Great Brook Solar NRG

819 County Road 28 | South New Berlin NY 13843

Write a Review

Rating:

4.93

Based on 40 Reviews

To receive a free estimate on your solar requirements, please use the Solar Calculator below.

Company Description:

Great Brook Solar NRG is a local renewable energy solutions company, established in 1978, and installing solar electric (photovoltaics), solar thermal, and geothermal (ground source heat pump) systems in all of central New York.

Services:

Direct Energy Solar (formerly Astrum)

Thousands of Direct Energy Solar customers are turning their sunny roofs into electricity savings. Go solar the right way and choose

Direct Energy Solar. We pride ourselves on providing our customers with a turnkey, worry-free experience.

4.22

(104 reviews)

Great Brook Solar NRG Reviews

Detailed Ratings

Sales Process

4.87


Quality of Advice

4.85


On Schedule

4.78


Price as Quoted

5.00


Quality of Products

5.00


Installation Quality

5.00


Professionalism

4.93


After Sales Support

4.86


Overall Ratings

  • Excellent

    37
  • Very Good

    3
  • Average

    0


  • Poor

    0


  • Terrible

    0


Would you recommend?


40 Reviews

Sort by: Date or Ratings (sorted by most recent)

Amazing Job!

Excellent

Amazing Job!

We appreciate the length of time this business has been in operation, the honesty of their workers, and

amazing work effort put into their work! Working with a local home grown business is important to us and we recommend them to anyone interested in solar.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 03/10/2015

Would highly recommend this contractor

Excellent

Would highly recommend this contractor

We installed a 22.5 kw solar PV system for our home. This system will cover 98% of our heating, hot water

and appliance use.

Dave Austin designed the system using an electric boiler to run our hot water/radiator heat. We have an old house and originally were looking into geothermal, which he also does. For us, we didn''t want to change out our radiators, so an electric boiler, backed up by a 22.5 kw solar array made sense. We wanted to get away from fossil fuels and fuel oil for winter heating was our largest expense. Dave designed the system and his crew did all the plumbing and electrical work that was necessary. They were great people. We felt very comfortable leaving the house in their hands. They were highly skilled, knowledgable, trustworthy and friendly. I can''t say enough about them. We would do it again.

This was a huge investment for us to consider. The system price was $77,000, before the NYSERDA incentive of $22,500. That left an upfront cost of $55,000 , with a Federal Tax Credit of $16,740 and a NY Solar Tax Credit of $5,000, bringing the final cost of our project to $34,060. When we considered that it would cost us $35,000+ to heat and provide hot water to our house with fossil fuels in the next 8 years and we could pay for this system and be independent of fossil fuels from day one, we decided we would invest in renewable energy.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 11/27/2014

Knowledge Experience Commitment to quality!!

Excellent

Knowledge Experience Commitment to quality!!

Knowledge, Experience, Commitment to quality!!

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 10/17/2014

Great Brook Solar .. Solar System

Excellent

Great Brook Solar .. Solar System

Dave Austin was thorough in assessing our needs and matching a system to it . He is very knowledgeable

from systems, quality of products , grants, to tax credits . He gave us many options and insights during a site survey . His crew was professional and personable answering questions readily during installation . We are very happy with the solar system and the process, and would highly recommend Great Brook Solar to any one interested in a solar system .

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 09/11/2014

Solar Panel Installation

Excellent

Solar Panel Installation

Very professional and competent. Spent a lot of time on all possible issues we raised. Work also done

timely. We highly recommend them.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 09/10/2014

Renewable is the way to go!

Excellent

Renewable is the way to go!

We are very excited about our new solar system that Great Brook designed and installed. We now want to add

an array on the ground to power hot water, dryer and heat.
Since May the system has produced 2900 kw of that > 2000 kw has been put back out on the grid. That''s 725 kw/month.
Our electric bill has been ~ $16 (delivery charge).
This winter when we may not produce as much as we need the kw hour charges will be deducted from the kw''s that were put back on the grid ("credits").
We''re waiting to see how the totals play out after a year.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 09/06/2014

Great Brook Solar

Excellent

Great Brook Solar

We were very happy with Great Brook Solar. Dave Austin is knowledgeable and explained everything thoroughly.

His office staff and work crew were efficient and helpful as well. The installation went smoothly and they cleaned up afterwards. We were given a manual of useful info and necessary papers. Overall a great experience. We would recommend them to anyone.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 09/04/2014

Storms Site

Good

Storms Site

GB Solar helped bring down the capital cost per watt to make the system affordable.
The construction

went well and with out issue.
There was a need to replace an inverter because it was faulty. This was also handled professionally.
it is running well and has produced 20% above name plate for the first full year.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 09/02/2014

5200 Watt Photovoltaic System Addition

Excellent

5200 Watt Photovoltaic System Addition

EXCELLENT AND PROFESSIONAL. I WOULD RECOMMEND HIGHLY.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 08/22/2014

Jones Residence

Excellent

Jones Residence

Excellent information, contract prep, all questions answered & follow through with rebates & tax credit

process.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 10/28/2013

Replace inverters and grid tie system

Excellent

Replace inverters and grid tie system

Dave Austin is helpful and reliable

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 06/11/2013

Great Brook Solar review

Excellent

Great Brook Solar review

Great Brook Solar has exceeded my expectations in all areas of this installation. I would recommend them to

others and will definitely use them again if I decide to increase the capacity of my PV system.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 06/10/2013

Great Brook Solar review

Excellent

Great Brook Solar review

A very thorough proposal and knowledgeable guidance through the entire process.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 06/04/2013

Great Brook Solar was awesome

Excellent

Great Brook Solar was awesome

Great Brook professionals installed my 24 panel, 3 pole, 5.04 KW system, on time and on budget. Installers

were truly professional throughout the installation, and kept me in the loop as the project progressed. Follow on support has been absolutely superb.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 05/07/2013

Great Brook Solar review

Excellent

Great Brook Solar review

(no comments provided)

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 03/25/2013

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details


Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 01/31/2013

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details


Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 12/22/2012

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details


Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 12/22/2012

Click here for more details

Good

Click here for more details


Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 12/07/2012

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details

Great Brook Solar NRG LLC gets an Aplus !

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 11/30/2012

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details

Great installation crew -- a pleasure to work with.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 11/13/2012

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details


Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 09/07/2012

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details

Very professional and easy to work with. They did an excellent job!

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 06/08/2012

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details


Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 06/04/2012

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details

Loved them.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 05/21/2012

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details

Would highly recommend to anyone.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 05/16/2012

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details

You notice I said merely "good" for cost anticipation and resolving issues. The only complaint we have is

that there has been little net income from net metering. The peak demand charge each month wipes out all or most of our net metering income. So the anticipated income from the solar panels has not helped us pay them off. The only financial benefit we have experienced is that our monthly bill is lower than it was without the panels. We still have to buy electricity at night. Our installer could not foresee this issue- it is the fault of the electric company, NYSEG.
If purchase incentive means NYSERDA, yes, our contractor did all the work with NYSERDA and NYSEG to set up the incentives and the connection. Our contractor took care of everything.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 05/15/2012

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details

Great Brook Solar did and awesome job for us. We will have them back in the future to do more work. In 6

short months we have already saved hundreds of dollars. Sales, and install staff are great to work with. Very professional.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 05/06/2012

Click here for more details

Good

Click here for more details


Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 03/18/2010

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details


Type: Residential Hot Water

Reviewed: 03/15/2010

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details

We love our solar electric system and would like to add more in the future.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 03/13/2010

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details


So far we are very satisfied.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 01/19/2010

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details


Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 01/16/2010

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details


incentives from the federal government are ment as credit that have to be used
in 3-5 years. if

f your income is low and you don`t pay alot in taxes you will
never get full use of the incentives. this loophole only seems to benefit the rich and not take into concideration the lower income people. this is not the fault of the contractor just something i found out after the install. the only way to fix this is to change the law.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 12/28/2009

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details


Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 12/28/2009

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details

I think PV is so new to the consumer that I didn`t know everything I needed to. I would have change one

design aspect if I new better. Great brook has quality guys and I would use them again in the future.

Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 12/28/2009

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details


Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 09/24/2007

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details


Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 09/24/2007

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details

An OUTSTANDING experience. Will use Great Brook Enterprises again for additional PV and wind power work.


Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 09/24/2007

Click here for more details

Excellent

Click here for more details


Type: Residential Electric

Reviewed: 09/24/2007

Service Areas:

New York
Broome County
Barbourville, Belden, Bible Sch Pk, Bible School Park, Binghamton, Broadacres, Campville, Castle Creek, Centerlisle, Centre Village, Chenango Brg, Chenango Bridge, Chenango Fks, Chenango Forks, China, Choconut Center, Clough Corners, Colesville, Conklin, Conklin Forks, Corbettsville, Crestview Heights, Deposit, Dickinson, Doraville, East Maine, East Vestal, Endicott, Endwell, Fenton, Fivemile Point, Glen Aubrey, Glen Castle, Hambletville, Harpursville, Hawleyton, Hinmans Corners, Hospital, Itaska, Johnson City, Kattelville, Killawog, Kirkwood, Langdon, Lisle, Maine, McClure, Nimmonsburg, Nineveh, North Fenton, North Sanford, Oquaga Lake, Ouaquaga, Park Terrace, Port Crane, Port Dickinson, Quinneville, Ross Corners, Sanford, Sanitaria Spg, Sanitaria Springs, South Nineveh, South Vestal, Stilesville, Tompkins, Tracy Creek, Tunnel, Twin Orchards, Union Center, Upper Lisle, Vallonia Springs, Vestal, Vestal Center, Vestal Gardens, W Windsor, West Chenango, West Colesville, West Corners, West Endicott, West Windsor, Westover, Westview, Whitney Point, Willow Point, Windsor
Chenango County
Afton, Afton Lake, Ambierville, Bainbridge, Beaver Meadow, Bennettsville, Bonney, Brisben, Chenango Lake, Columbus, Coventry, Coventryville, E Pharsalia, Earlville, East McDonough, East Pharsalia, Genegantslet, Greene, Guilford, Guilford Center, Hoboken, Holmesville, Kings Settlement, Kirk, Lathams Corners, Lebanon, Lebanon Center, Lower Genegantslet Corner, Mc Donough, McDonough, Mount Upton, New Berlin, New Berlin Junction, Nineveh Junction, North Afton, North Norwich, North Pharsalia, North Pitcher, Norwich, Oxford, Pitcher, Pittsfield, Plymouth, Poolville, Preston, Rockdale, Rockwells Mills, S Edmeston, S New Berlin, Sherburne, Smithville, Smithville Center, Smithville Flats, Smithvle Flts, Smyrna, So Plymouth, South Edmeston, South Hamilton, South Lebanon, South New Berlin, South Otselic, South Oxford, South Plymouth, Springvale, Triangle, Tyner, Upperville, West Bainbridge, Whites Store, Woods Corners
Delaware County
Andes, Apex, Arkville, Bartlett Hollow, Bloomville, Bovina Center, Burnwood, Cabinhill, Cadosia, Cleaver, Colchester, Corbett, Davenport, Davenport Center, Davenport Ctr, Delancey, Delhi, Denver, Doonan Corners, Downsville, East Branch, East Masonville, East Meredith, East Sidney, Fishs Eddy, Fleischmanns, Franklin, Franklin Depot, Fraser, French Woods, Grand Gorge, Gregorytown, Halcott Center, Halcott Ctr, Halcottsville, Hales Eddy, Hamden, Hancock, Harpersfield, Harvard, Hawleys, Hobart, Hubbell Cors, Ivanhoe, Kelsey, Kortright, Kortright Center, Lake Delaware, Leonta, Lordville, Margaretville, Masonville, Meredith, Meridale, Merrickville, New Kingston, North Kortright, Northfield, Peakville, Pineville, Readburn, Roxbury, S Kortright, Shackport, Shinhopple, Sidney, Sidney Center, South Kortright, Stamford, Sturges Corner, Treadwell, Trout Creek, W Davenport, Walton, West Davenport, West Delhi, West Harpersfield, West Meredith, Whitman
Jefferson County
Adams, Adams Center, Adams Cove, Alex Bay, Alexandra Bay, Alexandria, Alexandria Bay, Antwerp, Belleville, Black River, Boultons Beach, Brownville, Calcium, Cape Vincent, Carthage, Champion, Champion Huddle, Chaumont, Clayton, Collins Landing, Deferiet, Depauville, Dexter, Diamond, E Rodman, Edgewood Park, Ellisburg, Evans Mills, Felts Mills, Fineview, Fishers Landing, Fishers Lndg, Fort Drum, Frontenac, Glen Park, Great Bend, Grenell, Grindstone, Gt Bend, Guffin Bay, Henderson, Henderson Harbor, Henderson Hbr, Herrings, Hounsfield, Jefferson Park, La Fargeville, Lafargeville, Le Ray, Limerick, Lorraine, Mannsville, Murray Isle, Muskalounge, Natural Brg, Natural Bridge, Omar, Oswegatchie, Oxbow, Paddy Hill, Pamelia, Pamelia Four Corners, Perch River, Phila, Philadelphia, Pierrepnt Mnr, Pierrepont Manor, Pillar Point, Plessis, Point Vivian, Redwood, Rodman, Rural Hill, Rutland, Sackets Harbor, Sackets Hbr, Sherwin Bay, Smithville, St Lawrence Park, Stone Mills, Theresa, Thous Is Pk, Thousand Island Park, Thousnd Is Pk, Three Mile Bay, Three Mle Bay, W Carthage, Watertown, Wegatchie, Wellesley Is, Wellesley Island, West Carthage, Westminster Park, Wilna, Woodville, Worth, Wtown
Oneida County
Alder Creek, Annsville, Atwell, Augusta, Ava, Barneveld, Bartlett, Big Brook, Blossvale, Boonville, Bridgewater, BRM Customer, Camden, Camroden, Cassville, Chadwicks, Clark Mills, Clayville, Clinton, Conger Corners, Coonrod, Daytonville, Deansboro, Deerfield, Durhamville, East Floyd, Empeyville, Florence, Floyd, Forestport, Forestport Station, Fort Stanwix National Monume, Franklin Spgs, Franklin Springs, Frenchville, Greenway, Hawkinsville, Hecla, Higginsville, Hillsboro, Hinckley, Holland Patent, Holland Patnt, Honnedaga Lake, Kayuta Lake, Kirkland, Knoxboro, Lairdsville, Lake Delta, Lee, Lee Center, Marcy, Mc Conelsvile, Mc Connellsville, McKeever, Mohawk Hill, New Hartfd, New Hartford, New York Mills, New York Mls, North Bay, North Bridgewater, North Wilmurt, NY Mills, Oriskany, Oriskany Falls, Oriskany Fls, Osceola, Otter Lake, Paris, Point Rock, Prospect, Remsen, Ridge Mills, Rome, Sangerfield, Sauquoit, Schuyler, Seifert Corners, Sherrill, South Trenton, Spencer Settlement, Stacy Basin, Stanwix, Stanwix Heights, Steuben, Steuben Valley, Stittville, Stockwell, Stokes, Sylvan Beach, Taberg, Talcottville, Utica, Vernon, Vernon Center, Verona, Verona Beach, Vienna, Walesville, Washingtn Mls, Washington Mills, Waterville, West Branch, West Lee, Westdale, Westernville, Westmoreland, Whitesboro, Whitestown, Willowvale, Woodgate, Yorkville
Onondaga County
Amber, Apulia Sta, Apulia Station, Baldwinsville, Bayberry, Belgium, Berwyn, Brewerton, Bridgeport, Caller Firms, Camillus, Cardiff, Carousel Center, Cicero, Clay, Colvin, Colvin Elmwood, Cross Lake, De Witt, Delphi Falls, Dewitt, Dominion Park, E Syracuse, East Syracuse, Eastwood, Elbridge, Elmwood, Fabius, Fayetteville, Firms, Galeville, Geddes, Hart Lot, Howlett Hill, Indian Village, Jamesville, Jewell Manor, Jordan, Kirkville, La Fayette, Lafayette, Liverpool, Lpool, Lvpl, Lvrpool, Lyncourt, Lysander, Mandana, Manlius, Marcellus, Marcellus Falls, Marietta, Martisco, Mattydale, Mdale, Memphis, Minoa, Mottville, N Syracuse, National Grid, Navarino, Nedrow, Niles, North Syracuse, Onon Hill, Onondaga Nation, Otisco, Otisco Valley, Plainville, Pompey, Radison, Radisson, Rockwell Springs, S Onon, Salina, Sentinel Heights, Skan, Skan Fa, Skan Falls, Skaneateles, Skaneateles Falls, Solvay, South Onondaga, Split Rock, Syr, Syracuse, Syracuse Amf, Syracuse University, Taunton, Tully, University, Van Buren, Vesper, Warners, Westvale
Otsego County
Burlington, Burlington Flats, Burlngtn Flt, Butternuts, Cattown, Chaseville, Cherry Valley, Colliersville, Cooperstown, Cooperstown Junction, Cullen, Decatur, E Springfield, E Worcester, East Springfield, East Worcester, Edmeston, Elk Creek, Elm Grove, Emmons, Exeter, Fergusonville, Filer Corners, Fly Creek, Garrattsville, Gilbertsville, Hartwick, Hartwick Seminary, Hrtwk Seminry, Laurens, Maple Grove, Maple Valley, Maryland, Milford, Milford Center, Morris, Mount Vision, New Lisbon, North Franklin, Oaksville, Oneonta, Otego, Otsdawa, Otsego, Patent, Portlandville, Richfield, Richfield Springs, Richfld Spgs, Roseboom, Schenevus, Schuyler Lake, Simpsonville, Snowden, South Columbia, South Worcester, Springfield Center, Springfld Center, Springfld Ctr, Stetsonville, Unadilla, W Burlington, Warren, Welcome, Wells Bridge, West Burlington, West End, West Laurens, West Oneonta, Westford, Westville, Worcester, Youngs
Sullivan County
Barryville, Bethel, Bloomingburg, Burlingham, Callicoon, Callicoon Center, Callicoon Ctr, Claryville, Cochecton, Cochecton Center, Cochecton Ctr, Eldred, Fallsburg, Ferndale, Forestburg, Forestburgh, Fremont, Fremont Center, Fremont Ctr, Glen Spey, Glen Wild, Grahamsville, Hankins, Harris, Highland Lake, Hortonville, Hurleyville, Jeffersonville, Jeffersonvlle, Kauneonga Lake, Kauneonga Lk, Kenoza Lake, Kiamesha Lake, Lake Huntington, Lew Beach, Liberty, Livingstn Mnr, Livingston Manor, Lk Huntington, Loch Sheldrake, Loch Sheldrke, Long Eddy, Mongaup Valley, Mongaup Vly, Monticello, Mountain Dale, Mountaindale, Narrowsburg, Neversink, North Branch, Obernburg, Parksville, Phillipsport, Pond Eddy, Port Jervis, Rock Hill, Roscoe, S Fallsburg, Smallwood, South Fallsburg, Summitville, Sundown, Swan Lake, Thompsonville, Westbrookville, Westbrookvlle, White Lake, White Sulphur Springs, Wht Sphr Spgs, Woodbourne, Woodridge, Wurtsboro, Youngsville, Yulan

Back to Top

Back to list

Copyright © 2012 - solarreviews.com. All rights reserved.