Sunrun Inc.

Verified profile
Updated: 30 June 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2007

Sunrun Inc. logo

1.46 from 608 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Average

Rating breakdown

Featured media


Sunrun Inc. reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

2.3

Price as quoted

2.4

On schedule

2.0

Installation quality

2.2

After sales support

1.5

Latest good review thumbs up

RosielaFrance | Hyannis, Massachusetts | 06/30/2022

Going solar was one of the best decisions we have made!!

Thiago Barros stopped by my house 4 years ago and set us up for solar, we saw a lot of neighbors getting solar and thought it made sense to save money. Our usage is very high and we have ended up saving over $1,000 annually. I want to thank Thiago for always being available and answering any questions. Recently I had trouble setting up my billing on the sunrun app and Thiago stopped by to help me out. 10/10

read more
1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: This is awesome, Rosiela! Your positive feedback is like a ray of sunshine to us. We're so happy we could guide you through your solar experience. Thanks for going solar with us!

Latest bad review thumbs down

Peter Ryan | San Diego, California | 06/30/2022

PPA PREPAID LEASE BE WARY

System stopped working and they tried to cover it up . Going into the third month and it is generating zero power . Meanwhile my electric bill has gone from under $200 to over $600 a month .

read more
1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: Oh no, Peter! We're so sorry to hear this. We definitely want to make sure you have a positive experience. Please send your address and an overview of your concerns to onlinereviews@sunrun.com, so that we can connect you with a Specialist that can help you. Thank you!

All reviews

>
>

Sunrunripoff | Davenport, Florida | 06/30/2022

Horrible service

Make me sign a contract and told me it wasn’t binding!! Why force me to sign!! Then I see tesla is way better!!! I’m stuck

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We'd be happy to look into this for you. Please send your address and an overview of your concerns to onlinereviews@sunrun.com, so that we can connect you with a Specialist that can help you. Thanks!

Angry Pat | Poway, California | 06/30/2022

My Sunrun system stopped working 3 months ago - NADA

Receive an e-mail from Sunrun telling me that they need to make an appt for maintenance. I speak with the Tech that is working on the system and he tells me that he will be working on it for a while as he is trying to figure out what's wrong. He leaves a note saying that the appt is incomplete and that another appt will be necessary. I go online and check my Sunrun account and find out that there has been nothing generated from the panels since April. STOPPED WORKING TWO MONTHS AGO AND NO ONE REACHED OUT TO,ME. I call their customer support and a rep assures me that they will compensate me next February for power not generated. I am furious and ask for the contact info of someone that can help and he tells me that he will submit a ticket and someone will respond in 5 BUSINESS DAYS . And there is more ......

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: We're so sorry to hear this, Pat. We certainly don't want you to feel frustrated. Please send your address and an overview of your concerns to onlinereviews@sunrun.com, so that we can connect you with a Specialist that can help you. Thanks!

RHon | Los Angeles, California | 06/30/2022

this company is getting worse

This is sad. I used to love this company. The first system they installed was in 2013 and it was nice work and a smooth process. Never had a problem. Because of a new electric car and finally getting AC we we added a second system a few months ago. This time with battery backup. At least that's what I thought. We just had the first power outage and it didn't work. The whole day without power, urgh! Also, they used screws without bothering to seal things up and now there is a leak in the ceiling. Never mind the ugly shiny silver brackets they used. When I complained they suggested I go up on the roof and paint them. I'm an older woman, I won't go up there. What finally ticked me off is that they just called to reschedule - again! - the technician that was supposed to come out for the leak.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: We're so sorry to hear this! We certainly don't want you to feel frustrated. Please send your address and an overview of your concerns to onlinereviews@sunrun.com, so that we can connect you with a Specialist that can help you. Thanks!

Dave adams | Attleboro, Massachusetts | 06/30/2022

Great experience

Ron showed up at my door about a year and a half ago and I was a little hesitant because I know nothing is for free. But I let them in to hear his pitch and it turns out there is a program that you can qualify for to get solar at no cost. Luckily this company was able to do upgrades to my home because I needed a roof in some electrical work done and they were able to do everything to get my Home to code and also save me money on my electricity without any out-of-pocket expense. I would highly recommend Ron and Son run because my overall experience has been exceptional.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: Thanks for your review, Dave! We're so happy to hear that you had a good experience with us! You have enough decisions to worry about, and it's our goal to make going solar an easy choice. Thank you for helping us create a planet run by the sun!

Robin T | Nanuet, New York | 06/30/2022

Horrible!!!! Do not do business with Sunrun

The customer service is horrible. They claim that they monitor my system. It was down for four weeks before someone at Sunrun noticed. Then it took another month and a half for the technician to come out. They do not respond to emails. I asked for compensation for the time my system was down and no response, even after multiple emails. Sunrun sucks! DO NOT do business with them!!!!!!!

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: We're so sorry to hear this, Robin. We definitely want to make sure you have a positive experience. Please send your address and an overview of your concerns to onlinereviews@sunrun.com, so that we can connect you with a Specialist that can help you. Thank you!

GM | Palm Bay, Florida | 06/29/2022

Worst ever don't believe sales people

Worst use of my money. seems the panels only work if the grid power is on. without grid power no solar power. Well i got them in case of power outage. was told yes they will give you power in the day and if you install a backup battery it will carry you the rest of the day. Well if panel only work when grid is on the during a power outage you get nothing except the little bit in the battery. nothing after or at night and since panels only work with grid power what is the point. Get tesla Sunrun is useless

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: We're so sorry to hear this! We certainly don't want you to feel frustrated. Please send your address and an overview of your concerns to onlinereviews@sunrun.com, so that we can connect you with a Specialist that can help you. Thanks!

Jim | Prescott, Arizona | 06/29/2022

Service

Ref: resetting a lose panel bolt After notifying Sunrun that a panel bolt needed reset, I received several phone calls from Sunrun about the issue, I was requested to take pictures not only once but thee times by different representatives from all over the country, someone finally showed up yesterday to tighten the bolt, after weeks of waiting, what a way to run a business

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: Thank you for sharing your story, Jim. Your feedback helps us to keep improving your solar experience. We'll definitely look into this issue for you. If you can send your address and review to onlinereviews@sunrun.com, we'd appreciate it. Thanks for choosing us as your solar provider!

Cheryl | Lancaster, California | 06/27/2022

If I could give zero stars I would...

This is the worse company I have ever dealt with.... My elderly father signed the contract with Sun Run after someone knocked on his door and told him that he could get "free" solar installed on his house, and this was back in September of 2021, so almost a year ago... the solar installation is still not completed. I have been speaking with one of the representatives who contacts me every now and then when I reach out to them for updates and the last update I received was that they were still waiting to get an inspection done in order for the solar to be completed. As with anyone would be my father is very frustrated and so am I. I was told in the last text message from representative that we can not remove the panels and that my elderly father is still obligated for the financial obligations to SunRun for solar contract. I was told a superisor would call me and of course, I have not heard from that supervisor. So, basically, these people lie to you to to get you to sign a contract and then negate on the contract holding you hostage with the finanncial obligations. Its a disgusting business practice and are predators that focus on the elderly.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: Thank you for bringing this to our attention, Cheryl. We'd be happy to look into this for you and your father. Please send the address and an overview of your concerns to onlinereviews@sunrun.com, so that we can connect you with a Specialist that can help you. Thanks!

JUAN MARTINEZ | Yonkers, New York | 06/27/2022

Really good+++++

Some time ago I finished my project, everything works fine. My only disappointment is that I wanted to have more panels installed on my roof, I know I have enough space to do it, but still the company could not offer me more than 19 panels in total, which is equivalent to 73% of my consumption. They were unable to give me 100%, that's my only complaint with the company. In the future I will have to update my project and add more panels to cover all my consumption...

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: This is awesome, Juan! Your positive feedback is like a ray of sunshine to us. We're so happy we could guide you through your solar experience. Thanks for going solar with us!

Bobbie Lee | San Jose, California | 06/24/2022

Horrible Customer Service

I’m not one to write reviews, but this company is very unprofessional. My family and I are looking into getting solar panels installed for our house, and as most people are, they look around for a quote from other companies as well. After getting our quote first quote from Sunrun we decided to go with Sunrun. Fast forward a few days, we decided to cancel Sunrun and decided to go with a different company. We tried to be very polite and courteous about things, so we called the representative that came to our house to cancel Sunrun. The representative’s attitude was horrible as he didn’t seem as nice or as willing to help when we were talking to him prior. After being told we wanted to cancel with Sunrun, the representative hung up instantly without saying a single word being very disrespectful in my opinion to their customers. This was my experience with the representative, but that’s not all. What infuriates me the most is the fact that we schedule a site survey at a certain time. Not only did they no show up at that time, they showed up earlier. Sounds great right? Wrong!! We texted the guy who was supposed to do a site survey of our house that we are not available at that time. The guy came anyways without notice, jumped our gate and decided it was okay to invade our home?!?!?! Like what the f***?!?! Who gave you permission to do so. That is very unprofessional. What happens if our pets were to attack you?!?!?? There are many different scenarios that could’ve happened, but long story short that is an invasion of privacy that is completely NOT ACCEPTABLE!!!! Long story short, to those who are reading this, don’t get Sunrun. This company not only charges high, but their equipment is old and they take forever to do anything. My family did not end up going with Sunrun and I’m glad we didn’t.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: Thank you for bringing this to our attention, Bobbie. We'd be happy to look into this for you. Please send your address and an overview of your concerns to onlinereviews@sunrun.com, so that we can connect you with a Specialist that can help you. Thanks!

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

About Sunrun Inc.


Home energy is yours to control. You can harness the sun’s abundant energy to power the coffeemaker in the morning. You can store that energy and light up the dinner table at night. With solar panels on your roof and batteries in your home, the power is in your hands. Our climate is changing, and our energy system needs to change with it. Delivering electricity across long power lines from big power plants is leading to more power outages, rate increases, and dangerous conditions. At Sunrun, we know there is a better way. By generating and storing energy in our homes, we can share power across neighborhoods and our entire energy system. We have been building this future for over a decade, and every year it grows brighter. Now is the time to make your own energy. Share it with your neighbors. Build a clean, affordable, reliable future for the whole nation. Lynn Jurich Co-founder Chief Executive Officer

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

California - San Francisco

225 Bush St. #1400, San Francisco CA, 94104

California - Novato

275 Bel Marin Keys Blvd Ste D, Novato CA, 94949

California - Petaluma

1360 N McDowell Blvd, Petaluma CA, 94954

California - Roseville

2901 Douglas Blvd Ste 255, Roseville CA, 95661

California - Sacramento

1307 Striker Ave., Suite 100, Sacramento CA, 95834

California - San Jose

575 Dado St, San Jose CA, 95131

California - San Ramon

2010 Crow Canyon Pl #100, San Ramon CA, 94583

California - Stockton

1551 Stimson St. Unit 4, Stockton CA, 95206

California - Dublin

6761 Sierra Ct. Ste C & B, Dublin CA, 94568

California - San Francisco

225 Bush St #1400, San Francisco CA, 94104

California - Bakersfield

3615 Patton Way, Bakersfield CA, 93308

California - Downey

9220 hall Rd, Downey CA, 90241

California - Fresno

4507 N Selland Ave #27, Fresno CA, 93722

California - Irvine

133 Technology Dr #100, Irvine CA, 92618

California - Lake Forest

20512 Cresent Bay Dr #108, Lake Forest CA, 92630

California - North Hollywood

13012 Saticoy St #1, North Hollywood CA, 91605

California - Murrieta

26820 Hobie Cir Unit A, Murrieta CA, 92562

California - San Diego

6370 Nancy Ridge Dr #108 & 109, San Diego CA, 92121

California - San Luis Obispo

775 Fiero Ln #200, San Luis Obispo CA, 93401

California - San Marcos

295 trade St, San Marcos CA, 92078

California - Ventura

5777 Olivas Park Dr, Ventura CA, 93003

Loading...

Arizona - Phoenix

4219 E. Broadway Rd., # 102, Phoenix AZ, 85040

Arizona - Prescott Valley

9234 E. Valley Rd. Ste E, Prescott Valley AZ, 86314

Arizona - Scottsdale

16260 N 71 st Suite 450, Scottsdale AZ, 85254

Loading...

Colorado - Denver

717-17th St, Denver CO, 80202

Colorado - Westminster

6040 W. 91st Ave, Westminster CO, 80031

Colorado - Arvada

5525 W 56th Ave #100, Arvada CO, 80002

Loading...

Hawaii - Kailua-Kona

73-5576 Kauhola St #7, Kailua-Kona HI, 96740

Hawaii - Honolulu

550 Paiea St. Ste 506, Honolulu HI, 96819

Hawaii - Kapolei

1019 Lauia St, Ste 7, Kapolei HI, 96707

Hawaii - Waipahu

94-240 Pupuole St, Waipahu HI, 96797

Loading...

South Carolina - Columbia

95 B Sunbelt Blvd., Columbia SC, 29203

South Carolina - Greer

415 Industrial Court, Greer SC, 29651

Loading...

Maryland - Linthicum Heights

812 Oregon Ave. Suite J, Linthicum Heights MD, 21090

Loading...

Massachusetts - Marlborough

734 Forest St #400, Marlborough MA, 01752

Loading...

Connecticut - Hartford

75 Brainard Rd, Hartford CT, 06114

Loading...

New Jersey - Marlton

20 Stow Road, Unit 2, Marlton NJ, 08053

New Jersey - Somerset

26 Worlds Fair Dr.Ste J, Somerset NJ, 08873

New Jersey - Malton

20 W Stow Rd #2, Malton NJ, 08053

Loading...

New York - Valley Cottage

Valley Cottage, Valley Cottage NY, 10989

New York - Brooklyn

240 Kent Ave. Unit B9, Brooklyn NY, 11249

New York - Long Island

415 Oser Ave Ste W Hauppauge, Long Island NY, 11788

New York - Hauppauge

415 Oser Ave ste W, Hauppauge NY, 11788

New York - Hicksville

15 Charlotte Ave, Hicksville NY, 11801

New York - Brooklyn

240 Kent Ave B9, Brooklyn NY, 11249

Loading...

Oregon - Government Camp

30543 East Blossom Trail, Government Camp OR, 97028

Oregon - West Linn

1554 Garden Street, West Linn OR, 97068

Oregon - Oregan City

1107 7th Street, Oregan City OR, 97045

Oregon - St Benedict

1 Abbey Drive, St Benedict OR, 97373

Oregon - Marlhurst

17600 Pacific Highway, Marlhurst OR, 97036

Oregon - Gresham

370 NW Burnside Rd, Gresham OR, 97030

Oregon - Gales Creek

52490 NW Old Wilson River Road, Gales Creek OR, 97117

Oregon - North Plains

10645 NW 318th Ave, North Plains OR, 97133

Oregon - Mollala

221 Commercial Park Way, Mollala OR, 97038

Oregon - Mulino

13725 S Mulino Rd, Mulino OR, 97042

Oregon - Sandy

39024 Proctor Blvd, Sandy OR, 97055

Oregon - Gates

450 N Santiam Highway W, Gates OR, 97346

Oregon - Walton

87997 Nelson Mountain Rd, Walton OR, 97490

Oregon - Foster

46518 Santiam Highway, Foster OR, 97345

Oregon - Walterville

90575 mountain View, Walterville OR, 97489

Oregon - Halsey

1151 W 4th St, Halsey OR, 97348

Oregon - Mosier

800 1st Ave, Mosier OR, 97040

Oregon - Welches

24403 E Welches Rd, Welches OR, 97067

Oregon - Rufus

399 Scott Canyon Rd, Rufus OR, 97050

Oregon - Haines

916 Front St, Haines OR, 97833

Oregon - Plush

1975 Lake, Plush OR, 97637

Oregon - Mitchell

325 SE High St, Mitchell OR, 97750

Oregon - Pendelton

298 SE 2nd St, Pendelton OR, 97801

Oregon - North Powder

600 2nd St, North Powder OR, 97867

Oregon - Helix

5 Columbia St, Helix OR, 97835

Loading...

Arkansas - Fontana

7888 Cherry Ave, Fontana AR, 92336

Loading...

Texas - Grand Prairie

2940 N Hwy 360 #300, Grand Prairie TX, 75050

Texas - Sugar Land

12560 Reed Rd 3400, Sugar Land TX, 77478

Loading...

Nevada - Henderson

8385 Eastgate Rd, Henderson NV, 89015

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association

Licenses


NO LICENSE REQUIRED

Contact Sunrun Inc.


Location pin
Head Office
225 Bush St. #1400, San Francisco CA, 94104
Website