Emerald Energy

Claim my profile
Updated: 01 September 2021
Installer

Installing solar since 2009

Emerald Energy logo

4.76 from 30 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

Emerald Energy reviews


4 stars

0

3 stars

0

2 stars

0

1 star

0

4.76

Avg. rating

Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

5.0

Price as quoted

5.0

On schedule

4.9

Installation quality

5.0

After sales support

5.0

Latest good review thumbs up

Ted | Morrisville, North Carolina | 09/01/2021

Highly recommend for your solar project.

A local company that cares about their work and the long-term success of my solar installation. Delivered exactly per their proposal on time also a very clean and tidy worksite, too.

read more

All reviews

>
>

DBear | Wilmington, North Carolina | 09/01/2021

Excellent Experience and Company

My residence is 2 plus hours from their office. The entire process was excellent with them from sales all the way through installation. Courteous, professional, knowledgeable, clean, timely, and communicative. We had to change plans a number of times through the process and they were always happy to help. Additionally we have had our system installed for 6 months now and had to file a warranty claim 1 time. They were quick to fix the issue and no issues at all. Would recommend to anyone.

read more

Matt | Cary, North Carolina | 08/31/2021

Courteous, professional and knowledgeable.

I’ve got nothing but good things to say about Emerald Energy. John was easy to get in touch with, fast to respond and kept me in the loop about a replacement part on order. While some companies need to be called multiple times to follow up on an order or job, Emerald Energy was proactive and handled the job quickly. They were courteous, professional, happy to answer my questions, and provided information in an easy-to-understand way.

read more

Jimmy Barnes | Moyock, North Carolina | 06/28/2021

Out-Standing all Around Experience

The best home investment we ever made. I just viewed our June electric bill. We actually sent more power to the electric grid than we used thanks to our Emerald Energy net metering solar system. Our bill was zero for electricity, however, $11.25 for taxes and fees, some things you just can't escape. John's crew traveled over 300 miles round-trip and installed the 36-panel system all in one day. Who does that! What a company! The guys worked like a well-oiled freight train. I was highly impressed by their demeanor, they never swore and always thanked each other upon receiving help or asking for materials sent up on the roof. A Top-notch professional, installation crew. I was concerned about possible hurricane winds, living near the OBX during the rail installation, Omar said, no problem he added an extra cross rail on the corner end at no additional charge. I researched solar products and companies for months before requesting 3 quotes. Emerald Energy was by far the best Price, selection of Products, and Reputation, hands down. If I text John or Thomas with a question about the Solar Edge dashboard (3rd party monitoring App) they always answer the same day. I believe in supporting a small business company that believes in integrity and customer service. They fit that bill hands down. I suggest you buy the best panels available and plan your system needs with Thomas and discuss future home upgrades you may have in mind i.e. power for an additional sunroom or that future EV charging station. If you ever sell, future home buyers will be paying top dollar for little or no electric bills.

read more

Travis P | Durham, North Carolina | 05/24/2021

We had a great solar installation experience with Emerald Energy

I'm extremely pleased that I picked Emerald Energy for our solar panel installation. They were responsive, completed the job as fast as the process would allow, and did it all without any drama. We are very happy with the end result. We decided to pull the trigger on going solar back in early March and by the middle of May we were up and running. I requested proposals via EnergySage and also contacted a few companies directly. When it was all said and done, I had collected proposals from 9 companies—mostly the usual suspects of NC installers but also a couple of national installers. After narrowing the field down to 3 NC installers, I formulated a list of system specs including a desire to have a system capable of producing 13,000 kWh per year 5 years after installation. All three companies did a great job of updating their proposals to meet my requirements, but Emerald Energy really did the best job of understanding my desires and putting together a great proposal. The team’s young guy, Thomas C, impressed me by figuring out that he could meet my request without even using the roof over the garage of our house. We ended up with a very tidy layout of panels filling up the main portion of our roof and keeping the street view of our house very attractive. When I told them that I thought orienting all the panels vertically would produce the best looking results, they took it to heart and I never had to remind them of that request again. In order to ensure the future production goal, they gave me a great price on today's best panel, REC Alpha Black. Not only did that allow for fewer panels, but that panel has a great specification for its yearly degradation. In other words, they met all my requests and did it for a really good price. The company president, John L, was involved in the whole process and I was especially happy that he visited my house in person. That really put Emerald in the best position to design the best system for our situation. John knocked out the city planning approval and HOA approval with ease. Having John involved so much in the process gave me confidence that everything was going to go smoothly. Our 2-day installation went smoothly thanks to Osmar and Jordan. I asked them to see if they could fit any more panels up their once they got up on my roof with tape measures, and I was glad when they found a spot for a 28th panel. Justin D got me though the inspection process and finalized with Duke Energy very quickly. When I expressed concern about a caulking gap, Justin climbed through the inner recesses of our attic and got made it right. I appreciate the time that Justin took to teach me about the system and describe the future upgrade options if we go for battery backup in the future. Emerald Energy did a great job installing our solar system and definitely earned our trust in each stage of the process.

read more

Neil Harding | Raleigh, North Carolina | 05/06/2021

Great Solar Company

I really enjoyed working with Emerald Energy. Their team is top notch and really pleasant to work with.

read more

Jim Glemming | Calabash, North Carolina | 04/17/2021

Going Solar? Emerald Energy has THE best system & pricing.

Great communications, pricing, warranty and workmanship. Not much one can add to that. Will be referring John [Emerald Energy] to any and everyone even slightly interested in a solar panel system for their home.

read more

Mark | Cary, North Carolina | 04/02/2021

Competitive Price, Good Service, Solid Materials

When we started considering rooftop PV solar, we got quotes from about 8-10 different providers in the area. Some tried to sell us on fairly useless add-ons (like a smart thermostat to replace our existing programmable thermostat that would have turned our 5-stage AC into a 2-stage AC). Others were more than twice Emerald's price for similar output. Emerald Energy provided a very competitive price and one of the best warranties (underwritten by Certainteed, which has been around for over a century). They offered a choice in panels, and we're so far very pleased with the LG panels we selected. The service was excellent as well: they listened to our needs and suggestions, upsized our inverter, and honored a lower price when a human error in a quote priced the wrong panels. The installation was smooth and they provided guidance for the Duke Energy rebate program that helped us secure a rebate. Overall we've been very pleased with the value.

read more

Latham | Winston Salem, North Carolina | 03/29/2021

Excellent Service

Justin was extremely easy to work with. He was very knowledgeable about the product and always available for questions. John gave me all of the information necessary, plus tips, to be approved for Duke Energy's Solar Rebate program. Both were there for me when i needed troubleshooting with Duke Energy! I highly recommend going with Emerald Energy for upgrading to solar panels.

read more

Kyle Smith | Raleigh, North Carolina | 03/29/2021

Excellent Service and Follow Up

Have been working with John and Emerald Energy for the last 4 years. They continue to give me the same level of great service regardless of the size of the work being done. Full Solar Install - Check Roof Replacement - Check Add more Capacity - Check (Extra Panels , Upgraded Inverter) Next Planning phase for home batteries and a level II car charger, working with me on the timing and the options.

read more

NathanM | Raleigh, North Carolina | 03/29/2021

Very easy to work with, always available and very proactive

Emerald Energy came recommended by a neighbor. I found them to be very open and informative up front, easy to work with and seemed to always be available for questions and issues. I was also impressed with the proactive outreach and advanced preparation to help me confirm eligibility and successfully apply for a big Duke Energy rebate.

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Small commercial solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

Energy monitoring

Residential solar - Off-grid systems

Utility scale solar sales and installation

EPC installation - Other solar sales companies

EPC installation - Hybrid solar systems

EPC installation - Off-grid systems

Tesla Powerwall sales and installations

Sonnen battery sales and installations

LG Chem solar batteries

SolarEdge - StorEdge

Roofing - Minor repairs

Roof replacement - Shingles

Roof replacement - Metal roofs

Roof replacement - Tile roofs

Slate roofing - Repairs and roof replacement

About Emerald Energy


Emerald Energy is a licensed North Carolina General contractor offering many other energy saving and home improvement services specifically catered to each customer.

Our goal is to provide energy independence and security to all of our customers for now and the future. Emerald Energy proudly serves clients in Raleigh, Durham, Winston-Salem, Greensboro, Cary, Morrisville, Chapel Hill, Burlington, Wake Forest, Wilmington, Greenville, Fayetteville, Apex, Holly Springs, Garner, Burlington, High Point, Charlotte, Asheville & all surrounding areas in North Carolina.

Office locations


Loading...

North Carolina - Raleigh

PO Box 99031, Raleigh NC, 27624

North Carolina - Raleigh

3201 Wellington Court Suite 103, Raleigh NC, 27615

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Power World

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Justin Dunlap
PV-032621-032493

License


North Carolina General Contractor License # 69879

Contact Emerald Energy


Location pin
Head Office
3201 Wellington Court Suite 103, Raleigh NC, 27615