StraightUp Solar

Verified profile
Updated: 06 July 2021
Installer

Installing solar since 2006

StraightUp Solar logo

4.49 from 43 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

StraightUp Solar reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.7

Price as quoted

4.8

On schedule

4.7

Installation quality

4.8

After sales support

4.6

Latest good review thumbs up

RTV | Delavan, Illinois | 08/30/2021

Excellent service and support.

We have solar panels for our farming operation and greatly enjoy the benefits of clean energy.

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

Ryan H. | Normal, Illinois | 07/22/2019

BE WARE OF HIDDEN COSTS AND A LACK OF POST-INSTALLATION SERVICE

Straight-up solar is very pushy when it comes to closing the sales deal. They will say anything to get you to sign the papers, and it's nothing short of a predatory loan. First of all, let me be very clear that YOU WILL NOT SAVE ANY MONEY by going to solar -- not a chance for what you have to pay up front. Our system cost $32,517 for a 9.6KW array. Regardless whether you take out a loan or pay up front, even after federal rebates, you still won't break even in at least 10 years. I'm not going to dive into too much details of the financial argument, but just know that they'll say anything to make you believe otherwise. Then, there's the local utility company requirements -- $1 million dollar mandatory liability insurance -- a major hurdle that would significantly affect your ability to sell your house, should you move. This is because whomever inherits your solar panels would have to buy additional insurance as well -- as long as it sits on the roof. On top of this, your accumulated solar power, is reset every quarter to zero! YES, if you collected 1500KW total in the spring and hope to use it in the summer, sorry, you CAN'T. The local utility company resets it after May 31st, wiping out all your gains. None of those were disclosed to us before we signed the paper. I had to find this out from someone in the City Hall. After our panels were installed, it was generating 2/3 of it's capacity for over 45 days! None of their "engineers" could tell us why until the "head engineer" came and found a wire wasn't connected. Lastly, if you decide to go with those guys, you should hope you will NEVER move. As stated above, having panels on your roof affects your ability to sell your home. If you want to take down the panels, they charge you a ridiculous $7,000 for the labor only, NOT INCLUDING POTENTIAL ROOF DAMAGE REPAIRS. Note that the average cost to remove panels in the US is about $1,000 to $2,000 tops. I spoke to someone at another solar company and they were shocked to hear the $7,000 quote. The bottom line is, you need to do a lot of research before you go solar. I learned the lesson the hard way. I am a strong advocate of environmental protection and I sincerely hoped those guys shared the same passion. To my utter dismay, Straight Up does not share this passion. They are NOT in the business to make the world a better place but only to make themselves rich.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Linda Giles | Normal, Illinois | 07/06/2021

They were a good compnay to work with.

They guided me through the setup process and various forms needed and answered any questions. The only problem is that the office I dealt with at the time was the St. Louis one, so there was often a wait-time for technicians to be in the area.

read more

Rural Southern Illinios | Grantsburg, Illinois | 07/06/2021

No complaints!

Straight up solar installed a system for my rural home and garage set up about six years ago. I was satisfied with the planning, the work, and the outcome of the installation. At my level of energy usage, I have been able to sell energy credit almost every month and have not paid for electricity since the installation. I have no complaints! And I recommend them without reservation.

read more

John | Urbana, Illinois | 07/06/2021

kept every promise and continue supportive services

Even after several years, I continue to be impressed with Straight-Up Solar. Our area experienced a hail storm last year that required a total roof replacement, yet the solar panels were unharmed. However, they did have to be removed and re-installed to allow the roofing. Straight Up was timely and efficient in this process. The panels continue to perform at expected levels and my electric bills are unbelievably low.

read more

David B | El Paso, Illinois | 07/06/2021

Professional and Great Craftsmanship

We chose StraightUp Solar to install our ground-mounted solar array because of their experience, professionalism, and longevity in Illinois. The did what they said they would do and I am very happy with my system.

read more

Jennaver Brown | Belleville, Illinois | 06/25/2020

Service after the Sale

So the biggest fear you have when a group of guys drills 400 holes into your new roof is a leak right? We got one - and these guys jumped on it and stayed on it until they sourced the problem out. They were responsive, they were professional and they are reimbursing us for the small amount of ceiling damage that resulted. Leaks happen, its the service after the sale that separates the pros from the shmos. Kudos to Straight Up - From sales to installation to service, these folks have earned this 5 star review.

read more

Bruce'K | Highland, Illinois | 05/14/2018

My project

When I decided to go solar I was hoping to lower my electrical usage. The installation was quick and done professional and no problems occured. Well the system has been gatherings solar energy the last two months and my last 2 electrical bills have been no better than before. A minor deduction but nothing to brag about. For me this has been a horrible decision. Maybe my next couple of bills will surprise me but I doubt it. A bad investment for me or maybe I was expecting to much.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from StraightUp Solar: Bruce, We will reach you in the next 24 hours to discuss this. We've looked at your monitoring and your system is producing as much, if not slightly better than, projected! It is likely something as simple as a billing error.<br /><br />As a reminder, your system purchase includes phone support. So do call us directly with any concerns or issues you're having. <br /><br />In addition your system is fully warrantied so in the unlikely event there were to be a problem with it, you would be assured of a remedy to achieve the production your system was designed for.<br /><br />Look forward to helping you out as soon as possible<br /><br />Betsy Ford, Customer Care Manager

shades | Bloomington, Illinois | 12/14/2017

Excellence

Solar Experience<br /><br />The solar project myself and the YWCA Mc Lean County have been part of has been a very pleasant experience. <br />Everyone at Straight Up Solar from the Installers to the President, Business Development Coordinator, Solar Specialist, Project Developer, Service Lead / Field Coordinator, Removal and Replacement Specialist, Director of Commercial Sales, Project Coordinator, Field Operations Technician, Master Electrician & Director of Design and Shine Development Partners has been absolutely wonderful to work with. It is gratifying to work with a group that takes so much pride in their work and how they do it. You can tell working with these people that they are very passionate about the work they do.<br />I appreciated the thoughtfulness of not only how they worked but how they treated our building, the property and all of our staff when they were here.<br />They truly made my job much easier to transition from what we had to the whole solar project.<br />If Straight Up Solar is the definition of Solar companies, Solar is poised to be great. <br /><br />Perry E Mayer<br />Director Of Building Operations<br />YWCA of Mc Lean County

read more

MMurphy | Belleville, Illinois | 08/26/2017

couldn't be more pleased

The quality of work was top-notch and the power production numbers are far exceeding the bid estimate. <br />I have only been active for a little more than 6 months, but have produced 22,500 kWh, about 111% of the estimated production<br />

read more

DGF | Hudson, Illinois | 05/04/2017

Great experience

Going solar couldn't have been simpler. We discussed all of our options and received all the information we needed to make our decision. Straight Up Solar managed all of the permits, the site plan and the installation seamlessly. We are now paying our electric company a monthly fee for the meter and that's it. I actually look forward to receiving the bill to see how many kWh I have banked!

read more

Terra | Congerville, Illinois | 01/03/2017

Great Experience with Straight-up Solar, A-to-Z

Since installing a geothermal system a few years ago, we saw our electric bills go up (although our propane bills went down), so we wanted to take the next step in both economic and environmental sustainability, and get off the dirty coal energy that electric companies around us tend to use. A neighbor had a good experience with StraightUp Solar, so we began talking with Shannon Fulton. She took the time to answer all our questions, and we went through quite a few different scenarios, each with pros/cons, before deciding to spread the solar panels over 5 different roof surfaces on the south side of our home. This was not a standard or easy installation, but every member of the team worked together, and in the end it worked beautifully. As soon as they flipped the switch, our monthly electric bill went to the $18 minimum monthly service charge. We are now in the shortest days of the year, so may have to pay a bit more than that, but so far the system has worked perfectly, and we are very happy to be generating clean energy and paying very low electric bills.

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Small commercial solar - Grid tied

Tesla Powerwall sales and installations

Pika / Generac Energy Storage

LG Chem solar batteries

SolarEdge - StorEdge

About StraightUp Solar


Founded in 2006, StraightUp Solar is a self-performing turn-key solar photovoltaic energy capture and storage system design, installation, and maintenance provider.

Certified as a B Corporation, StraightUp Solar's design and installation portfolio ranges from 2KW residential rooftop systems to 1.8MW municipal and commercial ground-mount installations.

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

Illinois - Bloomington

505 N Main Street, Bloomington IL, 61701

Loading...

Missouri - St. Louis

11696 Lilburn Park Road, St. Louis MO, 63146

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association Solar Power World

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Dane Glueck
031409-42
NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Joshua Hill
042013-49
NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Adam Kiehna
PV-102117-019203
NABCEP Certified PV Technical Sales
Brent Ritzel
TS-102117-019254

License


MO-LC0763087. MO-E1764. IL- ELE-0268

Contact StraightUp Solar


Location pin
Head Office
11696 Lilburn Park Road, St. Louis MO, 63146