Sun Badger Solar

Verified profile
Updated: 21 July 2022
Installer

Installing solar since 2018

Sun Badger Solar logo
Pre-Screened Solar Pro

Since 2018

4.74 from 241 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

SolarReviews Expert Rating Score:

A score we give a solar company out of 100 based on 13 criteria that our SolarReviews industry experts believe are the best criteria to separate good and bad solar companies.

Elite

Rating breakdown

Featured media


Sun Badger Solar reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.9

Price as quoted

4.9

On schedule

4.5

Installation quality

4.8

After sales support

4.7

Latest good review thumbs up

DJ | Roberts, Wisconsin | 07/26/2022

Great to work with!

From the start, the Sun Badger Solar team communicated extremely well. We had a few challenges on our property (wooded lot, paved driveway, distance between house and system) but the team collaborated to create an affordable and highly functional system.

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

Greg V | Naples, Florida | 05/20/2022

Solar Project

The Solar System is working great, just as it was envisioned. However this did not come easily. The project was delayed over 6 months partially due to a redesign doubling the battery back up system capacity. This was necessary to meet the original objective of fulfilling our energy needs in a power outage lasting several days. Service responsiveness could use some attention also.

read more
1 comment >
Reply from Sun Badger Solar: Thank you for your feedback Greg. Congratulations on going solar! Delays such as yours may occur in order to ensure the system fits your needs. Thank you for being patient and understanding through this process! We look forward to many sunny years to come for you!

All reviews

>
>

Carol H | New Glarus, Wisconsin | 07/21/2022

Sun Badger Solar up and running!

Very positive experience from the sales process through after sale support. A small supply chain delay (no surprise) and schedule juggling, but all the staff with whom I worked were professional, friendly, and worked together as a team. Only "oops" was missing the Critter Guard, but I'll be okay. Highly recommend the company.

read more

John Anderson | Lakeville, Minnesota | 07/14/2022

Electrician

What made this process helpful was the sales consultant and the electrician! Sales guy Nick G was awesome! Always there and when I had a problem reached out to him and he got people involved to figure it out. He is also down to earth and understands what your looking for. Never tried to sell me garbage or stuff I didn’t need. Told him what I needed it to do and he made it happen. During install the electrician was awesome! He did some of the amazing work to make sure it looked better then it was before hand. I’m particular how I want things and he went above and beyond my standards. He hid made it look like it was supposed to be there from the start and his service was awesome. Cleaned up after himself apologized when he couldn’t clean it up better. Let us know when he was coming or going but the most important thing was he had good insight into the solar performance as he has his own. Overall I would work with this company again and recommend working with Nick G to help make it happen. I would don’t know all there electricians but I wouldn’t want anyone else beside the guy who installed mine. I can’t remember his name but definitely knows Customer service and having a professional finished product

read more

Charlie B | Milwaukee, Wisconsin | 06/24/2022

Great experience with solar array installation

I had a very positive experience with Sun Badger, from the beginning of the process through to to interconnection. My sales person (Jim) was super helpful and accommodating in answering my many questions, and was great about guiding me towards the right solution for my needs, rather than just maximizing my array size. Then post-sale Sun Badger was great about keeping me up to date on progress and when things were going to be happening. The only hiccups I had in the process were due to the utility company being slow to schedule and sometimes not communicating things, but that's certainly not Sun Badger's fault. After interconnection they also did a great job of getting me up and running with the monitoring app. Based on my experience, I would enthusiastically recommend working with Sun Badger for solar needs.

read more

Will Ponder | Buffalo Lake, Minnesota | 06/22/2022

Did what they said

I applied to my HOA for permission to install solar on the roof of my Minnesota home and was denied. I thought that if the board had more information they might reconsider and suggested an informational meeting that I would host for them and other HOA members. (Thirty-five members came) Sun Badger sent one of their best sales people and the municipal utility sent the electric utility director to help present information. That was the beginning of my relationship with Sun Badger Solar. The board changed the no to yes and adopted a solar policy. That was in November. On June 9th the install was completed and the panels began producing electricity. The process was not quick but Sun Badger was organized and delivered on what they said. All of my contacts with the people there were professional and attentive. I liked them well enough that I recommended them to my daughter and son-in-law’s system. Sun Badger will be installed in the next couple of months.

read more

Jodi K. | Madison, Wisconsin | 06/21/2022

Wonderful experience from start to finish

Working with Sun Badger has been a great experience. We spoke with several other solar companies and Sun Badger was by far the best. Everyone we worked with was kind and professional.

read more

Shaun | Milwaukee, Wisconsin | 06/21/2022

In working with this company it has been the most painless experience, they worked with in the budget and needs I asked for, they keep me updated through the entire process, and we're quick to respond to any inquiries. What more can I say then can't wait to work with them again to expand my system.

read more

Andy | Saint Francis, Wisconsin | 06/18/2022

I highly recommend Sun Badger Solar

My experience with Sun Badger Solar has been extremely positive. They exceeded expectations from beginning to end of the sales, installation and government/utility process. One of the significant factors in choosing Sun Badger is they have a comprehensive installation process that includes the planning, financing, working through all permitting, installation and monitoring. My time involvement after making the decision to go with Sun Badger for my installation was minimal - digital communications, a site visit, letting the installers into my house for each 3 days of installation and meeting the city inspector for about a half hour for his inspection. My understanding is that Sun Badger has its own installers do the vast majority of their installations. They actually had Home Team Electric perform my install. Home Team did a great job. I had 23 panels installed, plus had my panel upgraded from 100 amp to 200 amp. I have a detached garage, that panels were installed on, so Home Team also ran a wire for a 240 Volt EV charging port to the garage. This work included trenching and cutting a small amount of concrete. The installers did a great job of both planning and execution. Everything was completed in about 2.5 days, which included rain on 1.5 of the days. They left everything cleaner than they left it. The inspector had one small issue which was fixed within days of when the inspector came. The system was also approved by We Energies and then producing power within less than 2 weeks of installation. I chose the financing option that Sun Badger offered through Sunlight Financial as I did not have the funds available for a full solar project and electrical upgrades needed for the project I wanted to do. If you are not planning to sell your house for a while, I highly recommend this option. I received my first electric bill and my Sunlight Financial bill is already less than the savings on my energy bill. This is with the extra generating capacity I added to my system for a future electric car purchase, and the electrical upgrades that I included in the financing. One thing - I would not recommend getting capacity beyond use in the We Energies service area in Wisconsin, as they pay wholesale prices for the energy you sell back. When you see on an energy bill how little that is, you just shake your head. Once the system is installed, you can monitor production every day through the Sun Badger app on your phone - seeing how much each panel produces, production by 15 minute increments, daily, weekly and monthly production. It is cool to see. I found Sun Badger delivered completely on what I was sold in my initial Zoom meeting. Their representatives have been professional and communicative and very good at explaining the overall process step-by-step. If you are considering a home solar panel installation, I highly recommend Sun Badger Solar.

read more

Solar Fan | Hastings, Minnesota | 06/10/2022

Great experience and performance delivery

Our system went into service May 26, earlier than expected, and is delivering as promised! Sun Badger folks were extremely helpful and responsive, and professional, throughout the purchase, permitting, and installation process. We chose Sun Badger after considering a competitor, and felt the Sun Badger equipment and funding process was superior, and their technical qualifications hit all the items in a checklist provided by our utility for solar provider selection. Sun Badger was responsive to questions throughout the process, and even provided a solution to our weak home WiFi signal, in order to get system communications on-line for performance monitoring. Self-monitoring is kind of fun through the Sun Badger app, but 3 years of advanced monitoring and diagnostics, with automatic alarming and call out of a maintenance professional are provided free of charge. This covers the period when "infant mortality" component failures would be expected.

read more

ken | Evergreen Park, Illinois | 06/09/2022

Solar panels

I’m very happy choosing Sun badger to install my solar panels. I researched several companies and sun badger stood out. Biggest thing for me was warranty and industry leading solar panel. Service was fantastic. Constant email communication step by step of entire process. Pretty long process to get to installation. Installation done in one day.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sun Badger Solar: Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure working with you and congratulations on going solar! Don't forget about our referral program and please let us know if you have any questions going forward!

Zach Rendall | Waukesha, Wisconsin | 05/26/2022

Seamless

I loved having Sun Badger in charge of my solar install! The value of having a company do all of the paperwork and design of the system is priceless! Highly recommend.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sun Badger Solar: Thank you for the feedback! Taking care of you, as the customer, is our main priority, and we are so pleased you experienced that. Don't forget about our referral program to share the experience with your friends and family!

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Commercial solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

About Sun Badger Solar


Sun Badger Solar provides high quality, professionally designed solar arrays to home and business owners in Illinois, Wisconsin and Minnesota. Customer satisfaction is our top priority! We treat each project as if it was our own home or business. Sun Badger utilizes the newest technologies on the market to insure your system is built to last, with only Tier One equipment. Our staff has over a decade of experience in the Solar industry, and can help find the best, most economical solution to your energy needs. We also have multiple financing options that can help make solar a reality for anyone on any budget! *Minnesota solar installations, including the mounting of panels/modules, are performed by a Minnesota licensed electrical contractor.

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

Illinois - Arlington Heights

2420 E. Oakton Street Unit K, Arlington Heights IL, 60005

Loading...

Wisconsin - Milwaukee

2625 S. Greeley Street Suite 215, Milwaukee WI, 53207

Wisconsin - Waukesha

2100 Pewaukee Rd., Waukesha WI, 53188

Loading...

Minnesota - Bloomington

7840 12th Ave South, Bloomington MN, 55420

Loading...

Florida - Sarasota

1680 Fruitville Road, Sarasota FL, 34236

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association Solar Power World

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Andrew Horn
PV-090619-021667
PV Design Specialist
Andrew Horn
PVDS-101220-021667

Licenses


Chicago Electrical License

Illinois Electrical Contractors License

Wisconsin Electrical Contractors License

Florida Electrical Contractors License

Contact Sun Badger Solar


Location pin
Head Office
2420 E. Oakton Street Unit K, Arlington Heights IL, 60005