Sunnova

Verified profile
Updated: 18 June 2024
Installer

Installing solar since 2012

Sunnova logo

2.35 from 911 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 0 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Unrated

Sunnova reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

2.8

Price as quoted

2.9

On schedule

2.6

Installation quality

2.9

After sales support

2.2

Latest good review thumbs up

Wayne Cook | Prescott, AZ | 06/18/2024

I am very new to Sunnova, but have no poblems thus far.

read more
1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Hello Wayne. Thank you for your 4-star rating! We are here to ensure that your solar journey is nothing short of exceptional. Thank you for choosing Sunnova!

Latest bad review thumbs down

Jen | Brockton, Massachusetts | 06/19/2024

Don't go with Sunnova

The first few months, during the fall and winter months, we were happy with our bill from Sunnova and National Grid. Our bills were significantly lower than when we had National Grid alone. But then spring comes along, we are producing more way more kilowatt hours but our bill has almost tripled and is now significantly higher than when we were with National Grid!!!! Make it make sense!!! This started during a month when we were our of the house for a week!!!!!!

read more
1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Greetings Jen. Thank you for reaching out and bringing this matter to our attention. We sincerely apologize for the experience you've had. Please contact our customer service at (866)786-6682 or at customerservice@sunnova.com with your system ID. We appreciate your cooperation and are committed to helping to resolve your concerns. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you better.

All reviews

>
>

Chris | Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts | 06/18/2024

I had no issue until Sunnova began the installation process. Person who did pre install inspection thought a new breaker board was needed. Had already signed an agreement but was told to sign an amended agreement reflecting the added cost of installing the breaker board-adding $30/ month to original agreement. Signed amended based on the assurance that the installer would make final determination on the need of a new breaker board and the agreement would be changed to original monthly amount. They arrived & immediately determined a new board wasn’t needed and questioned why that was even a considered needed. Told me they would address with Sunnova a new board wasn’t required. Six months I have been trying to get this resolved with no result from customer service who are not authorized to make any decision let alone this simple fix. Sunnova did not install the board but insists I signed an amendment- which I did in good faith but they did not install. This is a very large solar company that any consumer should avoid working with.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Hello Chris. Thank you for reaching out and bringing this matter to our attention. We sincerely apologize for the experience you've had. Please contact our customer service at (866)786-6682 or at customerservice@sunnova.com with your system ID. We appreciate your cooperation and are committed to helping to resolve your concerns. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you better.

Gemmy | Meadville, Pennsylvania | 06/15/2024

Innovative

Very simple to enroll in program and by all early indications very cost effective.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Hello Gemmy. Thank you for your 5-star rating! We are here to ensure that your solar journey is nothing short of exceptional. Thank you for choosing Sunnova!

Tanya Stevens | Palmyra, Pennsylvania | 06/14/2024

Gone solar

Was skeptical about going solar but we took the leap. So glad we did. We have unique circumstances, our house has in-law quarters with a separate electric bill. So we needed 2 solar systems to power our 5700 sq ft home. They figured out what each side would need and added a little so we would be set. We already have a generac whole house generator that powers the entire property, so we were covered there. It took a bit of time to get everything done but once it was all up and running after 2-3 months we are getting $0 electric bills and banking electric for this coming winter! The best part is, the monthly payment to Sonova is less than we would be paying for electric!

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Greetings Tanya. Thank you for your 5-star rating! We are honored to know that your experience aligns with our commitment. We are here to ensure that your solar journey is nothing short of exceptional. Welcome aboard!

Llduha | Bear, Delaware | 06/14/2024

Salesman was absolutely terrible and misinformed

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Hello Llduha. Thank you for reaching out and bringing this matter to our attention. We sincerely apologize for the experience you've had. Feel free to contact our customer service at (866)786-6682 or at customerservice@sunnova.com with your system ID. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you better.

Jose A Tineo | Shepherd, Texas | 06/13/2024

Best customer service and knowledgeable helpful people

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Hello Jose. Thank you for your positive review! We take great pride in providing you with a comprehensive understanding of our process. We're here to support you every step of the way!

Dave | Glendale, Arizona | 06/12/2024

Undersized

Was sold on that my system would provide enough power to run the house and send additional electric back to our APS provider. I would have to pay a connect fee each month to APS. Each month enough electricity sent to APS would generate income to me. But not true . I have to pay Sunova plus APS which is more than combined than my original cost just to APS. Sunova states that the system is performing per what was installed. Sale and engineering undersized my system. Sunova state I need to see if I can get a better rate with APS. APS states I'm on the best rate available, which is the same as when Sunova designed our system. No change in my consumption. Sunova states I need to cut back on my usage I stated that even on the months we are not here it's still costing me more than with just APS. Rip off. No way to get out of the lease. And don't even try to refinance your house when you have solar lease. Trying to get the lease signed off with escrow is a hornets nest of problems. Sunova says they are providing the proper output on their system per the engineering design. Will not add extra panels without a service guy coming out to look at it without paying a $250 service fee Be careful, is all I have to say. Considering selling the house but realtors are saying no one want to assume the solar agreement lease the way it is set up.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Hello Dave. Thank you for reaching out and bringing this matter to our attention. We sincerely apologize for the experience you've had. Please contact our customer service at (866)786-6682 or at customerservice@sunnova.com with your system ID. We appreciate your cooperation and are committed to helping to resolve your concerns. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you better.

Sunnova Fraud | Henderson, Nevada | 06/12/2024

Never buy a home that has Sunnova solar Panels, Big Mistake

I had a home in NV that was a Lennar builder that came with Sunnova Solar panels pre-installed as a lease product. I purchased the home in 2022 , a new home and when I decided to sell it 2 years later that’s when I fell into the rabbit hole with Sunnova corporation. The process to transfer the lease to new home buyer was a disaster! It was a 45 day process that had no end. First and foremost the corporate office is in Houston, TX and they have NO LOCAL NUMBER! The toll number is forwarded to the Phillipines and Central America call centers. There is no presence in the US, only for payments. The third party contractors have very limited information and or capacity to authorize or view the complete account. They are the buffer between Sunnova a company that does not seem to exist but only on paper and website presence. THE CALL CENTERS ARE TRAINED TO TAKE THE HEAT AND PUT YOU ON HOLD TO PRETEND TO SPEAK TO CORPORATE OFFICE. Then they are instructed to delay, delay, delay! YOU CAN NOT CLOSE ESCROW UNTIL MR. CHUCK BROWN, VP of Operations signs off on the transfer to new buyer which takes about 45 days for him to sign. This company is a joke, no one exists in the US for customer service. Sunnova does not exist only on paper and websites. Michael Grasso is the VP & CRO that has created this mess. I was billed for 2 months after the new buyer moved in and my account was still not closed even after escrow closed and title was sent to Sunnova Corporation. Endless calls to Sunnova International call centers for a month and frustration. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND NOT BUYING ANY SUNNOVA ENERGY PRODUCTS OR LEASE PRODUCTS ON NEW HOMES. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED WITH THE US ATTORNEY GENERALS OFFICE.THEY ARE A SCAM AND UNPROFESSIONAL CORPORATION. JOIN ME IN A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT.!!!

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Thank you for reaching out and bringing this matter to our attention. We sincerely apologize for the experience you've had. Please contact our customer service at (866)786-6682 or at customerservice@sunnova.com with your system ID. We appreciate your cooperation and are committed to helping to resolve your concerns. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you better.

Jose Torres | Dorado, Puerto Rico | 06/12/2024

En términos generales estoy satisfecho con el servicio de Sunova

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Saludos Jose! Apreciamos su comentario positivo y estamos aquí para brindarle apoyo continuo. ¡Nos complace tenerla como parte de la familia Sunnova!

Anthonie Bosch | Burleson, Texas | 06/12/2024

The worst customer support

More than two months and my solar system is still not fixed. They cannot even give me a scheduled repair date after two months of trying to get my system fixed.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Greetings Anthonie! Thank you for speaking with us today regarding your concerns. We value your feedback and are committed to providing you with the highest level of customer service. Thank you for your patience, and we look forward to resolving this matter to your satisfaction.

ump | Galesburg, Illinois | 06/12/2024

long survey

Reasonably good company. Their surveys are too long.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Hello, we appreciate your feedback! We are here to ensure that your solar journey is nothing short of exceptional. Welcome aboard!

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

Energy monitoring

About Sunnova


At Sunnova, our mission is simple - to power energy independence. And we are deeply passionate about providing homeowners with a real choice when it comes to powering their homes with cleaner, more sustainable and affordable energy solutions. We are equally committed to creating trusted, long-term relationships with our customers, as they are the very heart of our business. Every day, our customers welcome us, in very real ways, onto and into their homes, and this relationship begins with our trusted sales, installation, and service dealers. While there are many things that set Sunnova apart from other energy providers, one of the biggest is our dealer business model. We work with a very select group of established local solar installers who have comprehensive knowledge of their markets, enabling us to provide the highest quality of service to our customers. Sunnova offers options for every homeowner to help customers gain energy independence and lower their annual utility costs. Sunnova customers in most states enjoy guaranteed energy production, system monitoring, and a best-in-class 25-year warranty. If you are ready to take the first step, learning more about the financial impact that solar will have on your household in your area, Sunnova is the perfect place to start.

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

Texas - Houston

20 Greenway Plaza, Houston TX, 77046

Loading...

Oregon - Bend

, Bend OR,

Loading...

Puerto Rico - Toa Baja

km 3.2, Antigua Base Naval, Toa Baja PR, 00949

Licenses


2017604331

Contact Sunnova


Location pin
Head Office
20 Greenway Plaza, Houston TX, 77046
Website
Website
Sunnova