Affordable Solar

Verified profile
Updated: 24 February 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 1998

Affordable Solar logo

4.65 from 82 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Elite

Rating breakdown

Featured media


Affordable Solar reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.7

Price as quoted

4.8

On schedule

4.6

Installation quality

4.8

After sales support

4.5

Latest good review thumbs up

Dave Hartenberger | Albuquerque, New Mexico | 03/10/2022

Total Product and Professional Service

We experienced total product and professional service from Affordable Solar at start to finish and beyond! How can this be? Well, each person was totally available for my questions and concerns by returning my calls and emails in a quick turn around manner every time! Each person, the salesman, home assessor, the clerk who filed the utility agreement with PNM and submitted our permit package, the installers who were respectful of our roof and property, the electrician who was very careful and tidy with each connection and lastly, the very knowledgeable staff person who helped us file the State and Federal tax forms. The salesman and staff person who walked us through all of the steps from start to finish were available BEYOND the call of duty when we had tax filing questions months after being hooked up to the grid! We made our first loan payment on 05-01-2021, and Affordable Solar was just as helpful and responsive to help us in January months after everything was completed!

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

mshappee | Albuquerque, New Mexico | 10/16/2017

Dropped the ball

To start,, my project that was supposed to be complete in 3 to 4 months,,, it finally got finished in 9 months. From sales to project mangager to general manager the communication was horrible. The left hand didn't know what the right was doing. After the 9 months that it took to finish we had a big rainstorm and I woke up to 3 leaks in my roof and ceiling,,, after the repair there were no follow up calls to check on my account. Along with this there were no show's from their workers after making appointments and carelessly leaving my door wide open where my dog got out and I had to chase her a block from my house. This just sums up what I went through with this company.. Not a pleasant experience with this company.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Stetson | Albuquerque, New Mexico | 02/24/2022

Great Energy Partner

Affordable Solar help me cover my entire roof in solar. They were flexible with my schedule, answered my concerns, and delivered and excellent system. Meetings, contracts, and PNM/city concerns were all smoothly addressed with as little on my shoulders as possible. The warranty, help with the tax paperwork, and install are all reasons I recommend them to family and friends.

read more

Laura Lakin | Albuquerque , NM | 11/11/2021

Solar install

Electric bill went from $300 to $11! Great company. Efficient, professional and they help with paperwork involved in receiving tax credit.

read more

James from TN | Burns, Tennessee | 02/17/2021

Great service department

I reached out for a quote from Affordable Solar. Once Anna called me for a consultation, she explained that i was outside their service area. However, she still took the time to do some research and send me information on the type of equipment that i was looking. It's not everyday that a company will go out of their way for someone who is not a customer. I would definitely use Affordable Solar if i was in their service area

read more

Stephen Snider | Placitas, New Mexico | 12/11/2020

Great company to deal with.

The price was right, the engineering was very good (they combined my existing string inverter system with a micro-inverter system), the people were friendly and easy to deal with, and the complex installation was done quickly and painlessly. I highly recommend Affordable Solar!

read more

Andrew | Fair Oaks, California | 11/10/2020

About as smooth as it gets.

Great installer, great communication. No complaints.

read more

John Rolph | Placitas, New Mexico | 04/08/2020

UNEQUIVOCAL FIVE STAR EXPERIENCE

We just completed installation of our solar project in February 2020, and it has been a dream come true every step of the way! I was initially skeptical that solar panels made sense for my home, but after doing my homework, and sitting down with the folks at Affordable Solar, it all made perfect sense. The process and costs are made totally transparent by the sales team in a clear, concise proposal the give you after assessing your historical electrical use. They can predict on that data how many panels and inverters your system and should be composed of, and exactly how long the installation will take. I was actually very pleased at how affordable our system was. Once we agreed to move forward, the assessment team came out, designed the panel placement, and ensure that our roof areas for panel placement were structurally sound. Affordable Solar does all the hard stuff (permitting, HOA approval, etc). The actual installation took half a day, and it was painless because the panels are on skids/sleds that simply sit on a flat roof with ballast blocks -- no invasive mounting into your actual roof. Once done, they arranged for all electric company inspections/certifications, which came quickly. To date, my system has actually performed better than was predicted, and my electric bill has completely vanished. My sales representative, Solve Maxwell, and my project lead Jonas Terwilliger, were absolutely AMAZING during every step of the project -- they make it happen smoothly, efficiently, and perfectly every step of the way. I am soooooooooo glad I elected to do this. I feel socially responsible, received a wonderful tax rebate, and am loving the fact that we are converting all this gorgeous New Mexico sunshine to energy. Thank you Affordable Solar for a job exceptionally WELL DONE! John Rolph

read more

Happy in Albuquerque | Albuquerque, New Mexico | 08/15/2019

Great experience!

The whole project from start to finish has gone very smoothly and problem free. Affordable Solar kept use well informed about every phase of the project. Everyone I interacted with at Affordable Solar was responsive, professional and easy to work with.

read more

Brett McDowell | Albuquerque, New Mexico | 12/28/2018

Affordable Solar - 5 Stars

My review of Affordable Solar is 5 stars! The process that Affordable Solar has in place made it very easy to get solar. Crystal Felice, my sales representative did an outstanding job of explaining solar, how Affordable Solar operates, and taking care of my account. I would recommend Crystal to anyone who is interested in solar. Kelsey McIntyre, my project manager also did an outstanding job of explaining time lines, who would come out and the what if situations. Kelsey was quick to call me back when I had questions and was overall very much on top of the project. I am very pleased with my solar experience and Affordable Solar. I have actively talk about my experience and the money saving aspects of solar to friends and family.

read more

Brooke | Albuquerque, New Mexico | 12/05/2018

Exceptional every step of the way

My experience has been nothing but positive every step of the way. I have been blown away with how easy and stress free the whole process has been. I really cannot say enough good things about Affordable Solar. There are so many parts to get solar but every single person has been exceptional. I would especially like to praise Dylan who was the first person I worked with. He is so knowledgeable, friendly, helpful, and understanding. At one point I was considering using a different solar company (who was pressuring me to go with them) but Dylan changed my mind. He was understanding and not at all pushy, but he answered my questions and made me remember why my initial intuition was correct. He is such a valuable asset to Affordable Solar and I hope that is recognized. Everyone has been incredible but he truly stands out. I wish more companies were so honest, helpful, and communicative. You have customer service perfected. I cannot thank everyone enough.

read more

Ray Chevalier | Tijeras, New Mexico | 11/12/2018

Bridal Lane

We are very pleased with the way the folks at Affordable have performed throughout the project. Communications have been great and they have responded to our needs in a timely way. The are professionals!

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

About Affordable Solar


Our vision is to provide renewable energy solutions to all eligible home and business owners in New Mexico. These renewable energy solutions will allow New Mexicans to hedge against future increases in energy costs and save money through energy independence. We want to contribute to and help grow New Mexico's economy by continuing to expand, developing local talent to support that mission.

Office locations


Loading...

New Mexico - Albuquerque

4840 Pan American East Fwy NE, Albuquerque NM, 87109

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association Contractor Check Solar Power World

Licenses


GB-98, License # 365954. EE 98 Electrical

Contact Affordable Solar


Location pin
Head Office
4840 Pan American East Fwy NE, Albuquerque NM, 87109