Sun Badger Solar

Verified profile
Updated: 22 November 2021
Installer

Installing solar since 2018

Sun Badger Solar logo
Pre-Screened Solar Pro

Since 2018

4.75 from 201 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

Featured media


Sun Badger Solar reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

4.9

Price as quoted

4.9

On schedule

4.5

Installation quality

4.8

After sales support

4.7

Latest good review thumbs up

Timothy Johnson | De Pere, WI | 11/24/2021

Going solar

We went solar as we have to pay for power no matter what so we decided to go solar as we are paying off the solar panels with the money that we are not paying to the electric company and we also added value to our home. It went very smooth and quickly. I would recommend them.

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

Jen | Green Lake, Wisconsin | 09/03/2021

They blamed everyone but themselves

All went well until my panels were installed. Then they washed their hands of my job and didn’t here from them any longer. My panels were not turned on. My inspection never turned into the electric company. They disappeared. They were installed around the 20 th of July. It’s now the 3rd of September and I still can not use my panels. They never turned in the paperwork from the inspection or anything after the instillation. They just stopped working on my project. I called and complained for weeks. They didn’t get back to me. I grew very upset and started contacting the electric company. They told me they were waiting on them. I have heard in one month time that it was the electric company’s fault, no it is the inspectors fault, then I got it was My fault. I had to beg them to do something about my project for them to start sending the proper paperwork to the electric company. Now I am stuck paying for the loan for panels and my full electric bill because my panels still have not been cleared to be turned on. If you pay cash, your shit will get done because they want their money. But if you take out their finance loan. They get the money right when the panels are installed. That’s when they stopped working on the project. No follow through

read more
1 comment >
Reply from Sun Badger Solar: We appreciate your feedback in regards to your solar project with us and would like to clarify some of the details you mentioned. You are currently in the review phase, which typically takes 2-4 weeks for utility companies to give permission to operate. This was communicated to you in the beginning of the project during the onboarding session and by email. Unfortunately, in regards to your project, after inspection, the report was not turned over to the utility company by the inspector. The utility company requires this to come directly from the inspector, and Sun Badger cannot interfere with the inspection process. Otherwise we would take over that responsibility and expedite. Unfortunately, the inspector did not do this in a timely manner, and your specific utility company is also notoriously slow on responding to status requests. We have been keeping you updated by emails and phone conversations along the way, but at this point in the project, we have multiple parties involved, and we have been encouraging the inspectors and utilities to move more quickly along the way. We will continue to advocate on your behalf until your system is fully authorized by the utility company. We know that it is difficult to be patient in the last phase of the project, but we know that once your high quality system is turned on you will reap the benefits of going solar for years to come!

All reviews

>
>

Beth H. | Milwaukee, WI | 11/22/2021

Professional Experience, Friendly Service, Great Communication

This was a great experience from the sales call all the way through the commissioning of my system. I felt like my questions were always answered in a timely way, and any minor challenges that arose were always communicated clearly and solved for as quickly as possible. The team even went out of their way to rework some of the installation to account for my siding project. The system was a little bit more expensive than other options that I researched, but I loved that they donate to Habitat for Humanity and more importantly the system warranty is so comprehensive.

read more

Karl Orlofski | Jackson, WI | 11/19/2021

Excellent company for my solar project

Sun Badger made installing solar on my home very easy to accomplish. From beginning to end my involvement was minimal. They handled the entire project from sales through installation and commissioning. I was thankful they did all the government and untility paperwork. Great experience.

read more

Bob Brennan | Streator, IL | 11/17/2021

Good experience

I had solar panels installed on my building. The experience was very pleasant, the panels look good and fit the building perfectly. They made it very easy from start to finish. Everyone I dealt with on the phone and in person was very friendly and knowledgeable.

read more

Adam | MOUNT CALVARY, WI | 11/02/2021

Solar installation

Sun Badger solar completed my install and they got everything done in a timely fashion. They are very quick to respond to any questions. My solar has been running for a full day now and so far everything is going smoothly.

read more

Brett | Barrington, IL | 10/29/2021

We are excited to have our new solar panels! Sun Badger Solar did a great job of taking us through the process of gettin a ground mounted unit. The construction did take longer than expected, but the staff stayed in contact with us through the installation and were responsive and quick to answer any questions. Overall, we had a very good experience with Sun Badger!

read more

Curt | Beloit, WI | 10/25/2021

Great experience!!

I have been looking to go solar for several years. Every time I talked to someone I was completely turned off by the slick sales pitch with no real answers and high pressure. After talking with Jim Thurber I finally felt like someone was listening and had the answers I needed. Every step of the process I was rewarded with professional people who were genuine and had the answers I needed and so easy to work with! The project team was on top of the project all the way and the install team was incredible! I have never doubted my decision. Thank you Sun Badger!!

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sun Badger Solar: Thank you for sharing your feedback of working with Sun Badger! We are so happy you saw and experienced the benefits of our knowledgeable sales team, and were well informed throughout the project! It has been a pleasure working with you, and remember that we have a dedicated service team for any questions post project completion. Congratulations on going solar!

al Canzoneri | Milwaukee, WI | 10/19/2021

Going Solar is the best!

This was my desired project from the start to be Energy Reliant. Going Green is a NO brainer. I am very happy with the Install they did a great JOB. The Sales team and the installers were entirely helpful and made the entire process as easy as painless. the Crew that came in to do the install were professional and cleaned up after they were done.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sun Badger Solar: Congratulations on going solar, and thank you for trusting Sun Badger as your installer! Our goal is to make this an easy process for our customers while also keeping you informed of each step along the way! It was a pleasure working with you, and please don't forget about our referral program through our Sun Badger app! Stay sunny☀️

George M. | North Port, FL | 10/19/2021

The Sun is Arising! Let Sun Badger help you win.

Our overall customer experience with Sun Badger was exceptional. Very professional company will solid Associate resources. Future potential residential solar clients would be wise to invest time with Sun Badger. We went from contract signing, to commencing Solar on our home in exactly 90 days (in the heart of covid 2021; no delays here!). I found all of their associates and installers to be informative, engaged, and working on our behalf. Call Sun Badger today!

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sun Badger Solar: Thank you for being an advocate of Sun Badger! We are delighted to have worked with you and guided you through your solar project pathway. We are likewise here to support you shall you have any questions beyond completion of your project! Congratulations on going solar and cheers to many sunny years ahead for you!

Joanne | Mequon, WI | 10/08/2021

Great company

The staff of SunBadger Solar was attentive and thorough in their planning and execution of our solar system. We love how it looks. The time delays were related to WE Energies, not SunBadger Solar.

read more

1 comment >
Reply from Sun Badger Solar: Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and are so excited that you chose Sun Badger to go solar with!

Tommy | Menasha, WI | 10/07/2021

Great experience

I would definitely work with Sun Badger again. I had a lot of questions leading into my final decision. They were very patient and always had a timely responsive to my questions. The only reason I didn’t give them 5 stars is because of the time it took to complete the job. I understand that demand is high but months between down payment and final installation seemed excessive. I think I lucked out though, the wait will only get longer. So if you are thinking about pulling the trigger, DO IT and contact Sun Badger Solar.

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

Service types


Residential solar - Grid tied

Small commercial solar - Grid tied

Residential solar - Hybrid solar systems

About Sun Badger Solar


Sun Badger Solar provides high quality, professionally designed solar arrays to home and business owners in Illinois, Wisconsin and Minnesota. Customer satisfaction is our top priority! We treat each project as if it was our own home or business. Sun Badger utilizes the newest technologies on the market to insure your system is built to last, with only Tier One equipment. Our staff has over a decade of experience in the Solar industry, and can help find the best, most economical solution to your energy needs. We also have multiple financing options that can help make solar a reality for anyone on any budget! *Minnesota solar installations, including the mounting of panels/modules, are performed by a Minnesota licensed electrical contractor.

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

Illinois - Arlington Heights

2420 E. Oakton Street Unit K, Arlington Heights IL, 60005

Loading...

Wisconsin - Milwaukee

2625 S. Greeley Street Suite 215, Milwaukee WI, 53207

Wisconsin - Waukesha

2100 Pewaukee Rd. , Waukesha WI, 53188

Loading...

Minnesota - Bloomington

7840 12th Ave South, Bloomington MN, 55420

Loading...

Florida - Sarasota

1680 Fruitville Road, Sarasota FL, 34236

Service areas


Select state:

Certifications


Better Business Bureau Solar Energy Industries Association Solar Power World

NABCEP certifications


NABCEP Certified Solar PV Installer
Andrew Horn
PV-090619-021667
PV Design Specialist
Andrew Horn
PVDS-101220-021667

Licenses


Chicago Electrical License

Illinois Electrical Contractors License

Wisconsin Electrical Contractors License

Contact Sun Badger Solar


Location pin
Head Office
2420 E. Oakton Street Unit K, Arlington Heights IL, 60005