Sunrun Inc.

Verified profile
Updated: 29 November 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2007

Sunrun Inc. logo

1.47 from 777 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Average

Rating breakdown

Featured media


Sunrun Inc. reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

2.3

Price as quoted

2.4

On schedule

2.0

Installation quality

2.2

After sales support

1.5

Latest good review thumbs up

Sebastian quinones | Central Falls, Rhode Island | 11/23/2022

Amazing experience with ron

Ron showed up at my doorstep a few years ago and mentioned a solar program with no upfront costs that sounded too good to be true at first. It actually ended up being better than I expected because I am saving way more and the system when he showed me was producing 130% of what we contracted for. I Definitely feel like ron set the right expectations and always kept it touch, thank you Ron Donnelly for everything!

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

Jana | Brighton, Colorado | 11/30/2022

5 months later and still not 'live'

We signed in July and equipment was installed in September. Three months later it's crickets. They have not had the city out here for the inspection and we haven't switched over yet. There is NO COMMUNICATION from any PM's or managers. I basically have panels on my roof for decoration. I do not recommend Sunrun. Please do your research.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Sun Run is Terrible | Ramona, California | 11/29/2022

No panels, no response, no customer service

This company is terrible. 9 months later I still have no solar panels. I finally cancelled and now they are trying to charge me $1,000 for a new electrical panel I did not need on my 3-yr -old house. Next they are going to send me to collections. The "Project Manager" contacted me one time and then disappeared. After several months of no responses from the project manager, I reached out to my sales rep, who was helpful, and eventually assigned a new project manager. Same thing- No solar. There is no management to talk to about lack of service or response, and no customer service person who can change anything. Do not choose this company; once they suck you in, you are stuck.

read more

LAC | Brick, New Jersey | 11/29/2022

Resale

I am told by SunRun it is my responsibility to "sell" the solar panels to a new potential home buyer and my house needs to be on the market for me to speak to their "transfer specialist" for any help! Another SunRun answer is "breach of contract" if new potential buyer doesn't accept! Poor customer service, very intimidating and not customer friendly

read more

KBG | Surprise, Arizona | 11/25/2022

Another victim

I had similar experience with sales; what I was PROMISED and what I actually received. I was told I'd save money and have NO electric bill with added panels. The price doubled, and the panels came with interest. I was NOT given the price I was promised, and the interest rate goes up during the loan. I'm hoping they give me what they promised. If not, they can take back these panels. This is a downed economy, and I am not earning what I used to. NO ONE cares about the customer, rather they just want to make a buck.

read more

Hector Martinez | Spicewood, Texas | 11/24/2022

Untruthful

If negative stars were available that is what I would give them. Thinking that I was receiving the service that Costco is known to provide is why I moved forward with them. They have been a nightmare to deal with. It’s been over a year since this project started and they still can’t seem to get the system to operate correctly. They’re project managers don’t fulfill the plans that are put together for solar system. Run don’t walk away from SunRun.

read more

Daniel | Arcadia, California | 11/23/2022

Confusion, dismissal, silence

If I could go back and start this project over again, I would not choose Sunrun. There were red flags right up front that I missed, so shame on me. Issues I had: #1 was that I was contacted and discussed installation with 3 separate people in fairly rapid succession, without much explanation (the first guy just disappeared, no idea what became of him), and then a 4th guy became involved (who would be, I later found out, our project "manager," a massive overstatement of what he did.) #2 was that the roof work was done by a sub, and that sub knew nothing about the project, or the area and was given a contact by Sunrun that didn't match what has been discussed (i.e. we wanted to keep our tile roof, the sub was planning on removing that completely and replacing with composite.) Sunrun's reps sent me *pictures* of what the final install would look like, which maybe saved me. Luckily I asked those questions, at least... #3 was scheduling... of which there was none. It was just silence, then, boom, we're ready to start next week, we'll be there on Tuesday. #4 was an inability, even after many repetitions, for either Sunrun or the sub to speak to our GC (the house is being renovated), or keep her name, my name, ou my father-in-law's names straight (as in, I once got an email with my GC's first name and my father-in-law's last name, but emailed to me... WTF?) #5 is that when things went wrong with the roofer, Sunrun was *nowhere* to be found. Like, silence. Their roofer repeatedly dismissed concerns and questions, even as we failed several inspections and then had a (minor, admittedly) roof leak. #6 is that far into the process, when I noticed that batteries were not being included, I was told (and so far, this has not changed) that the project cannot be altered. This is, granted, partially my fault. I accept that. But I am a novice at this, and the 3x sales team members and the project non-manager made this so much harder (I'm still not sure what happened, in part because I had to sign the same paperwork twice because of some SignNow/Docusign issue, and I'm still not sure if the mistake was introduced there, or when I was bounced from one salesperson to the next, to that next, or what...) #7 is that I just got a demand for payment from their collections department, and we have not passed inspection, dealt with all the issues RE: the roof to my GC's satisfaction, or closed (despite repeated asks by me) on the issue of having the batteries added. (I mean, I'm asking to PAY them to install 2 or even 3 Powerwalls... this should be an easy "Yes" but we're into that specifically by a bout 5 weeks and I don't have even a definitive "No" yet.) My overall take is that the panels will probably all work fine, the system was installed as quoted (well, as one of the quotes; not the one we finally settled on verbally, but the one that I ended up signing for in the shuffle), etc. But the installation process... a circus, with no one in charge, close to zero communication, minimal responsiveness. I have *zero* faith that if something does go wrong, Sunrun will do anything about it in a timely fashion (I dread the day in a year or three when the roof starts leaking...) Even if the panels themselves, the "core product", might end up working great, my overall experience was such that I would actively recommend *against* using Sunrun.

read more

Marilyn Van Norman | Barstow, California | 11/23/2022

Poor

Inverter failed on 8/22/2022. Sunny Boy, manufacture of my system, went out of business. On 8/24/2022 representative stated that the part had to be engineered - it would take two to three weeks. It is now three months - no inverter, no time as to when it will be available. Currently Sunrun wants the monthly payment (426.09) even though the system is not working. Previously the panels had to be replaced as did the battery. No back up system - "we are working on it". According to Sunrun the system can be purchased for $54,418.05. I have contacted customer care and talked to billing a number of times - Sunrun has demonstrated the company has no desire to fix the current problem - "

read more

tom l | Palm Coast, Florida | 11/21/2022

worst customer service ever

worst customer service ever, hard to get someone to speak english, having to fight them to get them to do what they promised, this last time ive been waiting 3 weeks just for them to come and fix the problem and their answer is that the person who makes the appointments is out of the office and it seems like no one else can do her job pretty sad for such a large company, ive already hired an attorney to see if we can get these panels off my roof and be done with sun run once and for all..... buyer beware

read more

Brian Greene | Corona, California | 11/17/2022

Panels havent worked in 3 months

This company has the worse customer service of all time. My system worked fine for 6 years, and once they came out an did this 3G upgrade, my system hasnt worked for over 3 months. I have tried contacting CUSTOMER SERVICE numerous times, and I continue to get the run around. I get left on hold, then disconnected, or forced to leave voicemails (Jennifer/Taylor/Katherine) to people who never call back. I need this contract terminated so I can take my business elsewhere.

read more

Leland | Henderson, Nevada | 11/16/2022

Good company to work with. My sales rep Daniel was very patient in answering all of my questions and concerns, He worked extremely hard to answer our questions. Much beyond our expectation. The surveyor was professional and courteous. The installation team did the installation professionally and in a timely manner.

read more

gg | Clovis, California | 11/15/2022

A masterclass in incompetence

Working with Sunrun has been an absolute disaster. It's the most disorganized project I've ever seen, and I regret having chosen to work with them. My project consisted of adding more panels to an existing solar installation. The old system was not to be touched. The new system would operate independently of the old one. In Aug Sunrun sub-contracted out the installation of another company, Bright Planet. Bright Planet installed the panels in Aug, along with a new subpanel that they did not bother to put fuses/breakers in. No fewer than 4 teams have come to my residence, seen that the new panel was missing breakers, acknowledged that they couldn't do anything until that was fixed, and then left without ever hearing another word from them or Sunrun. Weeks ago I opened a "case" and was assigned a case manager. I was told to expect a call. No call ever came, so I called back yesterday and was told my case manager was in a meeting but to expect a call back. No call ever came. I called back today and was finally put in touch with the case manager, only to be told that this is the first she's heard of my issues, and she would look into things. She would call me back by noon her time, a las, I have not received a follow up call. Also, two weeks ago I received a call from scheduling and was told I was scheduled for my final inspection with the city. After I told the scheduler that the project wasn't finished they said they needed to hold off then. Fast forward to yesterday, I get another call from the same scheduler, and was told "I know your project isn't complete, but we are going to schedule your final inspection for tomorrow". I reiterated that the project isn't even fully installed and she just said that was fine, and the final inspection would be today. Today, when the tech showed up, he said that he would have to cancel the inspection because, wait for it, the installation isn't finished! I would highly recommend looking elsewhere if you're looking for Solar. The amount of time and money I've lost as a result of disabling my entire system since Aug is growing every day, and I'm really hoping that they make good on their promise to reimburse me for the solar generation that I'm loosing by having a bricked system.

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

About Sunrun Inc.


Home energy is yours to control. You can harness the sun’s abundant energy to power the coffeemaker in the morning. You can store that energy and light up the dinner table at night. With solar panels on your roof and batteries in your home, the power is in your hands. Our climate is changing, and our energy system needs to change with it. Delivering electricity across long power lines from big power plants is leading to more power outages, rate increases, and dangerous conditions. At Sunrun, we know there is a better way. By generating and storing energy in our homes, we can share power across neighborhoods and our entire energy system. We have been building this future for over a decade, and every year it grows brighter. Now is the time to make your own energy. Share it with your neighbors. Build a clean, affordable, reliable future for the whole nation. Lynn Jurich Co-founder Chief Executive Officer

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

California - San Francisco

225 Bush St. #1400, San Francisco CA, 94104

California - Novato

275 Bel Marin Keys Blvd Ste D, Novato CA, 94949

California - Petaluma

1360 N McDowell Blvd, Petaluma CA, 94954

California - Roseville

2901 Douglas Blvd Ste 255, Roseville CA, 95661

California - Sacramento

1307 Striker Ave., Suite 100, Sacramento CA, 95834

California - San Jose

575 Dado St, San Jose CA, 95131

California - San Ramon

2010 Crow Canyon Pl #100, San Ramon CA, 94583

California - Stockton

1551 Stimson St. Unit 4, Stockton CA, 95206

California - Dublin

6761 Sierra Ct. Ste C & B, Dublin CA, 94568

California - San Francisco

225 Bush St #1400, San Francisco CA, 94104

California - Bakersfield

3615 Patton Way, Bakersfield CA, 93308

California - Downey

9220 hall Rd, Downey CA, 90241

California - Fresno

4507 N Selland Ave #27, Fresno CA, 93722

California - Irvine

133 Technology Dr #100, Irvine CA, 92618

California - Lake Forest

20512 Cresent Bay Dr #108, Lake Forest CA, 92630

California - North Hollywood

13012 Saticoy St #1, North Hollywood CA, 91605

California - Murrieta

26820 Hobie Cir Unit A, Murrieta CA, 92562

California - San Diego

6370 Nancy Ridge Dr #108 & 109, San Diego CA, 92121

California - San Luis Obispo

775 Fiero Ln #200, San Luis Obispo CA, 93401

California - San Marcos

295 trade St, San Marcos CA, 92078

California - Ventura

5777 Olivas Park Dr, Ventura CA, 93003

Loading...

Arizona - Phoenix

4219 E. Broadway Rd., # 102, Phoenix AZ, 85040

Arizona - Prescott Valley

9234 E. Valley Rd. Ste E, Prescott Valley AZ, 86314

Arizona - Scottsdale

16260 N 71 st Suite 450, Scottsdale AZ, 85254

Loading...

Colorado - Denver

717-17th St, Denver CO, 80202

Colorado - Westminster

6040 W. 91st Ave, Westminster CO, 80031

Colorado - Arvada

5525 W 56th Ave #100, Arvada CO, 80002

Loading...

Hawaii - Kailua-Kona

73-5576 Kauhola St #7, Kailua-Kona HI, 96740

Hawaii - Honolulu

550 Paiea St. Ste 506, Honolulu HI, 96819

Hawaii - Kapolei

1019 Lauia St, Ste 7, Kapolei HI, 96707

Hawaii - Waipahu

94-240 Pupuole St, Waipahu HI, 96797

Loading...

South Carolina - Columbia

95 B Sunbelt Blvd., Columbia SC, 29203

South Carolina - Greer

415 Industrial Court, Greer SC, 29651

Loading...

Maryland - Linthicum Heights

812 Oregon Ave. Suite J, Linthicum Heights MD, 21090

Loading...

Massachusetts - Marlborough

734 Forest St #400, Marlborough MA, 01752

Loading...

Connecticut - Hartford

75 Brainard Rd, Hartford CT, 06114

Loading...

New Jersey - Marlton

20 Stow Road, Unit 2, Marlton NJ, 08053

New Jersey - Somerset

26 Worlds Fair Dr.Ste J, Somerset NJ, 08873

New Jersey - Malton

20 W Stow Rd #2, Malton NJ, 08053

Loading...

New York - Valley Cottage

Valley Cottage, Valley Cottage NY, 10989

New York - Brooklyn

240 Kent Ave. Unit B9, Brooklyn NY, 11249

New York - Long Island

415 Oser Ave Ste W Hauppauge, Long Island NY, 11788

New York - Hauppauge

415 Oser Ave ste W, Hauppauge NY, 11788

New York - Hicksville

15 Charlotte Ave, Hicksville NY, 11801

New York - Brooklyn

240 Kent Ave B9, Brooklyn NY, 11249

Loading...

Oregon - Government Camp

30543 East Blossom Trail, Government Camp OR, 97028

Oregon - West Linn

1554 Garden Street, West Linn OR, 97068

Oregon - Oregan City

1107 7th Street, Oregan City OR, 97045

Oregon - St Benedict

1 Abbey Drive, St Benedict OR, 97373

Oregon - Marlhurst

17600 Pacific Highway, Marlhurst OR, 97036

Oregon - Gresham

370 NW Burnside Rd, Gresham OR, 97030

Oregon - Gales Creek

52490 NW Old Wilson River Road, Gales Creek OR, 97117

Oregon - North Plains

10645 NW 318th Ave, North Plains OR, 97133

Oregon - Mollala

221 Commercial Park Way, Mollala OR, 97038

Oregon - Mulino

13725 S Mulino Rd, Mulino OR, 97042

Oregon - Sandy

39024 Proctor Blvd, Sandy OR, 97055

Oregon - Gates

450 N Santiam Highway W, Gates OR, 97346

Oregon - Walton

87997 Nelson Mountain Rd, Walton OR, 97490

Oregon - Foster

46518 Santiam Highway, Foster OR, 97345

Oregon - Walterville

90575 mountain View, Walterville OR, 97489

Oregon - Halsey

1151 W 4th St, Halsey OR, 97348

Oregon - Mosier

800 1st Ave, Mosier OR, 97040

Oregon - Welches

24403 E Welches Rd, Welches OR, 97067

Oregon - Rufus

399 Scott Canyon Rd, Rufus OR, 97050

Oregon - Haines

916 Front St, Haines OR, 97833

Oregon - Plush

1975 Lake, Plush OR, 97637

Oregon - Mitchell

325 SE High St, Mitchell OR, 97750

Oregon - Pendelton

298 SE 2nd St, Pendelton OR, 97801

Oregon - North Powder

600 2nd St, North Powder OR, 97867

Oregon - Helix

5 Columbia St, Helix OR, 97835

Loading...

Arkansas - Fontana

7888 Cherry Ave, Fontana AR, 92336

Loading...

Texas - Grand Prairie

2940 N Hwy 360 #300, Grand Prairie TX, 75050

Texas - Sugar Land

12560 Reed Rd 3400, Sugar Land TX, 77478

Loading...

Nevada - Henderson

8385 Eastgate Rd, Henderson NV, 89015

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association

Licenses


NO LICENSE REQUIRED

Contact Sunrun Inc.


Location pin
Head Office
225 Bush St. #1400, San Francisco CA, 94104
Website