Maine Solar Solutions

Verified profile
Updated: 10 March 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2012

Maine Solar Solutions logo

4.42 from 17 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 0 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Unrated

Featured media


Maine Solar Solutions reviews


4 stars

0

3 stars

0

2 stars

0

1 star

0

4.42

Avg. rating

Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

5.0

Price as quoted

5.0

On schedule

5.0

Installation quality

5.0

After sales support

4.9

Latest good review thumbs up

Jim Harrison | Kennebunk, Maine | 04/13/2022

superb service from the estimates through the install

What a great company to work with. From my first inquiries to the final install I couldn't be happier with the way this has gone. Professional, knowledgeable, friendly, competitive and came through on every promise. Actually was able to schedule the install three weeks earlier then they thought. I will be a happy referral customer.

read more

All reviews

>
>

djl | Cumberland Center, Maine | 03/10/2022

All as Promised

Professional and on time. Installation works exactly as estimated, the install team was professional and courteous, and they provided prompt responses to all after sale questions and requests.

read more

Neil | Brunswick, Maine | 05/27/2021

First year report

My Maine Solar Solutions system just finished its first year. MSS predicted that the annual production would be 9.25 MWh. Actual production was about 10.30 MWh...11% over prediction! It’s nice to see a company under promise and over deliver!

read more

Jake Wolterbeek | Kittery, Maine | 06/02/2020

In one word - Excellent!

From the initial site visit (1 1/2 hours, incredibly thorough) they were possibly the most pleasant people I have ever worked with. The owner Sam helped me with a clarification in the contract, Maureen kept me updated on permits, CMP documents, and timing of the install. The installation crew was amazing! They started work in weather I didn’t even want to go out in (2 degrees above 0). They exceeded any expectation I had, and did it without hesitation. I got quotes from several solar installers. Maine Solar Solutions did by far the most thorough analysis for me to consider and was extremely competitive on price. I highly recommend them - they are a class act!

read more

Bob @ Newfield, ME | Newfield, Maine | 05/15/2020

A great experience

From start to finish, the folks at Maine Solar Solutions were informative and easy to work with. The process was respectful, congenial and smooth from start to finish. Their on-site crew was remarkably efficient, coordinated and maintained the highest standards for installation. Follow up communications and all paperwork was effective and efficient. A great company!!

read more

Sue T. | Harpswell, Maine | 04/21/2020

Excellent all the way around!

Maine Solar was superb from start to finish. The estimate was quick and thorough, the installation was flawless, and the results are excellent. We could not have asked for more.

read more

Nat and Donna | Scarborough, Maine | 02/15/2020

Excellent Experience with Maine Solar Solutions

Maine Solar Solutions was a pleasure to work with. My initial system assessment was performed by Sam Zuckerman, owner. His was one of two bids for the project, the other was from Revision Energy (also a pleasure to work with). It was a tough decision. Sam said he would try to install the system before the end of 2018, and he delivered. His crew, led by Phil Walter, was outstanding. Phil was great about staying in touch by text messaging, so I knew when the crew was coming and going. When they wrapped-up, everything was left neat as a pin. The same can be said for the indoor electrical work. There was one miscalculation, but we had a good solution. My system is a 10-kW grid-tied system with battery. I chose to go with Pika Energy, a local Westbrook company, for the battery system (now owned by Generac). The battery modules arrived exactly as promised. A problem with the inverter was addressed by Pika sending a technician to the house. Having Pika nearby was invaluable. The system seems to be meeting all our power needs. When there is a power outage, the switchover to battery backup is almost unnoticeable. I am happy not to have to deal with propane tanks, noise, oil changes, and generator maintenance. We can keep the house warm and the lights on for probably three days with no sun. If the sun comes out and the panels are not snow-covered, we can go indefinitely through a power outage. There is nothing like a steep roof pitch to help the panels clear themselves of snow. It just slides off. Not so with a shallow pitch. I would buy this system again. I would have Maine Solar Solutions install it, with the caveat that you should always obtaining more than one bid. Areas for improvement: Maine Solar Solutions needs to produce a homeowner’s instruction manual for the system that explains all the new switches and devices that are mounted outside and in.

read more

Bob Stevens | Freeport , ME | 03/04/2019

They were terrific: fast, reasonably priced and competent

Maine Solar Solutions was recommended to us by a trustworthy source. Sam contacted us and came to our house immediately, determined what we wanted and needed, and made a competitive proposal that he he said he would try to complete by the end of 2018, which was important to us for tax credit purposes.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Maine Solar Solutions: We are so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community, Bob. Always a pleasure to work with you.

Julia Lyn | Kittery, Maine | 02/07/2019

Great service

I interviewed a few companies before I chose MaineSolar<br />they were more thorough in answering my questions. Returned calls quickly and offered a better quality product that was more locally produced then the other companies <br />Installation was a breeze. They took care of all logistics including obtaining s building permit and working with my electric company for connecting to the grid. The panels have performed as predicted since the install 3 years ago.<br />I highly recommend Maine Solar

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Maine Solar Solutions: Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review, Julia. It is always such a pleasure reconnecting with you.

Sophi S | Bath, Maine | 02/07/2019

Great service

We love our solar panels and the installation was excellent. Even when we ran into issues (which we figured would happen in a 150 year old house!) Maine Solar Solutions was professional and helpful. They discovered that our roof sheathing needed to be replaced when they began to install the panels. Rather than install them on a bad roof, they called me, stopped installation, and held our place at the top of the queue while we had our roof repaired. It was a bummer, but nice to have Maine Solar on our side throughout! They look fantastic and are generating tons of power.<br /><br />Maine Solar also installed two heat pumps for us. They gave us a recommendation on where to install them within the house and what size to use and they have been spot on - they heat and cool the place perfectly (and are powered by our new solar array!) <br /><br />Great customer service and we couldn't be happier.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Maine Solar Solutions: Thanks for the great review, Sophi! The team at Maine Solar Solutions really enjoyed working with you. Never hesitate to contact me directly with any questions, and we will be in touch to check in about meeting this spring. <br />In gratitude,<br />The Maine Solar Team

ml04096 | Yarmouth, Maine | 01/23/2019

The way solar should be

After talking with several firms about solar options for our house, we ended up choosing Maine Solar Solutions to design and install our system. So glad we did.<br /><br />Starting with the initial evaluation, Aaron listened to our ideas and concerns, and answered our many questions as he walked us through the process of configuring a system and establishing our net metering account. In addition to the energy generation and performance features, we were also looking for a system that would not detract visually from the historic character of our house. Aaron developed a number of design options for us to consider, and in the end we choose a system with panels from Solaria that met our requirements. <br /><br />We were very impressed with the quality and attention to detail of the installation work provided by Phillip and the Maine Solar Solutions crew. For example, they ran the external conduit in a way that followed the lines of the house, and neatly integrated the electrical components into our complex multi-generational electrical system. The array's output has met our expectations, and monitoring it's performance is a breeze with the SolarEdge app. Thanks to the folks at Maine Solar Solutions we now have the satisfaction that comes with generating our own power and reducing our reliance on carbon-based energy sources.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Maine Solar Solutions: Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us—and we agree, our install crew is a great one! We look forward to staying in touch and never hesitate to let us know if you need anything or have any questions.<br />Sincerely,<br />Sam

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

Energy monitoring

Residential solar - Off-grid systems

Tesla Powerwall sales and installations

Sonnen battery sales and installations

Pika / Generac Energy Storage

LG Chem solar batteries

SolarEdge - StorEdge

About Maine Solar Solutions


Our dedicated team designs, installs, and services solar electric (PV) systems all over the state. We take pride in helping home and business owners lower their utility costs and gain energy independence by switching to solar power.

Consultative Approach:
We take the time to educate you about your options, answer your questions, and perform a thorough site assessment. Our goal is to provide you with the information that you need to make an informed decision.

Quality Installation:
Our qualified and experienced team ensures a safe, code compliant installation, performed quickly and professionally.

Clear Pricing & Simple Financing:
We present a range of system pricing and provide direct purchase and financing options.

Everything we do revolves around ensuring you get the solar system that's right for you.

Office locations


Loading...

Maine - Freeport

491 US ROUTE 1 SUITE 20, Freeport ME, 04032

Certifications


Better Business Bureau American Solar Energy Society Solar Power World

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Aaron Cartterfield
PV-042217-012828

Contact Maine Solar Solutions


Location pin
Head Office
491 US ROUTE 1 SUITE 20, Freeport ME, 04032