Tesla Energy

Claim my profile
Updated: 23 June 2021
Installer

Installing solar since 2000

Tesla Energy logo

2.96 from 793 Reviews

How was this rating calculated?

Expert review


Tesla Energy is the renewable energy division of Tesla and within it are two business units.

It competes closely with rival Sunrun for the mantle of being the largest installer of residential solar power systems. It is the manufacturer of the Tesla Powerwall 2, arguably the leading residential energy storage solar battery solution on the market. 

With its renewable energy solutions and pioneering electric cars, Tesla has done more to fight climate change than any other company in the world. We here at SolarReviews have a positive bias towards supporting Tesla because of the alignment of their goals and ours to fight climate change on all fronts.

There are several advantages of buying solar panels from Tesla, namely their pricing for cash-purchased systems - which are now very competitive - and their Powerwall 2 solar battery. If you decide to buy a hybrid system with battery storage, there may be some comfort in knowing you are buying it directly from the manufacturer.

However, our experience in the solar industry leads us towards having a strong preference for local solar companies over large corporations when it comes to the purchasing of solar panels. Solar panels are a unique consumer product in that they are designed to last 25-30 years, and they interact with the utility grid as well as the other electrical infrastructure within your home.

Although solar is very reliable, things do go wrong. Where large corporate solar installation companies have traditionally lacked is in their after-sales service and after-sales technical support dealing with these issues. 

Prior to September 2020, Tesla had a reviews score on our site of less than 2 out of 5. However, since then, there has been a strong influx of positive reviews for the company and their overall reviews score has improved substantially. Almost all of these reviews have been from customers who had recently purchased a system, so it remains unclear if Tesla has only improved their sales and installation process, or whether their overall customer service to older customers has improved, as well. 

The difficulty that Tesla Energy faces with rolling out localized after-sales customer service over such a wide geographic area is significant. Perhaps not dissimilar to the same problem they will face with their iconic electric cars. Cars will get old and need servicing. Will Tesla be able to do this as well as brands with localized dealerships? It may very well be that Tesla can solve the localized customer service challenges in both the solar and the automotive sectors in the years to come. If they can, it will be a momentous achievement.

However, at this time, our advice remains that you should look for a well-established local solar company when buying solar panels for your home. If you wish to use the market-leading Powerwall battery, then it may be wise to consider purchasing it through a local solar company rather than through Tesla directly. It may cost a little more, but could also give you better access to localized support for your entire system. Given the system will be up and running for 25-30 years, and the fact that some electrical problems can be hard to diagnose remotely, we feel a premium is justified for long-term access to responsive local service.

Tesla Energy reviews


Breakdown of consumer reviews

Sales Process

2.9

Price as quoted

3.1

On schedule

2.8

Installation quality

3.1

After sales support

2.3

Latest good review thumbs up

Ken D | Arroyo Grande, California | 07/08/2021

Good quality, price, local installers!

I shopped around, and no one was able to compete with their price!

read more

Latest bad review thumbs down

privacy request | Carlsbad, California | 06/18/2021

Completely unhappy - Customer service is unresponsive.

It’s been 6 months since I ordered my home solar system from Tesla and although my system has been installed, paid for in full, and fully approved by the city inspector we still are waiting for the system to become operational. It’s been 4 weeks since the city building inspector signed off and approved the system. I was told that the next step was to wait for SDGE to provide permission to operate (PTO). I contacted SDGE yesterday only to find out that they have no record of a PTO request from Tesla for my address. I feel that once I paid for my solar system, Tesla no longer cares when or how quickly I get approved for PTO. Customer service has been slow and unresponsive. It’s unfortunate, but I can not recommend Tesla Energy to my friends and neighbors. Right now, I’m extremely unhappy.

read more

All reviews

>
>

Solar enthusiast | Goleta, California | 06/23/2021

Excellent installers

The installers (leopard team) out of Santa Maria (sharktown) did excellent work. They were efficient, respectful, punctual, and responsive to requests. They made the installation go by very smoothly. I went with Tesla solar because they gave me the best price and appearance for my desired syatem.

read more

Janga | Bakersfield, California | 06/12/2021

Hassle free install

The Tesla team “Leopard,” out of “Sharktown” Santa Maria office were quick to jump on the work right away once the briefing was done. They came around 7:30am and out by 12:30pm. The area was left clean as it was. Area was caution taped for safety but they did coordinate with my parcel deliveries and pickups. Power was shutdown twice for 15-20min each time but was given a heads up atleast 10 mins before it was executed.

read more

Ed & Deb | Pismo Beach, California | 06/07/2021

Sharktown and Tiburon rock!

We chose Tesla to stay compatible with the vehicle. The crew was professional, efficient, and super organized. They worked as a very cohesive unit.

read more

David Comden | Ventura, California | 06/01/2021

Smart and fast

I have been anticipating the installation of Tesla solar for a few weeks. The team didn't disappoint. In all aspects, they were direct, professional and fast. The installation team was sight to behold, they set up, installed and explained what I needed to know faster than I thought they would. Nice work guys!

read more

densolar | Aurora, Colorado | 05/23/2021

Great Experience with Tesla

I spent time researching and I went with Tesla here in Denver metro area. I’ve had no issues and very happy with the experience. I was engaged in the process so there weren’t any surprises. Other companies couldn’t beat there overall value.

read more

Service was outstanding | Apopka, Florida | 05/19/2021

Field Rep

Tesla has an employee here in Central Florida who offers the most outstanding in customer service, Adam Waller, he makes you feel like your problem does matter and I can say he over-delivers every time. Thank you!! Maureen Doyle ( Tesla customer for three years, owning solar panels and a model y

read more

cospgssolarroof | Colorado Springs, Colorado | 05/05/2021

Professional crew, quality installation

The Tesla team from Parker, CO did a great job installing our PowerWalls! The technicians were polite, professional, and considerate. Their work quality is outstanding, and the finished product looks (and works) great.

read more

KenFlow | Santa Barbara, California | 04/20/2021

Powerwall installation

excellent installation crew (2), professional and timely. however the system itself was NOT what I expected. Sure the Powerball was fine but these guys were required to install a new - redundant - circuit breaker box, creating a significant additional 'box' on my garage; plus a 'much larger than expected' Tesla relay box. This need for 2 boxes was Not clearly presented to me in advance and it's likely I would have declined to go forward.

read more

BETTINA KRETZ | Palm Beach Gardens, Florida | 04/19/2021

I would never ever use Tesla roof.

I signed a contract with Tesla’s for new construction of my home and one month later they said that contract is null and void and now the roof is 50 percent higher. Basically take it or leave it. This was after I designed myhouse for only Tesla’s solar roof. There customer service is also one of the worst I have ever dealt with. Dont use this company

read more

JEFF C | Genoa, Nevada | 04/13/2021

Just Installed

I just received excellent service for my installation of solar panels in our home. Crew was polite, timely, and efficient. A good experience.

read more

Solar panel cost calculator

About Tesla Energy


 

 

Office locations


Select state

Loading...

California - Riverside

1755 Iowa Street Building B, Riverside CA, 92507

California - Sacramento

2709 Academy Way, Suite 300, Sacramento CA, 95815

California - Stockton

2001 Arch - Airport Rd. Suite 300, Stockton CA, 95206

California - Los Angeles

5375 W. San Fernando Road, Los Angeles CA, 90039

California - Bakersfield

5206 Young Street, Ste C, Bakersfield CA, 93311

California - Foster City

391 Foster City Boulevard, Foster City CA, 94404

California - Fresno

651 N Armstrong Avenue, Fresno CA, 93727

California - Hawthorne

4884 W. 145th Street, Hawthorne CA, 90250

California - Irvine

2102 Alton Pkwy, Irvine CA, 92606

California - Livermore

1216 Stealth Street, Livermore CA, 94551

California - Martinez

187C Arthur Road, Martinez CA, 94553

California - Milpitas

418 South Abbott Avenue, Milpitas CA, 95035

California - Petaluma

1362 North McDowell Blvd, Suite A, Petaluma CA, 94954

California - San Diego

8225 Mercury Court, San Diego CA, 92111

California - Chatsworth

21040 Nordhoff Street, Chatsworth CA, 91311

California - Santa Maria

1235 W McCoy Ln, Suite C, Santa Maria CA, 93455

California - Temecula

43320 Business Park Drive, Suite B104, Temecula CA, 92590

California - Victorville

18499 Phantom West, Suite 8, Victorville CA, 92394

California - Vista

2370 Oak Ridge Way, Vista CA, 92081

Loading...

Maryland - Beltsville

9000 Virginia Manor Road, Suite 250, Beltsville MD, 20705

Maryland - Hunt Valley

336 Clubhouse Road, Hunt Valley MD, 21031

Loading...

Massachusetts - Marlborough

24 St. Martin Drive, Building 2, Unit 11, Marlborough MA, 01752

Massachusetts - Taunton

125 John Hancock Rd, Taunton MA, 02780

Massachusetts - Wilmington

240 Ballardvale Street, Wilmington MA, 01887

Loading...

Hawaii - Mililani

599 Kahelu Ave, Mililani HI, 96789

Loading...

Colorado - Parker

15690 Parkerhouse Road, Parker CO, 80134

Loading...

Oregon - Portland

6132 NE 112th Ave, Portland OR, 97220

Loading...

New Mexico - Albuquerque

8000 Bluewater Road NW Suite D, Albuquerque NM, 87121

Loading...

New York - Latham

326 Old Niskayuna Road, Suite A, Latham NY, 12110

New York - Bethpage

15 Grumman Road, Bethpage NY, 11714

New York - New Windsor

1073 Route 94, New Windsor NY, 12553

Loading...

Texas - Austin

2301 Scarbrough Drive, Suite 340, Austin TX, 78728

Texas - Dallas

10430 Shady Trail, Suite 108, Dallas TX, 75220

Texas - El Paso

28 Walter Jones, Suite C, El Paso TX, 79906

Texas - Houston

7256 Sam Houston PKWY W, Houston TX, 77085

Loading...

New Jersey - Blackwood

1001 Lower Landing Road, Blackwood NJ, 08012

New Jersey - Pine Brook

1 Chapin Road, Unit 4, Pine Brook NJ, 07058

Loading...

Vermont - South Burlington

66 Bowdoin Street, Suite 200, South Burlington VT, 05403

Loading...

Illinois - Elk Grove Village

2201 Arthur Ave, Elk Grove Village IL, 60007

Loading...

Connecticut - Rocky Hill

714 Brook Street, Rocky Hill CT, 06067

Loading...

Pennsylvania - Lancaster

1170 Garfield Avenue, Suite #2, Lancaster PA, 17601

Pennsylvania - Norristown

2562 Boulevard of the Generals, Norristown PA, 19403

Pennsylvania - Emsworth

1 Herron Avenue, Emsworth PA, 15202

Loading...

Florida - Fort Lauderdale

5350 NW 35th Terrace, Suite 100A, Fort Lauderdale FL, 33309

Florida - Orlando

8500 Parkline Blvd. Suite 100, Orlando FL, 32809

Florida - Tampa

5012 Joanne Kearney Blvd., Tampa FL, 33619

Loading...

Arizona - Phoenix

425 E. Pinnacle Peak Road, Phoenix AZ, 85027

Arizona - South Tucson

2901 E Elvira Road, #135, South Tucson AZ, 85756

Loading...

Nevada - Reno

1312 Capital Blvd, Suite 105, Reno NV, 89502

Nevada - Las Vegas

7200 S Montessori, Suite 110/120, Las Vegas NV, 89113

Loading...

Utah - Draper

313 West 12800 South, Draper UT, 84020

Loading...

Delaware - Seaford

178 Venture Drive, Seaford DE, 19973

Service areas


Select state:

Contact Tesla Energy


Location pin
Head Office
1755 Iowa Street Building B, Riverside CA, 92507
Website