solar. What a great company!! From beginning to end, the process was made easy by prompt informational emails, courteous and professional install teams, and a beautiful finished system. We are now 117% powered by the Sun! I can't recommend Empower enough!

read more

JCB | Miller Place, New York | 06/20/2022

Excellence

I was very pleased with the entire process. The communication all along was key and made us less worried about this whole experience. From Kyle our salesperson who was patient with all the details we requested, to Byron who did his best to move our installation date forward to accommodate our travel plans and finally to the crew who came to install the system for us. Darrell, Justin, Joey and Billy were very kind, respectful and professional. The only suggestion would be an improvement on the installation timeline and collaboration with town of brookhaven.

read more

SR | Brooklyn, New York | 04/29/2022

Outstanding experience

From start to finish, EmPower has been outstanding. Their sales team was polite, informative, and patient with me. They never pressured me into choosing their services. Once I signed the contract, they were patient with my timeline for installation. They proceeded to complete the paperwork and permits quickly. When I was ready for installation, they were again prompt and on time. They completed the project on our home in two days. The roofers were kind and informative, all while conducting very technically difficult work on our angled roof. We are excited to be up and running. I'd highly recommend this company to any prospective customers. A++.

read more

Dan and Jess | West Babylon, New York | 04/14/2022

Outstanding service from the get-go

Empower Solar was recommended to me by a former co-worker. We just got our system installed and commissioned yesterday, and we couldn't be happier with the entire process. The initial rep with whom we spoke was very considerate of our time and helpful with the design process. He wasn't pushy at all. We then worked through the design and permitting process, and we had a designated contact that reached out to us with updates. This is honestly one of the few companies that called US with updates rather than the other way around. We felt like we were in good hands the entire time. We then got a call to schedule the installation, which was projected to take 2 days. The installers were here ON TIME, were super congenial and friendly, and got the entire job done in just one day. We are thrilled with our system and can already see it producing more energy that we use throughout the day. We cannot recommend this company enough!!!

read more

Wallace Wang | Oakland Gardens, New York | 03/25/2022

Incredible Experience

Amazing Sunpower panels, world class service and outstanding experience. We initially installed 43 panels a year ago (1/2021) and then added an additional 12 panels several months later. We have generated so much energy and the savings keep coming. Kyle Solomon is the reason we started with Empower, and keep recommending it to our friends. Kyle was professional, knowledgeable and knew the product inside out. He was patient with all our detailed questions and provided much assurance that this investment was worth it. He was able to calculate the numbers and articulate the entire process in a way that anyone could understand. We never felt rushed or pressured when we talked to Kyle. He was extremely professional and we couldn't have ask for a better Sales Professional. Byron was extremely efficient and patient with us as well. He gave us systematic updates every 2 weeks and we felt he guided and hand-held us through the entire installation process. He got our plans approved by the DOB so expediently and our panels installed in such a short timeline. Byron then coordinated with Jared (who came to install). We then had Alexandra coordinate our 12 add-on panels; again Jared came to install. I wanted to thank you Empower and the staff we've dealt with for all the help they've provided from start to finish. There are a lot of solar companies out there and you guys made the experience as comfortable and reassuring as possible. And you were mindful with our request to get it installed ASAP. IF YOU'RE GOING TO INSTALL SOLAR PANELS- GET THEM ALL INSTALLED IN ONE SHOT. DON'T UNDERSHOOT THE NUMBER AND ADD PANELS LATER. The only criticism I can give is that when they came to install the additional 12 panels-- they put too many panels on 1 string so the breaker kept going off-- leaving us with days to weeks without production on multiple panels. It took 6 site visits over 3 months (May-July 2021) to trouble shoot out which string was overloaded and to fix the problem. Overall, we felt not only did we get the most reliable solar panels in the market; the buying/installing experience was equal in caliber to the reputation of the solar panels. You guys live up to the brand of Sunpower. Thanks again for the great great experience.

read more

KX | Plainview, New York | 03/09/2022

Fast process

The whole process is very fast. If I didn't change my plans with the project manager, I could have it installed it earlier.

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

Energy monitoring

About EmPower Solar


EmPower Solar develops, engineers, installs, and services solar and battery systems for residential and commercial clients. Since 2003, EmPower Solar has empowered thousands of New York homeowners and businesses with 35 megawatts of distributed solar. Its vision is to create a new energy paradigm powered by clean, renewable energy for a more prosperous, healthy, and civil world. The company culture is defined by the EmPowering Way, which results in consistent 5-star customer service reviews.

Office locations


Loading...

New York - Island Park

4589 Austin Blvd, Island Park NY, 11558

Service areas


Select state:

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association Solar Power World UL Certification

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
David Ezzo
PV-041214-004466
NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Joe Rice
PV-102216-010641

Licenses


H2409110000

H-50211

WC-25308-H12

Contact EmPower Solar


Location pin
Head Office
4589 Austin Blvd, Island Park NY, 11558
Website