Sunnova

Verified profile
Updated: 29 February 2024
Installer

Installing solar since 2012

Sunnova logo

2.14 from 773 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 0 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Unrated

Sunnova reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

2.7

Price as quoted

2.8

On schedule

2.5

Installation quality

2.8

After sales support

2.2

Latest good review thumbs up

Amy L | Canal Winchester, Ohio | 02/09/2024

Solar Panels in Ohio

We recently had solar panels installed on our home in Ohio. We are happy with the whole process, from waiting on permits, to have them installed, communication was clear and precise. The work was done professionally and anytime we had a question, we were able to quickly receive an answer. I recommend this company for anyone thinking about installing solar panels.

read more
1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Hello Amy L, welcome to the Sunnova Family! We're thrilled to have you on board. Our team works tirelessly to ensure a seamless transition to solar, and we're delighted to hear that your experience aligns with our commitment to excellence. Thank you for the positive feedback. We're here to support you every step of the way!

Latest bad review thumbs down

Unsatisfied | Brentwood, California | 03/01/2024

Horrible

Absolute crime that they can have customer service like this. System doesn't work for 6 months and they "do a review" and tell me my system produced within specs. Come on. They have to come out multiple times to "service" the system. I currently had a appt for today actually to replace some item, then get a text to day saying the system is down and a service needs to be scheduled. Do they not know they are coming to day anyways. Confusing how a company stays in business. Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else. Unless you like pain and aggravation. the only way to get them to call you for anything is to leave a negative review on the email they send you asking how they did. But all it does is get a call from a person who knows nothing about the issues and says they escalate the problem. Smoke up the A$@

read more
1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: We genuinely appreciate your feedback, as it helps us identify areas where we can improve. Rest assured that our team is actively looking into your account and the concerns you've raised. We understand the importance of addressing your issues promptly, and one of our dedicated agents will be in touch with you shortly to discuss and help resolve the matter. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have faced. Thank you for your understanding and patience.

All reviews

>
>

Buyer be aware | Waltham, Massachusetts | 02/29/2024

It is nightmare company to do business with My solar panels where installed 4 years ago. Received a phone call from the company that the system is malfunctions. Usually when they make an appointment the company gives you a 3 hour window. Took time from work and a technician came came and diagnosed that parts needed to be replaced and they need to be ordered First visit the company made with out notifying us. After I called 4 times and made appointment Each appointment they give you a 3 hour window. took time from work and nobody ever came and notified me that they can not come For the last 3 days tryied to talk to a supervisor and was told by a representative that they are busy. I am stopping the payments at my bank and the rest is true court The is a reason on FOX News they talked about this particular company. Byers be aware

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Thank you for getting in touch with us and bringing this issue to our attention. We understand the frustration this may have caused, and we sincerely apologize. Please email us at customerservice@sunnova.com with your system ID so we can ensure your system is preforming as expected. One of our dedicated agents will be reaching out to you shortly to discuss and address your concerns personally. We value your feedback and are committed to providing you with the highest level of customer service. Thank you for your patience, and we look forward to resolving this matter to your satisfaction.

John Doe | Commerce City, Colorado | 02/29/2024

They are awful!! SPAM and ZERO CUSTOMER SERVICE

This company will harass you weekly with phone calls. If you are trying to update or change anything on your account, they require a 30 day warning. They do not help!!! They are the biggest scam!!! RUN! Do NOT go with this company!! If I could give ZERO stars I would.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Thanks for choosing Sunnova John Doe! We've seen your review and would like to help. To help us address your concerns promptly, please send us an email at customerservice@sunnova.com. We appreciate your cooperation and are committed to helping to resolve your concerns.

Bruce Young | Winter Haven, Florida | 02/29/2024

Predatory sales & HUGE rip off

Sunnova Solar is a preditory company and is in no way able to legitimatley deliver anything close to waht they promised. Unfortunatley my wife's job cut hours for the employees at the place of employment so we are now in a financial hardship and all they could tell us is that the contract will go into collections and they are sorry for the inconvience. the assesment was not done correctly, basically we got scammed into believing we would see considerable savings on our electric bill only to find out we are paying over $90.00 per month for about a $20.00 savings on our electric bill. we would not give 1 star actuall NEGITIVE 5 STARS would be more accurate!

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Hello Bruce Young, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear about your experience. Would it be possible for you to send us a private message so we can investigate this issue? We would only need a valid phone number of the customer or a system ID. Please know that we take this matter seriously and look forward to resolving this for you.

Adam Aguilera | Palmdale, California | 02/27/2024

Worse company ever

Nothings but lies and false promises from everyone that works there purchased solar last year was told I would produce 130 percent of my electricity bill. I received an Edison bill for over 300 dollars after the first month. I called and they said it takes a few months for w everything to equal out so I waited. Since then I received an Edison bill every month. Called and complained and they said they would send out someone to check on them because the app shows since they got installed they only had 1 good month of production and it’s gone down every month majority of my panels are barley producing 7 kWh a month. I called to let them know and have someone come check them out and was told pretty much that’s not their problem. I need to figure it out and call the installer myself and take care of it myself even though I pay Sunnova. Definitely will be calling district attorney office because this is pathetic and a disgrace that they are taking advantage of thousands of people.DO NOT USE SUNNOVA

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Hi Adam Aguilera, We genuinely appreciate your feedback, as it helps us identify areas where we can improve. Rest assured that our team will look into your account and the concerns you've raised. We understand the importance of addressing your issue. Please reach out to us at customerservice@sunnova.com. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have faced. Thank you for your understanding and patience.

John Dyhrberg | Holiday, Florida | 02/22/2024

Terrible company - RUN!!!!!!!!!!!!

I decided to cancel installation after my initial consultation due to the negative comments that I have been reading regarding this company and it's sales practices. They are currently under an investor class action lawsuit against them and their stock price is plummeting. After I cancelled installation the day before the material was due to be delivered it set off a chain of phone calls from them stating there will be a cancellation fee of $4500 and if not submitted, a lien would be placed on my house. This would make it difficult to sell or refinance if desired. If they put a lien on my house, they can add my name to the class action lawsuit - Thank God I cancelled in time!!!!!!!!!!!

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Thank you for reaching out and bringing this matter to our attention. We sincerely apologize for the experience you've had. Rest assured, our team will review your account and reach out to you with assistance. Please email us at customerservice@sunnova.com. Your concerns are important to us, and we are committed to resolving them. Thank you for your patience, and we look forward to providing you with the exceptional customer service you deserve.

Veronica Buzelle | West Haven, Connecticut | 02/21/2024

Terrible

Terrible customer service. Do not recommend. Does not disclose all information

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Hello Veronica, We appreciate you letting us know about your experience. Please email us at customerservice@sunnova.com with your system ID and case number and our team will reach out to you right away. Thank you for your understanding and we eagerly anticipate the opportunity to make things right.

Leo santos | Whitehall, Pennsylvania | 02/19/2024

Scam (don't do hosting program)

They will take the 3 years of tax credit $6,000 a year depending on your overall panel cost. They are selling you the panels but will tell you you are purchasing the energy for 25 years. At the end of the 25 years the panels has not value meaning you finish paying the panels. In reality you pay for the panels (30,000) + 18,000 dollars from your tax credit. Very dishonest deal.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: We appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us and letting us know about your experience. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Our team is currently conducting a thorough review of your account, and we will have one of our dedicated agents contact you promptly to address your concerns. We want to assure you that we take this matter seriously and are fully committed to delivering the best customer service possible. Thank you for your understanding, and we eagerly anticipate the opportunity to make things right.

Buz Collins | Port Charlotte, Florida | 02/18/2024

William Collins

This is a fraudulent Transaction. We were told by salesman that we would charged $200.00 monthly increasing by 2.9% annually and that the money would go to cover the increases by the providers. (FPL). This relieved us of the concern of running out of energy. Nothing else was discussed except how long it would take to get it going which we were told could take up to 2 months. To our surprise we did not get a contract until our sales rep stopped by another month later and I asked when we would get our contract and he said "you got it". we e-mailed it to your acct. Another surprise. What we got was signatures using DocuSign with my initials. We did not make this authorization nor did we authorize anyone else to do that. So many things are bad. 1. We now have to keep the panels and modules clean which No mention was ever made of a 25 year non-revocable lease, (I am 79 nine years old) and would never enter into such an agreement. 2. Upon further review, many other add-ons were put in. We have both a pool heater and a Hot TUB. The "validation call did not occur. The only "call" I received was after my call to RYAN MOODY to find out about where our contract might be. He didn't Know 3. Not sure incentive claim isn't just filler. 4. Maintenance on the equipment paid by us. Redundant mentioned several times. 5. Why do tax credits come to you.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Thank you for getting in touch with us and bringing this issue to our attention. We understand the frustration this may have caused, and we sincerely apologize. Please send us your system ID or case number to customerservice@sunnova.com. One of our dedicated agents will reach out to you to discuss and address your concerns personally. We value your feedback and are committed to providing you with the highest level of customer service. Thank you for your patience, and we look forward to resolving this matter to your satisfaction.

Diana | Capitol Heights, Maryland | 02/17/2024

should have read the reviews

Understand bow and only can echo the really bad reviews I am just looking into. This is by far one of the worst companies I have dealt with in a long time. There is no support. Phone numbers are disconnected. Having damage on my walls for over 3 month now. Of course I have been promised, this will be fixed, and of course, right away. 3 months later still damaged walls and no response. Just called to cancel the autopay until everything is fixed and was informed, I will lose a $10 discount. SERIOUSLY?!?!?! You can not get things done and you still have to punish your customer??? It's frustrating and disappointing all around the board. So far I REALLY REGRET my decision to go with this company.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Hi Diana, , We genuinely appreciate your feedback, as it helps us identify areas where we can improve. We understand the importance of addressing your issues promptly, and we will be in touch with you shortly to help resolve the matter. Please email us at customerservice@sunnova.com with your system ID and case number. Thanks for your patience.

SunnovaSucks | Fremont, California | 02/15/2024

Urgent Warning: Do Not Buy/Lease Solar from Sunnova

I am writing to share my harrowing experience with Sunnova, the solar company associated with my Lennar townhome purchased in September 2023. My intention is to warn others about the nightmare I have endured and to urge them to steer clear of Sunnova at all costs. From the outset, I had no choice in selecting a solar provider and was assigned to Sunnova without any prior knowledge of their reputation. Despite being proactive and initiating the activation process immediately after moving in, the reality has been nothing short of a disaster. Sunnova promised an activation timeline of 6-8 weeks, but as of February 15, 2024, nearly five months later, my solar system remains inactive. Throughout this ordeal, I have diligently followed up with Sunnova, only to be met with a relentless cycle of excuses and blame-shifting between Sunnova and PG&E. Despite repeated assurances from Sunnova that they were fulfilling their obligations, it has become glaringly evident that they have failed miserably. The most recent revelation came from PG&E themselves, who explicitly stated in an email thread that they are awaiting a response from Sunnova to an inquiry sent three weeks ago. PG&E, Sunnova Interconnection (responsible for activation) and Sunnova Customer Service are all on this email thread. While PG&E are being responsive to the thread, requesting what they need from Sunnova, nobody from Sunnova has bothered to reply. In my countless attempts to address this issue with Sunnova, I have encountered nothing but frustration and incompetence. During my most recent call, after being put on hold and subsequently hung up on, I now receive a message every time I call stating that they are unable to answer my call. Meanwhile, my PG&E bill continues to skyrocket, further exacerbating the financial strain caused by Sunnova's ineptitude. My husband and I have probably wasted over 60 hours of our time and are still no closer to activation. I can't imagine how things are going to be once it gets activated based on the other reviews I'm reading. My experience with Sunnova has been a nightmare, and I implore anyone considering solar to heed my warning: DO NOT BUY/LEASE from Sunnova. Run far away, and do not purchase a home that has Sunnova attached to it. Furthermore, for those who may be tempted to reach out to Sunnova's customer service email as they reply to reviews, I urge you not to bother. The exact email address provided by Sunnova is included in the thread with PG&E and Sunnova Interconnection, and customer service has failed to respond to the email thread as well.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sunnova: Greetings, thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We sincerely apologize for the experience you have had and would love an opportunity to turn your experience around. We understand there has been difficulty in getting your system interconnected. Please email us at customerservice@sunnova.com with your system ID and case number so that we may contact your installation team in order to find a resolution as soon as possible. Thank you for your patience.

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

Energy monitoring

About Sunnova


At Sunnova, our mission is simple - to power energy independence. And we are deeply passionate about providing homeowners with a real choice when it comes to powering their homes with cleaner, more sustainable and affordable energy solutions. We are equally committed to creating trusted, long-term relationships with our customers, as they are the very heart of our business. Every day, our customers welcome us, in very real ways, onto and into their homes, and this relationship begins with our trusted sales, installation, and service dealers. While there are many things that set Sunnova apart from other energy providers, one of the biggest is our dealer business model. We work with a very select group of established local solar installers who have comprehensive knowledge of their markets, enabling us to provide the highest quality of service to our customers. Sunnova offers options for every homeowner to help customers gain energy independence and lower their annual utility costs. Sunnova customers in most states enjoy guaranteed energy production, system monitoring, and a best-in-class 25-year warranty. If you are ready to take the first step, learning more about the financial impact that solar will have on your household in your area, Sunnova is the perfect place to start.

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

Texas - Houston

20 Greenway Plaza, Houston TX, 77046

Loading...

Oregon - Bend

, Bend OR,

Licenses


2017604331

Contact Sunnova


Location pin
Head Office
20 Greenway Plaza, Houston TX, 77046
Website
Website
Sunnova