Renewable Energy Corporation

Verified profile
Updated: 01 March 2021
Installer

Installing solar since 2015

Renewable Energy Corporation logo

4.41 from 40 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

Renewable Energy Corporation reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.3

Price as quoted

4.6

On schedule

4.5

Installation quality

4.6

After sales support

4.6

Latest good review thumbs up

Robin B | Jefferson, Maryland | 06/19/2021

Excellent Company, Excellent Experience!

This year we decided to add a solar system to our home, so we contacted Renewable Energy Corp (REC) to get an estimate. Their sales representative came to our home and walked us through the process, technology, products, and services they provide. After surveying our home’s installation site and checked the availability of direct sunlight over the course of a day at our location, they provided an estimate that we accepted for a 6kw system. The installation was then scheduled and took two days to complete. REC did all the engineering work, permitting, lined up the county inspection, power company inspection, which included the installation of a new digital meter. They hooked up our WIFI to the solar panel’s microinverter monitoring system and provided us with a smartphone app that enabled us to monitor the energy we were collecting from the sun, which enabled us to start to see the savings! All went very smoothly and quickly to complete the project. They facilitated the application to SREC and provided a closeout package that included the Maryland state subsidy application (all pre-filled out by REC), and IRS guidance on the federal tax credit process. It was a complete turn-key project from start to finish and we was very pleased that REC did everything for us. The quality of their work was top notch and very thorough. They really made sure that we would be 100% satisfied. I am very happy with REC and their personnel who guided us through the whole project before, during and after installation, which elevated my confidence and trust in them. Overall, it was an excellent experience

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

Ludders | Falls Church, Virginia | 06/18/2019

Felt like car salesman

I chose to cancel my agreement with REC after they failed to provide me with the details (number of panels, design) in the wake of the visit by the pushy salesmen who claimed we were getting special pricing and had to sign NOW, or the deal wasn't available the next day. Perhaps it was the truth that I was 1st in my zip code and it was a discounted price (but still not less than other quotes I got), regardless I felt like I had a used car salesman hoodwink me into a solar system.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Victor Miranda | Frederick, Maryland | 03/01/2021

Best decision we've made

The entire process was easy, from the owner Shawn Mcneill ,the sales rep Kyle Murphu to the installers they were very professionals. As for the Installation the Installers were very Knowledgeable and very engage with us answering every question we asked. The installation process was quick and clean. They are very easy to talk to and will answer all of your questions and return your calls in a timely manner. If you are thinking about getting a solar system for your home give Renewable Energy Corporation, you wont regret it.

read more

Carli B | Washington, District of Columbia | 06/12/2019

So very pleased with our experience

Thank you Andrew Clarke and the whole team at REC for making it so painless to go solar. From the initial meeting in my living room, which required essential knowledge and incredible patience, to the last time Andrew was on the phone talking me through turning on my system for the first time, the people at REC are Pro-fession-AL! I'd recommend them 100% any time! Do it, you won't be sorry you went with REC!

read more

Bill W. | Bryantown, Maryland | 12/09/2018

SOLAR HOME RUN!

So, you think you want to go solar? Here's why you should first look into “Renewable Energy Corporation” (REC) based in Timonium, MD. When I first contacted them I knew nothing about solar systems. REC sent a representative to my home, and after a quick review of our premises were able to present us with several roof array options. We had a choice between a basic 12 panel (3 kw array), or the one we chose, an 18 panel (5 kw array) which was the maximum panels this roof would accommodate after applying county rules & regulations. REC also prepared the required net-meter interconnection application to our electric company. The prepping didn't stop there, REC also wired our electric panel and handled all the county inspections allowing the SolarEdge inverter connection. Keep in mind, every county & electric company has different rules & regulations that must be followed, REC knows what they are. Every tax break and rebate we were entitled to was made aware to us along with the guidance of how and where to apply for them. Our experience with REC was excellent and we extend our sincere thanks to Andrew, William and Sherri for all their help.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Bill W.: So, you think you want to go solar? Here’s why you should first look into “Renewable Energy Corporation” (REC) based in Timonium, MD. When I first contacted them I knew nothing about solar systems. REC sent a representative to my home, and after a quick review of our premises were able to present us with several roof array options. We had a choice between a basic 12 panel (3 kw array), or the one we chose, an 18 panel (5 kw array) which was the maximum panels this roof would accommodate after applying county rules & regulations. REC also prepared the required net-meter interconnection application to our electric company. The prepping didn’t stop there, REC also wired our electric panel and handled all the county inspections allowing the SolarEdge inverter connection. Keep in mind, every county & electric company has different rules & regulations that must be followed, REC knows what they are. Every tax break and rebate we were entitled to was made aware to us along with the guidance of how and where to apply for them. Our experience with REC was excellent and we extend our sincere thanks to Andrew, William and Sherri for all their help.

ElecBillKiller | Waynesboro, Pennsylvania | 11/01/2018

Brightening My Day

We received a huge electric bill. Decided to look into solar systems to lower our bill. I Googled solar system installers and found about 5. Two were like dealing with used car salesman, very pushy and really not quite professional. The last appointment we had was with Rob from Renewable Energy Corporation. He was very nice and not pushy at all. He proposed a smaller system than the others had. Fewer higher quality panels less cost for the same production. As with any project there are hiccups. The team at Renewable have been very responsive to any and all questions/concerns we have had. After signing the contract and prior to installation I had a few concerns about the system, cold feet. I asked to correspond via Email rather than just phone calls. I was Emailed by Sherrie, the Operations Manager, she was prompt with replies and informative. SHe was also very calming. The folks that came to our home were prompt and courteous. The work was completed on time and looks seamless. We are very pleased with the overall appearance of our new solar system. The local inspection was scheduled and past with no issues. Renewable sent an Electrician out for the inspection. Andrew is out final contact person to get the system going and finalize all the paperwork. He is very pleasant to deal with and quickly resolved a few issues we had. Overall every person we have dealt with at Renewable Energy Corporation has been some of the nicest folks you want to meet. We are very pleased with both the produce and service they provide. <br />Oh one other small point. We live a good distance from their offices they have been on time for everything they did at our home.

read more

solar august | Annapolis, Maryland | 09/26/2018

Great Service

Great company, Team were terrific removing and reinstalling panels after getting new roof done. Team was courteous, respectful and very friendly. After reinstalling they came back to check and make sure everything was ok. I would highly recommend them!

read more

Oscar#1 | Silver Spring, Maryland | 08/24/2018

Satisfied Customer

Renewable was very informative as to all the details involved in the Solar Panel installation. They were also very helpful in guiding me through all the steps that I had to follow to get approval from the utility company and the permits needed. They also guided me through the process I needed to follow for obtaining tax rebates from the state of Maryland (which was more complicated than federal rebates). I couldn't be happier with their service.

read more

Jendragon | Stevensville, Maryland | 08/09/2018

Battery Back-up!

In 2016, I bought my first solar energy system from Renewable Energy Corp. As we decided about what company we wanted to use and what type of system we wanted to get, we learned that when grid power is lost, a home with solar panels will still lose power. Therefore we researched back-up battery systems. We also decided that we did not want to lease our system, we wanted to purchase it. Purchasing a system meant that we were able to gain the tax credits for our system, upgrade it as we wished and did not have to worry about decisions to sell our home.<br /> Renewable Energy Corporation was the best decision we could have made for our solar system. They came to our home and gave us real feedback on the strengths and limitations of our location. They did not try to oversell their product to us. We didn't have to sign any agreement or contract in order to get a price quote. The quote was true to value and they worked a few different options so that we could consider how much we could afford and ways in which to upgrade over time as needed or wanted.<br /><br /> When you purchase solar, ABSOLUTELY get the battery back-up system. I had lived in my home for 16 years and only had one major power outage during a hurricane, so I didn't think that it was a huge necessity. But, I chose to do the back-up because I have a family and I wanted the peace of mind.<br /> The first year we had solar, a snow plow took down the wires less than a quarter mile from our house. Power was out over night (about 9 hours) in a snow storm. The battery system automatically switched the house over with no power disruption (I don't even have to reset my clocks). My family stayed warm and had the water we needed due to our solar battery back-up.<br /> In August of 2017 a tornado blew through our community taking out power for 22 hours. Again, we were able to save our refrigerated foods and have water and keep our sump pump going when our neighbors lost power.<br /><br /> Renewable Energy Corp has continued to follow-up with us on how our system is working and we have needed no maintenance, nor had any problems since installation. This summer we opted to maximize our roof space with more panels and again the salesmen and installation crews were extremely professional, friendly and helpful. I recommend this company as highly as possible.

read more

Karmenid | Glen Burnie, Maryland | 07/30/2018

Karmenid Medina-unsuscribe

We recently got our 6Kw solar system installed by Renewable Energy Corporation after moving to Maryland. We had solar system in our home in California which it was totally worth it, great investment and saved us a lot. Renewable Energy Corporation offered and gave us a high quality product at a great price. The entire process was smooth and friendly. The installation was done in one day and they helped us with all the paperwork for the state and federal incentives. I definitely recommend Renewable Energy Corporation over any other company.

read more

Mr Daniel G | Glen Burnie, Maryland | 07/17/2018

Great company, great product and exclellent service

We just got our 6 kW system installed in June. The staff at Renewable Energy Corporation were very helpful and professional. They made the process easy and helped us with all the paperwork for the HOA, county permits, different rebates, net meter installation and SREC account. They installed the system in just one day and the technician made sure that I was 100 % satisfied with the installation. The entire system is well engineered and the panels are some of the most efficient in the industry and have a great warranty, as well as their labor. If you want to go solar I definitely recommend Renewable Energy Corporation.

read more

Happy Solar Panel Owner | Centreville, Maryland | 03/20/2018

Solar Panel Installation(s) - 2014 & 2016

Renewable Energy Corporation was recommended to us by a friend. We chose to buy our solar panels. Our first installation was 12 panels (3kW) - 2014. Our second installation was 8 panels (2KW) - 2016. All of our interactions with employees of Renewable Energy were professional (salesman, installers, office staff). The panels were installed in a timely fashion and met the requirements of our home owners association guidelines. We chose the panels because of their efficiency, power output, and each panel had mini-inverters (vs. a single inverter).

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Office locations


Loading...

Maryland - Timonium

9 W. Aylesbury Road, Timonium MD, 21093

Service areas


Select state:

Contact Renewable Energy Corporation


Location pin
Head Office
9 W. Aylesbury Road, Timonium MD, 21093