NEC Solar

Verified profile
Updated: 25 August 2021
Installer

Installing solar since 2008

NEC Solar logo

4.76 from 33 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

Featured media


NEC Solar reviews


4 stars

0

3 stars

0

2 stars

0

1 star

0

4.76

Avg. rating

Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.9

Price as quoted

5.0

On schedule

4.9

Installation quality

4.8

After sales support

4.8

Latest good review thumbs up

Tony and Jennifer Amaio | Portsmouth, Rhode Island | 09/09/2021

Amazing compNy

We choose NEC since they were local and had a great reputation. They did not disappoint. Professional, on time and great communication. From design to installation everyone was so professional and amazing. Highly recommend

read more

All reviews

>
>

Tim McHale | Brighton, Massachusetts | 08/25/2021

My experience with NEC is extremely satisfying.

I chose NEC because first, they are an established electrical contractor. My project was a gut rehab and I could tell from the get go that their experience in power and solar was what I needed. As a construction management consultant, I have hired many contractors and one gets a feel for thoroughness, professionalism, and capacity. NEC is the total package. From sales engineering, questions and scoping, pricing, knowing the intricacies of the industry, rebates, engineering, coordination with other contractors, installation of panels, tie ins, operations, and finally the amazing results of living off the grid. NEC made it happen for me. Their projections exceeded my expectations as did their performance. I would highly recommend them.

read more

Stacie | Needham Heights, Massachusetts | 08/13/2021

Great Service

Very happy with the job done by NEC. Artie was great to work with.

read more

S Robinson | Providence, Rhode Island | 08/02/2021

Nothing short of amazing

I highly recommend NEC Solar! All of the employees are professional, highly knowledgeable and responsive. Even after my installation, they check my solar production to make sure everything is working perfectly. Honestly, what more could I ask for! I'm so happy that I switched to solar and enrolled in the RI REG program. Special shout out to Dana and Megan who answered my numerous questions and held my hand through the process!! I did A LOT of research with different companies and I'm glad I choose this one. Also, the panels look beautiful on my roof!

read more

mark | Westport, Massachusetts | 07/06/2021

NEC is a great company to work with.

They were very accommodating and reliable and they new what they were doing with the ground mount system.

read more

David | Needham Heights, Massachusetts | 06/24/2021

Great experience

My husband and I are thrilled to have "gone solar" with NEC! It was a pleasure working with Artie. He took the time to understand our needs, patiently walking us through all the details and options. His efforts to help us to find the most aesthetically pleasing and functional layout for the panels on our roof were especially appreciated. Alex diligently managed the project. I had no idea how much was involved in having solar installed! Utility paperwork, building permits, structural analysis, SMART program paperwork, etc. But Alex stayed on top of everything for us. When it came to having the panels added to our house, there are several highlights for me. The installers willingly put in extra effort, at my request, to run wiring through attic spaces instead of outside. Their work looks fantastic! After getting a system myself, I've noticed other solar installations in town that used aluminum-colored rails that stick out past the solar panels. NEC, on the other hand, used all black rails with end caps to provide a nice clean look. I appreciate the attention to detail.

read more

Jeremy Chao | Needham, Massachusetts | 05/15/2021

High Quality Work and Ahead of Schedule for my Solar Project

I wasn't thinking of going solar until an unsolicited person knocked on my home door and asked if I wanted a free estimate on solar. Although I was sold on the idea, I wanted to find out any good reviews on them so I posted an ask on Facebook Needham site for reviews on good Solar vendors, and an overwhelming majority of responded that NEC Solar with Artie Crocker was by far the best Solar experience they had, so I was comfortable choosing NEC with Artie as my Solar vendor over that unsolicited salesperson who introduced me to the idea.

read more

Jim Ruertenik | Needham Heights, Massachusetts | 04/29/2021

Excellent service

Artie is a trained engineer and was very helpful in designing the project. Installation was easy. They informed us whenever they needed to come over, were polite, and worked efficiently. There was a little glitch that they resolved very quickly. Excellent service and product.

read more

CWigington | Westborough, Massachusetts | 03/09/2021

Great communication!

I did my homework as best I could to understand PV systems and what my house could support. The sales and installation team always kept me informed of the choices I would need to make as well as the ways these choices might impact installation and ultimately energy production. There were no surprises which is exactly how home improvements should go (contrary to what HGTV shows us.)

read more

Mat Tuttelman | Needham, Massachusetts | 02/26/2021

A great group of people, very focused on customer satisfaction

I looked at ALOT (11) of solar developers and was overwhelmed with the differences in price and forecasted energy generation. This went away after I met the TEAM from NEC Solar. They worked with me to get me exactly what I wanted (maximum production, panel selection and a Battery Energy Storage System) at a competitive price. Throughout the entire process my project manager kept me updated as to the progress of installation as well as interconnection, MA SMART incentive application and registration and finally getting the system energized.

read more

Cheryl Schnitzer | Sharon, Massachusetts | 02/21/2021

Outstanding expertise and service!

The whole NEC Solar process was wonderful, and we couldn't be happier with the finished product! From the start, they worked with us patiently to meet our unique needs, explain and simplify the process, and minimize expenses. The whole team, from Liz to the project manager and electricians communicated well and worked neatly and efficiently. Gratefully, NEC Solar coordinated with the utility company, town, and the state to take care of turning on the system, tax credits, rebates, etc. Now we have a gorgeous system turning photons into usable electricity!

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Small commercial solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

Energy monitoring

Tesla Powerwall sales and installations

Sonnen battery sales and installations

About NEC Solar


NEC Solar always puts our clients first. Family owned since 2008 we have completed over 3000 solar installs across Rhode Island and Massachusetts. We are more than just a solar company. NEC Solar is part of Newport Electrical Construction, a full service residential and commercial electrical company. We not only install your solar system, but are happy to install that EV charger, new electrical service, battery system, or stand-by generator. Some of which also qualify for a Federal Tax Credit. Your project will be handled start to finish by NEC's Solar Consultants, Project Managers, and licensed Journeyman Electricians that are experienced and qualified to help you select the right equipment and install it correctly to get the perfect results for your home or business. We also understand that the way your system looks is as important as the environmental and financial benefits you seek. Now that you have decided solar is a better choice than the utility company NEC Solar ensures that the correct engineering, permits, and paperwork are filed so your project can be installed within 30-45 days. As opposed to the months it takes most installers. NEC Solar's install crews are always courteous, professional and leave your yard and home in the pristine condition that they found it in. They are also efficient, generally completing your install the day it begins. Once you are producing clean green power we look forward to continuing to provide impeccable service and seek to exceed your expectations for all your electrical needs well into the future.

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

Massachusetts - Newton

275 Grove Street Suite 2-400, Newton MA, 02466

Loading...

Rhode Island - Bristol

121 Broadcommon Rd, Bristol RI, 02809

Service areas


Select state:

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Alexander Perdue
PV-102415-012347

License


Electrical License: RI: AC004585, MA: A20803 Construction License RI: 39513 MA: 190394, CS-06631

Contact NEC Solar


Location pin
Head Office
121 Broadcommon Rd, Bristol RI, 02809
Website
Website
NEC Solar