Sunrun Inc.

Verified profile
Updated: 21 October 2021
Installer

Installing solar since 2007

Sunrun Inc. logo

1.52 from 404 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

Featured media


Sunrun Inc. reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

2.4

Price as quoted

2.5

On schedule

2.1

Installation quality

2.2

After sales support

1.5

Latest good review thumbs up

MarcDumont | Hyannis, Massachusetts | 08/31/2021

Thiago and Sunrun have been Great!!

I had solar installed by Thiago and Sunrun 2 years ago. Its saved me a lot of money on my bills and the black panels look great on my roof. I called Thiago yesterday because one of the panels seemed cracked and he came today to check them out and scheduled to get the panel replaced. Thank you Thiago and Sunrun!!

read more
1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: Thanks for your review, MarcDumont! We're so happy to hear that you had a good experience with us! You have enough decisions to worry about, and it's our goal to make going solar an easy choice. Thank you for helping us create a planet run by the sun!

Latest bad review thumbs down

Lisa H | Denver, CO | 10/22/2021

Completely misleading and no support

Sunrun has cost me over a thousand dollars extra a year in electricity and there’s no end in sight. It started day one when Sunrun inaccurately assessed my yearly energy usage by pulling data from a previous year and not taking into account the fact that we now work from home although I explained this to them. They said they would reevaluate production after a year and add panels as necessary. This was a bold faced lie. I just got off the phone with customer care and they said they can't add panels to an already existing system. They might be able to add a new system, but that depends on the city. So now my system is producing 60% of my usage. They of course claim it is 101% because they are using previous year's usage. Sunrun refuses to make any adjustments. They state they are unable to reevaluate my yearly electricity needs. Due to the “contract” you sign at the beginning, they make it clear that their hands are tied and you are a slave to whatever unfortunate circumstance you find yourself in down the road. My advise, do your research and don’t assume that they have your best interest in mind.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Andrea A | Sacramento, CA | 10/21/2021

STAY AWAY

I do not even have my system installed yet and I'm fed up with this company. This company is quick to get you to sign a contract and drags its feet with completing their obligation on the contract. Since March 2021, I have been trying to get solar installed and have encountered numerous delays all caused by Sunrun representatives that do not know how to communicate. I recommend the entire company go back to kindergarten and learn how to talk to other people. Today I experienced another delay. They perform work that is far below expectations. I will be seeking legal counsel for the thousands of dollars of damage caused to my property from their construction crew. I also have reason to believe they severely oversold me on the system. Screw you Sunrun. NO ONE USE THIS COMPANY. ANY OTHER COMPANY WOULD BE BETTER THIS THAN PIECE OF S***.

read more

Jamar | Deptford , NJ | 10/19/2021

Worst Service I have ever received

This company suck!!! This has been the worst company to do business with. First Thayer put me with a rep that wouldn’t call me back about getting the system transferred into my name because I purchased the house with it. Then I finally got a hold of her; she put me on hold for a hour and hung up. Didn’t call me back and no response. I send that email to the support team and I didn’t here back from them for 28 days. Then when I did get a email back it say they could help me. I then kept calling and finally got it worked out so I thought it was over. No, they never turned the panels on and when they did I found out they not working right. I been trying to get somebody out to my house for months and still nothing. They are the worst company and anybody reading this stay away.

read more

Not saving | San Diego, CA | 10/13/2021

No response

So, a lady sells her house to my mom just months after signing on to a lease with Vivint. The panels were installed, but for some reason, they were not turned on. Since my mom downsized into a smaller house, she was not sure how her monthly bills were going to be. After receiving her electric bills, it was about half of what she use to pay in her previous house. We contacted Vivint to modify the lease so that it would be beneficial to my mom. After many phone tagging, we were able to negotiate something. Well, it's now October 2021 and still not turned on. She bought the house in May 2019. Meanwhile, Sunrun has taken over Vivint. So, the panels have been on the house for 3 years without service. Something fishy going on. They probably figured out that it was going to cost Sunrun more money to turn it on.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: We are sorry to hear this! Please send the service address and review to CustomerCare@sunrun.com, or call us at 855-478-6786 so that we can help resolve these concerns. Thank you!

Kevin | New Bedford, MA | 10/12/2021

The absolute worst company I have ever had to deal with!!!!

I, like many others, inherited the solar panel system when I bought the home. The panels were not producing power and the technicians came out twice. They finally realized that the panels were not working and they had been recalled. My panels have not been working for 5 months and they continue to charge the monthly lease fee for USELESS panels. Someone from Sunrun reached out to me through email and offered me a credit of $319.00 for 5 months!!!! WHAT A JOKE! The best part is that they want me to sign a document releasing a bunch of people associated with Sunrun from ALL LIABILITY!!! If only I was that stupid! They refuse to answer my question on when are my panels being replaced? I am going to seek legal action. I’m done! Stay away from this company!

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: Oh no, Kevin! We're so sorry to hear this. We definitely want to make sure you have a positive experience. Please send your address and review to CustomerCare@sunrun.com, or live chat us from your MySunrun account, so that we can look into this. Thank you!

SB | Spring, TX | 10/12/2021

Unresponsive, TERRIBLE Company-DO NOT USE

I have had a damaged roof since April 15th 2021. I filed an insurance claim, found roofers, and contacted Sunrun about removal and reinstallation of my panels. That process began on July 22nd. I was contacted by email by Tre Miller out of Colorado and was told that I would be contacted within 7 days. Nothing. On August 4th I contacted Tre again, btw, no one actually answers a phone. I left a voicemail and received an email with the Field Supervisor Kyllan Smith's name and contact info and again told he would follow up with me in 7 days. Nothing. I called Tre and Kyllan, even emailed repeatedly with no response until The Field Supervisors outgoing message stated he no longer worked in scheduling and to call their Customer Service line. That was September 7th, 2021. So, I contacted customer service, who spoke with someone in scheduling and was again told my case would be expedited and I would be contacted in 7 days. Nothing. I called again September 27th and this time demanded a cancellation because I no longer want anything to do with this company. I was told that it would be noted on my account and that I would be contacted in 3-5 days. Tooday is October 12th, 2021 and I have yet to hear a thing. Meanwhile, my roof continues to deteriorate, and they have sent my account to collections. The WORST part is that I am at their mercy for removal because it states in the contract that if you have anyone not contracted by sunrun interact with the panels in any way, the company can try to collect damages!!! I've filled a complaint with the BBB and contacted a lawyer because this is ridiculous. NEVER, NEVER, make the mistake of trusting this company. I've had the panels for 3 years and this is my first and LAST issue with this untrustworthy company.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We'd be happy to look into this for you. Please send your address and review to CustomerCare@sunrun.com, or live chat us from your MySunrun account. Thanks!

Tina C | Kailua Kona, HI | 10/08/2021

Horrible company

Sunrun is a misleading, fabricating, unprofessional and unresponsive company. The panels they originally installed on my roof were recalled, and the only reason I found out about the recall was after two of the panels nearly burned down my house. I've been without panels for months, while Sunrun continued to bill me, and now I have to seek legal representation to remove hundreds of dollars of charges for invoices when I did not even have service! I've placed over 30 calls to Sunrun in the past four months and never, not once, received a call back.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: We're so sorry to hear this, Tina. We certainly don't want you to feel frustrated. Please send your address and review to CustomerCare@sunrun.com, or live chat us from your MySunrun account, so that we can help resolve this for you. Thanks!

Rafael Garcia | Hollister, CA | 10/08/2021

Service Transfers and System purchase

Like many people on this page I inherited the solar panel lease from the previous homeowners that were 80 and 90 years old. First of all this company had these poor folks agree to lease agreement that only the Devil himself could come up with. That being said that same lease contract was not the first item sent to me by the transfer coordinator. I was sent the docusign agreeing to comply with the lease contract. I requested it and was given the runaround for 2 weeks. I was ready to close on the house before i received the document; oh and was it a comical read. It pretty much said we are liable for little to nothing and here is how much you will pay for our subpar overall service. now i am trying to purchase the system and its been nearly 2 months and it still isn't complete, but i am responsible for paying SunRun the monthly payments while they use delay of action. I cannot understand how this company can continually deceive and delay people and get away with it. I honestly hope this company get their head out of you know where and begin to treat their customers as something more than a monthly payment. that being said they are delaying the purchase of the solar system to me because they stand to make 20K more by not selling it to me and denying me my contractual right. absolutely the worst company that has ever existed, If you plan on getting a solar system and are curious how SunRun is just call customer service for existing customers and enjoy the wait. be wise and learn from us here, stay away from SunRun.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: Thank you for bringing this to our attention, Rafael. We'd be happy to look into this for you. Please send your address and review to CustomerCare@sunrun.com, or try live chatting us from your MySunrun account. Thanks!

S | Maynard, MA | 10/07/2021

Worst customer service of all time

When I purchased my home, I inherited solar panels run by Sunrun (though I was told it was Vivant). In the past 2 months, I have not been able to contact them. I randomly get emails from them asking for some kind of document to complete the transition, I respond with a question, and I don't hear from them again for a month when they again come demanding a document (and never answer my question). They gave me no information on how the solar works with our electric company. Their phone system leads you through a maze of numbers that ultimately goes nowhere. I'm sure they'll respond to this saying to email them but they have NEVER responded to a single email I've sent. Avoid at all costs if you can!

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: Thank you for reaching out to us. We definitely want you to experience all the benefits of solar. Please send your address and review to CustomerCare@sunrun.com so we may assist with any questions or concerns. Thanks!

Spartet | North Salt Lake, UT | 10/07/2021

Worst Customer Care response

As the new home owner I have been working for 3 months to get the solar transferred over to me. I have called the company at least 50 times - they have NEVER called me. Every email sent says they will call within 3-5 business days. they NEVER do. and EVERY call is constantly on hold while they check with the department. As a customer you cannot talk to anyone but the front line and they talk to all the departments and the promise people will call you back and they NEVER CALL BACK! worst customer experience i have ever had!

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: We're so sorry to hear about your experience. We would love to help resolve your concerns so that going solar is easy and enjoyable for you. Please send your address and review to CustomerCare@sunrun.com so that we can help resolve the issue. Thank you!

John | Goodyear, AZ | 10/06/2021

Absolute Worst Experience!

I have been a Sunrun customer for four years and it’s been a complete nightmare! Sunrun has cost me over a thousand dollars extra a year in electricity and there’s no end in sight. It started day one when Sunrun inaccurately assessed my yearly energy usage by pulling data from a previous property (one bedroom apartment) to determine my family needs for a four bedroom house. Since then, every year my panels have only generated about 65% of my energy needs, even though I’m paying for 100% of the price. Despite me calling dozens of times for support over the past couple years, Sunrun refuses to make any adjustments. They state they are unable to add another system, adjust my monthly fees, or reevaluate my yearly electricity needs. Due to the “contract” you sign at the beginning, they make it clear that their hands are tied and you are a slave to whatever unfortunate circumstance you find yourself in down the road. My advise, do your research and don’t assume that they have your best interest in mind.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunrun Inc.: We are so sorry to hear this, John! We would love to review your system's performance and any other specific concerns you have. Please send your address and review to CustomerCare@sunrun.com, or live chat us from your MySunrun account. Thank you!

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

About Sunrun Inc.


Home energy is yours to control. You can harness the sun’s abundant energy to power the coffeemaker in the morning. You can store that energy and light up the dinner table at night. With solar panels on your roof and batteries in your home, the power is in your hands. Our climate is changing, and our energy system needs to change with it. Delivering electricity across long power lines from big power plants is leading to more power outages, rate increases, and dangerous conditions. At Sunrun, we know there is a better way. By generating and storing energy in our homes, we can share power across neighborhoods and our entire energy system. We have been building this future for over a decade, and every year it grows brighter. Now is the time to make your own energy. Share it with your neighbors. Build a clean, affordable, reliable future for the whole nation. Lynn Jurich Co-founder Chief Executive Officer

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

California - San Francisco

595 Market Street 29th Floor, San Francisco CA, 94105

California - Novato

275 Bel Marin Keys Blvd Ste D, Novato CA, 94949

California - Petaluma

1360 N McDowell Blvd, Petaluma CA, 94954

California - Roseville

2901 Douglas Blvd Ste 255, Roseville CA, 95661

California - Sacramento

1307 Striker Ave., Suite 100, Sacramento CA, 95834

California - San Jose

575 Dado St, San Jose CA, 95131

California - San Ramon

2010 Crow Canyon Pl #100, San Ramon CA, 94583

California - Stockton

1551 Stimson St. Unit 4, Stockton CA, 95206

California - Dublin

6761 Sierra Ct. Ste C & B, Dublin CA, 94568

California - San Francisco

225 Bush St #1400, San Francisco CA, 94104

California - Bakersfield

3615 Patton Way, Bakersfield CA, 93308

California - Downey

9220 hall Rd, Downey CA, 90241

California - Fresno

4507 N Selland Ave #27, Fresno CA, 93722

California - Irvine

133 Technology Dr #100, Irvine CA, 92618

California - Lake Forest

20512 Cresent Bay Dr #108, Lake Forest CA, 92630

California - North Hollywood

13012 Saticoy St #1, North Hollywood CA, 91605

California - Murrieta

26820 Hobie Cir Unit A, Murrieta CA, 92562

California - San Diego

6370 Nancy Ridge Dr #108 & 109, San Diego CA, 92121

California - San Luis Obispo

775 Fiero Ln #200, San Luis Obispo CA, 93401

California - San Marcos

295 trade St, San Marcos CA, 92078

California - Ventura

5777 Olivas Park Dr, Ventura CA, 93003

Loading...

Arizona - Phoenix

4219 E. Broadway Rd., # 102, Phoenix AZ, 85040

Arizona - Prescott Valley

9234 E. Valley Rd. Ste E, Prescott Valley AZ, 86314

Arizona - Scottsdale

16260 N 71 st Suite 450, Scottsdale AZ, 85254

Loading...

Colorado - Denver

717-17th St, Denver CO, 80202

Colorado - Westminster

6040 W. 91st Ave, Westminster CO, 80031

Colorado - Arvada

5525 W 56th Ave #100, Arvada CO, 80002

Loading...

Hawaii - Kailua-Kona

73-5576 Kauhola St #7, Kailua-Kona HI, 96740

Hawaii - Honolulu

550 Paiea St. Ste 506, Honolulu HI, 96819

Hawaii - Kapolei

1019 Lauia St, Ste 7, Kapolei HI, 96707

Hawaii - Waipahu

94-240 Pupuole St, Waipahu HI, 96797

Loading...

South Carolina - Columbia

95 B Sunbelt Blvd., Columbia SC, 29203

South Carolina - Greer

415 Industrial Court, Greer SC, 29651

Loading...

Maryland - Linthicum Heights

812 Oregon Ave. Suite J, Linthicum Heights MD, 21090

Loading...

Massachusetts - Marlborough

734 Forest St #400, Marlborough MA, 01752

Loading...

Connecticut - Hartford

75 Brainard Rd, Hartford CT, 06114

Loading...

New Jersey - Marlton

20 Stow Road, Unit 2, Marlton NJ, 08053

New Jersey - Somerset

26 Worlds Fair Dr.Ste J, Somerset NJ, 08873

New Jersey - Malton

20 W Stow Rd #2, Malton NJ, 08053

Loading...

New York - Valley Cottage

Valley Cottage, Valley Cottage NY, 10989

New York - Brooklyn

240 Kent Ave. Unit B9, Brooklyn NY, 11249

New York - Long Island

415 Oser Ave Ste W Hauppauge, Long Island NY, 11788

New York - Hauppauge

415 Oser Ave ste W, Hauppauge NY, 11788

New York - Hicksville

15 Charlotte Ave, Hicksville NY, 11801

New York - Brooklyn

240 Kent Ave B9, Brooklyn NY, 11249

Loading...

Oregon - Government Camp

30543 East Blossom Trail, Government Camp OR, 97028

Oregon - West Linn

1554 Garden Street, West Linn OR, 97068

Oregon - Oregan City

1107 7th Street, Oregan City OR, 97045

Oregon - St Benedict

1 Abbey Drive, St Benedict OR, 97373

Oregon - Marlhurst

17600 Pacific Highway, Marlhurst OR, 97036

Oregon - Gresham

370 NW Burnside Rd, Gresham OR, 97030

Oregon - Gales Creek

52490 NW Old Wilson River Road, Gales Creek OR, 97117

Oregon - North Plains

10645 NW 318th Ave, North Plains OR, 97133

Oregon - Mollala

221 Commercial Park Way, Mollala OR, 97038

Oregon - Mulino

13725 S Mulino Rd, Mulino OR, 97042

Oregon - Sandy

39024 Proctor Blvd, Sandy OR, 97055

Oregon - Gates

450 N Santiam Highway W, Gates OR, 97346

Oregon - Walton

87997 Nelson Mountain Rd, Walton OR, 97490

Oregon - Foster

46518 Santiam Highway, Foster OR, 97345

Oregon - Walterville

90575 mountain View, Walterville OR, 97489

Oregon - Halsey

1151 W 4th St, Halsey OR, 97348

Oregon - Mosier

800 1st Ave, Mosier OR, 97040

Oregon - Welches

24403 E Welches Rd, Welches OR, 97067

Oregon - Rufus

399 Scott Canyon Rd, Rufus OR, 97050

Oregon - Haines

916 Front St, Haines OR, 97833

Oregon - Plush

1975 Lake, Plush OR, 97637

Oregon - Mitchell

325 SE High St, Mitchell OR, 97750

Oregon - Pendelton

298 SE 2nd St, Pendelton OR, 97801

Oregon - North Powder

600 2nd St, North Powder OR, 97867

Oregon - Helix

5 Columbia St, Helix OR, 97835

Loading...

Arkansas - Fontana

7888 Cherry Ave, Fontana AR, 92336

Loading...

Texas - Grand Prairie

2940 N Hwy 360 #300, Grand Prairie TX, 75050

Texas - Sugar Land

12560 Reed Rd 3400, Sugar Land TX, 77478

Loading...

Nevada - Henderson

8385 Eastgate Rd, Henderson NV, 89015

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association

License


NO LICENSE REQUIRED

Contact Sunrun Inc.


Location pin
Head Office
595 Market Street 29th Floor, San Francisco CA, 94105
Website